| Business role | WTW announced that it completed its acquisition of Newfront on January 27, 2026. Newfront’s Business Insurance team joined WTW’s Risk & Broking segment, while Total Rewards joined Health, Wealth & Career. 2Company-reportedAcquirer’s completed-transaction announcement, corroborated by current Newfront homepage; company-reported corporate event, not an insurer financial-strength assessment. Newfront’s current terms use the name Newfront Insurance Services. An older official disclosure identifies ABD Insurance and Financial Services, Inc. as the agency behind the Newfront brand following its 2022 merger. The current site calls Newfront Insurance Services a trade name; confirm the full contracting producer name on your engagement agreement. 3,1,5Company-reportedHistorical corporate identity is separated from current trade-name usage. Current license record and any subsequent legal-name changes could not be independently established. No claim that the former Newfront Insurance Services, LLC remains a separate current producer. Newfront’s brokerage team analyzes risks and negotiates insurance placement. Its claims service acts as a liaison with the carrier. The broker’s advice and advocacy do not make Newfront the insurer responsible for the policy. 8,12,34,3Company-reportedDocumented broking and carrier roles. Do not infer risk-bearing authority from “program,” “underwriting,” or ownership of technology. | Small businesses can buy insurance under The Hartford brand through its subsidiaries and independent agents; the brand itself is not the insurer named on the policy. The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. is the financial holding company behind the brand. 38,59,55,41Company-reportedGroup legal-notice and producer-compensation disclosures as of 16 September 2026. The issuing company and any producer of record still have to be read from a quote or policy. |
|---|
| Coverage lines | Newfront’s casualty offering lists general liability, product liability, commercial auto liability, workers’ compensation, umbrella and excess liability, and environmental and pollution liability. Its workers’ compensation practice describes both conventional programs and structures with larger deductibles or premiums adjusted using loss experience. 10,15Company-reportedDirect offering pages. Labels establish marketed brokerage capabilities, not insured hazards, available limits or entitlement under a policy. “Retro” paraphrased as loss-adjusted premiums. Executive Risk covers the brokerage’s management-liability work: directors and officers (D&O), employment practices, and fiduciary liability for benefit-plan decision makers. Its catalogue also lists professional errors and omissions (E&O), fidelity and crime, kidnap and ransom, independent-director liability, local foreign policies, and Side A difference-in-conditions D&O protection. 11Company-reportedDirect Key Coverages list and practice description. Side A DIC is a specialized D&O option; actual trigger and exclusions require proposed wording. Fidelity is not fiduciary liability. The Cyber Risk practice offers cyber liability and technology E&O, with listed areas including data breaches, network-security liability, business interruption, and cyber extortion or ransomware. Newfront describes negotiating wording with insurers and working with clients on security controls and breach-response preparation. 12Company-reportedDirect offering page; listed areas can be coverage parts rather than separate policies. No inferred right to ransom reimbursement or guaranteed acceptance by an insurer. The property practice offers property and business-interruption programs, cargo stock-throughput coverage for goods moving through the supply chain, and catastrophe options including flood, windstorm, earthquake, wildfire, and terrorism. It also describes equipment-breakdown risks, layered placements with multiple insurers, deductible buy-downs, and parametric insurance that uses an agreed event trigger. 13,28Company-reportedCurrent property offering; scope of catastrophe cover and parametric triggers must come from actual forms. No claim all-risks means every risk is covered. Newfront arranges contract and commercial surety bonds, including performance, payment, and subdivision or developer bonds. Its surety practice also markets subcontractor-default and project-loss insurance. These are distinct arrangements; ask for the bond’s indemnity obligations as well as its price. 14Company-reportedDirect offering. Bonds are not treated as interchangeable with liability insurance; no universal instant-issuance claim. For venture-capital funds, Newfront markets Venture Capital Asset Protection (VCAP), combining management liability, professional liability, outside-directorship liability, employment practices, and fiduciary liability. It also describes a custom endorsement negotiated with participating carriers to adjust coverage, conditions, exclusions, and definitions for the fund. 16Company-reportedDirect VCAP offering. Public description does not provide the endorsement form or name participating insurers. Does not establish that every portfolio company is a named insured. Newfront’s Asset Protection Program serves lenders and loan servicers with lender-placed insurance and coverage for lender-owned property. It spans real-estate, equipment, and auto lending, with services for loan tracking, borrower notices, insurance placement, and claims administration support. 17Company-reportedDirect specialty offering, not a general startup package. REO paraphrased as lender-owned property; actual insured interests and delegated authority not disclosed. Newfront’s life-science practice designs programs for clinical trials, product liability and recall, and describes intellectual-property insurance work. Its digital-asset practice addresses theft and custody risks; its digital-health team designs programs around professional, product, and cyber liability for telemedicine businesses. 18,19,20Company-reportedDirect specialty service pages; IP supported by leadership description of delivered insurance contracts. Digital-assets and telehealth shared keys denote specialty programs, not standardized named forms. Other offerings include aviation insurance for aircraft and operators; event-cancellation, weather, and parametric solutions for entertainment businesses; and representations-and-warranties, tax, and contingent-liability insurance for transactions. Newfront also advises on captives and other alternative ways to finance risk. 21,22,23,28Company-reportedDirect current services. Aviation, event cancellation, tax, contingent liability and environmental insurance lack shared sidebar keys; retained in prose without changing the framework. The employee-benefits practice helps design and administer benefit programs, with HR support and global-benefits services. Its strategic-planning team evaluates fully insured, level-funded, self-funded, and captive arrangements, including stop-loss program design and pharmacy-benefit options. Retirement and compensation consulting are separate services within Total Rewards. 24,25Company-reportedDirect offering pages; funding methods are not equivalent policy products. Retirement advice and salary compensation consulting are not commercial casualty coverage. | Documented Hartford offerings for businesses include a business owner’s policy (general liability, commercial property and business income), stand-alone general liability and commercial property, workers’ compensation, cyber (including BOP data-breach add-ons, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe Technology E&O), miscellaneous professional liability, employment practices liability, commercial auto and hired/non-owned auto, management-liability packages (Private Choice Premier: directors and officers, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom), commercial umbrella, employee benefits, and inland marine for midsize and large accounts. Actual forms, limits and availability vary by product, state and underwriting. 35,43,47,48,49,50,51,52,53,55,58,57Company-reportedProduct and service pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Educational FAQs were not used as the sole proof of an offering. Marketing lists are not specimen policy wording. The Hartford’s employment-practices page states there is no built-in EPL coverage in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York, and that the EPL program described on that page does not apply to EPL coverage written in California. Coverages also vary by state and class. 50Company-reportedCompany footnotes on the EPLI page, last updated 26 November 2025, rechecked 16 September 2026. This does not establish whether a California buyer can buy stand-alone or differently structured EPL. |
|---|
| Application process | The public buying path starts with a consultation request. The form asks for your role, company, contact details, industry, employee count, and the service you need. It does not display a premium or bind coverage. 9VerifiedThe empty public form was reviewed on 15 September 2026. No information was entered or submitted; downstream underwriting and purchasing workflow was not tested. Newfront describes assembling a team for your industry, reviewing your business and risk exposures, and presenting that information to underwriters. Its technology practice describes onboarding and renewal reviews, with additional market shopping when appropriate. The reviewed public pages do not promise a universal quote or binding turnaround. 8,29,9Company-reportedService descriptions, not observed customer onboarding or measured timing. A consultation is not a completed insurance application. Some online services may require you to appoint Newfront as broker of record—the broker designated to service your insurance. Ask which tools and services are included before signing that appointment. 3Company-reportedGeneral Terms §1.2; condition applies to some services, not a claim all public pages require an appointment. Life-science clients can use Newfront’s Clinical Trial Portal to check country requirements, upload documents, and request quotes. The public description does not establish automatic approval or a guaranteed time to receive coverage. 18Company-reportedPublic portal description only; no portal authentication, uploads or quotation attempts. | The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. 36,35,42,41,51,53Company-reportedPublic quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force. |
|---|
| Servicing and renewals | Newfront says Navigator brings together policy documents, certificates, claims information, payment tools, and communication with the service team. Its Executive Risk page describes renewal submissions pre-filled with historical data and document sharing with access controls. 30,11Company-reportedOfficial feature documentation and demonstration assets only; no authenticated client account was used or outcome measured. A policy or coverage change requested through Navigator remains preliminary until the applicable carrier approves it and provides written confirmation. A submitted request is not evidence that the new coverage is in force. 3Company-reportedGeneral Terms §5.3. Contractual limitation, not an interpretation of a customer policy. Newfront says its Partner Management tool is included in client service agreements at no additional cost. It tracks vendor certificates, expiration dates, compliance issues, and follow-up activity inside Navigator. This is a statement about that tool, not a promise of free brokerage services. 31Company-reportedCurrent feature page inclusion statement; actual client eligibility and service scope require agreement confirmation. Newfront’s Contract Review tool extracts insurance requirements, compares them with current policies, provides source citations, and notifies the Newfront team. Its Coverage Gap Analysis tool supports the team’s policy reviews. These are company-described functions; the reviewed materials do not independently establish accuracy or prove that all gaps will be detected. 32,33Company-reportedAI-supported advisory tools, not a substitute for actual policy or legal review. No adoption of competitor comparisons, minutes-to-completion or outcome claims. Newfront’s March 2026 privacy notice describes integration with WTW as ongoing and anticipates substantial integration by year-end, subject to legal and contractual limits. That is a stated plan, not confirmation that systems, data practices, or service agreements have already been unified. 4Company-reportedIntroduction, integration statement dated 13 March 2026; do not present anticipated timing as a completed event. | The Hartford says small-business policyholders can retrieve certificates of insurance online at any time, manage billing and policy details through My Account or its mobile app, and, for workers’ compensation, use pay-as-you-go premium based on actual payroll and a My Workers’ Comp Connection portal. Cyber policyholders are described as having access to a Cyber Center with training and related resources. The reviewed sources did not disclose a published schedule of certificate, endorsement or installment-service fees charged to the insured. 36,46,47,49,60Company-reportedCompany service descriptions as of 16 September 2026. Availability of a portal is not a measure of service quality. |
|---|
| Fees and compensation | A standard business-insurance fee schedule, commission percentage, or premium range was not found in the reviewed business, consultation, and general-terms pages. Request an account-specific disclosure of brokerage fees, insurer commissions, other remuneration, and any separately billed services. 8,9,3Not found in reviewed sourcesPublic commercial property/casualty pricing scope. Employee-benefits terms below are not extrapolated to P&C; absence of a public schedule does not mean zero compensation. For Total Rewards, the order form sets compensation. The published terms allow insurer-paid commissions or client fees and disclose additional carrier compensation tied to the wider book of business. They also address non-cash compensation, retained unused carrier funds, and separate pass-through expenses. Newfront says supplemental commissions will not affect its recommendations. 26Company-reportedTotal Rewards Terms §§4.1–4.8 only; not P&C-wide terms. Company promise about recommendations is not independently verified conflict-of-interest performance. Total Rewards agreements renew annually unless written nonrenewal notice is given at least 60 days in advance. Termination for convenience is allowed during renewal terms with 60 days’ written notice; the client must retain Newfront as broker of record through the current agreement term. Separately, a participating Block Strategy client ending the agreement for convenience during an active affected policy can owe an early-exit fee based on remaining premium savings. 26Company-reportedTotal Rewards Terms §§3.2–3.4. Section 3.4.1 conditions the savings-based fee on Block Strategy participation and active affected coverage; §3.4.2 applies broker-of-record retention to termination for convenience under §3.4, without that participation condition. Not general business-insurance cancellation terms. | The Hartford discloses that it pays independent producers base commissions (a percentage of premium or a fixed amount per policy), and may also pay contingent or supplemental commissions, fees for services, delegated-underwriting compensation and other benefits. Employees who sell insurance may receive extra compensation beyond salary. Producers may charge their own customer fees that are not Hartford premium. The reviewed pages do not publish the commission rate or any Hartford-charged service fee that would apply to a particular buyer’s policy. Published “average premiums” are company-reported estimates, not quotes. 59,41,36,35Company-reportedProducer compensation disclosure and product-page premium footnotes as of 16 September 2026. Missing a fee schedule is not a finding of zero buyer cost beyond premium. |
|---|