Chubb vs Liberty Mutual

Chubb’s DigiTech ERM combines technology E&O, media and cyber; Liberty Mutual names a cyber-plus-technology E&O product within its wider commercial catalogue. Compare the actual forms and issuing company. 10,9,48,46

Introduction

Coverage Comparison

CoverageChubbLiberty Mutual
Builders riskListed 22,21Chubb offers builders risk insurance.Listed 51
Business owner’s policyListed 7,4Chubb offers business owner’s policies for eligible small businesses with up to $30 million in revenue.Listed 61
Cargo and transitListed 24Chubb offers cargo insurance.Listed 56
Commercial autoListed 17,7Chubb offers commercial auto insurance.Listed 47
Commercial propertyListed 15,4Chubb offers commercial property insurance.Listed 51
CrimeListed 11,5Chubb offers crime coverage within its ForeFront portfolio for private, nonprofit and health care organizations.Listed 49
Cyber liabilityListed 10,9Chubb offers cyber insurance.Listed 48
Directors and officersListed 13,11Chubb offers directors and officers liability insurance for smaller privately held companies through ForeFront.Listed 49
Employment practices liabilityListed 11,14Chubb offers employment practices liability insurance.Listed 49
Equipment breakdownListed 23,5Chubb offers equipment breakdown insurance.Listed 51,52
Fidelity bondsNot listedListed 54
Fiduciary liabilityListed 11,14Chubb offers fiduciary liability insurance.Listed 49
General liabilityListed 7,4,20Chubb offers general liability insurance within its commercial package products.Listed 60
Kidnap and ransomListed 11,14Chubb offers kidnap and ransom insurance.Listed 55
Management liabilityListed 11,14Chubb offers management liability insurance.Listed 49,64
Media liabilityListed 10Chubb offers media liability insurance through DigiTech ERM for technology companies.Not listed
Medical malpracticeNot listedListed 65
Product recallListed 26,28Chubb offers product recall insurance for businesses handling finished consumer goods.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 10,5Chubb offers professional errors and omissions insurance through Pro ERM for non-licensed professional-service firms.Listed 50,62
Representations and warrantiesListed 27Chubb offers representations and warranties insurance within its offering for large US- and Canadian-based multinational companies.Listed 64
Surety bondsListed 25Chubb offers surety bonds.Listed 54
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 10,4Chubb offers technology errors and omissions insurance through DigiTech ERM for technology companies.Listed 48
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 21,28Chubb offers inland marine insurance.Listed 51
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 16,7Chubb offers umbrella and excess liability insurance.Listed 46
Virtual care and telehealthNot listedListed 65
Workers’ compensationListed 8,4Chubb offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses, from one employee up to $30 million in revenue, including technology companies.Listed 46,53,66

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Current Spot Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Chubb

Carrier

Carrier & MGA

6.4/ 10

Assessed provider: Chubb. Scope: Chubb Limited as group parent and the exact US insurer entities in the cited materials. Current authority is independently verified for Federal Insurance Company, ACE American Insurance Company, Westchester Fire Insurance Company and Westchester Surplus Lines Insurance Company in Georgia, for Federal Insurance Company in Texas, and for Federal, ACE American and the Pennsylvania-domiciled Westchester Fire in California; the separate New York-domiciled Westchester Fire profile is merged and excluded. Capacity is assessed for one named programme only: the Brandywine run-off book of Century Indemnity Company, whose supporting XOL Agreement, Dividend Retention Fund and surplus note are disclosed with terms, limits and current balances. Financial and reinsurance evidence otherwise sits at group level, combined across the subsidiary group and across the whole ceded book, and no current Chubb commercial product or programme has an evidenced issuing entity or capacity panel, so none is assessed.

Provider assessment

Liberty Mutual

Carrier

Carrier & MGA

No Spot Score

Assessment subject unavailable

Provider assessment

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Chubb

6.9/ 10

Review Score

5 rated sources

Chubb earns 5/5 from NerdWallet, which reports fewer-than-expected commercial property and liability complaints. Customer ratings are mixed across products and locations.[1][4][7][8][9]

Read Chubb reviews

Liberty Mutual

7.2/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customers give Liberty Mutual 4.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 3,836 reviews, but that page mixes auto, home and life customers with business ones. For business insurance specifically, NerdWallet gives 3.0 out of 5 and reports more complaints than expected.[4][1]

Read Liberty Mutual reviews

Key Differences

Chubb’s cyber catalogue includes DigiTech ERM, Cyber ERM and Pro ERM; Liberty Mutual names cyber and technology E&O options within its commercial catalogue. For a software company, compare the specific product and issuer, then identify which operating lines need separate placement. 10 46

Chubb describes DigiTech ERM as combining technology E&O, media and cyber in one policy. Liberty Mutual names Liberty Tech Resolution for cyber plus technology E&O and also markets small-business packages; a package label does not establish that media coverage or a particular limit is included. Put the same contract, data, media and downtime scenarios to both and compare the issued forms, sublimits, retentions and defense-cost treatment. 10 46

The buying route depends on size and product. Chubb’s digital Marketplace is an agent/broker path for eligible small-business risks, while Liberty Mutual lists quote and agent-finder routes for small business and broker or agent distribution for commercial products. Neither path alone establishes instant binding or eligibility for a middle-market technology account. 9 57 41 46

What to Confirm in Quotes

  • Ask Chubb which U.S. underwriting company will issue the proposed DigiTech ERM or other product, and whether it is admitted or surplus lines for your state. 30
  • Ask Liberty Mutual whether its quote is Liberty Tech Resolution, a BOP supplement or another placement; verify the actual issuer rather than assuming it is LMIC. 46
  • Compare forms and total cost on matching limits, retentions and terms. Request claim-notice instructions and the support scope for each product. 32 58 29 46

Compare Services

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaChubbLiberty Mutual
Business role

Businesses buying Chubb coverage receive a policy from a US underwriting company, not from Chubb Limited, the Swiss holding company. Chubb is the marketing name for the group’s insurance subsidiaries and related services. 39,2,25Verified. Group identity from the 2025 Form 10-K Item 1 and U.S. website legal disclosures. The holding company is not the risk-bearing insurer on a given U.S. policy.

Most commercial buyers need an independent agent or broker to reach Chubb; surplus-lines products require a licensed surplus-lines producer. Chubb appoints producers and operates agent portals, while Chubb Insurance Solutions Agency, Inc. administers Chubb Access appointments. 29,30,2,38Company-reported. U.S. distribution as described on agent-access, contact and terms pages. This does not mean every independent agent is appointed for every product.

Liberty Mutual is a group brand spanning multiple insurance entities. Its business-site disclosure says coverage may be underwritten by Liberty Mutual Insurance Company or affiliates/subsidiaries and that the issuing insurer is identified when a product is offered; some policies may use surplus-lines insurers. The LMIC statutory statement identifies Comparion as a separate producer for LMIC policies it places. 46,59Company-reported. US commercial brand and channel overview. Does not assign LMIC or Comparion to every product; confirm the named insurer and producer on each offer and policy.

Customer focus

Startups through multinationals in software, technology services, communications and hardware can ask Chubb about technology insurance; its small-business BOP also lists technology among 500+ classes for firms with up to $30 million revenue. 4,7,5Company-reported. Company marketing of industry appetite and BOP eligibility. It does not establish that a particular Bay Area startup will be quoted or bound.

Liberty Mutual describes US Retail Markets as serving individuals and small businesses with personal and small-commercial property and casualty insurance countrywide, and Global Risk Solutions as providing commercial, specialty, reinsurance, and surety solutions to mid-size and large businesses worldwide. 45Company-reported. Company-reported business-unit positioning; it does not establish that each product is available in every state or country.

Coverage lines

Technology companies can compare DigiTech ERM, which combines technology E&O, media and cyber in one policy, with Chubb’s Cyber ERM or Pro ERM options; the issued form sets actual terms, limits and exclusions. 10,9,4Company-reported. U.S. cyber product pages accessed 16 September 2026. Product names are not equivalent coverage across every insured.

Businesses can also ask Chubb about BOP, workers’ compensation, auto, umbrella/excess, management liability, property, marine, builders risk, equipment breakdown, cargo, environmental, surety, product recall and transaction coverage; product names do not mean one package includes every line. 4,7,11,15,25,27Company-reported. Offerings documented on dedicated product or industry solution pages. Availability, admitted versus surplus paper, and wording vary by product, size and jurisdiction.

Liberty Mutual publicly markets the listed commercial lines and packages in this record. Its small-business BOP combines property and general liability and can be supplemented with cyber and professional liability; the company describes commercial auto, workers compensation, and inland marine as separate from a BOP. ProShield packages management-liability components, and healthcare, professional-services, wholesale, and multinational pages describe specialized or industry-specific solutions. Line membership records actual company marketing, not a promise of availability, standalone issuance, a shared insurer, or uniform terms. 46,50,51,54,55,56,60,61,62,63,64,65,66Company-reported. Current official US commercial and small-business pages inspected September 29, 2026. Coverage-line membership is distinct from whether a detailed offering payload has enough supported claim detail for line comparisons. Package, sector and multinational-only scope stays attached to the member line.

Application process

Eligible small businesses can get agent-assisted quotes through Chubb Marketplace, with Cyber Central offering an express cyber route; the described online path is for appointed agents and brokers, not a general-public bind for middle-market technology programs. Cyber risks under $100 million revenue may qualify; referred risks go to underwriters. 9,10,30,31,12Company-reported. U.S. agent platforms and buyer contact paths as of 16 September 2026. Quote speed and bindability are not guaranteed for any applicant.

Liberty Mutual's small-business page offers quote and agent-finder entry points. Its commercial pages direct business buyers to a broker or agent. A quote link does not establish online purchase or policy binding. 57,46,48Company-reported. Public company pages only; no application was submitted and no authenticated workflow was inspected.

Servicing and renewals

Your agent or broker is the first service contact for most Chubb policies. Chubb also offers billing and policy support for eligible small-business accounts, renewal servicing for lower-midmarket clients and Worldview document, certificate and claims-status tools for multinational accounts. 30,19,27,4,18Company-reported. Company-described servicing channels. Staffing and engineer counts are company-reported. Which services apply depends on product, account size and appointment.

Liberty Mutual describes online account tasks for small-business customers, including billing, certificates, premium audits and claim-status checks. Access and available tasks may depend on the policy and account; a certificate does not amend coverage. 57,58Company-reported. Company-described small-business account features; not an independent service-quality measure or guarantee.

NerdWallet reports that Liberty Mutual’s commercial-property complaints were higher than expected for its market share and general-liability complaints were far higher than expected during 2022–2024. This is an attributed secondary analysis; its underlying counts and insurer-entity mapping were not independently recalculated here. 67Verified. NerdWallet’s June 3, 2026 secondary analysis of commercial-property and general-liability complaints for 2022–2024. This does not identify an exact underwriting entity or constitute an independently reproduced regulator metric.

Fees and compensation

Ask your agent about premium, commissions and fees before choosing a quote: buyer-facing Chubb pages do not publish rates or policy fees, while inland-marine engineering beyond included loss control is fee-for-service. 29,7,10,21Not publicly disclosed. Public U.S. commercial pages listed as sources. Absence of a published schedule is not a finding that coverage is free or that producers are unpaid.

No product-specific commission, broker fee, or customer fee schedule was verified in the official commercial pages reviewed. Compensation for a buyer's placement is unknown; do not infer that fees or commissions are absent. 46,58Not publicly disclosed. Only public pages listed in this candidate were reviewed; statutory aggregate liabilities do not establish transaction-specific compensation.

Sources

Chubb Official Website

  1. Insurance For Individuals & Businesses. Chubb; Businesses; Get a quote; claims statistics; insurance products and client services. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Terms Of Use. Chubb; Acceptance of Terms identifying Chubb Group Holdings Inc.; surplus-lines producer restriction; products not available to all users or jurisdictions; Chubb Limited safe-harbor language; Internet Portals for Chubb Business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Commercial Insurance. Chubb; Industry practices; small businesses, middle market, large and multinational segments; claims paid and satisfaction figures. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Insurance For Technology Companies. Chubb; Industry overview; Who we serve; Products and services: commercial package insurance (BOP, Benchmarq, Customarq), E&O/Cyber, Financial Lines, workers’ compensation, auto and umbrella; dedicated underwriting, claims and risk engineering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Insurance For Software Product & System Developers. Chubb; Property & casualty and financial-lines coverage solutions lists for software and systems developers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Technology Services And Consulting Insurance Solutions. Chubb; Property & casualty and financial-lines coverage solutions lists. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance. Chubb; Chubb BOP Insurance Eligibility: up to $30M revenue and 500+ classes including technology; Chubb BOP Coverage Highlights: property and liability package; Total Account Solution: umbrella, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, ForeFront and Cyber ERM/DigiTech ERM. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Workers' Compensation Insurance For Small Business. Chubb; Small-business workers’ compensation for one employee through $30M revenue; claims-service descriptions; supporting products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. Cyber Insurance For Businesses. Chubb; Agent quoting via Chubb Marketplace and Cyber Central; policyholder incident-response hotline and Cyber Alert app. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products. Chubb; Cyber insurance product catalog: Cyber ERM, DigiTech ERM (technology E&O, media and cyber) and Pro ERM (non-licensed professional services); Marketplace quoting for eligible risks under $100 million revenue; first- and third-party coverage summaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  11. The ForeFront Portfolio. Chubb; ForeFront Portfolio introduction; available coverages for private, not-for-profit and healthcare organizations: D&O, EPL, fiduciary, employed lawyers, crime, kidnap/ransom and workplace violence expense. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  12. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 For Private Companies. Chubb; Coverage highlights for private companies; contact-an-agent quote prompt; New Jersey application note. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  13. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0: Directors & Officers And Entity Liability Insurance. Chubb; Opening description: D&O and Entity Liability for smaller privately held companies; listed coverage features. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  14. Management Liability Insurance. Chubb; Public, private/not-for-profit and financial-institution management liability products; fiduciary, crime, kidnap/ransom, workplace violence and employment practices. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  15. Commercial Property Insurance. Chubb; Monoline, multi-line and large/complex property offerings; technology listed among served industries; Risk Consulting. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  16. Umbrella & Excess Casualty Insurance. Chubb; Umbrella and excess for smaller through multinational accounts; Express Umbrella portal for appointed brokers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  17. Commercial Auto Insurance. Chubb; Commercial auto product; technology among served industries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  18. Customarq Package Insurance Policy. Chubb; Midsize package combining property and liability; supporting excess, cyber, cargo, workers’ compensation and commercial auto. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  19. Lower Midmarket Insurance Solutions. Chubb; Agent-facing lower-midmarket suite including Benchmarq package, financial lines, cyber on Marketplace, surety; technology among appetite SIC codes; quoting through issuance, servicing and renewals. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  20. Environmental Insurance Coverage & Services. Chubb; Premises and contractor pollution, TankSafe, GL Plus combining CGL with products and premises pollution and supported umbrella. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  21. Inland Marine Insurance. Chubb; Inland marine policy overview; builders’ risk, contractors equipment and related tools. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  22. Builders' Risk Insurance. Chubb; Builders’ risk coverage list and target clients; agent submission requirements. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  23. Equipment Breakdown Insurance. Chubb; Monoline and package equipment-breakdown coverage; electronics among target clients. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  24. Worldwide Ocean Cargo Insurance. Chubb; Ocean, air and overland cargo coverages; agent submission path. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  25. Surety Bonds. Chubb; Construction, commercial, transactional and international surety; footer identifying Chubb as marketing name and ACE American as an issuing company; products may not be available in all states. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  26. Chubb Recall Plus For Consumer Goods. Chubb; Recall Plus for Consumer Goods introduction; limits; Client Profile, including electronics among target finished products; Restricted Classes. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  27. Multinational Insurance Coverage And Solutions For Large Accounts. Chubb; Core and specialty coverages, including Specialty Coverage: Representations & Warranties, inland marine, professional liability and ESIS; large US and Canadian multinational companies; Worldview servicing platform; work with clients and brokers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  28. Excess And Surplus Insurance (E&S Insurance). Chubb; Westchester E&S portfolio; Westchester Fire admitted description; Westchester Surplus Lines eligible in 49 states; paper including Illinois Union and ACE companies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  29. Get Access To Chubb. Chubb; Direct appointments for independent agents and brokers; competitive commissions; 200+ products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  30. Contact Chubb. Chubb; Agent as first contact; claims numbers including cyber; Small Business policy service and Marketplace technical support; Federal Insurance Company and ACE American claims contacts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  31. Chubb Insurance In The U.S. Chubb; Personal Lines find-an-agent; Small Business quote inquiries directed to chubbsmallbusiness.com; commercial agent callback 1-800-682-4822. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  32. Chubb Claims. Chubb; 24/7 claims contact center; client-satisfaction figure for clients with a paid claim; North America claims staffing figure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  33. Report A Claim. Chubb; Phone and email first-notice contacts including small commercial, cyber, financial lines and workers’ compensation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  34. Online & Mobile Claims Tools. Chubb; Small Commercial Business client portal claim reporting and document upload; access may be limited for policies underwritten by certain Chubb companies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  35. About Chubb In The U.S. Chubb; U.S. executive leadership and 44 branch locations. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  36. Chubb Company License Information. Chubb; Federal Insurance Company (Indiana NAIC 20281) admitted P&C in all 50 states; ACE American (Pennsylvania NAIC 22667) admitted P&C in all 50 states; Westchester Surplus Lines Insurance Company eligible/approved surplus lines outside Georgia domicile. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  37. Chubb Insurance Solutions Agency License Information. Chubb; Statement that Chubb Insurance Solutions Agency is licensed in all 50 states; resident NJ license 2853751; California license 969601. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  38. Chubb New York Region Appointment Materials. Chubb; Chubb Access appointments administered by Chubb Insurance Solutions Agency, Inc.; surplus lines sold only through licensed surplus lines producers; products may not be available in all states. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  39. Chubb Limited Form 10-K For The Year Ended 31 December 2025. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission / Chubb Limited; Item 1 Business: Swiss-incorporated holding company headquartered in Zurich; global insurance and reinsurance organization; operations in 54 countries and territories; commercial P&C including D&O and specialty casualty. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  40. Chubb Limited Exhibit 21.1 Subsidiaries. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission / Chubb Limited; ACE American Insurance Company; Federal Insurance Company group companies; Chubb Excess and Surplus Insurance Services Inc. (California); Chubb INA Holdings LLC. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  41. California Company Profile: Federal Insurance Company. California Department of Insurance; NAIC 20281; California Company ID 0059-6; date authorized 12/18/1902; license status Unlimited-Normal; company type Property & Casualty; domicile Indiana; NAIC Group 0626 Chubb Ltd Grp. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  42. California Company Profile: ACE American Insurance Company. California Department of Insurance; NAIC 22667; California Company ID 1325-0; date authorized 12/20/1945; license status Unlimited-Normal; company type Property & Casualty; domicile Pennsylvania; NAIC Group 0626 Chubb Ltd Grp. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  43. California NAIC Group List: Chubb Ltd Grp 0626. California Department of Insurance; Group roster including Federal Insurance Company, ACE American Insurance Company, Chubb National Insurance Company, Westchester Fire Insurance Company and other Chubb-group companies with California IDs. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Liberty Mutual Official Website

  1. Member Information. Liberty Mutual Group; Sections ‘What is Liberty Mutual Holding Company Inc.?’ and ‘Who is a member?’; company explanation of the mutual holding company, use of trade names, insurance entities, and named-insured eligibility. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Company Profile. Liberty Mutual Group; Strategic business units paragraph: US Retail Markets (individuals/small businesses; small commercial; countrywide) and Global Risk Solutions (mid-size/large businesses; commercial, specialty, reinsurance, surety; worldwide). Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Commercial Insurance Solutions. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Commercial solutions index names commercial auto and fleet, cyber, environmental liability, equipment breakdown, excess and surplus, general liability, healthcare liability, inland marine, management liability, multinational, ocean marine, professional liability, property, reinsurance, surety, umbrella/excess and workers compensation. Disclosure says policy insurer is named when offered, may be an affiliate/subsidiary or surplus-lines insurer; states/jurisdictions and actual policy terms vary. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Commercial Auto and Fleet. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; ‘Solutions for complex risks’ names liability, physical damage, bodily injury and uninsured motorists; ‘Expertise that delivers’ says underwriting is tailored to industry, fleet, location and usage; ‘Better control over claims’ describes auto liability claims resources. Company marketing claims are not an independent outcome study. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. Cyber Insurance. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Products section names Liberty Cyber Resolution (first- and third-party cyber) and Liberty Tech Resolution (cyber plus technology E&O); eligibility/placement is broker or agent distributed; page describes risk-engineering and incident-response resources as company-reported services. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. ProShield. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opening paragraphs identify package combining directors and officers, employment practices, fiduciary, and crime coverages; D&O and crime sections describe examples of exposures and selected coverage features. Examples are not policy terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  7. Programs. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; ‘Our programs portfolio’ lists Auto Salvage/Dismantlers, Fire Suppression and Sprinkler Contractors, Nonprofits, Physicians & Surgeons Professional (PL only), Post-surgical for bariatric and plastic surgeries, Roofing Contractors, Scrap Metal Dealers, Self-storage, and Sports and Fitness. Page says programs are managed by program administrators; not a complete business catalogue. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  8. Property. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Property solutions section describes commercial property, business-interruption protection, Builder's Risk, Equipment Breakdown, Inland Marine and Ocean Marine; named Premier Property Protector, RM Select, and Liberty Mutual Property Protector product descriptions; states standalone and package options. Coverage terms depend on the policy. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  9. Products: Liberty Mutual Equipment Re. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; ‘Commercial equipment breakdown’ names commercial equipment breakdown and covered electrical/mechanical/pressure-system failure examples; it describes reinsurance and individualized coverage. Do not apply personal service-line products to business buyers. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  10. Workers Compensation Resources. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Customer resources section describes medical-provider networks, pharmacy program, online provider lookup, and state-specific claims forms/posting notices; service statements are company-reported and do not establish policy eligibility. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  11. Commercial Bonds. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; ‘Broad slate of commercial bonds’ enumerates court/fiduciary, appeal, tax appeal, self-insurer workers compensation, license/permit, reclamation, lost instrument, utility payment, service/supply, business services, public official, ERISA, fidelity and miscellaneous bonds; page states distinct large/small commercial audiences and qualified program scale. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  12. Multinational. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Liberty WorldWise coverage list names foreign property/general liability/auto-excess/voluntary compensation and employers liability, accidental death and dismemberment, kidnap/ransom/extortion, crime, crisis management, travel assistance; states broker/agent distribution. Product and international scope only. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  13. Wholesale Distribution. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Wholesale coverage options list includes cargo stock throughput, commercial auto, cyber, D&O, environmental, general liability, inland marine, management liability, property (including equipment breakdown), trade credit, umbrella/excess and workers compensation. Industry-specific examples, not universal eligibility. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  14. Small Business Insurance Coverage. Liberty Mutual; Small business landing page: quote and agent links, industry examples and online account actions (bill payment, certificate generation, premium audit and claim-status checks); no form submitted; no purchase/bind functionality inferred. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  15. Contact Us. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; General business account, billing, claim report/management, premium audit and assigned-risk workers compensation routes; no product-level service guarantee. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  16. Liberty Mutual Insurance Company 2025 Statutory Statement. Liberty Mutual Insurance Company; 2025 annual statement pp. 1, 3–4, 29–31 and 54–55: LMIC legal identity and NAIC 23043; LMGI share ownership and LMHC ultimate-parent phrase; Comparion producer agreements; affiliate service agreements; group pool and aggregate financial lines. The statement identifies the named insured/issuer entity; it does not establish every brand relationship. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  17. General liability. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opened September 29, 2026. Product page heading “General liability”; lines 128–136 expressly describe GL coverage for advertising injury, bodily injury, personal injury, property damage and product-injury claims; lines 139–149 describe underwriting/risk control and GL claims adjusters, counsel panel and analytics. Page footer says issuer is LMIC or affiliate/subsidiary, product availability varies, and some policies may be surplus lines. This supports GL and a product-related GL exposure example, not a separate product-liability policy. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  18. Business owner's policy insurance. Liberty Mutual; Opened September 29, 2026. Lines 21–45 describe a small-business BOP combining property and general liability, common coverages, and optional cyber/professional-liability supplements. Lines 53–55 identify independent-agent distribution; lines 113–121 distinguish standalone GL, BOP, commercial package policy and separate commercial auto, workers compensation, farm, and inland marine risks. This is the small-business retail offer, not a mid-market form or issuer-level disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  19. Professional liability. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opened September 29, 2026. Lines 117–130 describe business professional liability and linked Architects & Engineers, Lawyers, Miscellaneous and Technology professional liability solutions; Technology PL includes network/privacy-security exposures, so it is not mapped as a general standalone cyber claim. Footer lines 157 onward warns availability and policy terms vary. Product list includes a separate Bermuda financial-lines link; no Bermuda detail is used for US membership. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  20. Umbrella and excess liability. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opened September 29, 2026. Lines 116–120 expressly name business umbrella and excess-liability solutions; lines 130–136 distinguish umbrella over existing underlying liability from excess capacity and note named Liberty Mutual and Ironshore marketing offers, stated capacities and domestic/international exposures. Lines 140–149 describe specialist underwriting and claims resources. This does not identify the legal issuer for a quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  21. Professional services. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opened September 29, 2026. Lines 129–138 list professional-services program coverages: GL with Services endorsement, property, commercial auto, workers compensation, umbrella/excess, D&O, professional liability, cyber, EPL and fidelity/crime. Lines 139–148 describe M&A transactional-liability solutions including representations and warranties, tax liability and contingent legal risk. These are professional-services industry positioning, not universal eligibility or standalone line terms; distribution and policy caveats at lines 164–176 and 234–236. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  22. Healthcare liability. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opened September 29, 2026. Lines 118–120 describe US healthcare liability solutions; lines 129–144 name digital-health professional liability for virtual/telehealth care, hospital professional liability, miscellaneous medical professional liability, physician-group-practice professional liability, and other healthcare-specific solutions. The source shows a mix of specialty insurance and reinsurance; map only the explicitly named healthcare coverages and preserve each program/package scope. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  23. Workers compensation. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Independent source review opened September 28, 2026, lines 130–158 and 176–178: product page describes workers-compensation benefits, recovery/return-to-work services and claims resources; assigned-risk/voluntary market context and insurer caveat are separate. Do not treat the product page as uniform nationwide eligibility or a claim-performance study. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  24. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance Review 2026: Big Company Dogged by Customer Complaints. NerdWallet; Updated June 3, 2026; commercial complaint analysis in the business-insurance review, lines 311–390 and 420–445. NerdWallet reports commercial-property complaints above expectations for market share and general-liability complaints far higher than expected for 2022–2024. This is secondary reporting; underlying counts and insurer-entity mapping were not independently recalculated. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Suggested Comparisons

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot