What Is AIG?
AIG is the marketing name for American International Group, Inc.; AIG says its insurance products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates. Its U.S. business pages list commercial casualty, property, cyber, management and professional liability, and specialty programs, but a brand-level page does not identify the insurer for a particular policy. 1,2
What Is CFC Insurance?
CFC fits technology businesses seeking one eligible package for E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability; buyers wanting to bind directly online should compare other routes. Its cyber policies may also include 24/7 incident support. 4,5,6,7
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 11,12,13
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Standalone or Packaged D&O
AIG describes D&O as available standalone or modular within its management-liability portfolio. CFC says its US D&O coverage sits inside a management-liability package rather than being sold as a standalone product; CFC separately offers Side A difference-in-conditions coverage above the primary D&O program. Buyers who need only D&O should ask how AIG's standalone option compares with CFC's package requirement and whether a separate excess layer fits an existing program. 3 8 9
Package Boundaries and Unknown Limits
CFC's brochure describes additional insured-person protection within the package but does not state its dollar amount, the overall D&O limit or retention. AIG's reviewed D&O record likewise supplies no numeric limit or retention. The available evidence therefore distinguishes product structure, not how much protection either quote would provide; do not infer equivalent limits from the product labels. 9 3
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
Ask CFC for the full package schedule, additional insured-person limit, exclusions and the carrier shown on the declarations; ask whether its Side A DIC layer can sit above the proposed primary policy. Ask AIG for its standalone or modular form options and the same limits, retentions and insurer identity. CFC lists California-domiciled and US publicly traded businesses among package declinations, so confirm eligibility early if either applies. 9 7 3
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
AIG
Review Score
2 rated sources
Customer ratings for AIG are low: Trustpilot shows 1.9 out of 5 from 252 reviews, and NerdWallet gives 2.5 stars and notes more claims complaints than expected. These pages cover many AIG products and countries, so they only loosely describe business insurance.[1][2]
Read AIG reviewsCFC
Review Score
The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.[4][11]
Read CFC reviewsOffering Details
AIG vs CFC D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | AIG Directors & Officers Liability | CFC Directors & Officers Liability |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | AIG offers D&O standalone or modular with other management-liability coverages. 3Company-reported. AIG management-liability portfolio. Claim limitation: Combination availability can vary by account and jurisdiction. Section limitation: Company marketing does not substitute for the issued policy, state-specific forms or entity-level confirmation. | CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product. It separately sells Side A DIC, an excess policy that sits above a company's existing D&O program. 8,9Company-reported. CFC's management-liability product page and brochure; package composition as CFC describes it. |
| Issuing Insurer | Confirm in your quote. | CFC's regulatory page discloses CFC Underwriting Limited's FCA authorization and CFC's Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta Managing Agency Ltd, but neither the regulatory page nor the management-liability brochure names the carrier or syndicate that would issue a given US D&O policy. 7,9Not publicly disclosed. Regulatory information page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Confirm in your quote. | CFC's brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. 9Company-reported. Brochure's 'What we decline' list; underwriting still applies to any individual business. |
| Coverage Features | AIG describes D&O protection for executive and corporate-governance exposures. 3Company-reported. AIG management liability product page. Claim limitation: Policy terms and coverage triggers control; no policy form reviewed here. Section limitation: Company marketing does not substitute for the issued policy, state-specific forms or entity-level confirmation. | CFC says its directors and officers cover includes protection for the entity itself and aims to prevent directors and officers from having to sell personal assets to pay defense costs. 9Company-reported. Brochure's 'Directors and officers cover' description; the issued policy wording determines actual entity and Side B/C coverage terms. CFC's brochure lists an additional limit for insured persons as part of the directors and officers liability section, on top of the package's base limit. 9Company-reported. Brochure's 'What else is in the policy?' list; the dollar amount of that additional limit is not stated on the reviewed pages. CFC separately offers Side A DIC (difference in conditions), which it describes as excess coverage for directors and officers of private and publicly traded organizations, sitting above the primary management-liability D&O cover. 8Company-reported. Management-liability product page; Side A DIC has its own brochure that was not opened for this record, so its terms are not otherwise described here. |
| Limits and Retentions | Confirm in your quote. | The reviewed brochure does not publish a specific dollar limit, retention, or the size of the additional insured-persons limit for D&O. Those figures appear only on the quote and declarations. 9Not publicly disclosed. Brochure as read on 2026-09-23. |
| How to Apply | AIG links to application forms for its Management and Professional Liability products and provides contact information for its national product and distribution teams. 3Company-reported. The Forms and Applications and national product/distribution contact sections on AIG’s US D&O product page. Claim limitation: The page supports form access and team contact information. It does not establish that application or placement must be routed through a broker, whether buyers or brokers submit a form, or any online quote/bind path. Section limitation: Company marketing does not substitute for the issued policy, state-specific forms or entity-level confirmation. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Claims Support | Confirm in your quote. | CFC provides a US claim-notification route by phone, email and online form, and says a dedicated claims adjuster manages a claim from notification through resolution. 10Company-reported. Claims page as read on 2026-09-23; not specific to D&O claim outcomes or timing. |
Full Comparison
More AIG vs CFC Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
AIG
- Investor Relations. American International Group, Inc. (AIG); About AIG and legal footer; lines 244–246 and 327–331. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Business. AIG US; Surplus Lines heading and paragraph, lines 357–359. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Directors & Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance | AIG US. AIG US; D&O product overview; modular coverage; Forms and Applications; Brokers: Meet Your AIG Team, lines 311–320. Accessed 2026-09-28.
CFC
- About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability. CFC; Our management liability products: Management liability, Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Directors and officers cover; At a glance: What we like; What we decline; What else is in the policy? Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Claims. CFC; Notify a claim or cyber incident; We're in it with you. Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.






