The Baldwin Group vs ERGO NEXT Insurance

The Baldwin Group describes commercial risk advice and an advisor-led route alongside online quote intake. ERGO NEXT Insurance documents a distinct business-insurance role and market or service model; fit depends on the buyer’s risk, desired support and proposed terms. 1,2,27,28,5,6,48,32

Introduction

This pairing matters when a growing business is choosing between an advisory relationship and a digital or program-focused entry route. A simpler first step does not answer who advises, which insurer issues the policy, or how service works after purchase. The 2025 Form 10-K describes The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. as an insurance distribution firm and holding-company parent and sole managing member of The Baldwin Insurance Group Holdings, LLC. That filing uses “Baldwin” for the Inc. parent and its consolidated subsidiaries and affiliates. The January 1, 2026 transparency disclosure defines “The Baldwin Group” as Holdings LLC and its affiliated entities; the September 14, 2026 investor release uses “The Baldwin Group” as the brand for the Inc. parent and affiliates. These source-specific group descriptions do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular policy. 1 NEXT Insurance adopted the ERGO NEXT Insurance brand on January 15, 2026. Munich Re reports that it completed the full acquisition of Next Insurance in July 2025 and increased its ownership to 100%; ERGO is Munich Re’s primary-insurance business. 27

Coverage Comparison

CoverageThe Baldwin GroupERGO NEXT Insurance
Builders riskListed 15,17Listed for digital-infrastructure projects and in commercial real-estate construction risk.Not listed
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 37ERGO NEXT markets a business owner’s policy.
Cargo and transitListed 21Transportation page lists cargo insurance; it does not state a particular transit form or coverage terms.Not listed
Commercial autoListed 19,22,21,15Listed for government-contracting, transportation and digital-infrastructure exposures.Not listed
Commercial propertyListed 18,17,19,22,21,15Listed for real-estate, professional-services and other named commercial sectors.Listed 36ERGO NEXT sells commercial property insurance as an agency; the issuing insurer is responsible for policy obligations.
CrimeListed 18,17,19,22,21Listed as commercial crime or crime/fidelity within specified sectors.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 18,19,22,21,15,16Listed for named commercial sectors; Baldwin separately describes cyber risk guidance and market/partner access.Not listed
Directors and officersListed 18,17,19,22,21,20Listed within management-liability coverage for named business sectors; the dedicated D&O page discusses advisory programs for public companies, IPOs and SPACs.Not listed
Employee health and benefitsListed 18,19,22,21,1Baldwin’s filing attributes employee-benefit services to Insurance Advisory Solutions; commercial-sector pages describe employee-benefit solutions. This is advisory/benefits scope, not a medical plan catalogue.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 18,17,19,22,21Listed as employment-practices liability for the named commercial sector examples.Not listed
Equipment breakdownListed 15,21Listed as machinery/equipment breakdown for digital-infrastructure and transportation exposures.Not listed
Fidelity bondsListed 18Baldwin’s professional-services coverage snapshot lists commercial crime/fidelity bond; it does not specify bond terms or eligibility.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 18,17,21Listed as fiduciary liability for named commercial-sector audiences.Not listed
General liabilityListed 18,17,19,22,21,15Listed as general liability for professional-services clients and as a consideration for other named business sectors.Listed 33ERGO NEXT offers online general liability quotes and purchasing for eligible businesses.
Intellectual propertyListed 18Listed as intellectual-property liability in the professional-services coverage snapshot.Not listed
Key personListed 22Listed as a benefit/insurance solution in the M&A practice context; ask which legal entity and carrier provide it.Not listed
Kidnap and ransomListed 17Listed under professional and specialty risk on the real-estate page; no terms or eligibility are specified.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 18,17,19,22,21,20Listed for named sectors; Baldwin’s dedicated page describes D&O and management-liability advisory programs.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 18,19,22Listed as professional liability/E&O for professional-services and government-contractor audiences.Listed 34ERGO NEXT lists professional liability insurance, also called errors and omissions insurance.
Representations and warrantiesListed 22The M&A practice says its team can negotiate and place representations-and-warranty policies.Not listed
Surety bondsListed 23Dedicated surety practice describes bond advisory/placement across contract, commercial and subdivision contexts.Not listed
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 15Baldwin lists inland and ocean marine among coverages that may be considered for digital-infrastructure clients; this entry covers inland marine only.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 22,15Listed among coverages that may be considered for digital-infrastructure clients and within the M&A practice’s P&C strategy.Not listed
Workers’ compensationListed 18,19,22,21,15,14Listed for named commercial sectors; Baldwin’s dedicated page describes workers’ compensation program and services.Listed 35ERGO NEXT offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Current Spot Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

The Baldwin Group

Broker

Broker

No Spot Score

Assessed provider: The Baldwin Group. Scope: The Baldwin Insurance Group and its consolidated subsidiaries as described in its 2025 Form 10-K. This group-level record does not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular policy or placement.

Provider assessment

ERGO NEXT Insurance

Hybrid provider

Broker

5.0/ 10

Assessed provider: ERGO NEXT Insurance. Scope: ERGO NEXT Insurance brand and the named carrier and agency entities in its current terms and license disclosures, including Next Insurance US Company, State National Insurance Company, National Specialty Insurance Company, Next Insurance, Inc. and Next First Insurance Agency, Inc.; Mississippi authority is limited to Next Insurance US Company, and AM Best ratings are recorded for Next Insurance US Company and State National Insurance Company only.

Carrier & MGA

6.7/ 10

Assessed provider: ERGO NEXT Insurance. Scope: ERGO NEXT Insurance brand and the named carrier and agency entities in its current terms and license disclosures, including Next Insurance US Company, State National Insurance Company, National Specialty Insurance Company, Next Insurance, Inc. and Next First Insurance Agency, Inc.; Mississippi authority is limited to Next Insurance US Company, and AM Best ratings are recorded for Next Insurance US Company and State National Insurance Company only.

Provider assessment

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

The Baldwin Group

-/ 10

Review Score

The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.[8][1][2][4][9][10]

Read The Baldwin Group reviews

ERGO NEXT Insurance

8.9/ 10

Review Score

5 rated sources

NEXT’s favorable ratings come with a warning: NerdWallet reports more commercial liability complaints than expected. Check complaint handling and support before relying on its headline scores.[1][4][6][7][10]

Read ERGO NEXT Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between The Baldwin Group and ERGO NEXT Insurance

Match the Placement Route to the Work You Need

The Baldwin Group describes a risk-advisory process and invites business prospects to speak with an advisor; its online route is an intake, not proof of a completed quote or bind. ERGO NEXT Insurance documents a different role and buyer entry point. Decide whether you need help assessing a wider program or want to start with the specific product and route documented for this provider. 5 48

Baldwin’s business-insurance quote page shows a three-step online intake. Its visible first step asks for a revenue band, company and headquarters details, and contact information; the “Get a quote” link points to app.foundershield.com. Baldwin’s business page and contact page also invite prospects to speak with an advisor. The reviewed evidence does not establish a completed quote, purchase, or policy bind through this route. 5,6,3,7Company-reported. The specific business-insurance quote page inspected on September 28, 2026; the first of three steps was visible and its quote link pointed to app.foundershield.com. Do not generalize this route to all Baldwin commercial prospects or products.

The public quote flow starts with industry and state, then shows stages for coverage, application, quote and purchase. ERGO NEXT says supported policies can be quoted and bought online; licensed advisors are also available. 48,32,49Verified. The empty public start screen was reviewed on September 15, 2026. Virginia appeared as the site’s initial state value; no selection was made, no information was entered and the form was not continued or submitted. Downstream quote and purchase steps were not tested.

Compare the Proposed Coverage to the Exposure

The catalogue descriptions do not establish equivalent policy language. The Baldwin Group lists coverage in the context of named sectors, while ERGO NEXT Insurance documents its own product scope. Request forms, endorsements, limits, retentions and exclusions matched to your operations and customer contracts. 18 33

Baldwin’s current commercial pages list or describe a range of business coverage for named sectors, including professional services, transportation, government contractors, real estate, digital infrastructure, construction, and M&A. These are company-described lines or considerations for those audiences, not a universal catalogue or a statement that every line is available to every buyer. 18,21,19,17,15,22,23Company-reported. Company marketing pages for the named sectors; the listings do not establish policy wording, eligibility, jurisdictional availability or insurer commitments.

ERGO NEXT directly markets general liability, workers’ compensation, commercial property, professional liability/errors and omissions, and a business owner’s policy that combines general liability with commercial property. Its commercial-auto page instead sends buyers to Progressive and says that coverage is provided through a trusted insurance partner. 33,35,36,34,37,38Company-reported. Current direct product pages. Coverage names establish marketed products or a documented partner path, not eligibility, included protections, insurer, limits or policy wording for a specific account.

Set Expectations for Service and Total Cost

Ask for the account-specific premium, taxes, fees and producer compensation. The Baldwin Group discloses group-level arrangements, while ERGO NEXT Insurance describes its own compensation approach; neither description sets the amount or arrangement for this placement. 3 50 2 29

For business insurance, Baldwin describes a five-step RiskMap process: insurance analysis, risk identification, insurance strategy, data-informed decisions, and continual assessment and optimization as risks evolve. 3Company-reported. The process described for Baldwin's business-insurance advisory service; a company-described service approach, not an independently measured outcome or guaranteed savings.

Policyholders can use the online account to access electronic policy documents, update supported policy and payment details, create certificates, add additional insureds and request cancellation. Some changes require staff handling; the account FAQ says revised documents can take seven to ten business days in those cases. 50,29,49Company-reported. Company-described account service. A certificate is evidence of insurance and does not by itself establish that a requested endorsement changes the policy.

What to Confirm in Quotes

  • Which legal producer will advise and place the account, and which insurer will issue each policy? 1 27
  • Which proposed forms, limits, retentions and endorsements address the business’s actual contracts and operations? 18 33
  • Who owns renewal preparation, certificates, policy changes and claims notice, and what response commitments apply? 3 50
  • What are the account-specific premium, taxes, fees and producer compensation arrangements? 2 29

Compare Services

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaThe Baldwin GroupERGO NEXT Insurance
Coverage lines

Baldwin’s current commercial pages list or describe a range of business coverage for named sectors, including professional services, transportation, government contractors, real estate, digital infrastructure, construction, and M&A. These are company-described lines or considerations for those audiences, not a universal catalogue or a statement that every line is available to every buyer. 18,21,19,17,15,22,23Company-reported. Company marketing pages for the named sectors; the listings do not establish policy wording, eligibility, jurisdictional availability or insurer commitments.

ERGO NEXT directly markets general liability, workers’ compensation, commercial property, professional liability/errors and omissions, and a business owner’s policy that combines general liability with commercial property. Its commercial-auto page instead sends buyers to Progressive and says that coverage is provided through a trusted insurance partner. 33,35,36,34,37,38Company-reported. Current direct product pages. Coverage names establish marketed products or a documented partner path, not eligibility, included protections, insurer, limits or policy wording for a specific account.

Several prominently marketed protections are not standalone ERGO NEXT policies: tools and equipment is a general-liability add-on for contractors and cleaning businesses; cyber can be added to general or professional liability; employment practices liability, liquor liability and commercial umbrella/excess are general-liability add-ons; hired and non-owned auto can be added to general liability for personal vehicles; and product liability is included with general liability for eligible retailers and online sellers. 39,40,41,42,43,44,45Company-reported. Current direct offering pages. Each enhancement has its own profession, state, base-policy, limit, exclusion and underwriting conditions; availability is not universal.

The 2026 general liability and BOP coverage guides list optional damage-to-rented-premises, garagekeepers, abuse-and-molestation and lost-key protections for specified business classes. These are coverage enhancements within eligible ERGO NEXT programs, not a documented set of standalone policies available to every direct buyer. 53,54Company-reported. Agent-facing coverage guides, with profession and state availability subject to change. Garagekeepers is limited to listed auto-service classes; abuse-and-molestation and lost-key options are tied to specified classes. The current general appetite guide is a separate class-by-product grid.

Commercial auto is routed to Progressive. ERGO NEXT’s contractor-bond page routes buyers through Liberty Mutual Surety and expressly says ERGO NEXT does not itself offer contractor license bonds, so neither partner product should be mistaken for a policy issued by the ERGO NEXT group. 38,46Company-reported. Current public partner routes. The external providers’ eligibility, policy or bond terms, compensation and servicing were not evaluated in this ERGO NEXT profile.

Website descriptions and coverage examples are general and illustrative. The terms say an actual policy or third-party agreement is the contract, with coverage subject to its conditions, exclusions and underwriting; the posted specimen cannot establish the form offered to a new applicant. 29,52Company-reported. General interpretation rule for public marketing pages and specimen forms. Buyers should use the quote, binder and issued policy for account-specific coverage.

Application process

Baldwin’s business-insurance quote page shows a three-step online intake. Its visible first step asks for a revenue band, company and headquarters details, and contact information; the “Get a quote” link points to app.foundershield.com. Baldwin’s business page and contact page also invite prospects to speak with an advisor. The reviewed evidence does not establish a completed quote, purchase, or policy bind through this route. 5,6,3,7Company-reported. The specific business-insurance quote page inspected on September 28, 2026; the first of three steps was visible and its quote link pointed to app.foundershield.com. Do not generalize this route to all Baldwin commercial prospects or products.

The public quote flow starts with industry and state, then shows stages for coverage, application, quote and purchase. ERGO NEXT says supported policies can be quoted and bought online; licensed advisors are also available. 48,32,49Verified. The empty public start screen was reviewed on September 15, 2026. Virginia appeared as the site’s initial state value; no selection was made, no information was entered and the form was not continued or submitted. Downstream quote and purchase steps were not tested.

A complete application and carrier underwriting approval are required. The terms say a premium payment does not bind coverage until the carrier approves the application, and a payment is refunded if the carrier declines it. 29,33Company-reported. Current Terms §§15 and 18. Website statements that coverage begins after payment remain subject to these underwriting conditions.

Servicing and renewals

For business insurance, Baldwin describes a five-step RiskMap process: insurance analysis, risk identification, insurance strategy, data-informed decisions, and continual assessment and optimization as risks evolve. 3Company-reported. The process described for Baldwin's business-insurance advisory service; a company-described service approach, not an independently measured outcome or guaranteed savings.

Baldwin's contact page provides an existing-policy assistance route that asks for the policy type and the customer's US state, and links to a client portal. The page also directs business-insurance prospects to speak with an advisor. 7Company-reported. Public contact and service entry points on Baldwin's US-facing site; portal capabilities and service timing were not established by the page.

Policyholders can use the online account to access electronic policy documents, update supported policy and payment details, create certificates, add additional insureds and request cancellation. Some changes require staff handling; the account FAQ says revised documents can take seven to ten business days in those cases. 50,29,49Company-reported. Company-described account service. A certificate is evidence of insurance and does not by itself establish that a requested endorsement changes the policy.

The help center advertises a 24/7 AI assistant and U.S.-based insurance experts on weekdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Central Time. The reviewed sources do not promise licensed human support around the clock. 49Company-reported. Current public support channels and posted hours; holiday hours, response times and product-specific service teams were not established.

A direct customer can request cancellation through the online account. ERGO NEXT says it stops future monthly payments and the account FAQ describes a prorated premium refund, but separately earned service or card fees are generally nonrefundable and the terms allow a cancellation fee where applicable. 50,29Company-reported. Direct ERGO NEXT account process and current general terms. Actual effective date, return premium, minimum earned premium and fees depend on the policy, state and account.

Fees and compensation

In a disclosure effective January 1, 2026, The Baldwin Group says compensation may include insurer-paid commissions, negotiated client fees, and contingent commissions tied to goals measured across a book of business. It also describes separate compensation for certain insurer-partner administration, claims, wholesaling, and managing-general-agent services, among other arrangements. The disclosure is group-wide and does not say which arrangements apply to a particular policy. 2Company-reported. The Baldwin Group's group-level compensation disclosure effective January 1, 2026; not the fee or commission terms for a specific commercial account, affiliate, insurer, or placement.

ERGO NEXT and its partners may receive commissions, fees or interest. The terms permit installment, service and cancellation fees separate from premium; Next First Insurance Agency may charge a nonrefundable service fee at binding and renewal and a nonrefundable card transaction fee, while payment by bank account can avoid the card fee. The reviewed terms do not publish the amounts. 29Company-reported. Current Terms §18; charges are subject to state law and advance disclosure. No inference that every applicant pays every listed fee.

Policies are annual even when premium is paid monthly. The terms say monthly payments carry no interest, finance fee or late-payment fee, but the stored payment method may be charged at renewal, missed payments can lead to a cancellation request, and a deposit premium can be adjusted after a premium audit when business details change. 29Company-reported. Current Terms §18. The applicable policy, billing schedule and renewal notice govern a particular account; no universal renewal price or audit outcome is established.

Claims assistance

Baldwin says its claims-advocacy team works with clients, their claim service providers, and other partners before, during, and after a loss to help manage claims and consider resolution strategies. This describes an advocacy service, not who decides coverage or pays a particular claim. 8Company-reported. Company-described commercial claims-advocacy service; it does not establish that Baldwin is the insurer or claim decision-maker for a policy, or guarantee a claim outcome.

ERGO NEXT describes online or app-based claim reporting, document upload, status access and a dedicated claims advocate. The issuing insurer and policy still control coverage and payment, so confirm the notice route for each direct or partner-issued policy. 51,29Company-reported. Company-described claims support, not independently measured claim outcomes or a finding that Next Claims Management handles every claim. Public performance statistics and testimonials were not used.

Access to insurers

The reviewed group disclosure and commercial product pages do not identify a licensed agency or issuing insurer for a buyer’s specific policy or for each listed line. Ask Baldwin to identify both on each quote and binder. 2,13,18,21,19,17,15Not found in reviewed sources. Reviewed official group disclosure and commercial pages on 2026-09-29; it does not establish that no licensed affiliates, carriers, or partner arrangements exist.

ERGO NEXT’s current terms list Next Insurance US Company, State National Insurance Company and National Specialty Insurance Company as carriers that might bind a customer. The listed agencies include Next Insurance, Inc., Next First Insurance Agency, AP Intego and third-party agency partners, so the issuing company must be checked on each quote and policy. 29,30Company-reported. Current general carrier and agency list in Terms §13. It is not a product-by-state appointment matrix or a promise that all three carriers consider every applicant.

The Mississippi Insurance Department identifies Next Insurance US Company as a property-and-casualty insurer with NAIC number 16285 and lists authorized lines including liability, property, inland marine, surety and workers’ compensation in Mississippi. 31Verified. Independent verification for this insurer and jurisdiction only. It does not prove that Next Insurance US Company writes every listed line in Mississippi or issues every ERGO NEXT policy nationally.

A posted Texas restaurant general-liability specimen names State National Insurance Company, Inc. as the insurer and Next First Insurance Agency, Inc. as administrator. It is an illustrative 2024–2025 specimen, not evidence of the insurer or form a new applicant will receive. 52Verified. One published specimen for one product, class and state. No inference to other states, products, current quotes or affiliated-insurer underwriting.

Availability

Baldwin’s location page says its teams serve clients nationally in all 50 states. That office-directory statement does not identify which licensed entity can place a given line or whether a risk qualifies in a particular state. 24Company-reported. Company location directory only; no state producer-license lookup or line-by-state availability test was completed.

Baldwin’s own License page lists California license numbers for six named entities. The page does not state each number’s license class or current status, or connect an entry to a specific commercial line, policy, or placement. The location page separately says teams serve all 50 states; that is not a state-by-state authority or line-availability record. 25,24,3,2Not found in reviewed sources. Provider-published California number disclosure and the group’s commercial placement materials as inspected 2026-09-29. This fact records exactly the page’s label and does not imply independent regulator verification, license class, current status, or authority for a particular line.

ERGO NEXT publishes agency licenses across the states and Washington, D.C., but its terms say products are sold only in a limited number of states, availability and coverage vary by state, and underwriting approval is required. A producer-license list therefore does not establish that a particular product is available for a buyer’s profession and location. 30,29,47Company-reported. U.S. services and current licensing disclosure. The reviewed public consumer pages do not provide one complete, current product-by-profession-by-state matrix; the agent appetite guide directs agents to the portal for state and product availability.

Sources

The Baldwin Group Official Website

  1. The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. Transparency & Disclosure. The Baldwin Group; Effective January 1, 2026, opening definition, line 37; compensation disclosures, lines 45–68; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Business Insurance. The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  4. Business Insurance Industries. The Baldwin Group; “Tailored commercial risk strategies,” lines 21–23; industry spotlights lines 26–170; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  5. Business Insurance Quote. The Baldwin Group; Step 1 of 3, lines 20–34; “Get a quote” link destination at line 33; company/headquarters/contact/consent fields lines 35–79; accessed 2026-09-28. Destination content not inspected. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  6. Innovation Economy. The Baldwin Group; Current page opening: “Innovation Practice”; lines 19–23 describe The Baldwin Group’s Innovation Practice and link “Connect with us” to foundershield.com. No “innovation arm” statement appears on the reopened page. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  7. Contact Us. The Baldwin Group; Business Insurance advisor route, lines 42–46; existing-policy assistance questions and client portal link, lines 80–110; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  8. Risk Mitigation Services. The Baldwin Group; Risk Mitigation; Claims Advocacy. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  9. The Baldwin Group to Go Private Through Majority Investment by Sequence Holdings and Dell Family Office. The Baldwin Group Investor Relations; September 14, 2026 release; transaction announcement and highlights, lines 36 and 49–51; “About The Baldwin Group” brand definition, lines 64–66; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  10. The Baldwin Group. The Baldwin Group; Current header banner: The Baldwin Group to go private; linked CEO message. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  11. The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 8-K dated September 14, 2026. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Item 1.01, Agreement and Plan of Merger parties/transaction structure at lines 76–83; Parent ownership and DFO equity financing at lines 80–81; closing conditions at lines 115–117; Exhibit 2.1 at lines 230–240. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  12. Agreement and Plan of Merger, dated September 14, 2026 (Exhibit 2.1 to Form 8-K). The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; filed as an exhibit with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; Exhibit 2.1 preamble, lines 204–205; recitals, lines 209–210; initial merger sections 2.02–2.03, lines 707–745; Second LLC Merger section 2.10, lines 835–840; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  13. Commercial Liability Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; Business Insurance, lines 71–83: commercial coverage experts; Cyber coverage solution; additional coverage tiles continue below; page accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  14. Workers’ Compensation Insurance. The Baldwin Group; “Workers’ compensation, in focus,” lines 33–49; “Risk Reduction,” lines 63–76; coverage services, insurance-market access and dedicated claims advocates; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  15. Digital Infrastructure. The Baldwin Group; “Products designed to perform,” lines 145–178, lists property, builders’ risk, equipment breakdown, workers’ compensation, commercial general liability, commercial auto, cyber, inland/ocean marine, management liability, umbrella/excess, and other lines for digital-infrastructure exposures; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  16. Cyber Liability Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; Opening and expertise lines 19–38; FAQ coverage examples lines 90–100; incident-response support and insurer/partner access; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  17. Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; “Coverage designed to perform” and sections “Management & governance risk” / “Professional & specialty risk,” lines 120–150; coverage lines plus claims advocacy at lines 153–163; page accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  18. Professional Liability Insurance & Services. The Baldwin Group; Professional-services customer population lines 35–64; coverage snapshot lines 68–84 lists property, general/professional liability, cyber, workers’ compensation, D&O, fiduciary, crime/fidelity bond, EPL, and IP liability; Employee benefits lines 93–95; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  19. Government Contractor Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; GovCon customer/service description lines 21–33; GovTech collaboration, customer scope and coverage considerations lines 93–111; risk-mitigation service lines 113–118; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  20. Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. The Baldwin Group; D&O report and advisory team lines 23–32; Nasdaq collaboration with public-company/IPO/SPAC scope lines 38–44; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  21. Transportation Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; Transportation advisors and partner market access lines 42–48; RiskMap and program reviews lines 53–75; listed line options lines 86–113; fleet risk resources lines 118–131; Employee benefits lines 133–173; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  22. M&A, Private Equity & VC Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; Transactional-risk insurance and placement claims lines 72–80; P&C line list lines 101–116; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  23. Surety Bond Insurance for Construction & Commercial Sectors. The Baldwin Group; Surety advisor/client/insurer relationship descriptions lines 40–58; bond functions, bond forms and business sectors in “Surety Snapshot” and “Industry Coverage,” lines 60–150; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  24. Locations. The Baldwin Group; “Find a location,” lines 17–21: company says office teams serve clients nationally in all 50 states; office listing starts at line 28. Accessed 2026-09-29; location presence/service listing does not prove a state agency license or a line’s availability. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  25. License. The Baldwin Group; Table headed “Legal Entity | CA License Number”, six entries, page lines 17–24; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.

ERGO NEXT Insurance Official Website

  1. Small Business Insurance Quotes. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Current ERGO NEXT branding; small-business positioning; online quote, document, certificate and app statements. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. NEXT Insurance Rebrands as ERGO NEXT Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; January 15, 2026 announcement; About ERGO NEXT Insurance; former name and relationship to ERGO and Munich Re. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Acquisitions and Divestments. Munich Re; 2025 transactions: full acquisition of NEXT Insurance completed July 1, 2025 and stake increased to 100%. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  4. Terms of Service. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Last revised June 29, 2026; §§1, 5–7, 11, 13, 15, 18 and 23 (entities, limited availability, electronic documents, agents and carriers, underwriting, fees, payment and cancellation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Licenses. ERGO NEXT Insurance; State license table; entity and trade-name disclosure; agency referrals; Next Insurance US Company NAIC 16285 and admitted-state list. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  6. Next Insurance US Company. Mississippi Insurance Department; Company license 1900012; NAIC 16285; issue date and authorized property-and-casualty lines. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  7. Business Insurance for Small Businesses. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Primary coverage selector; intended customers; product descriptions; online quote, purchase, documents, certificate and claims sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  8. General Liability Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Coverage overview; eligible-industry selector and Get a Quote links; Buy online; optional liquor, tools, cyber and umbrella references; state links and footer qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. Professional Liability Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Professional Liability insurance heading; What is Professional Liability insurance? (also called errors & omissions insurance); applicant categories; online process; Get Instant Quote; policy qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Workers’ Compensation Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Workers’ Compensation Insurance hero; industry quote routes; small-business coverage overview; applicant process; state links; claims route; policy qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  11. Commercial Property Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Commercial Property heading and quote invitation; business personal property, building and business-income components; quote process; policy qualifications; legal footer on agency sales and issuing-insurer obligations. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  12. Business Owner’s Policy (BOP Insurance). ERGO NEXT Insurance; Business Owner’s Policy heading and quote invitation; BOP as combined general liability and commercial property; industry selector; optional equipment-failure, tools and cyber references; legal footer on agency and issuing insurer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  13. Commercial Auto Liability Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Commercial Auto hero; Progressive partner disclosure and external quote link; appointed-agent availability limitation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  14. Tools and Equipment Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Coverage for contractors and cleaning businesses; add-on to general liability; inland-marine terminology and qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  15. Cyber Liability Insurance for Business. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Add-on to general or professional liability; covered-event examples, exclusions, application and policy qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  16. Employment Practice Liability (EPLI). ERGO NEXT Insurance; EPLI as an add-on to general liability; applicant categories, claims-made description, exclusions and policy qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  17. Commercial Umbrella Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Add-on to an ERGO NEXT general liability policy; limits, state-specific excess-liability naming and policy qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  18. Liquor Liability Insurance Coverage. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Add-on to general liability for eligible food-service businesses; host and one-day event coverage exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  19. Hired and Non-Owned Auto Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; HNOA add-on to general liability for personal vehicles; commercial-auto partner route; vehicle and use qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  20. Product Liability Insurance 100% Online. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Included in general liability for retailers and online sellers; cannot be purchased as a standalone policy. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  21. Contractor Bonds. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Liberty Mutual Surety partnership; FAQ states ERGO NEXT does not itself offer contractor license bonds. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  22. ERGO NEXT Appetite Guide. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Three-page guide: eligibility overview; class-by-product appetite grid; umbrella/excess as a GL/BOP add-on; agent-portal confirmation. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  23. Start a Quote. ERGO NEXT Insurance; First screen: five-stage progress indicator, industry choices and state field. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  24. How Can We Help? ERGO NEXT Insurance; Account-management topics; AI assistant; U.S.-based expert support hours; quote, billing, policy, certificate, claim, renewal and cancellation links. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  25. My Account FAQs. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Electronic documents; policy and payment changes; cancellation; certificates and additional insureds. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  26. File a Claim. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Claims process; online and non-customer reporting; claims-advocate role; document, status and payment-method descriptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  27. General Liability Policy Specimen. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Texas restaurant specimen declarations: State National Insurance Company, Inc. as insurer and Next First Insurance Agency, Inc. as administrator; 2024–2025 specimen period. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  28. General Liability Coverage Guide — May 2026. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Coverage Enhancements table: garagekeepers for listed auto-service classes; expanded rented-premises damage; abuse and molestation; lost-key coverage; state and profession caveat. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  29. Business Owners’ Policy Coverage Guide — August 20, 2026. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Liability Coverage Enhancements table: rented-premises damage, garagekeepers, abuse and molestation, lost-key options and available professions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  30. Auto Repair Shop Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Garagekeepers Liability section: customer vehicles and inclusion with general liability in Pro/Pro Plus packages; faulty-work and commercial-property descriptions; illustrative package limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Suggested Comparisons

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot