What Is AIG?
AIG is the marketing name for American International Group, Inc.; AIG says its insurance products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates. Its U.S. business pages list commercial casualty, property, cyber, management and professional liability, and specialty programs, but a brand-level page does not identify the insurer for a particular policy. 1,2
What Is CFC Insurance?
CFC fits technology businesses seeking one eligible package for E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability; buyers wanting to bind directly online should compare other routes. Its cyber policies may also include 24/7 incident support. 4,5,6,7
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 11,12,13,14
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Coverage Scope and Add-ons
AIG describes claims alleging negligence in professional services, including third-party economic loss. CFC lists a broader set of E&O categories, including breach of contract, subcontractor vicarious liability, IP infringement, pollution, defamation, document loss and withheld fees. CFC sells this in a modular package with optional general liability, property and cyber, whereas AIG’s cited description focuses on the E&O claim subject. Buyers should map their exposures to each form’s definitions and exclusions. 3 9
Limits and Buyer Appetite
CFC publishes up to $10 million for E&O and says there is no revenue threshold, while AIG’s reviewed record does not publish a standard limit. CFC also names preferred consulting, educational and specialist classes and lists professions it ordinarily declines. AIG describes customization for service providers but does not enumerate those classes. Ask each underwriter to confirm the profession and proposed limit before comparing price. 3 9
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
AIG
Review Score
2 rated sources
Customer ratings for AIG are low: Trustpilot shows 1.9 out of 5 from 252 reviews, and NerdWallet gives 2.5 stars and notes more claims complaints than expected. These pages cover many AIG products and countries, so they only loosely describe business insurance.[1][2]
Read AIG reviewsCFC
Review Score
The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.[4][11]
Read CFC reviewsOffering Details
AIG vs CFC: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | AIG Specialty Professional Liability (E&O) | CFC Professional Services |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | AIG markets customizable entity-based professional errors-and-omissions policies for public and private service providers. AIG is the marketing name; the page’s legal footer says products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates, without naming the issuer for a buyer’s policy. 3Company-reported. AIG’s U.S. Professional Liability page. The page describes the marketed product family, not the legal insurer on an individual quote or policy. | CFC sells professional errors & omissions as a modular package policy it calls "Professional services" (branded on the brochure as "Miscellaneous professional liability"), which pairs E&O with optional general liability, property and cyber add-ons rather than selling E&O alone. 8,9Company-reported. Professional liability product page's "Professional services" tile and the miscellaneous professional liability brochure. |
| Issuing Insurer | Confirm in your quote. | The reviewed professional liability page and brochure describe CFC as the policy designer and point of contact but do not name the insurer that carries the risk for this product. 8,9Not publicly disclosed. Professional liability product page and professions brochure as read on 2026-09-23. CFC's own materials describe it as an underwriting manager rather than a risk-bearing insurer, so a specific carrier for this product would need to come from the quote or declarations. |
| Who It’s For | AIG says its specialty professional-liability offering is for service providers and can be customized for a company’s professional services. Its examples include public and private service providers; this does not state that every profession or applicant qualifies. 3Company-reported. Company-described target customer and customization statement. The reviewed page does not provide a complete class appetite or state availability list. | CFC says it favors business, educational, environmental, food, HR, market-research, quality-assurance, security and traffic consultants, event organisers, freight brokers, loss adjusters, private investigators and trade associations, and ordinarily declines debt collectors, financial advisors, health and safety consultants, insurance agents, lawyers, mortgage brokers, pre-purchase home inspectors, stockbrokers, tour operators and valuers. 9Company-reported. Brochure's "What we love" and "What we ordinarily decline" lists; actual acceptance depends on individual underwriting. |
| Coverage Features | AIG describes coverage for claims alleging negligence in professional services rendered to others, including claims for third-party economic loss. This is a description of the product’s intended subject; covered claims, definitions, exclusions and conditions depend on the issued policy. 3Company-reported. AIG’s marketing description of specialty professional E&O; no policy form or endorsement was reviewed. | CFC says the E&O cover includes breach of contract, bodily injury, property damage, vicarious liability of subcontractors, IP infringement, pollution liability, libel, slander, defamation, document loss and withheld fees, with worldwide legal cover. 9Company-reported. Brochure's "Comprehensive errors & omissions cover" and "Comprehensive legal cover" sections; exact wording and exclusions are set by the policy as issued. Businesses can add a separate commercial general liability limit, property, and cyber and privacy liability to the E&O policy, plus optional umbrella liability that sits over the E&O and CGL layers. 9Company-reported. Brochure's "Modular package policy" and "Umbrella liability" sections; availability depends on underwriting. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed page does not state standard limits, retentions or deductibles for this offering. Confirm the amounts and policy conditions in the quote and issued form. 3Not publicly disclosed. AIG’s U.S. Professional Liability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer-specific quote or policy was reviewed. | CFC's brochure lists maximum limits of $10,000,000 for E&O, $6,000,000 for CGL and $5,000,000 for umbrella, with a $0 minimum deductible, minimum premiums starting at $475-$500 depending on the coverage part, and no revenue threshold for eligibility. 9Company-reported. Brochure's "Limits, deductibles, premiums, revenue threshold" section; the terms actually issued depend on underwriting. |
| Risk Services | AIG says it uses in-house claims professionals and third-party experts, collaborates with clients through the claims process, and uses claims data to help clients evaluate and mitigate loss. These are company-reported service descriptions, not a claim outcome guarantee. 3Company-reported. General professional-liability claims services described by AIG. The page does not state account-specific service standards or identify the administrator for a particular policy. | Confirm in your quote. |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | CFC publishes a dedicated application form for this policy and also says its professional liability class can be traded directly through its Connect platform or through named API partners, in addition to the standard broker-submitted application. 8Company-reported. Professional liability product page's downloads and "Digitally traded" sections; not confirmed specifically for the professions/miscellaneous professional liability product versus the class as a whole. |
| Claims Support | Confirm in your quote. | CFC lists a named Claims Manager for Professions on its claims team, indicating professional-liability claims are routed to a dedicated professions unit rather than a generalist adjuster. 10Company-reported. CFC's claims page team listing; the page does not publish claim volumes or turnaround times specific to this product. |
Full Comparison
More AIG vs CFC Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
AIG
- Investor Relations. American International Group, Inc. (AIG); About AIG and legal footer; lines 244–246 and 327–331. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Business. AIG US; Surplus Lines heading and paragraph, lines 357–359. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Professional Liability Insurance. AIG US; ‘AIG Professional Liability Solutions,’ lines 327–334; claims expertise lines 273–279; broker contact lines 385–389; general policy-language caveat in legal footer lines 485–489. Accessed 2026-09-30.
CFC
- About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Regulatory information. CFC; CFC USA Inc.; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability. CFC; Professional services tile description; Digitally traded Connect section; downloads (brochure, application form). Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Miscellaneous professional liability | Product brochure | United States. CFC; Comprehensive errors & omissions cover; Modular package policy; Umbrella liability; At a glance: What we love / What we ordinarily decline; Optional extras; Limits, deductibles, premiums, revenue threshold. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Claims. CFC; Our claims team: Professions team, led by Laura Bennett, Claims Manager, Professions Claims & Kidnap, War & Piracy (KWP). Accessed 2026-09-23.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.






