HUB International vs Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Pie focuses on workers’ compensation with payroll-based billing; HUB can coordinate that coverage with property, liability and benefits.

An Overview of HUB International and Pie Insurance

An employer that needs workers’ compensation, property and employee benefits can compare Pie’s focused payroll-billed program with a HUB-led account. HUB also routes some small accounts through Insureon, so the quote should state who will manage each line. 39 41 44 17 9 8 Choose Pie if workers’ compensation and payroll billing are the priority; choose HUB if you need several lines coordinated.

What Stands Out About HUB International and Pie Insurance?

HUB International at a Glance

  • HUB’s technology practice serves startups and software, hardware and digital-media companies; HUB says it insures more than 5,000 technology businesses. 10Company-reportedIndustry marketing page only. Does not establish California eligibility, insurer panels or policy wording for any named coverage.
  • Qualifying small businesses can use Insureon’s online quote path; other accounts work with a HUB advisor or local office, with no public self-serve bind path for mid-market programs. 8,11,12,13,10,6Company-reportedPublic website paths as of 16 September 2026. No application was submitted. Insureon’s own site is a separate digital agency flow.

Pie Insurance at a Glance

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 40,39,41Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 55,56Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

HUB International vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageHUB InternationalPie Insurance
Builders riskListed 10HUB International arranges builders risk insurance.Not listed
Business owner’s policyListed 18HUB International arranges business owner’s policies for small and midsized businesses.Listed 45Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
Cargo and transitListed 28,10HUB International arranges cargo insurance.Not listed
Commercial autoListed 20HUB International arranges commercial auto insurance.Not listed
Commercial propertyListed 19HUB International arranges commercial property insurance.Not listed
CrimeListed 21,16HUB International arranges commercial crime insurance.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 13,10HUB International arranges cyber insurance.Listed 46Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
Directors and officersListed 12,10HUB International arranges directors and officers liability insurance.Not listed
Employee health and benefitsListed 30,1HUB International arranges employee health and benefits programs.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 16,10HUB International arranges employment practices liability insurance.Not listed
Equipment breakdownListed 29HUB International arranges equipment breakdown insurance.Not listed
Fidelity bondsListed 16HUB International arranges crime and fidelity coverage through its professional and executive risk practice.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 22,16HUB International arranges fiduciary liability insurance.Not listed
General liabilityListed 11HUB International arranges general liability insurance.Listed 48Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Hired and non-owned autoListed 20HUB International arranges hired and non-owned auto coverage through its commercial auto brokerage.Not listed
Key personListed 10HUB International arranges key person life and disability insurance.Not listed
Kidnap and ransomListed 23,16HUB International arranges kidnap and ransom insurance.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 10,16HUB International arranges management liability insurance through its professional and executive risk practice.Not listed
Medical malpracticeListed 25HUB International arranges medical professional liability insurance for health care professionals.Not listed
Product liabilityListed 27HUB International arranges product liability insurance.Not listed
Product recallListed 27HUB International arranges product recall insurance.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 14,15HUB International arranges professional errors and omissions insurance.Listed 47Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Representations and warrantiesListed 26HUB International arranges representations and warranties insurance.Not listed
Surety bondsListed 24HUB International arranges surety bonds.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 10HUB International arranges technology errors and omissions insurance.Not listed
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 28HUB International arranges inland marine insurance through its marine practice.Not listed
TruckingListed 20HUB International arranges trucking insurance.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 27HUB International arranges umbrella and excess liability insurance.Not listed
Virtual care and telehealthListed 31HUB International arranges virtual care insurance for health care organizations.Not listed
Workers’ compensationListed 17HUB International arranges workers’ compensation insurance.Listed 41Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

HUB International and Pie Insurance Coverage, Line by Line

Open what HUB International and Pie Insurance each publish for one coverage line.

HUB International and Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Each score uses the criteria for that provider’s role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

No Reliability Score

Carrier & MGA

No Reliability Score

Reliability Score details

HUB International and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

HUB International Review Score

5.6/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customers who reviewed HUB on BBB rate it 1 out of 5, but that is only 7 reviews for a very large broker. BBB's own business grade is A-.

Read HUB International reviews

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between HUB International and Pie Insurance

Specialist Carrier Channel Versus Broker

Pie Insurance specializes in workers’ compensation that small businesses can start online or through partners. 39 41 HUB brokers workers’ compensation among many other lines and is not Pie’s issuing carrier. 4 17

Pie names how its workers’ compensation is issued. HUB places workers’ compensation with insurers it does not publish as a complete panel. An unnamed HUB market is not the same as “no insurer.” 40 27

Pay-As-You-Go Versus Annual Broker Billing

Pie describes payment plans that can follow reported payroll (pay-as-you-go), plus credit-card and waiver fees. HUB discloses commissions and possible client fees without a public pay-as-you-go product sheet. If cash timing on payroll is the pain point, ask HUB whether any of its markets offer a similar reporting endorsement rather than assuming they do not. 44 7

Geography

Pie publishes workers’ compensation availability that is not automatically nationwide, plus partner-product geography. HUB lists California offices without turning them into product maps. Confirm California workers’ compensation on both quotes. 49 3

Claims

Pie describes claims reporting and handling for its workers’ compensation. HUB’s claims practice covers multiple lines. A workplace injury still goes to the workers’ compensation insurer, not to HUB’s cyber claims team. 39 32

What Should You Confirm in HUB International and Pie Insurance Quotes?

  • Whether other needed lines stay with HUB/Insureon while Pie writes only workers’ compensation. 45 8

  • Payroll reporting method, audit and credit-card fees. 43 17

  • Discontinued Pie commercial auto if you still need hired/non-owned or fleet coverage. 39 20

HUB International vs Pie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaHUB InternationalPie Insurance
Business role

HUB helps businesses arrange insurance through brokers and agents; reviewed product pages describe brokerage, not HUB as the insurer. Its subsidiaries hold licenses in various US states and Canadian provinces. 4,5,9Company-reportedBrand and parent identity as of 16 September 2026. Does not identify which subsidiary would appear on a California producer license or policy declarations.

Small businesses may reach HUB through its digital Insureon route, acquired in 2022; Insureon and TechInsurance are associated with Specialty Program Group, so the retail account path may differ from HUB’s offices. 4,34,35,36,37Company-reportedCorporate-affiliation statements. Does not establish that every HUB office places business through Insureon, or that TechInsurance is a distinct California producer.

Small businesses can buy Pie’s workers’ compensation directly or through agents; affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ comp, while outside insurers provide some other Pie products. 40,43,41,45,46,47,48Company-reportedCurrent public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant.

If parent-company ownership matters, Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the website and is regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty; AM Best identifies the insurer group as Pie Insurance Group. 42,62,60VerifiedWebsite ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary.

Pie Insurance Services, Inc. is the producer that sells and administers policies; verify its current license in your state because Pie’s own license page is not regulator confirmation. 43,63Company-reportedProducer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action.

Coverage lines

Businesses can ask HUB about liability, property, workers’ comp, auto, cyber, D&O, professional liability, crime, fiduciary, bonds, malpractice, marine, equipment and transaction coverage, plus employee benefits; marketing pages do not establish exact forms or eligibility. 9,11,19,17,18,20,13,12,14,15,21,22,23,24,25,28,29,26,27,30,16Company-reportedOfficial product and casualty pages accessed 16 September 2026. Catalogue entries are brokerage offerings, not proof that a California startup can obtain each line on stated terms.

Technology companies can build programs around Tech E&O, cyber, D&O, workers’ comp, cargo, property, benefits and other listed risks; confirm which are relevant and available for your operations. 10Company-reportedTechnology industry page inventory. Patent package is a HUB grouping label, not a finding that intellectual-property insurance is separately underwritten. Builders risk is listed there as a technology offering.

Pie currently markets workers’ comp, BOP, cyber, general liability and professional liability/E&O; product pages describe typical coverage, while the policy and endorsements determine your actual protection. 41,45,46,48,47,42Company-reportedPublic US Pie pages with an explicit quote or contact invitation; educational-only topics and components of a BOP were not counted as standalone offerings.

If you need new or renewed commercial auto, look elsewhere: Pie stopped accepting new submissions December 1, 2025 and says it will issue no new or renewal policies after January 1, 2026; existing terms remain in force through expiry. 52,58Company-reportedPie’s former commercial-auto offering and legacy policies; commercial auto is intentionally excluded from the current coverage catalogue.

Use your policy and endorsements to decide what is covered; Pie says website descriptions do not change policy terms and eligibility varies by applicant and location. 42Company-reportedWebsite descriptions and US products generally; the buyer’s issued policy and endorsements control.

Application process

Small accounts meeting HUB’s size guidelines can start an online Insureon quote; other buyers contact a HUB broker or local office. The reviewed site does not offer a public self-serve bind route for mid-market programs. 8,11,12,13,10,6Company-reportedPublic website paths as of 16 September 2026. No application was submitted. Insureon’s own site is a separate digital agency flow.

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 40,39,41Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 44,41Company-reportedUnauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 41,39Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

Fees and compensation

Ask for compensation on your proposal: HUB says it receives insurer commissions, contingent and supplemental payments and sometimes client fees, may use affiliated wholesalers, and may earn administration or data fees; it publishes no standard rates. 7Company-reportedFirmwide compensation disclosure. Amounts for a given account are not disclosed on the public page.

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 55,56Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 55Company-reportedCredit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 54Not publicly disclosedWorkers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 59,43Not publicly disclosedAgency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Claims assistance

HUB says its claims team provides advocacy, dispute support and administration, with 225+ professionals and 24-hour reporting metrics; these are company-reported process claims, not a prediction of how your insurer will handle a loss. 32Company-reportedHUB claims-management service page. HUB is not identified as the claims-paying insurer. No assessment of claims-handling quality is made here.

Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 58Company-reportedPublished first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply.

Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 59,49,60Conflicting sourcesPublic allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to HUB International vs Pie Insurance

  • Compare AIG’s insurer-led commercial offerings with HUB’s brokerage and small-account routing, including where each path may suit a technology business.

  • Compare AIG’s broader commercial insurer group with Pie’s direct and agency workers’ compensation route.

  • HUB routes some small-commercial inquiries to Insureon; its technology team and Alliance Risk offer different account paths.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot