AIG vs CFC: How Do They Compare for Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?

AIG lists primary and excess event examples plus crisis services; CFC describes land coverage and a separate marine K&R policy with up to USD 25 million combined limits for specified risks. 3,9

What Is AIG?

AIG is the marketing name for American International Group, Inc.; AIG says its insurance products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates. Its U.S. business pages list commercial casualty, property, cyber, management and professional liability, and specialty programs, but a brand-level page does not identify the insurer for a particular policy. 1,2

Read the AIG profile

Read the AIG Kidnap and Ransom Insurance page

What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC fits technology businesses seeking one eligible package for E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability; buyers wanting to bind directly online should compare other routes. Its cyber policies may also include 24/7 incident support. 4,5,6,7

Read the CFC profile

Read the CFC Kidnap and Ransom Insurance page

What Is Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?

Kidnap and ransom insurance provides financial protection for specified kidnapping and extortion events and gives the business access to a crisis-response firm. Check who is insured, which events are named, and how territory and sanctions terms apply to your actual travel. 10,11,12

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance

Land and marine forms differ

AIG markets CrisiSolution as its main corporate K&R policy and also describes related package and endorsement routes. CFC underwrites a land-based K&R policy for businesses and employees, and separately offers marine K&R for vessel hijack or crew kidnapping. A shipping company should ask whether its exposure belongs under land or marine wording; the product names alone do not establish equivalent events or terms. 3 8 9

Response teams and published limit example

CFC gives a marine combined limit up to USD 25 million for kidnap and ransom and loss of hire, and says standalone loss-of-hire cover can be available. AIG’s overview does not publish a buyer-specific limit. Treat the CFC amount as marine-product information, not a general K&R limit; ask AIG and CFC for the limits, sublimits and retention applying to your actual schedule. 9 3

Crisis consultant access

Both describe crisis response, but the details differ. AIG lists Crisis24 and MBL Global support, global claims professionals and a 24/7 resource; CFC promises 24/7 access to expert crisis consultants through its global response team for land and marine policyholders. Ask who coordinates an incident, which costs are covered, and whether consent is required before engaging a consultant. 3 8

What to Confirm in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Quotes

  • Which AIG policy section covers vessel, crew and loss-of-hire events, and what limits and response conditions apply?
  • Is CFC quoting land or marine K&R, and which limit, retention, loss-of-hire terms and crisis-response consent rules apply?

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

AIG

4.4/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customer ratings for AIG are low: Trustpilot shows 1.9 out of 5 from 252 reviews, and NerdWallet gives 2.5 stars and notes more claims complaints than expected. These pages cover many AIG products and countries, so they only loosely describe business insurance.[1][2]

Read AIG reviews

CFC

-/ 10

Review Score

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.[4][11]

Read CFC reviews

Offering Details

AIG vs CFC: Kidnap and Ransom Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAIG CrisiSolution Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion InsuranceCFC Kidnap & Ransom Insurance
Role in This Line

AIG markets CrisiSolution as its main corporate Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion policy and also describes related package and endorsement routes. The issuing insurer for a specific placement is not named on the overview. 3Company-reported. Role in this product is limited to the description on the linked AIG source.

CFC underwrites a land-based kidnap and ransom (K&R) policy for businesses and their employees, paired with crisis response services, and separately sells a specialist marine K&R product for commercial and leisure maritime activities. 8Company-reported. K&R product page introduction, which explicitly distinguishes the land policy from the separate marine K&R product.

Issuing Insurer

Confirm in your quote.

The reviewed K&R product page does not name the insurer or Lloyd's syndicate backing the policy. CFC's regulatory page lists CFC-affiliated underwriting vehicles, including its own Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, but does not tie one specifically to K&R. 8,7Not publicly disclosed. Checked the K&R and marine product pages plus CFC's regulatory information page; none names a K&R-specific carrier.

Who It’s For

AIG describes CrisiSolution for corporate businesses, individuals and high-net-worth families, with examples of higher-risk industries such as energy, mining, maritime, multinationals, charities and NGOs. This is not a guarantee of account eligibility or worldwide local placement. 3Company-reported. Audience is the segment AIG names on the linked source; this is not an underwriting decision, quote or guarantee of availability.

Confirm in your quote.

Coverage Features

AIG describes primary and excess coverage examples for kidnapping, extortion, wrongful detention, hijacking, threats, disappearance and hostage events, with certain additional extensions. Each extension remains subject to its policy wording and conditions. 3Company-reported. AIG’s public product description is not the policy. Actual entitlement depends on the applicable issued form, endorsements and declarations.

CFC describes the land K&R policy as offering a broad definition of bodily injury, legal and expense cover, an extended personal accident benefit, and optional endorsements a broker can add for a specific business. 8Company-reported. Key features section of the K&R product page; exact terms are set by the policy as issued.

CFC's marine K&R product is a separate policy covering hijack and seizure of a vessel or kidnap of crew, with combined limits up to USD 25 million for kidnap and ransom and loss of hire, plus standalone loss-of-hire cover available on its own. 9Company-reported. Marine product page description of the marine kidnap and ransom line, distinct from the land K&R policy.

Limits and Retentions

The public product overview does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention or sublimit schedule. Confirm those and any applicable consent requirements in the quote and issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. This statement reports only what the linked public source discloses and does not substitute for a quote or issued policy.

The land K&R product page does not publish specific limit amounts; only the marine K&R variant discloses a limit figure (USD 25 million combined for kidnap and ransom and loss of hire). 8,9Not found in reviewed sources. Land K&R page checked on 2026-09-23 does not list numeric limits; marine page separately does.

Risk Services

AIG lists crisis-planning, training and response support through Crisis24 and MBL Global, along with global claims professionals and a 24/7 contact resource. Some response services are supplied by outside providers. 3Company-reported. The linked page describes company-reported support; specific account services and third-party arrangements must be confirmed.

Policyholders on both the land and marine K&R products get 24/7 access to expert crisis response consultants through a global response team in the event of an incident. 8,9Company-reported. Key features on both the K&R and marine product pages.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

CFC publishes a downloadable K&R application form alongside the product brochure for brokers or businesses applying for the land K&R policy. 8Company-reported. Downloads section of the K&R product page.

Full Comparison

More AIG vs CFC Comparisons

Other Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Comparisons

Sources

AIG

  1. Investor Relations. American International Group, Inc. (AIG); About AIG and legal footer; lines 244–246 and 327–331. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. Business. AIG US; Surplus Lines heading and paragraph, lines 357–359. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Kidnap, Ransom & Extortion Insurance. AIG; Official AIG CrisiSolution page, lines 242–275: product and covered-event examples, named corporate/individual/family audiences, extensions, response services and standard-policy caveat. Accessed 2026-09-30.

CFC

  1. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Kidnap & ransom insurance | CFC. CFC; Kidnap & ransom key features; specialist marine K&R product; Downloads: Brochure, Application form. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Marine piracy insurance | CFC. CFC; Marine kidnap and ransom key features: limits up to USD25m, standalone loss of hire. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Guide

  1. Kidnap and Ransom Applications and Forms. Travelers; Opening; Applications; Sample policy forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Kidnap Ransom and Extortion Insurance. Chubb; Opening; Kidnap, Ransom & Extortion Insurance Highlights. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Kidnap and Ransom Coverage. Travelers; I pp.1–2; III pp.3–9; IV p.9; V pp.10–13. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot