AIG vs
CFC
CFC says it can quote specialist technology cover as an MGA and offers risk-response services, while naming separate U.K. and U.S. entities in its disclosures. AIG identifies affiliated insurers but does not assign an issuer to a particular quote. Compare the legal insurer, application requirements, incident services and notice terms for the actual policy. 20,16,1,2
Introduction
CFC positions itself as a specialist MGA for technology risks and describes security and incident-response services alongside insurance. AIG’s public pages list a broader commercial portfolio and affiliated insurers, but do not establish which product or insurer fits your technology account. Ask both producers to identify the policy form, legal insurer and any included cyber-response services before comparing price. 20 16 2
The coverage table also lists an AIG Product Recall offer, but the cited flyer describes multinational cover for named segments; it does not establish an unrestricted U.S. standalone offer, issuer or account terms. Confirm that your product and territory fit the actual proposal. 12
Coverage Comparison
| Coverage | AIG | CFC |
|---|---|---|
| Builders risk | Listed AIG Builders Risk | Not listed |
| Cargo and transit | Listed AIG Ocean Cargo | Not listed |
| Commercial auto | Listed AIG Truck Insurance Group commercial auto (scoped to for-hire trucking) | Not listed |
| Commercial property | Listed AIG Commercial Property / Retail Property | Listed 28CFC offers property coverage within its property and casualty product. |
| Crime | Listed AIG Crime Insurance / CrimeGuard Choice | Listed 26,38CFC offers crime in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. |
| Cyber liability | Listed AIG CyberEdge family (CyberEdge, CyberEdge Plus and CyberEdge PC kept distinct) | Listed 24CFC offers cyber insurance, including primary and excess products. |
| Directors and officers | Listed AIG Directors & Officers Liability | Listed 26CFC offers directors and officers liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. |
| Employee health and benefits | Listed AIG Medical Indemnity supplemental group health benefit | Not listed |
| Employment practices liability | Listed AIG Employment Practices Liability Insurance | Listed 26CFC offers employment practices liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. CFC does not write standalone employment practices liability. |
| Equipment breakdown | Listed AIG Programs lists equipment breakdown in named program schedules including the manufactured-housing program; schedule-specific membership only. | Not listed |
| Fidelity bonds | Listed AIG Crime and Fidelity product page; line membership is based on the named fidelity/bond product family, not a specific bond form. | Not listed |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed AIG Fiduciary Liability Insurance / Fiduciary Edge | Listed 26CFC offers fiduciary liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. |
| General liability | Listed AIG Programs general liability (three separate program scopes) | Listed 28CFC offers general liability within its property and casualty product. |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Listed AIG Manufactured Housing Program lists hired and non-owned auto for that program; this does not establish a standalone broad HNOA product. | Not listed |
| Intellectual property | Not listed | Listed 29CFC offers intellectual-property insurance for eligible businesses with revenue up to $500 million, depending on industry. |
| Kidnap and ransom | Listed AIG CrisiSolution K&R and extortion | Listed 30CFC offers kidnap and ransom insurance, including a specialist marine product. |
| Liquor liability | Listed AIG Programs lists liquor liability among coverages it may develop in client-specific programs; no general standalone product or universal program availability implied. | Not listed |
| Management liability | Listed AIG Programs Management Liability for private and non-profit companies with revenue up to $50 million; listed components are D&O, EPL and fiduciary liability. | Listed 25,26CFC offers a US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. |
| Media liability | Listed AIG Media Content and Publishers & Broadcasters liability (distinct descriptions) | Listed 36CFC offers media liability insurance for content creators and media businesses. |
| Product liability | Listed AIG Aviation Product Liability | Listed 37CFC offers product liability within its life-science and nutraceutical policies. |
| Product recall | Listed 12AIG Multinational and Talbot market multinational Product Recall Insurance for named component-part, consumer-goods/topical/consumer-health and finished-goods segments; not an unrestricted U.S. standalone product, and the flyer does not resolve a specific policy issuer, account terms or jurisdiction-specific availability. | Listed 31CFC offers product-recall and contaminated-product-recall insurance. |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed AIG entity-based Professional Liability / Specialty Professional E&O | Listed 27CFC offers professional liability insurance for professional-service businesses. |
| Representations and warranties | Listed AIG Representations & Warranties Insurance | Listed 32CFC offers buyer-side and seller-side representations and warranties insurance. |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed AIG Technology Services E&O; the page separately identifies coverage for technology-service performance errors or omissions. Membership only, not a detailed accepted Tech E&O offering. | Listed 17CFC offers technology errors and omissions for technology businesses. |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Listed AIG Inland Marine (Transportation & Logistics; Construction & Equipment) | Not listed |
| Trucking | Listed AIG Truck Insurance Group | Not listed |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed AIG Excess Casualty (lead umbrella and mid/high excess) | Listed 33CFC offers excess professional liability, general liability and cyber limits for small and micro businesses. |
| Virtual care and telehealth | Not listed | Listed 34CFC offers an eHealth package for businesses delivering health care through technology, including telemedicine. |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed AIG Workers’ Compensation options by distinct channel | Not listed |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Spot Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
AIG
CarrierNo Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
CFC
Managing general agentCarrier & MGA
5.4/ 10Assessed provider: CFC. Scope: CFC Underwriting Limited as the UK underwriting-management entity and CFC USA, Inc. as the US producer and managing general agent, for CFC-branded technology, cyber, professional and specialty products. US authority is verified in Georgia, Texas and Pennsylvania only, with delegated underwriting and All Lines adjusting authority verified in Texas alone. Capacity is assessed for one relationship and two states only: the appointment of CFC USA, Inc. by State National Insurance Company, Inc., NAIC 12831, recorded in Texas since 2022 and Pennsylvania since 2019, covering CFC's delegated admitted business in those states. No CFC product is mapped to that carrier by any source, and the arrangement is not evidence about CFC's business in the other 48 jurisdictions. Lloyd's Syndicate 1988 is a company-level disclosure and is not assessed as the capacity behind any named US programme. Financial resilience is assessed as CFC Underwriting Limited's ability to sustain its own operations; the insurer's capital is not CFC's and is out of scope.
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
AIG
Review Score
Not enough ratings
Public review figures about AIG do not describe one comparable U.S. commercial-insurance population: Trustpilot and ConsumerAffairs mix products and countries, BBB includes corporate locations, and the NAIC issuer-specific search remains incomplete. NerdWallet directly reports more liability and property claims complaints than it expects for AIG’s size; its 2.5-star value is an editorial rating, not a consumer average.[1][2][3][6][5]
Read AIG reviewsCFC
Review Score
Not enough ratings
CFC has too little attributable customer feedback in the sources checked to support a service verdict. Confirm support and claims responsibilities before buying.[3]
Read CFC reviewsKey Differences Between AIG and CFC
Provider Role and Technology Audience
“AIG” is the marketing name for American International Group, Inc.'s worldwide operations. AIG says insurance products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates; its U.S. legal notice lists multiple U.S.-domiciled property and casualty insurers but does not identify which company would issue a particular commercial policy. 1,2Company-reported. AIG group naming and the listed U.S.-domiciled property and casualty companies. The legal notice is not a policy-specific carrier assignment or complete ownership chart.
CFC can quote specialist cover as an MGA, meaning it performs some underwriting functions for insurers that carry the risk. Its disclosures identify CFC Underwriting Limited and U.S. producer CFC USA, Inc.; the CFC brand is not the insurer name on every policy. 20,19Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.
CFC describes an MGA that performs some underwriting functions for insurers and identifies CFC Underwriting Limited and CFC USA, Inc. in its disclosures. AIG’s U.S. insurer list also spans affiliates without assigning one to the proposed policy. Confirm the U.S. producer, delegated authority and risk-bearing company on the quote and binder. 19 2
AIG’s Surplus Lines section says its commercial insurance solutions serve small, middle-market, and large enterprises. The same section separately describes Lexington Casualty as an experienced excess-and-surplus-lines casualty provider; it does not explicitly assign all three customer-size segments to Lexington Casualty. 3Company-reported. AIG’s published Surplus Lines section; customer-size statement and Lexington Casualty description are adjacent but not explicitly attributed to the same business. This does not establish a provider-wide customer focus or product-specific issuer.
Startups through multinationals can ask CFC about technology coverage, including before generating revenue; the stated audience does not guarantee a particular business will qualify. 16Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.
CFC says technology buyers can range from startups to multinationals, including pre-revenue firms, but that audience statement is not a promise of acceptance. AIG’s broad size range does not establish technology-specific eligibility. Give each underwriter the same information about revenue, products, security controls, contracts and prior incidents. 16 3
Application and Renewal Service
AIG lists a North America myAIG portal for brokers and agents to access loss runs, policy documents, applications, and tools, and a separate U.S. portal for producer appointment requests. The public pages do not establish that a business can complete an online purchase or bind coverage directly. 4Company-reported. Publicly listed North America broker/agent portal functions and U.S. producer appointment requests. Authenticated workflow and product-specific submission or binding steps were not reviewed.
A senior staff member should expect to complete the technology application and send it to a broker; it asks for revenue, funding, subsidiaries, products, contracts, security, IP procedures and claims history. CFC Connect separately supports broker trading and appointments. 18,21Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.
CFC’s technology application asks a senior staff member about revenue, funding, products, contracts, security, intellectual property and claims history; CFC Connect separately supports broker trading. AIG’s portal page describes broker and agent tools but does not publish the submission checklist for a selected line. Ask who completes each form and what documents are required before the quote is considered complete. 18 21 4
AIG lists its North America broker portal as a place for brokers and agents to access loss runs, policy documents, applications, and tools. The page does not explain how renewals are managed or promise renewal terms or timing. 4Company-reported. Public description of a North America broker/agent portal; authenticated functions and account-specific availability were not reviewed.
Agree on renewal timing, certificate turnaround and account support before choosing CFC; reviewed materials do not specify those commitments for California technology buyers. 21,18Not publicly disclosed. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.
AIG lists broker access to documents and loss runs, without specifying renewal commitments on that page. CFC’s reviewed material does not set renewal timing or certificate turnaround for California technology buyers. Confirm the account contact, renewal calendar and service commitments rather than inferring them from portal access. 4 21 18
Cyber Incident and Claims Support
AIG says insureds and brokers can report primary property or casualty claims online for Auto Liability, General Liability, Property, and Aerospace, attach documents, and track adjuster assignment and claim closure. AIG says options vary by line and country. 5Company-reported. AIG's stated IntelliRisk claim portal functions for named primary property/casualty lines. This does not describe every commercial line, claim outcome, or policy obligation.
Cyber buyers can get threat monitoring, alerts, a response app and round-the-clock technical incident support according to CFC; check the proposed policy for access, scope and conditions. 22Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.
CFC describes threat monitoring, alerts, a response app and round-the-clock technical incident support for cyber buyers; verify access conditions in the proposed policy. AIG’s IntelliRisk page describes reporting and tracking for named primary property and casualty lines, with features varying by line and country. Compare response services separately from insurance limits and claim-payment obligations. 22 5
You can report a claim through CFC’s form, email or phone; cyber incidents also have a separate phone route and app. These are notification channels, not a promise about payment speed or outcome. 23Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.
The CFC channels listed for notification include a form, email or phone, with separate routes for cyber incidents. These are contact methods rather than a promise about payment speed. For AIG, confirm whether the selected line and country are supported by the portal; for either policy, follow the notice clause and consent requirements. 23 5
What to Confirm in Quotes
- Which legal insurer will issue the policy, and which entity has authority to quote and bind it? 19 2
- What technology application, security documentation and renewal timeline does the underwriter require? 18 4
- Which monitoring and incident-response services are included, and what notice or consent steps apply to a cyber claim? 22 23 5
Compare Services
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | AIG | CFC |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | “AIG” is the marketing name for American International Group, Inc.'s worldwide operations. AIG says insurance products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates; its U.S. legal notice lists multiple U.S.-domiciled property and casualty insurers but does not identify which company would issue a particular commercial policy. 1,2Company-reported. AIG group naming and the listed U.S.-domiciled property and casualty companies. The legal notice is not a policy-specific carrier assignment or complete ownership chart. | CFC can quote specialist cover as an MGA, meaning it performs some underwriting functions for insurers that carry the risk. Its disclosures identify CFC Underwriting Limited and U.S. producer CFC USA, Inc.; the CFC brand is not the insurer name on every policy. 20,19Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment. |
| Customer focus | AIG’s Surplus Lines section says its commercial insurance solutions serve small, middle-market, and large enterprises. The same section separately describes Lexington Casualty as an experienced excess-and-surplus-lines casualty provider; it does not explicitly assign all three customer-size segments to Lexington Casualty. 3Company-reported. AIG’s published Surplus Lines section; customer-size statement and Lexington Casualty description are adjacent but not explicitly attributed to the same business. This does not establish a provider-wide customer focus or product-specific issuer. | Startups through multinationals can ask CFC about technology coverage, including before generating revenue; the stated audience does not guarantee a particular business will qualify. 16Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment. |
| Application process | AIG lists a North America myAIG portal for brokers and agents to access loss runs, policy documents, applications, and tools, and a separate U.S. portal for producer appointment requests. The public pages do not establish that a business can complete an online purchase or bind coverage directly. 4Company-reported. Publicly listed North America broker/agent portal functions and U.S. producer appointment requests. Authenticated workflow and product-specific submission or binding steps were not reviewed. | A senior staff member should expect to complete the technology application and send it to a broker; it asks for revenue, funding, subsidiaries, products, contracts, security, IP procedures and claims history. CFC Connect separately supports broker trading and appointments. 18,21Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment. |
| Servicing and renewals | AIG lists its North America broker portal as a place for brokers and agents to access loss runs, policy documents, applications, and tools. The page does not explain how renewals are managed or promise renewal terms or timing. 4Company-reported. Public description of a North America broker/agent portal; authenticated functions and account-specific availability were not reviewed. | Cyber buyers can get threat monitoring, alerts, a response app and round-the-clock technical incident support according to CFC; check the proposed policy for access, scope and conditions. 22Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment. Agree on renewal timing, certificate turnaround and account support before choosing CFC; reviewed materials do not specify those commitments for California technology buyers. 21,18Not publicly disclosed. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment. |
| Claims assistance | AIG says insureds and brokers can report primary property or casualty claims online for Auto Liability, General Liability, Property, and Aerospace, attach documents, and track adjuster assignment and claim closure. AIG says options vary by line and country. 5Company-reported. AIG's stated IntelliRisk claim portal functions for named primary property/casualty lines. This does not describe every commercial line, claim outcome, or policy obligation. | You can report a claim through CFC’s form, email or phone; cyber incidents also have a separate phone route and app. These are notification channels, not a promise about payment speed or outcome. 23Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment. |
Sources
AIG Official Website
- Investor Relations. American International Group, Inc. (AIG); About AIG and legal footer; lines 244–246 and 327–331. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Additional Legal Notices. AIG US; Notice to California and Massachusetts Applicants and Insureds; insurer table lines 246–327 and listing disclaimer line 329. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Business. AIG US; Surplus Lines heading and paragraph, lines 357–359. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- AIG Login. AIG US; Brokers & Agents: myAIG Portal for North America, lines 71–76; U.S. Producer Appointment and Licensing, lines 100–104. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- IntelliRisk. AIG US; Help With Every Step of the Claim Process; primary property/casualty line list, portal functions, and line/country qualification, lines 267–279. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Producer Compensation. AIG US; Broker and Independent Agent Compensation and 2024 U.S. scope, lines 242–246; commissions, contingent compensation, and reporting limitations, lines 251–269 and 299–310. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- AIG Programs Insurance. AIG US; AIG Programs overview/product breadth and package-or-monoline description, lines 242–279; specific Management Liability program for private/non-profit companies, line $50m revenue scope and D&O/EPL/Fiduciary lines, lines 499–509; Manufactured Housing program and hired/non-owned auto, lines 512–525; multi-line examples and nationwide location markers, HTML inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cyber Insurance - CyberEdge Cyber Liability Insurance. AIG US; AIG CyberEdge overview, product structures and line-specific services, lines 242–269; product identity/version descriptions reopened in the page’s CyberEdge/Plus/PC sections, HTML inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Truck Insurance Group. AIG US; Product page states admitted auto liability, physical damage and general liability for small-to-mid-size for-hire trucking firms with heavy vehicle fleets 26,000+ lbs; predominant Class A/B CDL drivers, 11–250 power units, four years operating experience, select-broker route; lines 242–247. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Liability Insurance. AIG US; AIG E&O overview names public/private service providers and distinct Specialty Professional E&O, Technology Services, Media Content, Publishers and Broadcasters, and Manufacturers E&O scopes; lines 327–357; current HTML inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Employment Practices Liability Insurance. AIG US; AIG EPL policy describes primary limits up to $25m, additional excess limits may be available, third-party discrimination/harassment in the described form, and availability on a combined basis with its private-company D&O form; lines 253–266, HTML inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- AIG Multinational Product Recall Summary Sheet. AIG US; Pages 1–2; page 1 describes the AIG Multinational and Talbot Underwriting collaboration and Product Recall Insurance for component-part manufacturers, consumer goods/topical and consumer health, and finished goods; page 2 footer version GB0748AR 0426 v3. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- AIG Medical Indemnity Insurance. AIG US; Official AIG Medical Indemnity product page; supplemental group/employer health benefit, plan options, administration and claims sections; issuer and state caveat as shown; HTML inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- AIG Aerospace & Aviation. AIG US; Official AIG Aerospace & Aviation page; Aviation Product Liability and Aircraft Products Application sections; page inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Crime and Fidelity Insurance. AIG US; Official AIG crime page; crime products for commercial and governmental entities, distinguishes crime cover from financial institution bonds and names financial institutions as the latter audience; lines 242–278; HTML inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
CFC Official Website
- Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology companies — US application v2.4. CFC; Pages 1–8: completion instructions and Sections 1–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Regulatory information. CFC; CFC USA Inc.; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Connect broker trading portal. CFC; Get started; Products traded on Connect; FAQs: broker appointment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- CFC Response. CFC; Proactive protection; Immediate response; Real-time support. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Notify a claim or cyber incident. CFC; Experiencing a cyber incident now?; General enquiries or claims. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber insurance — US. CFC; Cyber product cards: Cyber Proactive Response, Cyber (admitted), Corporate cyber, Cyber excess. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Management liability. CFC; Management liability; Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: opening coverage list; What else is in the policy?; What we decline. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability. CFC; Our professional liability products; Professional liability (admitted). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Property & casualty. CFC; Property & casualty product description: property and general liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Intellectual property insurance. CFC; Intellectual property product introduction; Key features; Defense; Pursuit of infringers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Kidnap and ransom. CFC; Kidnap & ransom product cards and Key features. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Product recall. CFC; Contaminated product recall and Product recall product cards. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Transaction liability. CFC; Transaction liability; Buyer protect; Seller protect; Secondary liquidity solutions; Limit & appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Umbrella cover. CFC; Umbrella cover product description: policy lines, small and micro businesses, primary placement with CFC or others. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Digital health insurance. CFC; eHealth product: Telemedicine, mHealth, Artificial intelligence, Remote patient monitoring. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Medical malpractice. CFC; Our medical malpractice products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Media & entertainment. CFC; Media product description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Life science. CFC; What does CFC’s life science policy cover?; Life sciences and Nutraceuticals product cards. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Fintech insurance. CFC; What does CFC’s fintech policy cover?; Fintech product. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Financial institutions. CFC; Financial institutions professional indemnity; Investment managers; SME banks. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Carbon insurance. CFC; Carbon delivery; Carbon cancellation; Carbon lender non-payment; CORSIA guarantee. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Safeprotect misconduct liability. CFC; Safeprotect product; Praesidium services. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terrorism. CFC; Introduction: standalone terrorism policy. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Marine. CFC; Introduction: hull war and marine kidnap & ransom. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- CFC launches admitted offerings for professional liability and technology E&O. CFC; 21 March 2023 announcement: admitted technology E&O; broker quote, bind and adjustment process. Accessed 2026-09-16.






