CFC vs Kinro: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

CFC requires a detailed broker-submitted technology application; Kinro offers online intake, a review of current policies and renewal shopping.

An Overview of CFC and Kinro

A bootstrapped developer nearing renewal should compare replacement terms against its current insured work and prior coverage; Kinro offers a policy review, while CFC requires a detailed broker application. Choose CFC for a new technology policy; choose Kinro to review existing coverage and shop at renewal. 33 30 3

What Stands Out About CFC and Kinro?

CFC at a Glance

  • Eligible technology businesses can combine E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability. 2Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.
  • Cyber policyholders may get threat monitoring, alerts and 24/7 incident support. 7Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Kinro at a Glance

  • Get a free review of an existing policy or renewal packet before deciding whether to replace it. 33Company-reportedPublic upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification.
  • Kinro says it shops the market at renewal and sends text links to documents, certificates and coverage support. 30,34Company-reportedRetail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected.

CFC vs Kinro Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCFCKinro
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 32Kinro lists a business owner’s policy in its product catalog.
Commercial autoNot listedListed 32As of September 16, 2026, Kinro lists commercial auto and describes matching business details to carrier appetite.
Commercial propertyListed 13CFC offers property coverage within its property and casualty product.Listed 32As of September 16, 2026, Kinro lists commercial property and describes matching business details to carrier appetite.
CrimeListed 11,23CFC offers crime in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 9CFC offers cyber insurance, including primary and excess products.Listed 32Kinro lists cyber liability and compares business details with carrier appetite.
Directors and officersListed 11CFC offers directors and officers liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Listed 32Kinro lists directors and officers insurance and compares business details with carrier appetite.
Employment practices liabilityListed 11CFC offers employment practices liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. CFC does not write standalone employment practices liability.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 11CFC offers fiduciary liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
General liabilityListed 13CFC offers general liability within its property and casualty product.Listed 32Kinro lists general liability and compares available carrier options.
Hired and non-owned autoNot listedListed 32Kinro lists hired and non-owned auto for liability questions involving personal or rented vehicles used for business.
Intellectual propertyListed 14CFC offers intellectual-property insurance for eligible businesses with revenue up to $500 million, depending on industry.Not listed
Kidnap and ransomListed 15CFC offers kidnap and ransom insurance, including a specialist marine product.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 10,11CFC offers a US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Media liabilityListed 21CFC offers media liability insurance for content creators and media businesses.Not listed
Product liabilityListed 22CFC offers product liability within its life-science and nutraceutical policies.Not listed
Product recallListed 16CFC offers product-recall and contaminated-product-recall insurance.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 12CFC offers professional liability insurance for professional-service businesses.Listed 32,43Kinro lists professional liability (errors and omissions) for claims tied to professional advice, errors, omissions or service mistakes.
Representations and warrantiesListed 17CFC offers buyer-side and seller-side representations and warranties insurance.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2CFC offers technology errors and omissions for technology businesses.Not listed
Tools, equipment and inland marineNot listedListed 32Kinro arranges tools and equipment coverage through its inland marine offering.
TruckingNot listedListed 32Kinro lists trucking insurance addressing auto liability, cargo, physical damage and trucking-specific filings or contract requirements.
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 18CFC offers excess professional liability, general liability and cyber limits for small and micro businesses.Listed 32Kinro lists umbrella and excess liability insurance.
Virtual care and telehealthListed 19CFC offers an eHealth package for businesses delivering health care through technology, including telemedicine.Not listed
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 32Kinro arranges workers’ compensation insurance and reviews state, payroll and class-code questions.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

CFC and Kinro Coverage, Line by Line

Open what CFC and Kinro each publish for one coverage line.

CFC and Kinro Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

CFC Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.

Read CFC reviews

Kinro Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

We found no independent customer reviews of Kinro. It shows a 5.0 Google rating on its own website, but there is no review count or listing behind it.

Read Kinro reviews

Key Differences Between CFC and Kinro

A Review Service and an Underwriting Submission Answer Different Questions

Kinro accepts declarations pages, policies or renewal packets for its advertised free review. Its price-and-coverage improvement language is a company claim, not a tested result. CFC’s application asks about products, contracts, hosting, security controls and IP practices. Use the old policy to identify what is expiring, then reconcile the current business rather than copying last year’s description into a new submission. 33 3

Kinro separately describes professional-liability and cyber inputs. The reviewed catalogue does not establish that its general professional-liability offering is the same as CFC’s technology E&O package. Ask whether the proposed form covers the developer’s specific technology services and how cyber is included or placed alongside it; an unlisted technology label is not evidence Kinro cannot arrange it. 43 44 2

Clarify Who Is Advising the Buyer

Kinro’s September 27, 2026 terms define Kinro as Kinro, Inc. and its subsidiaries, including Kinro Insurance Services LLC; insurance is offered through that agency only where licensed. A separate written software agreement controls differences, so confirm the agreement and insurer for your placement. Request the applicable retail agreement and producer identity. 35

CFC’s disclosures distinguish its underwriting entity and US producer. A CFC application still returns to an insurance broker, whose account duties need to be specified. Kinro’s displayed market brands do not establish a CFC placement route or the legal insurer behind any replacement quote. 4 3 39

Renewal Shopping Needs a Continuity Plan

Kinro describes renewal shopping and text-based document support, while its reviewed sources do not establish dedicated claims-reporting instructions. CFC provides separate general claims and cyber incident channels. Before replacing coverage, document both the new policy’s notice requirements and how earlier work or known circumstances will be handled; service messages alone are not a claims procedure. 30 34 48 8

Kinro’s free review does not establish a fee-free placement: it discloses possible placement compensation without an account-specific schedule. CFC’s reviewed technology materials also leave buyer charges unresolved. Compare the final written totals, not Kinro’s general consultant benchmarks against an individually underwritten CFC offer. 47 46 2

What Should You Confirm in CFC and Kinro Quotes?

  • Does the proposed professional form expressly address software development, hosting and client contracts, and how does it connect to cyber coverage? 43 3
  • Which Kinro agreement and producer apply, and which insurer will issue the replacement? California authority remains a confirmation task. 35 50 4
  • Who owns the renewal comparison, prior-work continuity, claims instructions and full compensation disclosure? 30 47 8

CFC vs Kinro Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaCFCKinro
Business role

CFC can quote specialist cover as an MGA, meaning it performs some underwriting functions for insurers that carry the risk. Its disclosures identify CFC Underwriting Limited and U.S. producer CFC USA, Inc.; the CFC brand is not the insurer name on every policy. 5,4Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Kinro helps arrange coverage as a broker; its website names Kinro Insurance Services LLC and NPN 22233799, while the insurer on your policy takes the risk. 34,39Company-reportedWebsite identification and brokerage positioning only; LLC existence, NPN assignment, state licenses and insurer authority were not independently established.

Kinro’s September 27, 2026 terms define Kinro as Kinro, Inc. and its subsidiaries, including Kinro Insurance Services LLC, and say insurance is offered through that agency only where licensed. A separate written software agreement controls where it differs from these terms; confirm the contracting entity on your insurance engagement. 35,34Company-reportedCompany-published terms effective September 27, 2026 state the parent/subsidiary relationship and insurance-service scope. No placement-specific authority or contracting agreement was independently verified.

Independent agencies can use Kinro’s market access and technology while retaining their customer relationship under contract; clarify who advises, binds, bills, services and handles renewals. 37,38Company-reportedB2B partner pathways; not a finding that all retail Kinro buyers work through a subproducer, or that Kinro has wholesale or MGA authority in a particular jurisdiction.

Application process

A senior staff member should expect to complete the technology application and send it to a broker; it asks for revenue, funding, subsidiaries, products, contracts, security, IP procedures and claims history. CFC Connect separately supports broker trading and appointments. 3,6Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

You can begin Kinro’s public four-step quote intake without a login by selecting your business activity; later steps, pricing and binding were not inspected. 31Company-reportedObserved initial unauthenticated interface in Chrome; no answers, personal information, uploads, account creation or submissions. Later access requirements unknown.

Kinro says AI gathers business details and presents available quote options with licensed-agent help; its roughly two-minute follow-up is a company response-time claim, not a quote or binding deadline. 30Company-reportedHomepage FAQ and response claim; no interactions submitted or timing study performed.

You can ask Kinro for a free review by uploading up to three policy or renewal files; its promise to find better pricing with equal or more coverage is company-reported, and no replacement quote was tested. 33Company-reportedPublic upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification.

Access to insurers

Before binding a California technology policy, get the insurer and syndicate names in writing: CFC identifies Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta, but its US technology materials do not identify the insurer for a buyer’s quote. 4,2,3Not publicly disclosedTechnology coverage for a California applicant; Syndicate 1988 is not assigned to every CFC policy.

Kinro says it works with 50+ companies and displays Progressive, GEICO, AmTrust, Pie, Coterie and NEXT, but access depends on approval and logos do not identify your issuing insurer. 30,39Company-reportedCompany-reported network size and displayed brands. Direct appointments, access through intermediaries, actual market search breadth and insurer financial strength are not independently verified.

Servicing and renewals

Cyber buyers can get threat monitoring, alerts, a response app and round-the-clock technical incident support according to CFC; check the proposed policy for access, scope and conditions. 7Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Agree on renewal timing, certificate turnaround and account support before choosing CFC; reviewed materials do not specify those commitments for California technology buyers. 6,3Not publicly disclosedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Kinro says it shops at renewal and sends text links to documents and certificates with reminders and coverage support; these are service descriptions, not turnaround guarantees. 30,34Company-reportedRetail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected.

Before sharing business details, note that Kinro separates service texts from marketing consent, while its privacy policy says website activity may be linked to profiles for marketing. 34,36Company-reportedPublished consent and privacy terms, not an audit of data practices or consent enforcement; privacy policy effective August 10, 2026.

Fees and compensation

Request premium, taxes, fees and intermediary pay in a written breakdown; CFC’s reviewed US technology materials do not disclose a buyer-specific price, commission rate or full charge schedule. 2,3,6Not publicly disclosedOnly the listed US technology and broker-process sources; no inference of free service or zero commission. Australian and unrelated Irish CFC disclosures are not US pricing evidence.

Kinro’s terms say it is usually paid a commission by the issuing insurer, included in the insurer-set premium. Its services are free to use unless a fee is disclosed before you agree to pay it. Ask for the commission and any proposed fee for your policy; the terms do not publish an account-specific amount. 35,47,37Company-reportedSeptember 27, 2026 company terms describe buyer fees and insurer-paid commissions; no account-specific fee or commission rate is stated. Separate agency-partner economics are not retail rates.

Consultants can use Kinro’s monthly benchmarks—$25–$35 GL, $50–$65 E&O and $90–$105 cyber—as rough market references, not quotes matched to an insurer, limit or deductible. 46Company-reportedOne industry-page illustration, not Kinro-wide pricing or a comparable quote; underlying calculation methodology not established.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to CFC vs Kinro

  • CFC describes specialist technology underwriting and cyber-response services through an MGA route; AIG lists broader commercial options submitted through brokers and agents.

  • Compare AIG’s broker-facing insurer route with Kinro’s small-business agency intake and quote comparison workflow.

  • Alliance Risk brokers a broad range of commercial coverage; CFC sells technology products and cyber response through brokers; its reviewed management-liability offer excludes California-domiciled businesses.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot