CFC vs
Kinro D&O Insurance
CFC underwrites D&O as a US package module with stated declines; Kinro matches buyers to D&O carriers using funding-stage, cap-table and covenant inputs.
What Is CFC Insurance?
CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. 1,2,3,4
What Is Kinro Insurance?
Kinro helps U.S. small businesses identify insurance needs and shop available coverage through an agency. Buyers can start online, request a policy review, or contact the team for help. 8,9,10
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 12
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Package Writer Versus Broker Match
CFC’s directors and officers cover sits in its US Management Liability package. Kinro matches a business to a D&O carrier rather than writing the policy, saying market fit depends on carrier appetite. 5 11
A CFC quote is CFC’s package. A Kinro quote is whichever carrier Kinro matches; Kinro’s reviewed materials do not name those carriers. 5 11
What You Provide to Get a Quote
To quote D&O, Kinro collects ownership, funding stage, board structure, revenue and headcount, prior claims and investor or lender requirements. CFC’s reviewed materials do not describe that intake list for the US package. 11 5
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask Kinro which carrier it would match and whether D&O would share a program with EPLI or fiduciary. 11
- Ask CFC whether California domicile or US-public status blocks the package. 6
- Ask CFC for the additional insured-persons amount and Side A DIC. 6 5
- Confirm Kinro’s cap-table and covenant inputs against CFC’s package underwriting questions. 11 5
Offering Details
CFC vs Kinro D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | CFC Directors & Officers Liability | Kinro Directors & Officers |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product. It separately sells Side A DIC, an excess policy that sits above a company's existing D&O program. 5,6Company-reported. CFC's management-liability product page and brochure; package composition as CFC describes it. | Kinro is a broker: it matches a business to a D&O carrier rather than underwriting the policy itself, saying the product "can underwrite differently" by operation and that market fit depends on carrier appetite. 11Company-reported. Directors & Officers page "Routing" and "Market fit" sections. |
| Issuing Insurer | CFC's regulatory page discloses CFC Underwriting Limited's FCA authorization and CFC's Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta Managing Agency Ltd, but neither the regulatory page nor the management-liability brochure names the carrier or syndicate that would issue a given US D&O policy. 4,6Not publicly disclosed. Regulatory information page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Who It’s For | CFC's brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'What we decline' list; underwriting still applies to any individual business. | Kinro says D&O commonly fits startups, funded companies, boards and executive teams, and typically comes up when a business has outside investors, a formal board or debt covenants, or a financing or customer contract requires management liability coverage. 11Company-reported. Directors & Officers page "Common fit" and "Triggers" sections. |
| Coverage Features | CFC says its directors and officers cover includes protection for the entity itself and aims to prevent directors and officers from having to sell personal assets to pay defense costs. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'Directors and officers cover' description; the issued policy wording determines actual entity and Side B/C coverage terms. CFC's brochure lists an additional limit for insured persons as part of the directors and officers liability section, on top of the package's base limit. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'What else is in the policy?' list; the dollar amount of that additional limit is not stated on the reviewed pages. CFC separately offers Side A DIC (difference in conditions), which it describes as excess coverage for directors and officers of private and publicly traded organizations, sitting above the primary management-liability D&O cover. 5Company-reported. Management-liability product page; Side A DIC has its own brochure that was not opened for this record, so its terms are not otherwise described here. | Kinro says D&O placements typically address claims involving management decisions, governance, investors or executives, and that a management-liability program may also fold in EPLI (employment practices) or fiduciary coverage. 11Company-reported. Directors & Officers page "Coverage" section; actual terms depend on the carrier and policy placed. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed brochure does not publish a specific dollar limit, retention, or the size of the additional insured-persons limit for D&O. Those figures appear only on the quote and declarations. 6Not publicly disclosed. Brochure as read on 2026-09-23. | The reviewed page does not publish D&O limits, retentions or premiums; carriers use inputs such as funding stage, cap table and debt to quote, and amounts are not published. 11Not found in reviewed sources. Directors & Officers page "Quote file" section as read on 2026-09-23. |
| How to Apply | Not described in the reviewed sources. | To quote D&O, Kinro collects ownership, funding stage, board structure, revenue and headcount, prior claims and investor or lender requirements, and often reviews D&O together with EPLI, cyber and E&O coverage. 11Company-reported. Directors & Officers page "Quote file" and "Reviewed with" sections. |
| Claims Support | CFC provides a US claim-notification route by phone, email and online form, and says a dedicated claims adjuster manages a claim from notification through resolution. 7Company-reported. Claims page as read on 2026-09-23; not specific to D&O claim outcomes or timing. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More CFC vs Kinro Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
CFC
- About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability. CFC; Our management liability products: Management liability, Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Directors and officers cover; At a glance: What we like; What we decline; What else is in the policy? Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Claims. CFC; Notify a claim or cyber incident; We're in it with you. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Kinro
- Kinro Business Insurance. Kinro; Hero; Clear guidance before you buy; industry groups; carrier-logo strip; Insurance expertise; FAQs on follow-up, purchase obligation and AI; footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Free Review Of Your Insurance Policy. Kinro; Introductory price/coverage claim and step 1 of 2 upload panel; accepted documents and file limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Contact Kinro. Kinro; Opening policy-support description; direct contact channels and message form. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Directors & Officers. Kinro; Common fit; Product file; Coverage — What it usually handles; Triggers — When it comes up; Quote file — Inputs carriers usually need; Routing — Match the product to the operation; Market fit. Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





