Chubb vs HUB International: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Chubb issues its commercial policies through agents; HUB brokers coverage and benefits, with Insureon as its small-business channel.

An Overview of Chubb and HUB International

A startup or small business can use HUB’s Insureon channel to shop across markets; a company seeking a Chubb policy should request one through an appointed agent. The proposed carrier on any HUB quote must be identified. Choose HUB for multi-market shopping or benefits; choose a Chubb agent to seek Chubb-issued coverage. 29 47 77

What Stands Out About Chubb and HUB International?

Chubb at a Glance

  • Eligible technology companies can combine technology E&O, media and cyber through DigiTech ERM. 10,9,4Company-reportedU.S. cyber product pages accessed 16 September 2026. Product names are not equivalent coverage across every insured.
  • Agents can quote eligible small-business accounts online; cyber has a faster application route. 9,10,30,31,12Company-reportedU.S. agent platforms and buyer contact paths as of 16 September 2026. Quote speed and bindability are not guaranteed for any applicant.

HUB International at a Glance

  • HUB’s technology practice serves startups and software, hardware and digital-media companies; HUB says it insures more than 5,000 technology businesses. 53Company-reportedIndustry marketing page only. Does not establish California eligibility, insurer panels or policy wording for any named coverage.
  • Qualifying small businesses can use Insureon’s online quote path; other accounts work with a HUB advisor or local office, with no public self-serve bind path for mid-market programs. 51,54,55,56,53,49Company-reportedPublic website paths as of 16 September 2026. No application was submitted. Insureon’s own site is a separate digital agency flow.

Chubb vs HUB International Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageChubbHUB International
Builders riskListed 22,21Chubb offers builders risk insurance.Listed 53HUB International arranges builders risk insurance.
Business owner’s policyListed 7,4Chubb offers business owner’s policies for eligible small businesses with up to $30 million in revenue.Listed 61HUB International arranges business owner’s policies for small and midsized businesses.
Cargo and transitListed 24Chubb offers cargo insurance.Listed 71,53HUB International arranges cargo insurance.
Commercial autoListed 17,7Chubb offers commercial auto insurance.Listed 63HUB International arranges commercial auto insurance.
Commercial propertyListed 15,4Chubb offers commercial property insurance.Listed 62HUB International arranges commercial property insurance.
CrimeListed 11,5Chubb offers crime coverage within its ForeFront portfolio for private, nonprofit and health care organizations.Listed 64,59HUB International arranges commercial crime insurance.
Cyber liabilityListed 10,9Chubb offers cyber insurance.Listed 56,53HUB International arranges cyber insurance.
Directors and officersListed 13,11Chubb offers directors and officers liability insurance for smaller privately held companies through ForeFront.Listed 55,53HUB International arranges directors and officers liability insurance.
Employee health and benefitsNot listedListed 73,44HUB International arranges employee health and benefits programs.
Employment practices liabilityListed 11,14Chubb offers employment practices liability insurance.Listed 59,53HUB International arranges employment practices liability insurance.
Equipment breakdownListed 23,5Chubb offers equipment breakdown insurance.Listed 72HUB International arranges equipment breakdown insurance.
Fidelity bondsNot listedListed 59HUB International arranges crime and fidelity coverage through its professional and executive risk practice.
Fiduciary liabilityListed 11,14Chubb offers fiduciary liability insurance.Listed 65,59HUB International arranges fiduciary liability insurance.
General liabilityListed 7,4,20Chubb offers general liability insurance within its commercial package products.Listed 54HUB International arranges general liability insurance.
Hired and non-owned autoNot listedListed 63HUB International arranges hired and non-owned auto coverage through its commercial auto brokerage.
Key personNot listedListed 53HUB International arranges key person life and disability insurance.
Kidnap and ransomListed 11,14Chubb offers kidnap and ransom insurance.Listed 66,59HUB International arranges kidnap and ransom insurance.
Management liabilityListed 11,14Chubb offers management liability insurance.Listed 53,59HUB International arranges management liability insurance through its professional and executive risk practice.
Media liabilityListed 10Chubb offers media liability insurance through DigiTech ERM for technology companies.Not listed
Medical malpracticeNot listedListed 68HUB International arranges medical professional liability insurance for health care professionals.
Product liabilityNot listedListed 70HUB International arranges product liability insurance.
Product recallListed 26,28Chubb offers product recall insurance for businesses handling finished consumer goods.Listed 70HUB International arranges product recall insurance.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 10,5Chubb offers professional errors and omissions insurance through Pro ERM for non-licensed professional-service firms.Listed 57,58HUB International arranges professional errors and omissions insurance.
Representations and warrantiesListed 27Chubb offers representations and warranties insurance within its offering for large US- and Canadian-based multinational companies.Listed 69HUB International arranges representations and warranties insurance.
Surety bondsListed 25Chubb offers surety bonds.Listed 67HUB International arranges surety bonds.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 10,4Chubb offers technology errors and omissions insurance through DigiTech ERM for technology companies.Listed 53HUB International arranges technology errors and omissions insurance.
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 21,28Chubb offers inland marine insurance.Listed 71HUB International arranges inland marine insurance through its marine practice.
TruckingNot listedListed 63HUB International arranges trucking insurance.
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 16,7Chubb offers umbrella and excess liability insurance.Listed 70HUB International arranges umbrella and excess liability insurance.
Virtual care and telehealthNot listedListed 74HUB International arranges virtual care insurance for health care organizations.
Workers’ compensationListed 8,4Chubb offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses, from one employee up to $30 million in revenue, including technology companies.Listed 60HUB International arranges workers’ compensation insurance.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Chubb and HUB International Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Chubb and HUB International each publish for one coverage line.

Chubb and HUB International Reliability Scores

Each score uses the criteria for that provider’s role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Chubb and HUB International Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

Chubb Review Score

6.9/ 10

Review Score

5 rated sources

Chubb earns 5/5 from NerdWallet, which reports fewer-than-expected commercial property and liability complaints. Customer ratings are mixed across products and locations.

Read Chubb reviews

HUB International Review Score

5.6/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customers who reviewed HUB on BBB rate it 1 out of 5, but that is only 7 reviews for a very large broker. BBB's own business grade is A-.

Read HUB International reviews

Key Differences Between Chubb and HUB International

Retail Broker Network Versus Carrier

HUB International Limited describes itself as a full-service insurance broker; product pages market policies issued by insurers, not HUB as the risk-bearing carrier. Chubb is the marketing name for group underwriting companies. Insureon sits inside HUB’s distribution story and can name Chubb as an example market without making every HUB placement a Chubb policy. 47 2

HUB’s Insureon affiliation is a distribution fact inside HUB. Chubb Insurance Solutions Agency, Inc. (CISA) administers Chubb Access appointments. Those are two producer stories, not shared ownership of the risk. 79 38

San Francisco and Technology Practice

HUB describes San Francisco-area customers and a technology practice, plus a small-commercial gate through Insureon. Chubb describes technology industry practice from startups to multinationals. An office location is not California product eligibility for either brand’s every line. 46 4 35

How You Get a Quote

HUB’s application routes include practice teams and Insureon. Chubb’s commercial path is an appointed agent. A company already on Insureon paper that wants DigiTech still needs a producer who can obtain a Chubb quote; these pages do not say that producer is HUB. 51 29

Compensation

HUB publishes how it gets paid. Chubb does not publish buyer-facing commission tables. Ask HUB to itemize compensation on any Chubb placement. 50 29

What Should You Confirm in Chubb and HUB International Quotes?

  • Whether the proposal is HUB retail, Insureon, or another HUB channel, and which insurer is on each line. 77 30

  • California producer license of the HUB entity on the binder. 81

  • Technology E&O form if HUB places Chubb DigiTech versus another market. 56 10

  • Benefits versus P&C if HUB is also quoting employee benefits Chubb is not selling as the same product. 73

Chubb vs HUB International Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaChubbHUB International
Business role

Businesses buying Chubb coverage receive a policy from a US underwriting company, not from Chubb Limited, the Swiss holding company. Chubb is the marketing name for the group’s insurance subsidiaries and related services. 39,2,25VerifiedGroup identity from the 2025 Form 10-K Item 1 and U.S. website legal disclosures. The holding company is not the risk-bearing insurer on a given U.S. policy.

Most commercial buyers need an independent agent or broker to reach Chubb; surplus-lines products require a licensed surplus-lines producer. Chubb appoints producers and operates agent portals, while Chubb Insurance Solutions Agency, Inc. administers Chubb Access appointments. 29,30,2,38Company-reportedU.S. distribution as described on agent-access, contact and terms pages. This does not mean every independent agent is appointed for every product.

HUB helps businesses arrange insurance through brokers and agents; reviewed product pages describe brokerage, not HUB as the insurer. Its subsidiaries hold licenses in various US states and Canadian provinces. 47,48,52Company-reportedBrand and parent identity as of 16 September 2026. Does not identify which subsidiary would appear on a California producer license or policy declarations.

Small businesses may reach HUB through its digital Insureon route, acquired in 2022; Insureon and TechInsurance are associated with Specialty Program Group, so the retail account path may differ from HUB’s offices. 47,77,78,79,80Company-reportedCorporate-affiliation statements. Does not establish that every HUB office places business through Insureon, or that TechInsurance is a distinct California producer.

Customer focus

Startups through multinationals in software, technology services, communications and hardware can ask Chubb about technology insurance; its small-business BOP also lists technology among 500+ classes for firms with up to $30 million revenue. 4,7,5Company-reportedCompany marketing of industry appetite and BOP eligibility. It does not establish that a particular Bay Area startup will be quoted or bound.

Bay Area technology, venture-capital, healthcare, life-sciences, real-estate and construction businesses can contact HUB’s San Francisco team; this is a local service description, not a product eligibility list. 44,45Company-reportedHUB International San Francisco office page at 201 Mission Street. A separate 44 Montgomery Street office describes contractor bonding and City of San Francisco contractor-development work under a Merriwether & Williams history.

Technology companies can ask HUB about E&O, cyber, D&O, transactional coverage, workers’ compensation and benefits; HUB says it currently insures 5,000+ technology companies, a company-reported figure. 53Company-reportedIndustry marketing page only. Does not establish California eligibility, insurer panels or policy wording for any named coverage.

Businesses with 50 or fewer employees or under $5 million revenue are directed by HUB to Insureon’s online quote; larger or different commercial accounts go to HUB advisors. These are routing guidelines, not a legal small-business definition. 51Company-reportedHUB contact-us Business Solutions copy as of 16 September 2026. Actual Insureon underwriting appetite can differ by product and insurer.

Coverage lines

Technology companies can compare DigiTech ERM, which combines technology E&O, media and cyber in one policy, with Chubb’s Cyber ERM or Pro ERM options; the issued form sets actual terms, limits and exclusions. 10,9,4Company-reportedU.S. cyber product pages accessed 16 September 2026. Product names are not equivalent coverage across every insured.

Businesses can also ask Chubb about BOP, workers’ compensation, auto, umbrella/excess, management liability, property, marine, builders risk, equipment breakdown, cargo, environmental, surety, product recall and transaction coverage; product names do not mean one package includes every line. 4,7,11,15,25,27Company-reportedOfferings described on dedicated product or industry solution pages. Availability, admitted versus surplus paper, and wording vary by product, size and jurisdiction.

Businesses can ask HUB about liability, property, workers’ comp, auto, cyber, D&O, professional liability, crime, fiduciary, bonds, malpractice, marine, equipment and transaction coverage, plus employee benefits; marketing pages do not establish exact forms or eligibility. 52,54,62,60,61,63,56,55,57,58,64,65,66,67,68,71,72,69,70,73,59Company-reportedOfficial product and casualty pages accessed 16 September 2026. Catalogue entries are brokerage offerings, not proof that a California startup can obtain each line on stated terms.

Technology companies can build programs around Tech E&O, cyber, D&O, workers’ comp, cargo, property, benefits and other listed risks; confirm which are relevant and available for your operations. 53Company-reportedTechnology industry page inventory. Patent package is a HUB grouping label, not a finding that intellectual-property insurance is separately underwritten. Builders risk is listed there as a technology offering.

Application process

Eligible small businesses can get agent-assisted quotes through Chubb Marketplace, with Cyber Central offering an express cyber route; the described online path is for appointed agents and brokers, not a general-public bind for middle-market technology programs. Cyber risks under $100 million revenue may qualify; referred risks go to underwriters. 9,10,30,31,12Company-reportedU.S. agent platforms and buyer contact paths as of 16 September 2026. Quote speed and bindability are not guaranteed for any applicant.

Small accounts meeting HUB’s size guidelines can start an online Insureon quote; other buyers contact a HUB broker or local office. The reviewed site does not offer a public self-serve bind route for mid-market programs. 51,54,55,56,53,49Company-reportedPublic website paths as of 16 September 2026. No application was submitted. Insureon’s own site is a separate digital agency flow.

Fees and compensation

Ask your agent about premium, commissions and fees before choosing a quote: buyer-facing Chubb pages do not publish rates or policy fees, while inland-marine engineering beyond included loss control is fee-for-service. 29,7,10,21Not publicly disclosedPublic U.S. commercial pages listed as sources. Absence of a published schedule is not a finding that coverage is free or that producers are unpaid.

Ask for compensation on your proposal: HUB says it receives insurer commissions, contingent and supplemental payments and sometimes client fees, may use affiliated wholesalers, and may earn administration or data fees; it publishes no standard rates. 50Company-reportedFirmwide compensation disclosure. Amounts for a given account are not disclosed on the public page.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Chubb vs HUB International

  • AIG lists broker and agent tools; Chubb describes quote access for eligible small businesses through appointed producers.

  • Compare AIG’s insurer-led commercial offerings with HUB’s brokerage and small-account routing, including where each path may suit a technology business.

  • A startup responding to an enterprise customer's insurance requirements can compare Chubb DigiTech through an agent with Alliance Risk's multi-market review.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot