Chubb vs Corgi: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Chubb sells DigiTech and commercial packages through appointed agents; Corgi offers online startup packages organized by funding stage.

An Overview of Chubb and Corgi

A seed-stage company can apply online for a Corgi package or ask a Chubb agent for DigiTech ERM and other commercial lines. Some Corgi packages use Technology Risk Retention Group, so identify the actual policy issuer. Choose Corgi to shop by startup stage online; choose Chubb for DigiTech and agent-quoted commercial coverage. 2 29 45 44

What Stands Out About Chubb and Corgi?

Chubb at a Glance

  • Eligible technology companies can combine technology E&O, media and cyber through DigiTech ERM. 10,9,4Company-reportedU.S. cyber product pages accessed 16 September 2026. Product names are not equivalent coverage across every insured.
  • Agents can quote eligible small-business accounts online; cyber has a faster application route. 9,10,30,31,12Company-reportedU.S. agent platforms and buyer contact paths as of 16 September 2026. Quote speed and bindability are not guaranteed for any applicant.

Corgi at a Glance

  • Startup packages scale from pre-seed to growth, with a custom option. 45,46,49,58Company-reportedCompany website positioning and package names; named customer stories on the customers page are testimonials, not a verified book of business.
  • Use Corgi’s dashboard to adjust coverage as your company grows. 45,44Company-reportedCompany description of post-bind servicing and cancellation. Actual endorsement terms remain in the policy. This does not establish a specific renewal guarantee or a finding that renewals are unavailable.

Chubb vs Corgi Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageChubbCorgi
Builders riskListed 22,21Chubb offers builders risk insurance.Not listed
Business owner’s policyListed 7,4Chubb offers business owner’s policies for eligible small businesses with up to $30 million in revenue.Listed 45Corgi lists a business owner’s policy in its coverage catalog.
Cargo and transitListed 24Chubb offers cargo insurance.Listed 45Corgi lists a cargo contractual liability product in its transportation offering.
Commercial autoListed 17,7Chubb offers commercial auto insurance.Listed 45Corgi links to trucking auto-liability coverage from its transportation menu.
Commercial propertyListed 15,4Chubb offers commercial property insurance.Not listed
CrimeListed 11,5Chubb offers crime coverage within its ForeFront portfolio for private, nonprofit and health care organizations.Listed 45Corgi lists crime insurance among its main policies.
Cyber liabilityListed 10,9Chubb offers cyber insurance.Listed 45Corgi lists cyber insurance among its business insurance offerings.
Directors and officersListed 13,11Chubb offers directors and officers liability insurance for smaller privately held companies through ForeFront.Listed 45Corgi lists directors and officers insurance among its business insurance offerings.
Employment practices liabilityListed 11,14Chubb offers employment practices liability insurance.Listed 45Corgi lists employment practices liability among its business-insurance offerings.
Equipment breakdownListed 23,5Chubb offers equipment breakdown insurance.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 11,14Chubb offers fiduciary liability insurance.Listed 45Corgi lists fiduciary liability in its coverage catalog and package options.
General liabilityListed 7,4,20Chubb offers general liability insurance within its commercial package products.Listed 45Corgi lists commercial general liability among its business insurance offerings.
Hired and non-owned autoNot listedListed 45Corgi lists hired and non-owned auto liability for employees using rented or personal vehicles for company business.
Kidnap and ransomListed 11,14Chubb offers kidnap and ransom insurance.Listed 45Corgi lists kidnap and ransom among its specialized business-insurance offerings.
Liquor liabilityNot listedListed Corgi markets liquor liability for eligible veterans’ and fraternal lodges with licensed on-premises bars.
Management liabilityListed 11,14Chubb offers management liability insurance.Not listed
Media liabilityListed 10Chubb offers media liability insurance through DigiTech ERM for technology companies.Listed 45Corgi lists media liability insurance among its coverage offerings.
Medical malpracticeNot listedListed 45Corgi markets medical malpractice insurance for health care professionals and organizations.
Product recallListed 26,28Chubb offers product recall insurance for businesses handling finished consumer goods.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 10,5Chubb offers professional errors and omissions insurance through Pro ERM for non-licensed professional-service firms.Listed 45Corgi lists miscellaneous errors and omissions coverage for service-based businesses.
Representations and warrantiesListed 27Chubb offers representations and warranties insurance within its offering for large US- and Canadian-based multinational companies.Listed 45Corgi lists representations and warranties insurance for M&A buyers and sellers.
Surety bondsListed 25Chubb offers surety bonds.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 10,4Chubb offers technology errors and omissions insurance through DigiTech ERM for technology companies.Listed 45Corgi lists technology errors and omissions insurance for technology products and services.
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 21,28Chubb offers inland marine insurance.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 16,7Chubb offers umbrella and excess liability insurance.Listed 45Corgi lists commercial umbrella liability insurance.
Workers’ compensationListed 8,4Chubb offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses, from one employee up to $30 million in revenue, including technology companies.Listed 45Corgi lists workers’ compensation insurance.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Chubb and Corgi Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Chubb and Corgi each publish for one coverage line.

Chubb and Corgi Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

Chubb Review Score

6.9/ 10

Review Score

5 rated sources

Chubb earns 5/5 from NerdWallet, which reports fewer-than-expected commercial property and liability complaints. Customer ratings are mixed across products and locations.

Read Chubb reviews

Corgi Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews; the inspected Trustpilot profiles showed none. Its Trustpilot page exists but shows no reviews or rating.

Read Corgi reviews

Key Differences Between Chubb and Corgi

Who Issues the Policy

Chubb is a marketing name for U.S. underwriting companies in the Chubb Limited group; the holding company is not the issuer. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. is the licensed agency that sells and administers Corgi policies, and the insurer named in the policy provides the coverage. 2 44

If Corgi proposes Technology Risk Retention Group, that paper is a member-owned liability insurer without AM Best rating in Corgi’s disclosure and without state guaranty-fund protection. Chubb’s California admitted companies include Federal Insurance Company and ACE American Insurance Company; that does not prove DigiTech or a BOP will be offered to the same applicant on admitted paper. 44 41 42

How You Apply

Chubb’s public commercial path is an appointed independent agent using Marketplace or Cyber Central for eligible small-commercial and cyber accounts. Corgi describes an online application or a specialist call, and says eligible applicants can complete a purchase the same day. That timing is Corgi’s description, not a timed test in this article. The two flows are not the same kind of bind. 9 29 45

What the Price Figures Mean

Corgi publishes illustrative annual ranges for eligible pre-seed/seed and Series A packages and says its agency may receive commissions or fees. Chubb’s buyer-facing pages reviewed for this comparison do not publish premiums; agent materials refer to commissions without rates. The Corgi bands cannot be treated as a Chubb quote, and unpublished Chubb prices are not zero cost. 45 44 29

Claims Contacts

Chubb publishes 24/7 first-notice numbers, a cyber hotline and a small-commercial portal for eligible policies. Corgi describes a claims team that may be affiliated or a third-party administrator, with the policy naming the claims administrator. Notice instructions follow the issued contract, not the brand on the website. 33 44

What Should You Confirm in Chubb and Corgi Quotes?

  • Named insurer and paper type. TRRG versus Corgi Insurance Company or a partner, versus Federal, ACE American or another Chubb affiliate, plus admitted, surplus or RRG status in California. 44 30

  • Which activities the E&O/cyber form actually insures. Match product, implementation and AI work to DigiTech or Corgi’s Tech & AI module wording. 10 45

  • Compensation and any published Corgi range versus the live Chubb premium. Itemize commissions, fees and taxes on the same limits and term. 44 29

Chubb vs Corgi Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaChubbCorgi
Business role

Businesses buying Chubb coverage receive a policy from a US underwriting company, not from Chubb Limited, the Swiss holding company. Chubb is the marketing name for the group’s insurance subsidiaries and related services. 39,2,25VerifiedGroup identity from the 2025 Form 10-K Item 1 and U.S. website legal disclosures. The holding company is not the risk-bearing insurer on a given U.S. policy.

Most commercial buyers need an independent agent or broker to reach Chubb; surplus-lines products require a licensed surplus-lines producer. Chubb appoints producers and operates agent portals, while Chubb Insurance Solutions Agency, Inc. administers Chubb Access appointments. 29,30,2,38Company-reportedU.S. distribution as described on agent-access, contact and terms pages. This does not mean every independent agent is appointed for every product.

Your Corgi policy’s named insurer provides coverage; Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. is the agency that sells and administers policies. 44,45,47Company-reportedDistribution role and brand usage as of 15 September 2026. Producer licensing is not insurer authority, and group language does not make every group company the issuing insurer on a given policy.

Application process

Eligible small businesses can get agent-assisted quotes through Chubb Marketplace, with Cyber Central offering an express cyber route; the described online path is for appointed agents and brokers, not a general-public bind for middle-market technology programs. Cyber risks under $100 million revenue may qualify; referred risks go to underwriters. 9,10,30,31,12Company-reportedU.S. agent platforms and buyer contact paths as of 16 September 2026. Quote speed and bindability are not guaranteed for any applicant.

You can apply online or book a specialist call, and Corgi says eligible applicants may quote in minutes and buy the same day; confirm in writing whether coverage starts at policy issuance/payment or under a binder and the effective date. 45,44Company-reportedCompany website process claims and Binding Authority and Policy Issuance disclosure, rechecked on 15 September 2026. The disclosure's first paragraph requires policy issuance and payment, while its next paragraph describes temporary binder coverage; this record does not resolve which conditions apply to a particular placement. Quote speed is not independently verified and is not the same as coverage being in force. A self-serve path is not evidence of zero producer commissions or fees.

Access to insurers

Check the declarations for your policy’s actual insurer because different Chubb companies issue different placements. Sources name Federal Insurance Company, ACE American, Westchester Fire or Westchester Surplus Lines, and for some business Illinois Union or other ACE paper. 30,25,28,36,41Company-reportedU.S. commercial placements. Ratings cited on Westchester’s page are company-reported and were not independently verified.

Check your policy declarations for the insurer and claims administrator because Corgi may use affiliated or partner insurers. 44Company-reportedCompany disclosure of variable issuing paper. Do not treat the Corgi brand, the producer, or any one carrier as the insurer on every policy.

If your quote uses Technology Risk Retention Group, check the insurer’s financial and regulatory information directly: NAIC lists it as Arizona-domiciled P&C company 17763 (TECHNOLOGY RRG INC). Corgi calls it its primary underwriting entity and an RRG under the Liability Risk Retention Act; its description of federal charter and oversight is company language, not an independent legal conclusion. 60,44,46,45,61,62Company-reportedEntity identity and Arizona domicile are supported by the NAIC listing. Which Corgi products currently issue on TRRG paper is company-described and can vary by account. NAIC and the Liability Risk Retention Act describe RRGs as state-chartered or state-licensed liability insurers with domiciliary-state regulation of formation and operation.

If a quote uses a risk retention group, remember it is a member-owned liability insurer licensed in its home state and registered elsewhere under federal law; members have similar or related risks. 61,62,64VerifiedGeneral RRG charter, membership, and oversight from current NAIC topic material last updated 13 October 2025 and the cited statutes. This is not a statement of TRRG’s surplus, a federal charter, or of which Corgi products currently issue on TRRG paper. The reviewed sources do not describe voting, dividend, or assessment rights for a Corgi policyholder in practice.

If admitted coverage or guaranty-association protection matters to you, ask Corgi about affiliated or partner carriers it says are rated A- or better; eligibility depends on state, line and business, and state protection has limits. 44,46,45,52Company-reportedCompany description of an alternative placement path. It is not a guarantee that a given account will receive A- admitted paper, not an AM Best rating of TRRG or of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc., and not a blanket guarantee of guaranty-association payment. Guaranty-association language does not apply to risk retention group policies.

Ask how you assess the insurer’s financial strength if the quote uses Technology Risk Retention Group: Corgi says it has no AM Best rating, which is separate from admitted status. 44,48Company-reportedCompany statement about TRRG. Admitted status, an AM Best rating, and financial condition are separate facts. This profile does not assign a financial-strength grade to TRRG.

If a financial-strength rating or specific state authority is a requirement, request it for Corgi Insurance Company; its August 2026 launch announcement provided neither a rating nor a complete state-license list. 52,65Not found in reviewed sourcesReviewed public sources as of 15 September 2026. Not finding a published rating is not a finding that the company has no rating, no capital, or no authorization.

If your Corgi policy is issued by Technology Risk Retention Group, state insurance guaranty funds do not cover it; this is a material difference to weigh against an admitted option. 63,45,44VerifiedRRG policies. This is a statutory qualification, not a prediction of insolvency, and it is not a statement about admitted policies.

The insurer named on your policy remains responsible for claims even if it shares risk with reinsurers; Corgi does not name current reinsurers or contract terms publicly. 44,57Not publicly disclosedPublic disclosures as of 15 September 2026. Not identifying a named panel is not a finding that there is no reinsurance.

Fees and compensation

Ask your agent about premium, commissions and fees before choosing a quote: buyer-facing Chubb pages do not publish rates or policy fees, while inland-marine engineering beyond included loss control is fee-for-service. 29,7,10,21Not publicly disclosedPublic U.S. commercial pages listed as sources. Absence of a published schedule is not a finding that coverage is free or that producers are unpaid.

Ask for the commission or customer fee on your policy because Corgi Insurance Services may receive either from you or the insurer. 44Company-reportedProducer compensation disclosure. Website, self-serve, or other direct distribution is not a finding of zero commissions or fees. Specific amounts were not published in the reviewed sources.

Corgi gives annual price examples of $2,000–$5,000 for eligible pre-seed/seed startups and $5,000–$15,000 for Series A; your quote depends on risk, state, coverage and limits. 45,49,50Company-reportedCompany-reported ranges and a marketing savings claim, not comparable quotes. They are not premiums for a defined risk, limit, retention, or policy period. “Underwrites directly” is not a finding of zero producer commissions or fees, and no public methodology for the 30 percent figure was found.

Claims assistance

You can report claims around the clock through Chubb’s claim line, cyber hotline and product-specific email; eligible small-commercial policyholders can also upload documents in the portal. Published satisfaction figures are company surveys, not a guarantee about your claim. 32,33,34,9,30Company-reportedU.S. claims contact and portal descriptions. Portal access may be limited for policies underwritten by certain Chubb companies. No independent claims-outcome review was performed.

Corgi says its claims team can help with reporting, documents, legal coordination and updates, but an affiliate or third-party administrator may handle the file; the named insurer decides coverage and payment. 44,45,55Company-reportedCompany claims-handling and TPA disclosures. Offering claims administration is not a measure of claims-payment quality, and the TPA announcement does not by itself identify the administrator on a Corgi-issued policy.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Chubb vs Corgi

  • AIG lists broker and agent tools; Chubb describes quote access for eligible small businesses through appointed producers.

  • Corgi packages startup coverage through an agency and carrier options; AIG publishes a broader commercial insurer portfolio with producer-facing tools.

  • A startup responding to an enterprise customer's insurance requirements can compare Chubb DigiTech through an agent with Alliance Risk's multi-market review.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot