What Is the Baldwin Group?

Baldwin’s Insurance Advisory Solutions group describes commercial-risk and employee-benefit services for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and families; its business-insurance page outlines a five-step RiskMap process. 1,3

Baldwin’s commercial practice is a fit for businesses seeking an advisor to assess risk and arrange commercial coverage across a range of sectors. Its RiskMap materials describe an advisory process. On each proposal, ask which agency will serve your account, which insurer will issue the policy, and what terms apply. 13

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Baldwin names practice groups and line examples for professional services, transportation, real estate, government contracting, digital infrastructure and M&A. Use those examples to ask who will handle your industry and placement; they do not establish eligibility. 4 21 22
  • Baldwin describes a five-step RiskMap process and an online intake, which can give you a starting point for asking how an advisor will review your current program. The pages do not promise a result or establish that every account follows the same route. 13 5

Cons

  • The quote page shows an intake, but the reviewed evidence does not establish a completed quote or bind; ask when you will receive an insurer proposal. 5
  • The group compensation disclosure does not establish your account’s fees or commissions; request them with the proposal. 2

Baldwin says its commercial site has dedicated Centers of Excellence and Practice Groups focused on specific needs and lists industries including aviation and aerospace, construction, energy, financial institutions, healthcare, manufacturing, real estate, retail and wholesale, technology, and transportation. These company-described examples are non-exhaustive and do not establish product availability or eligibility. 4Company-reported. Industries publicly listed on Baldwin's commercial-insurance industry page; examples are non-exhaustive and do not establish eligibility for a particular policy.

Baldwin’s business-insurance quote page shows a three-step online intake. Its visible first step asks for a revenue band, company and headquarters details, and contact information; the “Get a quote” link points to app.foundershield.com. Baldwin’s business page and contact page also invite prospects to speak with an advisor. The reviewed evidence does not establish a completed quote, purchase, or policy bind through this route. 5,6,3,7Company-reported. The specific business-insurance quote page inspected on September 28, 2026; the first of three steps was visible and its quote link pointed to app.foundershield.com. Do not generalize this route to all Baldwin commercial prospects or products.

How It Works

The 2025 Form 10-K identifies The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. as a holding-company parent and sole managing member of The Baldwin Insurance Group Holdings, LLC. Its filing uses “Baldwin” for the Inc. parent and consolidated subsidiaries and affiliates. A January 2026 disclosure defines “The Baldwin Group” as Holdings LLC and affiliates, while a September 2026 investor release uses that name as the brand for the Inc. parent and affiliates. Those source-specific group descriptions do not identify the agency for a particular account. 1 2 9

The 2025 Form 10-K describes The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. as an insurance distribution firm and holding-company parent and sole managing member of The Baldwin Insurance Group Holdings, LLC. That filing uses “Baldwin” for the Inc. parent and its consolidated subsidiaries and affiliates. The January 1, 2026 transparency disclosure defines “The Baldwin Group” as Holdings LLC and its affiliated entities; the September 14, 2026 investor release uses “The Baldwin Group” as the brand for the Inc. parent and affiliates. These source-specific group descriptions do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular policy. 1,2,9Company-reported. The Baldwin Group's consolidated US and international corporate group as described in its 2025 filing; not a claim that the parent company is the licensed producer, managing general agent, or insurer for any particular policy.

Baldwin’s 2025 Form 10-K says its Insurance Advisory Solutions group provides commercial risk-management and employee-benefits solutions for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and their families. Separately, it describes the consolidated group’s clients as individuals, professionals, businesses including niche industries, and specialty insurers. 1Company-reported. Customer categories reported for the consolidated group and its Insurance Advisory Solutions operation; not a statement that every Baldwin unit serves each segment or that all businesses qualify for a particular product.

Coverage and Availability

Baldwin’s sector pages name commercial lines for specific audiences, including general liability, property, commercial auto, cyber, workers’ compensation, management liability, professional liability, surety, cargo, inland marine and employee benefits. These listings describe what the company markets to those audiences; they do not establish policy terms or guarantee a line is available to every buyer. Some pages say a line “may be considered” for a named exposure. Confirm eligibility, form, limits, exclusions and insurer in your proposal. 15 21 22

Baldwin’s current commercial pages list or describe a range of business coverage for named sectors, including professional services, transportation, government contractors, real estate, digital infrastructure, construction, and M&A. These are company-described lines or considerations for those audiences, not a universal catalogue or a statement that every line is available to every buyer. 18,21,19,17,15,22,23Company-reported. Company marketing pages for the named sectors; the listings do not establish policy wording, eligibility, jurisdictional availability or insurer commitments.

For workers’ compensation, Baldwin says requirements vary by state and lists possible benefit categories and program services rather than policy wording. Its cyber page describes typical coverage examples; actual terms, sublimits and exclusions depend on the policy. 14 16

Ask which legal entity will serve your account and which insurer will issue each policy. Baldwin’s License page publishes California license numbers for six named entities; it does not give their license classes or current status, or link them to a particular line or placement. The location page says teams serve all 50 states, which is a service-footprint statement. 25 24

Baldwin’s License page has a “Legal Entity | CA License Number” table listing six entities and their California numbers. The page does not identify license class or current status, or map an entry to a particular product, policy, or placement. 25Company-reported. Baldwin’s own California-number disclosure, accessed September 29, 2026; license class, current status and placement-specific authority are not stated.

Baldwin’s location page says its teams serve clients nationally in all 50 states. That office-directory statement does not identify which licensed entity can place a given line or whether a risk qualifies in a particular state. 24Company-reported. Company location directory only; no state producer-license lookup or line-by-state availability test was completed.

Baldwin’s own License page lists California license numbers for six named entities. The page does not state each number’s license class or current status, or connect an entry to a specific commercial line, policy, or placement. The location page separately says teams serve all 50 states; that is not a state-by-state authority or line-availability record. 25,24,3,2Not found in reviewed sources. Provider-published California number disclosure and the group’s commercial placement materials as inspected 2026-09-29. This fact records exactly the page’s label and does not imply independent regulator verification, license class, current status, or authority for a particular line.

Service and Compensation

For business insurance, Baldwin describes a five-step RiskMap process: insurance analysis, risk identification, insurance strategy, data-informed decisions, and continual assessment and optimization as risks evolve. 3Company-reported. The process described for Baldwin's business-insurance advisory service; a company-described service approach, not an independently measured outcome or guaranteed savings.

Baldwin's contact page provides an existing-policy assistance route that asks for the policy type and the customer's US state, and links to a client portal. The page also directs business-insurance prospects to speak with an advisor. 7Company-reported. Public contact and service entry points on Baldwin's US-facing site; portal capabilities and service timing were not established by the page.

Baldwin says its claims-advocacy team works with clients, their claim service providers, and other partners before, during, and after a loss to help manage claims and consider resolution strategies. This describes an advocacy service, not who decides coverage or pays a particular claim. 8Company-reported. Company-described commercial claims-advocacy service; it does not establish that Baldwin is the insurer or claim decision-maker for a policy, or guarantee a claim outcome.

In a disclosure effective January 1, 2026, The Baldwin Group says compensation may include insurer-paid commissions, negotiated client fees, and contingent commissions tied to goals measured across a book of business. It also describes separate compensation for certain insurer-partner administration, claims, wholesaling, and managing-general-agent services, among other arrangements. The disclosure is group-wide and does not say which arrangements apply to a particular policy. 2Company-reported. The Baldwin Group's group-level compensation disclosure effective January 1, 2026; not the fee or commission terms for a specific commercial account, affiliate, insurer, or placement.

The public materials reviewed do not identify a policy issuer or the serving agency for a particular account. Baldwin’s group-level compensation disclosure does not allocate fees or commissions to a specific placement. 2

The reviewed group disclosure and commercial product pages do not identify a licensed agency or issuing insurer for a buyer’s specific policy or for each listed line. Ask Baldwin to identify both on each quote and binder. 2,13,18,21,19,17,15Not found in reviewed sources. Reviewed official group disclosure and commercial pages on 2026-09-29; it does not establish that no licensed affiliates, carriers, or partner arrangements exist.

What to Confirm in a Quote

  • Which legal agency will handle your account, and which insurer will issue each policy? Ask for both legal names on the proposal and binder. 2 13
  • Which lines, limits, deductibles, exclusions and state terms apply to your business? Baldwin’s sector lists do not establish policy wording or eligibility. 18 21
  • What fees, commissions or other compensation apply to your placement? 2
  • Who will service and renew your policy, and which client portal, if any, will your account use? 7
  • Who coordinates claims advocacy, and which insurer makes coverage decisions and pays covered claims? 8

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

The Baldwin Group

-/ 10

Review Score

The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.[8][1][2][4][9][10]

Read The Baldwin Group reviews

Reliability Research

Broker. The Baldwin Insurance Group and its consolidated subsidiaries as described in its 2025 Form 10-K. This group-level record does not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular policy or placement.

Broker Spot Score

Not Rated

Baldwin’s company-level disclosures describe its distribution group and list California license numbers for six entities. They do not identify which entity handles a particular buyer’s policy or provide enough entity-specific evidence for a Spot Rating. No numerical score is assigned.

Assessment subject unavailable

Assessed 2026-09-29 · Review due 2027-03-29

Sources

The Baldwin Group Official Website

  1. The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. Transparency & Disclosure. The Baldwin Group; Effective January 1, 2026, opening definition, line 37; compensation disclosures, lines 45–68; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Business Insurance. The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  4. Business Insurance Industries. The Baldwin Group; “Tailored commercial risk strategies,” lines 21–23; industry spotlights lines 26–170; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  5. Business Insurance Quote. The Baldwin Group; Step 1 of 3, lines 20–34; “Get a quote” link destination at line 33; company/headquarters/contact/consent fields lines 35–79; accessed 2026-09-28. Destination content not inspected. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  6. Innovation Economy. The Baldwin Group; Current page opening: “Innovation Practice”; lines 19–23 describe The Baldwin Group’s Innovation Practice and link “Connect with us” to foundershield.com. No “innovation arm” statement appears on the reopened page. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  7. Contact Us. The Baldwin Group; Business Insurance advisor route, lines 42–46; existing-policy assistance questions and client portal link, lines 80–110; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  8. Risk Mitigation Services. The Baldwin Group; Risk Mitigation; Claims Advocacy. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  9. The Baldwin Group to Go Private Through Majority Investment by Sequence Holdings and Dell Family Office. The Baldwin Group Investor Relations; September 14, 2026 release; transaction announcement and highlights, lines 36 and 49–51; “About The Baldwin Group” brand definition, lines 64–66; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  10. The Baldwin Group. The Baldwin Group; Current header banner: The Baldwin Group to go private; linked CEO message. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  11. The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 8-K dated September 14, 2026. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Item 1.01, Agreement and Plan of Merger parties/transaction structure at lines 76–83; Parent ownership and DFO equity financing at lines 80–81; closing conditions at lines 115–117; Exhibit 2.1 at lines 230–240. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  12. Agreement and Plan of Merger, dated September 14, 2026 (Exhibit 2.1 to Form 8-K). The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; filed as an exhibit with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; Exhibit 2.1 preamble, lines 204–205; recitals, lines 209–210; initial merger sections 2.02–2.03, lines 707–745; Second LLC Merger section 2.10, lines 835–840; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  13. Commercial Liability Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; Business Insurance, lines 71–83: commercial coverage experts; Cyber coverage solution; additional coverage tiles continue below; page accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  14. Workers’ Compensation Insurance. The Baldwin Group; “Workers’ compensation, in focus,” lines 33–49; “Risk Reduction,” lines 63–76; coverage services, insurance-market access and dedicated claims advocates; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  15. Digital Infrastructure. The Baldwin Group; “Products designed to perform,” lines 145–178, lists property, builders’ risk, equipment breakdown, workers’ compensation, commercial general liability, commercial auto, cyber, inland/ocean marine, management liability, umbrella/excess, and other lines for digital-infrastructure exposures; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  16. Cyber Liability Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; Opening and expertise lines 19–38; FAQ coverage examples lines 90–100; incident-response support and insurer/partner access; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  17. Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; “Coverage designed to perform” and sections “Management & governance risk” / “Professional & specialty risk,” lines 120–150; coverage lines plus claims advocacy at lines 153–163; page accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  18. Professional Liability Insurance & Services. The Baldwin Group; Professional-services customer population lines 35–64; coverage snapshot lines 68–84 lists property, general/professional liability, cyber, workers’ compensation, D&O, fiduciary, crime/fidelity bond, EPL, and IP liability; Employee benefits lines 93–95; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  19. Government Contractor Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; GovCon customer/service description lines 21–33; GovTech collaboration, customer scope and coverage considerations lines 93–111; risk-mitigation service lines 113–118; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  20. Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. The Baldwin Group; D&O report and advisory team lines 23–32; Nasdaq collaboration with public-company/IPO/SPAC scope lines 38–44; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  21. Transportation Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; Transportation advisors and partner market access lines 42–48; RiskMap and program reviews lines 53–75; listed line options lines 86–113; fleet risk resources lines 118–131; Employee benefits lines 133–173; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  22. M&A, Private Equity & VC Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; Transactional-risk insurance and placement claims lines 72–80; P&C line list lines 101–116; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  23. Surety Bond Insurance for Construction & Commercial Sectors. The Baldwin Group; Surety advisor/client/insurer relationship descriptions lines 40–58; bond functions, bond forms and business sectors in “Surety Snapshot” and “Industry Coverage,” lines 60–150; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  24. Locations. The Baldwin Group; “Find a location,” lines 17–21: company says office teams serve clients nationally in all 50 states; office listing starts at line 28. Accessed 2026-09-29; location presence/service listing does not prove a state agency license or a line’s availability. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  25. License. The Baldwin Group; Table headed “Legal Entity | CA License Number”, six entries, page lines 17–24; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Alternatives

Providers that also list coverage lines documented for The Baldwin Group.

  • HUB International

    Lists 22 of The Baldwin Group’s 23 coverage lines
    Broker5.5/ 10Carrier & MGA
    Assessed provider: HUB International. Scope: HUB International Limited and relevant U.S. subsidiaries as a commercial insurance broker and consulting group for U.S. technology and middle-market property-casualty placements; no specific HUB office, producer entity or policy issuer is assigned from group-level pages.
  • AIG

    Lists 20 of The Baldwin Group’s 23 coverage lines
    BrokerCarrier & MGAAssessment subject unavailable
    Assessment subject unavailable
  • Coverdash

    Lists 20 of The Baldwin Group’s 23 coverage lines
    Broker5.1/ 10Carrier & MGA
    Assessed provider: Coverdash. Scope: Coverdash Insurance Services, LLC as the licensed broker/agent and Coverdash, Inc. as the technology/brand entity. The cited materials do not identify Coverdash as insurer or underwriting entity; policy issuer remains product and policy specific.
  • Liberty Mutual

    Lists 20 of The Baldwin Group’s 23 coverage lines
    BrokerCarrier & MGAAssessment subject unavailable
    Assessment subject unavailable
  • Newfront

    Lists 20 of The Baldwin Group’s 23 coverage lines
    Broker5.0/ 10Carrier & MGA
    Assessed provider: Newfront. Scope: Newfront Insurance Services and the contracting US brokerage entity identified in current Newfront materials, with business-insurance, benefits and claims-advocacy activity; WTW ownership is parent context and no carrier or risk-bearing role is assigned.

All The Baldwin Group alternatives

Comparisons

Show all 16 comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot