Chubb vs Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Chubb offers workers’ compensation alongside commercial policies; Pie focuses on payroll-billed workers’ compensation with premium audits, but its published state counts conflict.

An Overview of Chubb and Pie Insurance

A small employer comparing workers’ compensation should weigh Pie’s payroll-based payments and annual audit against Chubb’s multi-line offer, and verify state eligibility because Pie’s published state counts conflict. Choose Pie for payroll-linked premium billing; choose Chubb when workers’ compensation sits alongside other commercial lines. 8 46 48 60 62 54 10

What Stands Out About Chubb and Pie Insurance?

Chubb at a Glance

  • Eligible technology companies can combine technology E&O, media and cyber through DigiTech ERM. 10,9,4Company-reportedU.S. cyber product pages accessed 16 September 2026. Product names are not equivalent coverage across every insured.
  • Agents can quote eligible small-business accounts online; cyber has a faster application route. 9,10,30,31,12Company-reportedU.S. agent platforms and buyer contact paths as of 16 September 2026. Quote speed and bindability are not guaranteed for any applicant.

Pie Insurance at a Glance

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 45,44,46Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 60,61Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Chubb vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageChubbPie Insurance
Builders riskListed 22,21Chubb offers builders risk insurance.Not listed
Business owner’s policyListed 7,4Chubb offers business owner’s policies for eligible small businesses with up to $30 million in revenue.Listed 50Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
Cargo and transitListed 24Chubb offers cargo insurance.Not listed
Commercial autoListed 17,7Chubb offers commercial auto insurance.Not listed
Commercial propertyListed 15,4Chubb offers commercial property insurance.Not listed
CrimeListed 11,5Chubb offers crime coverage within its ForeFront portfolio for private, nonprofit and health care organizations.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 10,9Chubb offers cyber insurance.Listed 51Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
Directors and officersListed 13,11Chubb offers directors and officers liability insurance for smaller privately held companies through ForeFront.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 11,14Chubb offers employment practices liability insurance.Not listed
Equipment breakdownListed 23,5Chubb offers equipment breakdown insurance.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 11,14Chubb offers fiduciary liability insurance.Not listed
General liabilityListed 7,4,20Chubb offers general liability insurance within its commercial package products.Listed 53Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Kidnap and ransomListed 11,14Chubb offers kidnap and ransom insurance.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 11,14Chubb offers management liability insurance.Not listed
Media liabilityListed 10Chubb offers media liability insurance through DigiTech ERM for technology companies.Not listed
Product recallListed 26,28Chubb offers product recall insurance for businesses handling finished consumer goods.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 10,5Chubb offers professional errors and omissions insurance through Pro ERM for non-licensed professional-service firms.Listed 52Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Representations and warrantiesListed 27Chubb offers representations and warranties insurance within its offering for large US- and Canadian-based multinational companies.Not listed
Surety bondsListed 25Chubb offers surety bonds.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 10,4Chubb offers technology errors and omissions insurance through DigiTech ERM for technology companies.Not listed
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 21,28Chubb offers inland marine insurance.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 16,7Chubb offers umbrella and excess liability insurance.Not listed
Workers’ compensationListed 8,4Chubb offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses, from one employee up to $30 million in revenue, including technology companies.Listed 46Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Chubb and Pie Insurance Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Chubb and Pie Insurance each publish for one coverage line.

Chubb and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

Chubb Review Score

6.9/ 10

Review Score

5 rated sources

Chubb earns 5/5 from NerdWallet, which reports fewer-than-expected commercial property and liability complaints. Customer ratings are mixed across products and locations.

Read Chubb reviews

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between Chubb and Pie Insurance

Workers’ Comp Specialist Versus Multi-Line Group

Pie Insurance Services sells and administers small-business commercial policies; affiliated carriers write workers’ compensation and some other lines come through outside partners. Chubb is a marketing name for group underwriting companies that issue their own commercial lines, including workers’ compensation as a Chubb product. 48 46 2

Pie names The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as workers’ compensation underwriters. Chubb names Federal Insurance Company among primary underwriting companies. Those are different balance sheets. 48 30

Direct Quote Versus Agent Marketplace

Pie offers a public workers’ compensation quote flow and an agency channel. Chubb’s small-business workers’ compensation is described as combinable with a Chubb businessowners policy and is sold through appointed agents. Pie’s statements about quote time and savings are Pie’s own, with qualifications on those pages. 49 8

Partner Lines and Auto Discontinuance

Pie’s public catalogue still supports businessowners, cyber, general liability and professional liability requests through partners, with less public insurer detail than its workers’ compensation companies. Its FAQ says new commercial auto submissions and renewals ended. Chubb still markets commercial auto as a company product. Pie partner cyber or professional liability is not shown here as Chubb DigiTech wording. 51 57 17

Cost Features Pie Publishes

Pie discloses payment plans, a credit-card fee on many new single-state workers’ compensation policies, and charges for waiver-of-subrogation requests without a public dollar schedule. Chubb does not publish comparable buyer fee tables. Payroll audits on Pie workers’ compensation can change premium after the term. 60 62 29

What Should You Confirm in Chubb and Pie Insurance Quotes?

  • Workers’ compensation issuer: Pie-group companies versus a Chubb-group company, plus AM Best or other rating needs. 65 30

  • State availability, including Pie’s conflicting public state counts. 54 2

  • Whether BOP, cyber or E&O on a Pie proposal uses partner paper rather than Pie’s workers’ comp companies. 48

  • Credit-card, waiver and audit terms versus a Chubb WC quote’s payment method. 60 8

Chubb vs Pie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaChubbPie Insurance
Business role

Businesses buying Chubb coverage receive a policy from a US underwriting company, not from Chubb Limited, the Swiss holding company. Chubb is the marketing name for the group’s insurance subsidiaries and related services. 39,2,25VerifiedGroup identity from the 2025 Form 10-K Item 1 and U.S. website legal disclosures. The holding company is not the risk-bearing insurer on a given U.S. policy.

Most commercial buyers need an independent agent or broker to reach Chubb; surplus-lines products require a licensed surplus-lines producer. Chubb appoints producers and operates agent portals, while Chubb Insurance Solutions Agency, Inc. administers Chubb Access appointments. 29,30,2,38Company-reportedU.S. distribution as described on agent-access, contact and terms pages. This does not mean every independent agent is appointed for every product.

Small businesses can buy Pie’s workers’ compensation directly or through agents; affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ comp, while outside insurers provide some other Pie products. 45,48,46,50,51,52,53Company-reportedCurrent public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant.

If parent-company ownership matters, Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the website and is regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty; AM Best identifies the insurer group as Pie Insurance Group. 47,67,65VerifiedWebsite ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary.

Pie Insurance Services, Inc. is the producer that sells and administers policies; verify its current license in your state because Pie’s own license page is not regulator confirmation. 48,68Company-reportedProducer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action.

Coverage lines

Technology companies can compare DigiTech ERM, which combines technology E&O, media and cyber in one policy, with Chubb’s Cyber ERM or Pro ERM options; the issued form sets actual terms, limits and exclusions. 10,9,4Company-reportedU.S. cyber product pages accessed 16 September 2026. Product names are not equivalent coverage across every insured.

Businesses can also ask Chubb about BOP, workers’ compensation, auto, umbrella/excess, management liability, property, marine, builders risk, equipment breakdown, cargo, environmental, surety, product recall and transaction coverage; product names do not mean one package includes every line. 4,7,11,15,25,27Company-reportedOfferings described on dedicated product or industry solution pages. Availability, admitted versus surplus paper, and wording vary by product, size and jurisdiction.

Pie currently markets workers’ comp, BOP, cyber, general liability and professional liability/E&O; product pages describe typical coverage, while the policy and endorsements determine your actual protection. 46,50,51,53,52,47Company-reportedPublic US Pie pages with an explicit quote or contact invitation; educational-only topics and components of a BOP were not counted as standalone offerings.

If you need new or renewed commercial auto, look elsewhere: Pie stopped accepting new submissions December 1, 2025 and says it will issue no new or renewal policies after January 1, 2026; existing terms remain in force through expiry. 57,63Company-reportedPie’s former commercial-auto offering and legacy policies; commercial auto is intentionally excluded from the current coverage catalogue.

Use your policy and endorsements to decide what is covered; Pie says website descriptions do not change policy terms and eligibility varies by applicant and location. 47Company-reportedWebsite descriptions and US products generally; the buyer’s issued policy and endorsements control.

Application process

Eligible small businesses can get agent-assisted quotes through Chubb Marketplace, with Cyber Central offering an express cyber route; the described online path is for appointed agents and brokers, not a general-public bind for middle-market technology programs. Cyber risks under $100 million revenue may qualify; referred risks go to underwriters. 9,10,30,31,12Company-reportedU.S. agent platforms and buyer contact paths as of 16 September 2026. Quote speed and bindability are not guaranteed for any applicant.

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 45,44,46Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 49,46Company-reportedUnauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 46,44Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

Access to insurers

Check the declarations for your policy’s actual insurer because different Chubb companies issue different placements. Sources name Federal Insurance Company, ACE American, Westchester Fire or Westchester Surplus Lines, and for some business Illinois Union or other ACE paper. 30,25,28,36,41Company-reportedU.S. commercial placements. Ratings cited on Westchester’s page are company-reported and were not independently verified.

Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 48,65,66,67VerifiedPie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state.

Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 65VerifiedPie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report.

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 48,50,51,52,53Not publicly disclosedCurrent public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

Fees and compensation

Ask your agent about premium, commissions and fees before choosing a quote: buyer-facing Chubb pages do not publish rates or policy fees, while inland-marine engineering beyond included loss control is fee-for-service. 29,7,10,21Not publicly disclosedPublic U.S. commercial pages listed as sources. Absence of a published schedule is not a finding that coverage is free or that producers are unpaid.

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 60,61Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 60Company-reportedCredit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 59Not publicly disclosedWorkers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 64,48Not publicly disclosedAgency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Chubb vs Pie Insurance

  • AIG lists broker and agent tools; Chubb describes quote access for eligible small businesses through appointed producers.

  • Compare AIG’s broader commercial insurer group with Pie’s direct and agency workers’ compensation route.

  • A startup responding to an enterprise customer's insurance requirements can compare Chubb DigiTech through an agent with Alliance Risk's multi-market review.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot