North Carolina Umbrella and Excess Liability Guide

G.S. 20-279.21(b) requires an owner’s policy to insure permissive users, subject to limits of $50,000 for bodily injury or death of one person, $100,000 for two or more persons, and $50,000 for property of others. G.S. 1D-25 separately provides that punitive damages awarded against a defendant shall not exceed three times the compensatory damages or $250,000, whichever is greater, and the jury is not told that limit. The excess layer attaches above the auto policy you schedule. The punitive statute can reduce the judgment the layer is asked to pay, and it does not lower the $50,000/$100,000/$50,000 policy contents. 1,2

What Is Umbrella And Excess Liability?

Umbrella or excess insurance adds liability limits above the policies named in the quote after a covered claim exhausts their limits. It may fit if a contract sets higher limits; check which primary policies are listed and any gaps between them. Read the national Umbrella and excess liability guide.

North Carolina Requirements

RequirementDetails
Owner’s policy limitsG.S. 20-279.21(b)(2) requires limits, exclusive of interest and costs, of $50,000 for bodily injury or death of one person, $100,000 for two or more persons, and $50,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others. The legislature’s compiled section includes amendments through 2025-4. These are owner’s-policy limits, not an umbrella minimum. 1

What to Watch for in North Carolina

  • The punitive ceiling is whichever figure is greater

    G.S. 1D-25(b) uses three times compensatory damages or $250,000, whichever is greater. A $50,000 compensatory award produces a $250,000 punitive ceiling, not $150,000. A $200,000 compensatory award produces a $600,000 punitive ceiling. If the jury’s punitive number is higher, the trial court reduces the award and enters judgment at the maximum. The trier of fact is not told the limit. 2

  • Property damage in the owner’s policy is $50,000

    The third figure in G.S. 20-279.21(b)(2) is $50,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others, matching the per-person bodily-injury figure rather than a smaller property floor used in many other states. An umbrella schedule that assumes $25,000 property underlying limits does not match this statute. Read the auto declarations for $50,000/$100,000/$50,000. 1

  • Punitive damages are found separately from compensatory damages

    Subsection (a) requires the trier of fact to determine punitive damages separately from compensation for all other damages. Settlement talks that blend the two numbers make it harder to test the three-times-or-$250,000 comparison. Ask for the compensatory figure first, then apply subsection (b). 2

Who Regulates Insurance in North Carolina

North Carolina Department of Insurance

The North Carolina Department of Insurance administers insurance laws, licenses insurance producers and companies, reviews insurance filings and handles consumer complaints. The Commissioner is elected statewide. 3,4,5,6

Surplus-lines tax and stamping office

Reported tax rate: 5% of gross premium, less return premium, plus 0.4% NC Stamping Office fee for ordinary filed placements When North Carolina is the insured’s home state, surplus-lines tax is 5% of gross premium less return premium; ordinary broker-placed filings also carry a 0.4% stamping fee, while risk-purchasing-group and independent-procurement filings follow separate procedures. A diligent search is generally required; an exempt commercial purchaser may bypass it only after the broker discloses the admitted-market protection difference and receives the purchaser’s subsequent written request. The policy warns that the state guaranty or solvency fund will not pay surplus-lines losses. 7,8,9,10

North Carolina Surplus Lines Association / NC Stamping Office

Providers With Documented State Licenses

These providers publish a national listing for Umbrella and excess liability; the state records document licenses for the entities and roles shown below. Some records rely on company-reported information rather than independent regulator verification. A national listing does not confirm the product is available in North Carolina. Check the regulator’s license lookup and confirm state availability for your business when requesting a quote.

  • CorgiCorgi Insurance Services, Inc.Insurance producer · checked 2026-09-28Corgi’s company producer-license table lists 50 jurisdictions: 49 states and the District of Columbia, including DC license 3003091619. New Mexico does not appear in the table and is not included here; the omission does not establish that Corgi is unlicensed there. The company-reported table has no stated as-of date and does not establish product availability. 13
  • TechInsuranceSpecialty Program Group LLCInsurance producer · checked 2026-09-28TechInsurance’s current licensing page names Specialty Program Group LLC / SPG Insurance Solutions and lists state license numbers, but labels Rhode Island “Individual licenses” rather than identifying a license for the named agency. RI is omitted because this disclosure does not establish agency authority there; this is a search limitation, not an assertion that the company is unlicensed. The remaining state entries are company-reported and are not an insurance product availability map. 16
  • VouchVouch Specialty Insurance Services, LLCInsurance producer, Surplus-lines broker · checked 2026-09-28Vouch’s licenses page, effective January 16, 2025, lists producer licenses in all 50 states and DC. Its separate surplus-lines table includes Idaho number 870820, while a footnote says Georgia and Idaho do not issue agency-level surplus-lines licenses. Because those statements conflict for Idaho, this record keeps Idaho producer-only and does not treat the table number as established agency surplus-lines authority. The page is company-reported and does not establish product availability. 17

Questions to Ask Before You Buy in North Carolina

  1. Does the owner’s policy provide at least $50,000/$100,000 bodily injury and $50,000 property damage?
  2. What is the compensatory amount, so the punitive cap can be computed as the greater of three times that amount or $250,000?
  3. Has the trial court reduced a punitive verdict that exceeded G.S. 1D-25(b)?

Umbrella And Excess Liability in North Carolina: FAQ

What limits must a North Carolina owner’s auto policy provide? 1

G.S. 20-279.21(b)(2) states $50,000 for bodily injury or death of one person, $100,000 for two or more persons, and $50,000 for property of others, exclusive of interest and costs. 1

What is the maximum punitive award against one North Carolina defendant? 2

G.S. 1D-25(b) says punitive damages shall not exceed three times the compensatory damages or $250,000, whichever is greater. The court reduces a verdict above that maximum, and the limit is not disclosed to the trier of fact. 2

Umbrella And Excess Liability in Other States

Other Coverage in North Carolina

Sources

  1. G.S. 20-279.21, Motor vehicle liability policy. North Carolina General Assembly; Subsection (b)(2): $50,000/$100,000 bodily injury or death and $50,000 property; history through S.L. 2025-4. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. G.S. 1D-25, Limitation of amount of recovery. North Carolina General Assembly; Subsection (b): the greater of three times compensatory damages or $250,000; subsection (c): the limit is not disclosed to the trier of fact. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. North Carolina Department of Insurance. North Carolina Department of Insurance; Official department homepage. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  4. Insurance Producer and Adjuster Licensing. North Carolina Department of Insurance; Official licensing landing page provides license status lookup, producer licensing and SBS resources. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  5. File a Complaint. North Carolina Department of Insurance; Official insurance complaint form and consumer assistance page; toll-free line 855-408-1212. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  6. Commissioner of Insurance. North Carolina Department of Insurance; Official commissioner biography says officeholder was elected statewide. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  7. N.C. Gen. Stat. §58-21-85. North Carolina General Assembly; 5% tax on gross premiums less returns when insured’s home state is North Carolina; treatment of reciprocal allocation also provided. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  8. Surplus Lines. North Carolina Department of Insurance; Current DOI surplus-lines page identifies NC Stamping Office; states a 0.4% fee for ordinary new/renewal filings; excludes RRG and independent procurement. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  9. N.C. Gen. Stat. §58-21-16. North Carolina General Assembly; ECP diligent-search waiver requires broker disclosure that admitted insurance may provide greater protection and purchaser subsequent written request; ECP definition appears in subsection (b). Accessed 2026-09-28.
  10. Surplus Lines. North Carolina Department of Insurance; Required surplus-lines policy language says state guaranty or solvency fund will not pay losses on policy. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  11. Licenses. At-Bay; Current producer introduction and state table; At-Bay Insurance Services LLC; P&C and surplus-lines identifiers. Accessed 2026-09-21.
  12. Licenses and Carriers. Coalition; Licenses and Carriers, re-read 22 September 2026: Insurance Licenses table for Coalition Insurance Solutions, Inc., national producer number 18419475, with producer and surplus-lines numbers for all 50 states and DC including California 0L76155, Georgia 196479, Texas 2199630 and 2205589, Pennsylvania 815731 and 817452, Colorado 539028 and Wisconsin 3000108852. Insurance Carriers table naming, with NAIC numbers, Allianz Underwriters Insurance Company 36420, Arch Specialty Insurance Company 21199, Ascot Specialty Insurance Company 45055, Ascot Insurance Company 23752, Aspen Specialty Insurance Company 10717, Chaucer Insurance Company DAC, Coalition Insurance Company 29530, Fireman's Fund Indemnity Corporation 11380, Fortegra Specialty Insurance Company 16823, Lloyd's of London, MSIG Specialty Insurance USA Inc. 34886, MS Transverse Specialty Insurance Company 41807, Steadfast Insurance Company 26387, Vantage Risk Specialty Insurance Company 16275 and Zurich American Insurance Company 16535. Accessed 2026-09-22.
  13. Insurance Producer Licenses. Corgi Insurance; Current complete Insurance Producer Licenses table for Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; 50 rows covering 49 states and DC (DC 3003091619); no New Mexico row; no NPN or as-of date shown. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  14. About Hiscox US Insurance. Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  15. Licenses. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Current entity-by-state license table reopened 28 September 2026: 50 rows under Next First Insurance Agency, Inc., including Washington, DC; New York rows instead list Next Insurance Services PC-1423070 and AP Intego BR-1198885. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  16. Insurance Licenses by State. TechInsurance; Current state table; identifies TechInsurance as a division of Specialty Program Group LLC d/b/a SPG Insurance Solutions; lists DC 3000041536 and labels Rhode Island “Individual licenses,” without an agency license number. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  17. Licenses. Vouch; Effective 16 January 2025: Vouch Specialty Insurance Services, LLC, NPN 19926463; P&C table (50 states and DC); surplus-lines table includes Idaho 870820; footnote says Georgia and Idaho do not issue agency-level surplus-lines licenses; Idaho retained as producer-only due to conflict. Accessed 2026-09-15.

Updated .

This guide is informational and does not determine whether a policy is available or meets your needs. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with a supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot