Corgi vs Travelers: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Corgi packages technology and management liability for startups; Travelers sells technology insurance through independent agents.

An Overview of Corgi and Travelers

A seed-stage software company needing D&O for financing and technology E&O or cyber for customer contracts can compare Corgi’s package with a Travelers proposal from an independent agent. Choose Corgi if you want packaged startup coverage; choose Travelers if you want an independent agent to quote its technology policies. 1 2 23 28

What Stands Out About Corgi and Travelers?

Corgi at a Glance

  • Startup packages scale from pre-seed to growth, with a custom option. 2,3,6,15Company-reportedCompany website positioning and package names; named customer stories on the customers page are testimonials, not a verified book of business.
  • Use Corgi’s dashboard to adjust coverage as your company grows. 2,1Company-reportedCompany description of post-bind servicing and cancellation. Actual endorsement terms remain in the policy. This does not establish a specific renewal guarantee or a finding that renewals are unavailable.

Travelers at a Glance

  • Startups and established tech companies can explore CyberRisk Tech, which can combine cyber and technology E&O. 23,26,24Company-reportedCompany-described audiences on technology and small-business pages. Marketing to a class is not underwriting approval, and eligibility remains quote-specific.
  • Buy through an independent agent; many small accounts can be quoted and issued in an agent platform, while specialty technology risks need underwriting. 28,45,23,25,51,44Company-reportedApplication path described on contact, agent-locator, technology and 10-K sources. Automated small-commercial issuance is not evidence that a technology, D&O or cyber submission will quote or bind the same way.

Corgi vs Travelers Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCorgiTravelers
Business owner’s policyListed 2Corgi lists a business owner’s policy in its coverage catalog.Listed 24Travelers offers business owner’s policies for small technology-services businesses.
Cargo and transitListed 2Corgi lists a cargo contractual liability product in its transportation offering.Listed 35Travelers offers cargo insurance through its transportation, cargo and logistics offering.
Commercial autoListed 2Corgi links to trucking auto-liability coverage from its transportation menu.Listed 23Travelers offers commercial auto insurance.
Commercial propertyNot listedListed 23Travelers offers commercial property insurance.
CrimeListed 2Corgi lists crime insurance among its main policies.Listed 34Travelers offers commercial crime insurance.
Cyber liabilityListed 2Corgi lists cyber insurance among its business insurance offerings.Listed 25Travelers offers cyber insurance through CyberRisk Tech for technology and life-sciences companies.
Directors and officersListed 2Corgi lists directors and officers insurance among its business insurance offerings.Listed 31Travelers offers directors and officers liability insurance.
Employment practices liabilityListed 2Corgi lists employment practices liability among its business-insurance offerings.Listed 33Travelers offers employment practices liability insurance.
Equipment breakdownNot listedListed 37Travelers offers equipment breakdown insurance.
Fidelity bondsNot listedListed 36,30Travelers offers ERISA fidelity bonds.
Fiduciary liabilityListed 2Corgi lists fiduciary liability in its coverage catalog and package options.Listed 32Travelers offers fiduciary liability insurance.
General liabilityListed 2Corgi lists commercial general liability among its business insurance offerings.Listed 23Travelers offers general liability insurance.
Hired and non-owned autoListed 2Corgi lists hired and non-owned auto liability for employees using rented or personal vehicles for company business.Not listed
Kidnap and ransomListed 2Corgi lists kidnap and ransom among its specialized business-insurance offerings.Listed 30,41Travelers offers kidnap and ransom insurance.
Liquor liabilityListed Corgi markets liquor liability for eligible veterans’ and fraternal lodges with licensed on-premises bars.Not listed
Management liabilityNot listedListed 30Travelers offers management liability insurance.
Media liabilityListed 2Corgi lists media liability insurance among its coverage offerings.Listed 25Travelers offers media liability insurance through CyberRisk Tech for technology and life-sciences companies.
Medical malpracticeListed 2Corgi markets medical malpractice insurance for health care professionals and organizations.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2Corgi lists miscellaneous errors and omissions coverage for service-based businesses.Listed 49Travelers offers professional errors and omissions insurance.
Representations and warrantiesListed 2Corgi lists representations and warranties insurance for M&A buyers and sellers.Not listed
Surety bondsNot listedListed 36Travelers offers surety bonds.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2Corgi lists technology errors and omissions insurance for technology products and services.Listed 23,25Travelers offers technology errors and omissions insurance through CyberRisk Tech for technology and life-sciences companies.
Tools, equipment and inland marineNot listedListed 35Travelers offers inland marine insurance.
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 2Corgi lists commercial umbrella liability insurance.Listed 23,48Travelers offers commercial umbrella and excess liability insurance.
Workers’ compensationListed 2Corgi lists workers’ compensation insurance.Listed 23,47Travelers offers workers’ compensation insurance.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Corgi and Travelers Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Corgi and Travelers each publish for one coverage line.

Corgi and Travelers Reliability Scores

Each score uses the criteria for that provider’s role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Corgi and Travelers Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

Corgi Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews; the inspected Trustpilot profiles showed none. Its Trustpilot page exists but shows no reviews or rating.

Read Corgi reviews

Travelers Review Score

4.8/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Travelers earns 4.5/5 from NerdWallet, but customer feedback is poor: 1.4/5 on Trustpilot and 1.3/5 for homeowners on ConsumerAffairs. Those reviews mostly concern personal insurance.

Read Travelers reviews

Key Differences Between Corgi and Travelers Insurance

Who Sells the Policy and Who Issues It

Your Corgi policy’s named insurer provides coverage; Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. is the agency that sells and administers policies. 1,2,4Company-reportedDistribution role and brand usage as of 15 September 2026. Producer licensing is not insurer authority, and group language does not make every group company the issuing insurer on a given policy.

Travelers sells property-and-casualty insurance through its operating subsidiaries; The Travelers Companies, Inc. is the holding company, not the policy issuer. Policies may name The Travelers Indemnity Company or another affiliate. 50,51,43,29VerifiedGroup role as of 16 September 2026. The legal insurer on a buyer’s policy is the company named in that policy or binder, which can differ by product and state.

Corgi can therefore look like a one-brand checkout while still using affiliated or partner paper, including Technology Risk Retention Group. Travelers’ brand is the underwriting group; the buyer’s “producer” is a separate licensed agent. Do not treat a Corgi dashboard and a Travelers agent locator as interchangeable storefronts. 1 45

D&O, Technology E&O and Property That an RRG Cannot Write

Corgi’s startup packages combine general liability, D&O, technology E&O, cyber, media, employment practices, fiduciary and hired and non-owned auto. Its D&O page describes claims-made coverage on form CORG-DO-0100 issued by Technology Risk Retention Group, with defense inside the limit in the published example. Travelers markets CyberRisk Tech that can combine technology E&O and cyber, plus a broader commercial catalogue that includes property, workers compensation, auto and umbrella. 2 5 25 23

Federal risk-retention-group rules matter if Corgi proposes Technology Risk Retention Group for liability lines: those groups write liability for members and cannot provide other insurance such as property. A package that includes property must use other paper. Travelers commercial property is a separate Travelers offering, not an RRG product. Ask each proposal which legal insurer writes each line. 1 23

Ratings, Guaranty Funds and California Authorization

Corgi says Technology Risk Retention Group has no AM Best rating and that RRG policies are not covered by state guaranty funds. It also says admitted or partner carriers rated A- or better may be available when a customer requires admitted paper. California’s insurance department lists The Travelers Indemnity Company and Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America as authorized property-and-casualty insurers; that authorization is not a CyberRisk Tech eligibility schedule. 1 52 53

If an investor or customer requires admitted, rated paper, compare the actual declarations rather than Corgi’s typical-package story or Travelers’ group financial-strength marketing.

Applying Online Versus Asking an Agent

Corgi lets applicants start online or book a specialist call and describes quotes in minutes for eligible risks, while its disclosures also recognize written binders. Travelers’ Form 10-K describes automated quote-bind-issue for many Select Accounts small risks, with more complex accounts underwritten by company staff; technology pages still send buyers to an agent. Neither description is a bind timetable for a particular California software risk. 2 1 51 23

Corgi publishes typical annual bands of $2,000–$5,000 for eligible pre-seed and seed companies and $5,000–$15,000 for Series A. Those figures are illustrations. Travelers does not publish a technology premium schedule; it pays producers commissions and other compensation that the buyer’s agent can explain. 2 29 27

What Should You Confirm in Corgi and Travelers Quotes?

  • Issuer and product type for each line: RRG versus admitted partner paper at Corgi; Indemnity Company, Casualty and Surety Company of America or another affiliate at Travelers, including any surplus-lines Northfield layer. 1 48
  • Whether property, auto or workers compensation is on the same paper as the liability package. 1 23
  • D&O form, defense inside or outside limits, and retroactive date compared with Travelers’ management-liability proposal. 5 31
  • Written binder or effective date before telling investors coverage is in force. 1 28
  • Itemized premium, Corgi compensation and Travelers producer commission rather than package bands or a blank website. 1 29

Corgi vs Travelers Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaCorgiTravelers
Business role

Your Corgi policy’s named insurer provides coverage; Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. is the agency that sells and administers policies. 1,2,4Company-reportedDistribution role and brand usage as of 15 September 2026. Producer licensing is not insurer authority, and group language does not make every group company the issuing insurer on a given policy.

Travelers sells property-and-casualty insurance through its operating subsidiaries; The Travelers Companies, Inc. is the holding company, not the policy issuer. Policies may name The Travelers Indemnity Company or another affiliate. 50,51,43,29VerifiedGroup role as of 16 September 2026. The legal insurer on a buyer’s policy is the company named in that policy or binder, which can differ by product and state.

Travelers says it primarily sells U.S. insurance through independent agents and brokers, whom it calls producers and who are not Travelers employees. It also owns Simply Business, Inc. and InsuraMatch, LLC, licensed digital independent agencies it says operate nationwide. 29,28,51Company-reportedU.S. distribution disclosure. Ownership of digital agencies does not establish that those agencies place technology business insurance for a given buyer, including in California.

Coverage lines

Startup packages can combine general liability, D&O, Tech E&O, cyber, media, employment practices, fiduciary and hired/non-owned auto; Corgi also offers a Tech & AI Liability module. 2,8,10Company-reportedWebsite product labels and package descriptions. Labels are not equivalent coverage, and website summaries are not policy wording.

If you need D&O, Corgi’s example shows claims-made protection for directors, officers and the company under form CORG-DO-0100, issued by Technology Risk Retention Group. The example puts defense costs inside the limit and has a $25,000 per-claim retention; your policy controls. 5Company-reportedPublic product-page summary last reviewed 24 April 2026 on the page itself; illustrative limits and retentions may differ from a buyer’s policy.

A package that includes property needs another insurer if its liability policy uses a risk retention group, because such groups can write business liability but not property coverage. 19,21VerifiedStatutory limit on what an RRG may write. It does not by itself prove which Corgi product sits on which paper.

On its technology pages, Travelers lists CyberRisk Tech (technology E&O and cyber options, including media and regulatory-proceedings agreements on the cyber page), Global Companion Plus+, general liability, commercial property, workers compensation, commercial auto and umbrella. Other current offering pages list a small-business technology-services BOP, management-liability lines (D&O, EPL, fiduciary, fidelity and crime, kidnap and ransom), professional E&O, inland marine including cargo, equipment breakdown, surety and commercial umbrella/excess including a Northfield surplus-lines option. 23,25,24,30,49,35,37,36,48Company-reportedMarketed catalogue from product and service pages accessed 16 September 2026. Labels are not policy wording, limits or endorsements, and not every line is offered in a combined technology package.

Access to insurers

Check your policy declarations for the insurer and claims administrator because Corgi may use affiliated or partner insurers. 1Company-reportedCompany disclosure of variable issuing paper. Do not treat the Corgi brand, the producer, or any one carrier as the insurer on every policy.

If your quote uses Technology Risk Retention Group, check the insurer’s financial and regulatory information directly: NAIC lists it as Arizona-domiciled P&C company 17763 (TECHNOLOGY RRG INC). Corgi calls it its primary underwriting entity and an RRG under the Liability Risk Retention Act; its description of federal charter and oversight is company language, not an independent legal conclusion. 17,1,3,2,18,19Company-reportedEntity identity and Arizona domicile are supported by the NAIC listing. Which Corgi products currently issue on TRRG paper is company-described and can vary by account. NAIC and the Liability Risk Retention Act describe RRGs as state-chartered or state-licensed liability insurers with domiciliary-state regulation of formation and operation.

If a quote uses a risk retention group, remember it is a member-owned liability insurer licensed in its home state and registered elsewhere under federal law; members have similar or related risks. 18,19,21VerifiedGeneral RRG charter, membership, and oversight from current NAIC topic material last updated 13 October 2025 and the cited statutes. This is not a statement of TRRG’s surplus, a federal charter, or of which Corgi products currently issue on TRRG paper. The reviewed sources do not describe voting, dividend, or assessment rights for a Corgi policyholder in practice.

If admitted coverage or guaranty-association protection matters to you, ask Corgi about affiliated or partner carriers it says are rated A- or better; eligibility depends on state, line and business, and state protection has limits. 1,3,2,9Company-reportedCompany description of an alternative placement path. It is not a guarantee that a given account will receive A- admitted paper, not an AM Best rating of TRRG or of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc., and not a blanket guarantee of guaranty-association payment. Guaranty-association language does not apply to risk retention group policies.

Ask how you assess the insurer’s financial strength if the quote uses Technology Risk Retention Group: Corgi says it has no AM Best rating, which is separate from admitted status. 1,5Company-reportedCompany statement about TRRG. Admitted status, an AM Best rating, and financial condition are separate facts. This profile does not assign a financial-strength grade to TRRG.

If a financial-strength rating or specific state authority is a requirement, request it for Corgi Insurance Company; its August 2026 launch announcement provided neither a rating nor a complete state-license list. 9,22Not found in reviewed sourcesReviewed public sources as of 15 September 2026. Not finding a published rating is not a finding that the company has no rating, no capital, or no authorization.

If your Corgi policy is issued by Technology Risk Retention Group, state insurance guaranty funds do not cover it; this is a material difference to weigh against an admitted option. 20,2,1VerifiedRRG policies. This is a statutory qualification, not a prediction of insolvency, and it is not a statement about admitted policies.

The insurer named on your policy remains responsible for claims even if it shares risk with reinsurers; Corgi does not name current reinsurers or contract terms publicly. 1,14Not publicly disclosedPublic disclosures as of 15 September 2026. Not identifying a named panel is not a finding that there is no reinsurance.

Travelers is the brand. Product footers name The Travelers Indemnity Company and its property-casualty affiliates, and Bond & Specialty pages name Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America and affiliates. Umbrella materials also describe Northfield excess-and-surplus coverage for some hard-to-place risks. The issuing company, admitted or surplus status, and any fronting or network partner remain quote-specific. 29,47,31,48,41Company-reportedEntities named on current marketing and compensation pages. This research does not assign one issuer to the entire technology catalogue or to California placements.

Application process

You can apply online or book a specialist call, and Corgi says eligible applicants may quote in minutes and buy the same day; confirm in writing whether coverage starts at policy issuance/payment or under a binder and the effective date. 2,1Company-reportedCompany website process claims and Binding Authority and Policy Issuance disclosure, rechecked on 15 September 2026. The disclosure's first paragraph requires policy issuance and payment, while its next paragraph describes temporary binder coverage; this record does not resolve which conditions apply to a particular placement. Quote speed is not independently verified and is not the same as coverage being in force. A self-serve path is not evidence of zero producer commissions or fees.

Travelers tells business buyers to get a quote through an independent agent, using a public agency locator. Its 2025 Form 10-K says Select Accounts uses an automated underwriting platform so agents can quote, bind and issue a substantial amount of small-business risks, while more complex risks are underwritten with company personnel. Technology and CyberRisk Tech pages likewise tell buyers to consult an agent or Travelers representative; a direct public bind path for technology packages was not found on the reviewed pages. 28,45,23,25,51,44Company-reportedApplication path described on contact, agent-locator, technology and 10-K sources. Automated small-commercial issuance is not evidence that a technology, D&O or cyber submission will quote or bind the same way.

Fees and compensation

Ask for the commission or customer fee on your policy because Corgi Insurance Services may receive either from you or the insurer. 1Company-reportedProducer compensation disclosure. Website, self-serve, or other direct distribution is not a finding of zero commissions or fees. Specific amounts were not published in the reviewed sources.

Corgi gives annual price examples of $2,000–$5,000 for eligible pre-seed/seed startups and $5,000–$15,000 for Series A; your quote depends on risk, state, coverage and limits. 2,6,7Company-reportedCompany-reported ranges and a marketing savings claim, not comparable quotes. They are not premiums for a defined risk, limit, retention, or policy period. “Underwrites directly” is not a finding of zero producer commissions or fees, and no public methodology for the 30 percent figure was found.

Travelers discloses that it generally pays independent producers a base commission as a percentage of premium, and may also pay contingent compensation, value-based amounts, production incentives, promotional reimbursements, strategic-relationship amounts or service fees. It might not pay all, or any, of those types on a given placement. Percentages vary by business, risk and state. Account-specific amounts are directed to the buyer’s agent or broker. 29Company-reportedU.S. producer-compensation disclosure accessed 16 September 2026. This describes what Travelers may pay producers, not a buyer-facing fee schedule.

The reviewed public pages do not publish a standard premium, deductible schedule or buyer-paid broker fee for technology insurance. Travelers states that cost depends on coverage types, limits and the business’s risks, location and size, and tells buyers to work with an insurance professional. 27,47,29Not publicly disclosedBusiness-insurance and workers-compensation marketing pages accessed 16 September 2026. Absence of a public price list is not evidence that coverage is free or that no fees apply.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Corgi vs Travelers

  • Corgi packages startup coverage through an agency and carrier options; AIG publishes a broader commercial insurer portfolio with producer-facing tools.

  • Both describe agent or broker distribution; Travelers publishes a 24-hour claims route and a dedicated technology claims unit, while AIG’s online reporting tools name specific lines.

  • Corgi organizes startup insurance packages by company stage; Alliance Risk reviews technology E&O as part of a broader commercial search.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot