Corgi vs Lockton

How Corgi’s stage-based startup packages differ from Lockton’s inquiry-led technology brokerage when a software company needs D&O, cyber and a broader program.

Introduction

Corgi packages insurance around startup funding stages and describes online purchase plus specialist help. Policies are issued by affiliated or partner insurers, not by Corgi as the risk bearer. 2 1 Lockton presents an independent brokerage for risk, benefits and retirement, including a technology practice, and a public path that starts with an expert inquiry. 23 24 34

A Series A software company that already bought a Corgi package and now faces a customer asking for higher cyber limits, board directors and officers (D&O) liability and workers’ compensation has to choose a documented Corgi upgrade path versus opening a Lockton brokerage conversation. Listed catalogues are not a promise that every line will be offered to this risk. 2 27

Where Each Provider Shines

Where Corgi Shines

  • Stage-based packages give technology startups a starting point from pre-seed through growth, with a custom option. 2,3,6,15
  • Corgi says customers can add or upgrade policies through its dashboard as funding, hiring and contract requirements change. 2,1

Where Lockton Shines

  • Lockton describes itself as a privately held independent broker for risk, employee benefits and retirement, not as the insurer on the policies it places. 23,35,42
  • US pages list brokerage for cyber and privacy, directors and officers, casualty (including general and product liability, auto, cargo, umbrella and workers’ compensation), property, fiduciary liability and employee benefits. 24,25,26,27,28,29,30,31,32

Coverage Comparison

Coverage TypeCorgiLockton
Business owner’s policyListed 2Not listed
Cargo and transitListed 2Listed 27
Commercial autoListed 2Listed 27
Commercial propertyNot listedListed 28
CrimeListed 2Listed 32
Cyber liabilityListed 2Listed 25,24
Directors and officersListed 2Listed 26,24
Employee health and benefitsNot listedListed 30
Employment practices liabilityListed 2Listed 32
Fiduciary liabilityListed 2Listed 31
General liabilityListed 2Listed 27
Hired and non-owned autoListed 2Not listed
Key personNot listedListed 32
Kidnap and ransomListed 2Not listed
Liquor liabilityListed 2Not listed
Media liabilityListed 2Not listed
Medical malpracticeListed 2Not listed
Product liabilityNot listedListed 27
Professional liability / E&OListed 2Listed 32
Representations and warrantiesListed 2Listed 32
Surety bondsNot listedListed 32
Technology errors and omissionsListed 2Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 2Listed 27
Workers’ compensationListed 2Listed 29,27

Listed products and programs, including policies arranged through insurers or partners. Optional endorsements are discussed in the analysis below. “Not listed” means no separate offering appears in the reviewed catalogue; confirm availability and policy terms with the provider.

Key Differences Between Corgi and Lockton

Who Issues the Policy

Corgi’s disclaimers tell you to read the named insurer. Some placements use Technology Risk Retention Group, which Corgi says has no AM Best rating and sits outside state guaranty funds, with admitted or partner alternatives described for eligible risks. 1 Lockton does not publish a named panel. Terms of Business say it need not use any particular insurer and may propose surplus-lines markets. Compare issuing companies on every layer before comparing financial-strength language. 35

How Coverage Starts

Corgi documents a self-serve application with specialist support. Its disclaimers also contain conflicting binding language: one statement requires an issued policy and premium, another recognizes temporary coverage under a written binder. Ask for the binder or policy, not a dashboard confirmation. 2 1 Lockton’s published U.S. contact is an inquiry form or a practice mailbox, not a public bind. Website terms say the content is not broking advice. 34 36

What You Pay, Besides Premium

Corgi publishes illustrative startup price bands and discloses producer compensation that can include commissions or fees. Those bands are not a quote for this Series A risk. 2 1 Lockton’s Terms of Business list insurer commissions, possible client fees, contingent or supplemental commissions and other income, and tell you to ask your representative for account-specific amounts. 35

What to Confirm in Quotes

  • Issuing paper on each line, including any risk retention group, admitted or surplus-lines company, and AM Best or guaranty-fund conditions that matter to investors. 1 35
  • Written evidence of effectivity if you are closing a round or a customer contract. 1 34
  • Whether workers’ compensation, property and benefits appear in the actual proposal or only in marketing catalogues. 2 29
  • Compensation in writing: Corgi producer pay plus premium versus Lockton commission, fee and contingent items. 1 35

Service Comparison

Corgi vs Lockton: documented services and availability

CriteriaCorgiLockton
Business role

Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. is the licensed agency that sells and administers Corgi policies. The insurer named in your policy provides the coverage. 1,2,4

Lockton’s US site describes the firm as an independent insurance brokerage that arranges customized risk, employee benefits and retirement solutions. US Terms of Business treat Lockton Companies, LLC and affiliated Lockton companies as intermediaries that market, place and service insurance, not as the risk-bearing insurer on a placed policy. 23,35,42

Public US terms name Lockton Companies, LLC (and Series, subsidiaries and affiliates) as the brokerage group and Lockton, Inc. as the website operator. Certificates produced by Lockton also use the California DBA Lockton Insurance Brokers, LLC. Confirm the legal name on any broker-of-record or services agreement; these pages do not by themselves establish which entity would be appointed for a California company. 35,36,43

Lockton-produced certificates print California license number 0F15767 for Lockton Companies, LLC DBA Lockton Insurance Brokers, LLC. Current license status, classes and expiration remain independently unverified. Treat California producer authority as unresolved until a regulator record or the proposed engagement papers are checked. 43,44

Application process

You can apply online or book a call with a Corgi specialist. Corgi says eligible applicants can get a quote in minutes and buy coverage the same day. Its disclosures describe both an issued-policy-and-payment condition and temporary coverage under a written binder. Confirm the applicable conditions and effective date in writing. 2,1

Public US application starts as an inquiry: the US contact form (Ask an Expert) and industry pages invite buyers to connect with a team. The privacy notice refers to soliciting an insurance policy quote. The Cyber & Technology page publishes cyber@lockton.com. Reviewed pages do not describe a self-serve bind flow, published quote turnaround, or an unauthenticated online application that issues a policy without a Lockton representative. 34,23,37,25,36

Access to insurers

Corgi uses affiliated and partner insurers. Your policy names the insurer and claims administrator for your coverage. 1

Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc. appears in the NAIC company listing as Arizona-domiciled property and casualty company code 17763 (listed as TECHNOLOGY RRG INC). Corgi’s disclaimers call TRRG the group’s primary underwriting entity and a risk retention group organized under the Liability Risk Retention Act. The same Carrier Financial Strength paragraph describes TRRG as federally chartered and operating under federal prudential oversight; that wording is company language and is not adopted here as a legal conclusion. 17,1,3,2,18,19

A risk retention group is a member-owned liability insurer licensed in its home state. Federal law lets it operate in other states through registration. Members must have similar or related business risks. 18,19,21

For customers who need an admitted insurer, Corgi says it can use affiliated or partner carriers rated A- or better by AM Best. Options depend on the state, coverage, and business. Eligible admitted policies may have state guaranty-association protection, subject to that state’s limits. 1,3,2,9

Corgi says Technology Risk Retention Group does not have an AM Best rating. A financial-strength rating and admitted status are separate things. 1,5

Corgi Insurance Company’s August 2026 launch announcement did not give a financial-strength rating or a complete list of licensed states. Confirm both if they are requirements for your business. 9,22

Policies issued by a risk retention group are not covered by state insurance guaranty funds. Corgi includes this notice for policies issued by Technology Risk Retention Group. 20,2,1

Corgi says its insurers may share risk with reinsurers, while the insurer on your policy remains responsible for claims. Its public disclosures do not name the current reinsurers or their contract terms. 1,14

Lockton says it is not obligated to use any particular insurer, is generally not authorized to bind insurers except in circumstances it says it will try to disclose, and does not guarantee placement on acceptable terms. Cyber pages refer to insurer partners without naming them. The workers’ compensation page claims access to more than 100 regional, global and program markets without listing those markets. Surplus-lines insurers may appear in a proposal when admitted markets cannot meet requested terms. Named issuing companies for a buyer’s policies were not disclosed on the reviewed pages. 35,25,29

Fees and compensation

Corgi Insurance Services may receive commissions or fees from the insurer or the customer. You can ask for the type and amount of compensation on your policy. 1

Corgi lists typical annual prices of $2,000–$5,000 for eligible pre-seed and seed startups and $5,000–$15,000 for Series A companies. Your price depends on the business, state, coverage, limits, and other underwriting details. 2,6,7

US Terms of Business say Lockton may be paid insurer commissions (a percentage of premium), negotiated client fees in lieu of or in addition to commissions, additional compensation such as contingent or supplemental commissions, insurer service fees (including for some managing-general-agency or analytics work), compensation involving affiliate Lockton Re, LLC on reinsurance placements, and interest or premium-finance related income. Commissions are described as fully earned at inception unless law or insurer contracts say otherwise. The terms tell clients to ask their Lockton representative for account-specific compensation. No public fee schedule, commission percentages or typical startup pricing appears on the reviewed pages. 35

Claims assistance

Corgi describes a claims team that helps with reporting an incident, documentation, legal coordination, and progress updates. An affiliated team or third-party administrator may handle the claim; the insurer named in the policy remains responsible for coverage decisions and payment. 1,2,12

Lockton describes claims advocacy as a service, not as the insurer paying claims. Technology, D&O and fiduciary pages say a Professional & Executive Risk Claims team, including insurance and claims counsel, is integrated with the broking team and that claims advocacy is not treated as a profit center. Loss-prevention pages describe claims consulting: investigations, mapping facts to policies, preparing presentations, and discussions with insurer lawyers and loss adjusters. Workers’ compensation pages mention claims service advocates. Terms of Business include claims handling and claims processing among Lockton’s intermediary services and state Lockton is not responsible for an insurer’s solvency or willingness to pay. These descriptions do not establish claims outcomes or handling quality. 24,26,31,33,29,35

Sources

Corgi Official Website

  1. Disclaimers & Licensing. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Carrier Financial Strength (including “federally chartered” and “federal prudential oversight” wording); About Corgi; Licensing; Premium and Payment Disclosures (producer commissions, fees, or other consideration, amounts available on request); Binding Authority and Policy Issuance. Page last updated 04/05/26.. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Corgi Insurance homepage. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Product packages; Self-Serve (apply, get quoted in minutes, bind same-day) and Book a Demo paths; FAQ on cost, claims, and binding; footer entity notices. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. About Corgi. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Company description; Federally Regulated, A-Rated Admitted Access, and Licensed Nationwide sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  4. Insurance Producer Licenses. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; State-by-state producer license table for Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance for Startups. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Form CORG-DO-0100 coverage summary; policy notes stating TRRG underwrites the D&O coverage part; footer identifying Corgi Insurance Company, Inc. NAIC 17989. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  6. Customer Success Stories. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Page heading and named technology-company testimonials; cost FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  7. Partnerships. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Direct Underwriting savings claim; partner-page process; onboarding-to-claims handling claim. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  8. Insurance for AI, Built for Model Risk. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Tech & AI Liability product description and related AI-risk FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  9. Corgi Insurance Launches Admitted Insurance Carrier. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); Announcement of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc.; planned small-business product classes; guaranty-association eligibility statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  10. Corgi Insurance Raises $108 Million, Receives Regulatory Approval to Launch the First Full-Stack Insurance Carrier for Startups. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 9 January 2026 funding announcement; listed startup coverage lines; company-reported ARR figure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  11. Corgi Reaches $2.6B Valuation With $106M Series B1 Three Weeks After $160M Unicorn Round. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 28 May 2026 company statement of $378 million total funding and planned vertical expansion. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  12. Corgi Insurance Launches Corgi Claims, the AI-Native TPA. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 29 June 2026 launch of Corgi Claims as a TPA; disclaimer that claims services are provided through licensed subsidiaries and affiliates. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  13. Corgi Insurance and Silicon Valley Bank Partner to Connect Clients to Preferred Coverage Solutions. PR Newswire (Corgi and Silicon Valley Bank press release); 17 June 2026 partnership announcement for SVB client access to Corgi products. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  14. Corgi: Rebuilding Insurance with AI. Kindred Ventures; 8 January 2026 investor announcement describing Corgi as a full-stack carrier with a captive reinsurer; company-reported 40,000+ policyholders across 49 states. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  15. Corgi Insurance company profile. Y Combinator; Summer 2024 batch; San Francisco location; 2024 founding; team size 250; description as a full-stack insurance carrier for startups. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  16. Registered Federal Risk Retention Groups. Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation; Report date 23 June 2026; registration entry for Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc., NAIC 17763, 425 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108. Document title uses “Federal”; that is the state’s list label, not TRRG’s charter type.. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  17. NAIC Listing of Companies. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; June 2026 listing, numerical entry 17763 P 1 AZ TECHNOLOGY RRG INC. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  18. Insurance Topics: Risk Retention Groups. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Topic page last updated 13 October 2025: member-owned liability insurers formed under state and federal law; may be formed under a state's captive or traditional insurance laws; domiciled in one state and registered in others; treated as multi-state companies subject to modified NAIC accreditation standards. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  19. 15 U.S.C. § 3901 — Definitions. U.S. House Office of the Law Revision Counsel; Liability Risk Retention Act definitions of liability and risk retention group, including state charter, member-ownership, and liability-only activity limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  20. 15 U.S.C. § 3902 — Risk retention groups. U.S. House Office of the Law Revision Counsel; Non-domicile state registration and policy notice requirements; exemption from state insurance insolvency guaranty associations. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  21. Arizona Revised Statutes § 20-2402. Arizona Legislature; Risk retention groups chartered and licensed in Arizona may write only liability insurance under that chapter. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  22. Corgi built its name insuring AI startups. Its new carrier targets dry cleaners, salons and more. Insurance Business; 27 August 2026 report identifying Technology Risk Retention Group as an Arizona-chartered RRG and noting that the admitted-carrier announcement does not specify domicile, licensed states, or rating status. Accessed 2026-09-15.

Lockton Official Website

  1. Lockton United States. Lockton; Opening description of independent insurance brokerage for risk, benefits and retirement; Ask an Expert link to contact-us. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology. Lockton; Industry introduction; cyber liability heading; dedicated technology team; listed services including claims advocacy, contract review, directors and officers liability, and international program design; 24/7 service model. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Cyber & Technology. Lockton; A complete solution to inform, improve, and insure cyber and privacy risk; insurer partnerships; Insure step including claim life cycle; contact cyber@lockton.com. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. D&O Insurance. Lockton; Program description; Side A/B/C overview; who can be covered; Claims management and Professional & Executive Risk Claims team. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Casualty Insurance. Lockton; Introduction on designing and placing liability, auto and workers compensation; Casualty Insurance Solutions list: Auto, Cargo, General & Product Liability, Umbrella & Excess Liability, Workers' Compensation; dedicated service team. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Property Insurance. Lockton; Matching property risks to the global marketplace; manuscript property policy; assistance with complex claim recovery; no centralized broking centers claim. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Workers' Compensation. Lockton; Program design with claims experts; access to more than 100 regional, global and program markets; claims service advocates. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Lockton People Solutions. Lockton; Introducing Lockton People Solutions; FAQ on products (employee experiences, total rewards and benefits, management and measurement) and private ownership. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. Fiduciary Liability Insurance. Lockton; What is fiduciary liability insurance; typical coverage list; claims management; distinction from ERISA bonds. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Risk & People Solutions for Private Equity Firms. Lockton; Lockton capabilities list including D&O/GPL, transaction insurance (reps, tax, litigation), E&O, crime and FI bonds, cyber, EPL, surety, portfolio company programs, key person, and benefits design. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  11. Loss Prevention and Claims. Lockton; Claims consulting description: investigations, policy mapping, discussions with insurer lawyers and loss adjusters; documenting and presenting claims. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  12. Contact Us. Lockton; Inquiry form requiring Terms of Use and Privacy Notice acknowledgment; general enquiries mailbox disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  13. US Terms of Business. Lockton; Opening entity definition; Surplus Lines; Use of a Particular Insurer; Compensation Disclosure; servicing, claims handling and renewal language in Confidentiality section; Intermediaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  14. Lockton US Terms of Use. Lockton; Who we are: Lockton, Inc., Missouri corporation, charter number 00498854; Kansas City principal office; last updated October 15, 2021; Site content is general information, not broking or insurance advice. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  15. Lockton Companies Website Privacy Notice. Lockton; Last updated January 2025; collection when visitors solicit an insurance policy quote; disclosure to insurance companies and intermediaries for quotes. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  16. Offices - Lockton US. Lockton; Global headquarters Kansas City, 444 W 47th St. Suite 900; US inquiry email KC-Inquiries@lockton.com. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  17. Lockton Insurance Brokers - San Francisco. Lockton; Office heading Lockton Insurance Brokers - San Francisco; Suite 600, Three Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  18. Lockton Insurance Brokers - Los Angeles. Lockton; Office heading and 777 S. Figueroa St. Suite 5200, Los Angeles, CA 90017. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  19. Lockton Insurance Brokers - Irvine. Lockton; Office heading and 19800 MacArthur Blvd., Irvine, CA 92612. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  20. Our Story. Lockton; Independence changes everything; family organization and private ownership statements; insurance, employee benefits consulting and retirement services. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  21. Lockton-produced certificate of insurance producer header. Lockton; Producer block: Lockton Companies, LLC DBA Lockton Insurance Brokers, LLC in CA; CA license #0F15767. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  22. California Department of Insurance — Check a License. California Department of Insurance; Public license-status inquiry landing page; interactive lookup not completed with a returned license detail record in this research pass. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Suggested Comparisons

All Comparisons

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot