Foxquilt vs The Hartford

Foxquilt describes a small-business insurance platform with online purchasing for selected products; The Hartford small businesses can buy insurance under the hartford brand through its subsidiaries and independent agents; the brand itself is not the insurer named on the policy. the hartford insurance group, inc. is the financial holding company behind the brand. Compare the service and submission routes, then confirm the product, insurer and terms available for your business. 1,5,22,20

Introduction

If you want an online starting point for selected small-business policies, Foxquilt describes online quote and purchase options. The Hartford Small businesses can buy insurance under The Hartford brand through its subsidiaries and independent agents; the brand itself is not the insurer named on the policy. The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. is the financial holding company behind the brand. The distinction matters when deciding whether to begin with an online product flow or work through the The Hartford route; ask who will prepare the submission and support changes after binding. 5 20

Coverage Comparison

CoverageFoxquiltThe Hartford
Builders riskListed 11Builder’s risk product page; policy-specific construction terms not established.Not listed
Business owner’s policyListed 2Foxquilt’s About page lists Business Owner’s Policy among “Our Primary Coverages”; no current BOP-specific terms or bundled contents are established here.Listed 27,19The Hartford offers business owner’s policies combining property and liability coverage.
Commercial autoListed 8Commercial auto product page; HNOA is not split out.Listed 35,19The Hartford offers commercial auto insurance as a business coverage; small businesses cannot currently buy it online and may be quoted through a local agency.
Commercial propertyListed 10Commercial property product page.Listed 29,19The Hartford offers commercial property insurance.
CrimeListed 17,18Foxquilt has a Crime Insurance product page, which says crime can be a BOP add-on or an isolated policy; the ConvertLabs cleaner program also lists Crime/Bonds but describes crime only. No bond product is inferred.Listed 37The Hartford offers crime insurance as a management-liability coverage option.
Cyber liabilityListed 9Cyber product page; policy terms and limits not established.Listed 31,19The Hartford offers cyber insurance and data-breach coverage.
Directors and officersNot listedListed 37,38The Hartford offers directors and officers liability for private, public and nonprofit organizations.
Employment practices liabilityNot listedListed 34,19The Hartford offers employment practices liability through business owner’s and management-liability products; EPL built into its business owner’s policy is not available in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York.
Fiduciary liabilityNot listedListed 37The Hartford offers fiduciary liability as a management-liability coverage option.
General liabilityListed 5,3Company CGL product page; line-specific CGL membership only.Listed 28,19The Hartford offers general liability insurance.
Hired and non-owned autoListed 4Advertised as a Hired & non-owned feature beneath Foxquilt’s Commercial Auto card; no distinct HNOA policy or terms established.Listed 36,35The Hartford offers hired and non-owned auto coverage.
Kidnap and ransomNot listedListed 37The Hartford lists kidnap and ransom/extortion among its management-liability coverage options.
Management liabilityNot listedListed 37The Hartford offers management-liability packages, including Private Choice Premier.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 6Professional E&O product page.Listed 33The Hartford offers professional liability insurance for service businesses.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 6Technology/creative class within broader E&O; no separate technology form established.Listed 32,31The Hartford offers technology errors and omissions coverage through its FailSafe product.
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 2,18Foxquilt lists Inland Marine among primary coverages; the ConvertLabs cleaner program describes limited mobile-equipment coverage (also called Inland Marine) commonly used by janitorial providers. This does not establish broad standalone inland-marine terms.Listed 41The Hartford offers inland marine insurance for midsize and large businesses.
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 2,16Foxquilt lists Umbrella/Excess in its primary-coverages list and has a current Umbrella Insurance page that distinguishes umbrella from excess. Membership is for marketed umbrella only; a separate excess product is not established.Listed 39,40The Hartford lists commercial umbrella insurance among its business coverage options.
Workers’ compensationListed 7Workers’ compensation page; state requirements vary.Listed 30,19The Hartford offers workers’ compensation insurance.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Current Spot Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Foxquilt

Managing general agent

Carrier & MGA

No Spot Score

Assessment subject unavailable

Provider assessment

The Hartford

Carrier

Carrier & MGA

7.3/ 10

Assessed provider: The Hartford. Scope: The Hartford's US property-and-casualty carrier activity at named insurer level, centered on Hartford Fire Insurance Company and related writing companies disclosed in current legal notices and regulator records. The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. is parent/holding-company context; life, benefits, Navigators and other entities are not merged into Hartford Fire's scored evidence.

Provider assessment

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Foxquilt

8.9/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Customers rate Foxquilt well on Google (4.9 out of 5 from 526 reviews at its Charlotte office) and 3.5 out of 5 on Trustpilot from only 8 reviews. Put together, the Review Score is 8.9 out of 10.[12][5][6]

Read Foxquilt reviews

The Hartford

4.9/ 10

Review Score

5 rated sources

The Hartford’s service record is mixed: NerdWallet rates it 4.5/5 but reports below-average small-business satisfaction. Low Trustpilot ratings add a service concern, although they mix policy types.[1][2][4][5][6][7]

Read The Hartford reviews

Which Businesses Each Route Describes

Foxquilt’s stated customer focus is: Foxquilt says it serves small and midsize businesses and business-to-business networks. Its current CGL and E&O pages name contractors, e-commerce, personal services, consultants, technology and creative professionals, licensed professionals, and beauty and health services as target examples; listed classes are not guarantees of eligibility. The Hartford describes its audience this way: The Hartford markets small-business insurance to SaaS companies, software startups, cloud and IT consulting firms, and other small businesses, and separately sells midsize/large commercial and employer benefits products. Treat these as documented market focus, not a promise that a specific applicant qualifies. Before comparing quotes, give both routes the same business description, revenue, locations, operations and contract requirements. 2 19

Compare The Products You Actually Need

Foxquilt documents Foxquilt has current product-specific pages for commercial general liability, professional E&O, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, cyber, commercial property, builders risk, umbrella and crime. The About page separately lists Business Owner’s Policy, Umbrella/Excess and Inland Marine among “Our Primary Coverages”; its umbrella page describes umbrella and distinguishes it from excess. A cleaner-program page describes limited mobile-equipment (inland marine) and crime coverage and uses a Crime/Bonds label without bond terms. The E&O page includes technology and creative professions within broader E&O; the reviewed material does not establish a separate technology E&O form. The Hartford documents Documented Hartford offerings for businesses include a business owner’s policy (general liability, commercial property and business income), stand-alone general liability and commercial property, workers’ compensation, cyber (including BOP data-breach add-ons, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe Technology E&O), miscellaneous professional liability, employment practices liability, commercial auto and hired/non-owned auto, management-liability packages (Private Choice Premier: directors and officers, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom), commercial umbrella, employee benefits, and inland marine for midsize and large accounts. Actual forms, limits and availability vary by product, state and underwriting. The catalogues can differ in breadth and product scope; both records list general liability, technology errors omissions, professional errors omissions, while The Hartford also lists employment practices, directors officers, fiduciary, kidnap ransom in its current coverage record. A shared line name does not mean the policies use the same form or cover the same exposures. Ask for the proposed insurer, policy form, limits, retentions, exclusions and endorsements for each requested line. 5 19

Application And Support

Foxquilt’s product pages describe an online route for selected CGL and E&O policies, with assistance available. The Hartford describes this application route: The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. This difference can change who prepares the submission and supports you before binding. Ask whether you can finish the application online, whether a broker or agent must submit it, what information is needed, and who confirms binding and the effective date. 5 20

Confirm The Insurer And Compensation

Foxquilt’s insurer disclosure says Foxquilt’s product pages display Markel, Greenlight Re and Lloyd’s-related marks under “Backed by industry leaders.” The reviewed pages do not map those names to the insurer, reinsurer, coverholder, or delegated authority for a particular U.S. product, state or policy; confirm the insurer and producer on the quote and policy documents. The Hartford reports Coverages described on Hartford sites may be offered by one or more property-and-casualty subsidiaries listed in the Legal Notice. Hartford Fire Insurance Company (NAIC 19682) is authorized in all U.S. states and the District of Columbia according to that notice, and California CDI independently confirms its California authorization. Employee-benefits pages also name Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company. The reviewed sources do not identify the writing company that would appear on a specific SaaS, BOP or technology E&O policy. These disclosures do not identify the insurer on your individual policy. Request the issuing company and producer details for each quote, plus a written breakdown of premium, fees and broker compensation. 5 22

Service After Purchase

Foxquilt describes servicing as follows: Foxquilt says CGL and E&O policy documents and certificates are emailed after purchase and describes digital account tools. For agents and brokers, Foxquilt advertises digital endorsement and cancellation management and change requests in Foxden; this does not establish who has contractual authority or the processing terms for a particular policy. The public material reviewed does not establish policy-specific renewal handling, endorsement authority, cancellation process or service-level guarantees. The Hartford describes this service route: The Hartford says small-business policyholders can retrieve certificates of insurance online at any time, manage billing and policy details through My Account or its mobile app, and, for workers’ compensation, use pay-as-you-go premium based on actual payroll and a My Workers’ Comp Connection portal. Cyber policyholders are described as having access to a Cyber Center with training and related resources. The reviewed sources did not disclose a published schedule of certificate, endorsement or installment-service fees charged to the insured. Ask who handles routine certificates, policy changes, renewal discussions and claims notices for your account, and whether that contact is the broker, insurer or another administrator. 5 20

Compare Services

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaFoxquiltThe Hartford
Business role

Foxquilt markets a North American small-business insurance platform and describes licensed-broker services. Its terms name Foxquilt Insurance Services Inc. as the website, products and services operator. Its agent page calls Foxquilt a ‘North American Carrier’ and reports admitted CGL paper in 42 U.S. states and seven Canadian provinces, but names no license-holding entity or license identifier there. The reviewed sources do not map the Inc. or the separately listed Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC to a particular U.S. placement, delegated authority or issuing insurer, so the brand’s U.S. regulated role remains unresolved. 1,12,13,3,14Company-reported. Foxquilt brand and the separately named Inc. and LLC; company disclosures accessed through 2026-09-29. License wording is provider-published and was not independently regulator-verified; no exact license identifiers were found in the inspected provider disclosures.

Small businesses can buy insurance under The Hartford brand through its subsidiaries and independent agents; the brand itself is not the insurer named on the policy. The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. is the financial holding company behind the brand. 22,43,39,25Company-reported. Group legal-notice and producer-compensation disclosures as of 16 September 2026. The issuing company and any producer of record still have to be read from a quote or policy.

Customer focus

Foxquilt says it serves small and midsize businesses and business-to-business networks. Its current CGL and E&O pages name contractors, e-commerce, personal services, consultants, technology and creative professionals, licensed professionals, and beauty and health services as target examples; listed classes are not guarantees of eligibility. 2,5,6Company-reported. Company-described North American small-business audience and example product classes; actual appetite depends on product, class, state and underwriting.

The Hartford markets small-business insurance to SaaS companies, software startups, cloud and IT consulting firms, and other small businesses, and separately sells midsize/large commercial and employer benefits products. 19,20,42,41Company-reported. Company marketing pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Marketing a SaaS page is not a finding that every software company is eligible.

Coverage lines

Foxquilt has current product-specific pages for commercial general liability, professional E&O, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, cyber, commercial property, builders risk, umbrella and crime. The About page separately lists Business Owner’s Policy, Umbrella/Excess and Inland Marine among “Our Primary Coverages”; its umbrella page describes umbrella and distinguishes it from excess. A cleaner-program page describes limited mobile-equipment (inland marine) and crime coverage and uses a Crime/Bonds label without bond terms. The E&O page includes technology and creative professions within broader E&O; the reviewed material does not establish a separate technology E&O form. 5,6,7,8,9,10,11,2,16,17,18Company-reported. Current Foxquilt pages inspected 2026-09-29. These are marketed coverage memberships, not a conclusion that detailed policy terms are adequate for comparison. Product scope differs between standalone pages, a primary-coverages list, subfeatures and the ConvertLabs cleaner program; quote and policy determine actual terms, jurisdiction, issuer and eligibility.

Documented Hartford offerings for businesses include a business owner’s policy (general liability, commercial property and business income), stand-alone general liability and commercial property, workers’ compensation, cyber (including BOP data-breach add-ons, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe Technology E&O), miscellaneous professional liability, employment practices liability, commercial auto and hired/non-owned auto, management-liability packages (Private Choice Premier: directors and officers, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom), commercial umbrella, employee benefits, and inland marine for midsize and large accounts. Actual forms, limits and availability vary by product, state and underwriting. 19,27,31,32,33,34,35,36,37,39,42,41Company-reported. Product and service pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Educational FAQs were not used as the sole proof of an offering. Marketing lists are not specimen policy wording.

The Hartford’s employment-practices page states there is no built-in EPL coverage in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York, and that the EPL program described on that page does not apply to EPL coverage written in California. Coverages also vary by state and class. 34Company-reported. Company footnotes on the EPLI page, last updated 26 November 2025, rechecked 16 September 2026. This does not establish whether a California buyer can buy stand-alone or differently structured EPL.

Application process

Foxquilt says customers can request and buy CGL and E&O online, with team assistance available, and receive documents after purchase. Its screens show example businesses, sample limits and prices; these are company illustrations, not quotes tested for a buyer or evidence that every risk can bind online. 5,6,1Company-reported. Company-reported CGL and E&O purchase workflow; no form was submitted and no quote or purchase was completed in this research.

The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. 20,19,26,25,35,37Company-reported. Public quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.

Servicing and renewals

Foxquilt says CGL and E&O policy documents and certificates are emailed after purchase and describes digital account tools. For agents and brokers, Foxquilt advertises digital endorsement and cancellation management and change requests in Foxden; this does not establish who has contractual authority or the processing terms for a particular policy. The public material reviewed does not establish policy-specific renewal handling, endorsement authority, cancellation process or service-level guarantees. 5,6,2,3Company-reported. Company-reported buyer servicing statements and agent/broker portal marketing; no account access or live service interaction tested.

The Hartford says small-business policyholders can retrieve certificates of insurance online at any time, manage billing and policy details through My Account or its mobile app, and, for workers’ compensation, use pay-as-you-go premium based on actual payroll and a My Workers’ Comp Connection portal. Cyber policyholders are described as having access to a Cyber Center with training and related resources. The reviewed sources did not disclose a published schedule of certificate, endorsement or installment-service fees charged to the insured. 20,30,31,33,44Company-reported. Company service descriptions as of 16 September 2026. Availability of a portal is not a measure of service quality.

Access to insurers

Foxquilt’s product pages display Markel, Greenlight Re and Lloyd’s-related marks under “Backed by industry leaders.” The reviewed pages do not map those names to the insurer, reinsurer, coverholder, or delegated authority for a particular U.S. product, state or policy; confirm the insurer and producer on the quote and policy documents. 5,6,2Not publicly disclosed. Foxquilt brand marketing and the reviewed public CGL/E&O pages; no policy or state-specific issuer schedule reviewed.

Coverages described on Hartford sites may be offered by one or more property-and-casualty subsidiaries listed in the Legal Notice. Hartford Fire Insurance Company (NAIC 19682) is authorized in all U.S. states and the District of Columbia according to that notice, and California CDI independently confirms its California authorization. Employee-benefits pages also name Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company. The reviewed sources do not identify the writing company that would appear on a specific SaaS, BOP or technology E&O policy. 22,39,28,42,46Company-reported. Legal notice writing-company table as of 31 December 2025, rechecked 16 September 2026, plus CDI verification for Hartford Fire only. Other affiliates were not each re-checked at a state regulator.

Sources

Foxquilt Official Website

  1. Commercial Insurance, Business Liability Coverage | Foxquilt. Foxquilt; Homepage: available-now CGL and E&O; other recommended products; digital purchase workflow; illustrative quote screens and carrier/support marks. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. About Us - North American Business Insurance Company. Foxquilt; Our Primary Coverages; North American Distribution; Foxden; broad company-level distribution statement. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Become a Foxquilt Agent/Broker Partner. Foxquilt; Agent/broker product and servicing marketing: quote/bind/service in Foxden and instant documents (lines 22–24); service requests manage endorsements/cancellations (lines 130–138); digital servicing support says digitally manage endorsements/cancellations (lines 206–208); agents can file change requests in Foxden (lines 262–266). Separate CGL live selector states 42 U.S. states, 7 Canadian provinces and ‘Admitted paper Yes’ (lines 210–227). Page calls Foxquilt a ‘North American Carrier’ and says two products are built/underwritten in-house (lines 145–152). Directly reopened 2026-09-29. Provider-published marketing, not independent regulator verification; exact license-holding entity/type/identifier, specific policy authority and request-processing terms are not disclosed here. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Other Coverages. Foxquilt; Other Coverages page: Workers’ Compensation, Commercial Auto, Cyber Liability and Commercial Property cards; Commercial Auto card lists Owned vehicles, Hired & non-owned, and Tools in transit as features; CGL/E&O are marked available now. Directly inspected 2026-09-29, lines 22–70. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. Commercial General Liability. Foxquilt; “What does CGL cover?”; “Foxquilt’s CGL is built for…”; digital quote/buy and certificates; “Built for North American small business”; limits FAQ; CGL exclusions FAQ. Directly reopened 2026-09-29, lines 53–64, 67–104, 135–215, 244–319. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. Professional Liability (E&O). Foxquilt; E&O summary and claims-made label; coverage examples; “Tech & Creative” classes; digital quote/buy; North American availability; lines 22–29, 52–65, 99–120, 138–253. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  7. Workers’ Compensation Insurance. Foxquilt; State-requirements FAQ; payroll/employee/location price factors; benefits list; self-employed and subcontractor FAQs. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 148–162. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  8. Commercial Auto Insurance. Foxquilt; Product description, audience/use cases, claims scenarios and price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 42, 99–132. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  9. Cyber Business Insurance. Foxquilt; Cyber event description, target business types/data exposure, examples, price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–127. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  10. Commercial Property Insurance. Foxquilt; Property description and causes; target property; claim examples; pricing factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–128. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  11. Builder’s Risk Insurance. Foxquilt; Construction-stage description and example causes; intended buyers; project-specific price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–127. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  12. Foxquilt Insurance Services | Terms & Conditions. Foxquilt; Sections 1.1–1.2 identify Foxquilt Insurance Services Inc. as service operator; no reviewed Inc.–LLC relationship statement. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  13. Foxquilt Insurance Services | Consumer & Privacy Info. Foxquilt; Privacy officer identity/address; “How We Get Paid For Our Services”; commission table and contingent-commission footnote; Canada-oriented company disclosure; no U.S. line/issuer mapping. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  14. Agency Detail: Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC. Westfield Insurance; Agency directory listing for Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC and Business coverage; does not disclose state appointment terms, delegated authority, or policy issuer. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  15. Foxquilt official website. Foxquilt; Official website is the provenance root for the visible brand mark; no reusable downloadable official logo file was verified during this pass. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  16. Smarter Umbrella Insurance For Your Business. Foxquilt; Current product page calls the product Umbrella Insurance; lines 98–104 describe umbrella vs excess and eligibility; lines 106–121 give illustrative scenarios; lines 127–132 discuss multi-insurer tower as hypothetical purchasing example. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. It supports an umbrella marketing membership, not a separate excess product, actual tower, underlying requirements, policy form or limits. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  17. Smarter Crime Insurance. Foxquilt; Current product page calls the product Crime Insurance; lines 90–104 describe money/securities, inside/outside theft and examples; lines 113–121 say crime may be included as a BOP add-on or bought as an isolated policy. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. Marketing does not establish form/limits or fidelity/surety bond coverage. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  18. Cleaner Insurance Program by Foxquilt. Foxquilt; Current Foxquilt-powered ConvertLabs cleaner program page; lines 108–135 lists CGL, Commercial Auto, Mobile Equipment, Crime/Bonds and Workers’ Compensation. Lines 127–128 identify Mobile Equipment as “also known as Inland Marine” and limit it to a small portion of equipment coverage commonly used by janitorial providers; lines 130–131 describe Crime, not bond terms. Page says program applications are available in Canada or the U.S. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.

The Hartford Official Website

  1. SaaS Insurance for Your Business. The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote. The Hartford; Small-business positioning; BOP package; product list including professional liability, cyber, EPLI, commercial auto; quote in minutes and COI 24/7; phone 855-487-0783; availability footnote that products are not available in all states or for all businesses. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. California Business Insurance. The Hartford; Coverages marketed for California (BOP, general liability, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, commercial property, professional liability); statement that California buyers can get a quote online or by phone; company-reported California customer averages. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. The Hartford Announces First Quarter 2025 Financial Results. The Hartford; Boilerplate: The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. (formerly Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.), NYSE: HIG, operates through subsidiaries under the brand The Hartford, headquartered in Hartford, Connecticut. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. About Us. The Hartford; Property and casualty insurance, group benefits and mutual funds positioning; more than 200 years of operation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Find a Local Insurance Agent. The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Small Business Insurance Quote. The Hartford; Public first screen: business-status and structure questions; steps labeled Basics, Coverages, Details, Price, Review, Payment and Confirmation; help phone 1-855-431-1252 (M–F 8am–8pm ET). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance. The Hartford; Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; BOP contents (property, general liability, business income); optional add-ons including workers’ compensation, professional liability, commercial auto and cyber; products-not-available-in-all-states footnote; last updated May 20, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. General Liability Insurance. The Hartford; General liability introduction and Get a Quote; stand-alone GL and BOP bundling; products-completed operations; technology-company example; subsidiary-offering disclosure; last updated May 20, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Commercial Property Insurance. The Hartford; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; property and business-interruption descriptions; technology firms among common buyers; COI online; claims phone 800-327-3638; last updated August 13, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  11. Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans. The Hartford; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; quote route; state-requirement quiz (some states require a state-run program); pay-as-you-go billing; My Workers’ Comp Connection portal; provider-network and pharmacy statements. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  12. Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses. The Hartford; Cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; BOP-endorsed cyber, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe; Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance Coverage: FailSafe; Get a quote for cyber insurance; Cyber Center; FirstResponse hotline 800-370-0605; last updated March 10, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  13. Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance | Technology E&O. The Hartford; Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance Coverage: FailSafe Technology Liability Product Suite (E&O, security, data privacy and network security, personal injury, intellectual property, media liability); software and SaaS buyer classes; last updated September 19, 2024. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  14. Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; Who Needs Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; industry offering list; miscellaneous professional liability; Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies; claims-made versus occurrence; My Account COI requests; last updated May 4, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  15. Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance. The Hartford; EPLI introduction; Hartford-provided EPLI; BOP inclusion; Private Choice Premier and Employers Premier Choice; footnote 2: built-in EPL coverage is not available in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York, and the described EPL program does not apply to EPL written in California; last updated November 26, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  16. Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; Small-business availability banner: not currently offered online for small businesses, with quotes through a local agency or partner; hired and non-owned auto description; footer product-availability disclosure; last updated August 27, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  17. Hired and Non-Owned Vehicle Insurance | HNOA. The Hartford; Hired and non-owned auto offering; liability-only limitations; availability banner; commercial-auto referral disclosure; last updated August 27, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  18. Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote. The Hartford; Opening Private Choice Premier package description (D&O, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom/extortion) and agent route; Who Does Management Liability Insurance Protect?; Fiduciary Liability Insurance; Crime Insurance; option to add certain coverages to a BOP; management-liability organization sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  19. Directors and Officers Liability Insurance. The Hartford; Agent-facing D&O solutions for public companies, financial institutions, and private or nonprofit organizations through Private Choice Premier; management-liability organization sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  20. Commercial Insurance. The Hartford; Insurer self-description; What Does Business Insurance Cover?: Commercial Umbrella Insurance; Other Business Coverages; about-10-minute quote claim; products not available in all states; coverages offered by P&C subsidiaries listed in the Legal Notice. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  21. Business Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; What Does Business Insurance Cover?: Commercial Umbrella Insurance; Other Business Coverages (EPL, data breach and others); products-not-available-in-all-states footnote; last updated July 28, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  22. Inland Marine Insurance Solutions. The Hartford; Inland Marine Insurance Solutions introduction; midsize and large inland-marine programs including technology equipment; Quick Quote submissions; premium-start statement for larger businesses; Find an Agent or Broker. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  23. Employee Benefits Insurance. The Hartford; Employer income-protection and related benefits; footer naming Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company and Hartford Fire Insurance Company as underwriting companies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  24. Producer Compensation Property & Casualty. The Hartford; Distribution through agents and brokers; base, contingent and supplemental commissions; employee sales compensation; surplus-lines brokers; producer-charged customer fees that are not Hartford premium. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  25. Insurance Claim Center. The Hartford; Phone and online reporting; online claim status; mobile app for claims, policy details and billing. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  26. General Liability Claims | File A Claim. The Hartford; 24/7 phone 800-327-3636; online general-liability claim form; policy-type selector including cyber, employee benefits, property and workers’ compensation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  27. Hartford Fire Insurance Company. California Department of Insurance; NAIC 19682; California Company ID 0085-1; authorized 01/07/1870; license status UNLIMITED-NORMAL; property and casualty; domicile Connecticut; authorized lines including liability, fire, workers’ compensation, automobile, surety and marine. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Suggested Comparisons

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot