| Business role | Small businesses can buy insurance under The Hartford brand through its subsidiaries and independent agents; the brand itself is not the insurer named on the policy. The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. is the financial holding company behind the brand. 4,25,21,7Company-reportedGroup legal-notice and producer-compensation disclosures as of 16 September 2026. The issuing company and any producer of record still have to be read from a quote or policy. | Vouch’s current disclosure identifies Vouch Specialty Insurance Services, LLC as the entity that brokers insurance. Vouch Group, Inc. is the group name used in that disclosure. The brokerage arranges policies with insurers; the insurer named on each policy takes on the covered risk. 30,36Company-reportedCurrent 6 August 2025 disclosure takes precedence over the older Terms of Use for current broker identity. No independent corporate registry or license finding implied. Corix identifies Corix Insurance Services, LLC as the former Vouch Insurance Services, LLC. That is a different entity from Vouch Specialty Insurance Services, LLC, the broker named on Vouch’s current site. 40,30,31Company-reportedCompany-reported legal-name continuity. Older Vouch terms still list both producers; do not conflate their NPNs or infer current underwriting ownership from the older name. Hiscox announced an agreement in August 2025 to acquire Corix Insurance Services, LLC and Vouch Insurance Company, while Vouch would remain an independent broker with a multi-year Hiscox distribution agreement. Hiscox’s 2025 annual report records the Corix acquisition closing on August 11, 2025. 38,39Company-reportedAcquirer announcement covers both named entities; audited annual-report note 25 explicitly confirms Corix closing. Does not independently establish the separate carrier transfer date, regulatory approval or any particular policy migration. Corix’s January 2025 legal disclosure still describes it as part of Vouch, even though the same page now displays Hiscox branding. Hiscox’s later annual report records the acquisition. The older ownership paragraph should not be used to describe the current Vouch brokerage. 41,39Conflicting sourcesConflict is retained and resolved for the article using later transaction evidence; no conclusion that the distribution agreement ended. |
|---|
| Coverage lines | Documented Hartford offerings for businesses include a business owner’s policy (general liability, commercial property and business income), stand-alone general liability and commercial property, workers’ compensation, cyber (including BOP data-breach add-ons, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe Technology E&O), miscellaneous professional liability, employment practices liability, commercial auto and hired/non-owned auto, management-liability packages (Private Choice Premier: directors and officers, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom), commercial umbrella, employee benefits, and inland marine for midsize and large accounts. Actual forms, limits and availability vary by product, state and underwriting. 1,9,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,21,24,23Company-reportedProduct and service pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Educational FAQs were not used as the sole proof of an offering. Marketing lists are not specimen policy wording. The Hartford’s employment-practices page states there is no built-in EPL coverage in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York, and that the EPL program described on that page does not apply to EPL coverage written in California. Coverages also vary by state and class. 16Company-reportedCompany footnotes on the EPLI page, last updated 26 November 2025, rechecked 16 September 2026. This does not establish whether a California buyer can buy stand-alone or differently structured EPL. | Vouch lists technology errors and omissions, cyber liability, directors and officers, general liability, workers’ compensation, employment practices liability, key person, crime, product liability and umbrella coverage for technology companies. The list describes options, not a package that automatically includes every line. 35Company-reportedCurrent Core coverages for Technology list. No limits, insuring agreements or class/state eligibility inferred from labels. A public Corix Cyber and E&O application names United Specialty Insurance Company and offers selectable cyber, errors and omissions, and media liability coverage. Its first page describes claims-made liability coverage and says defense costs reduce the available limit unless the policy is endorsed otherwise. 43Company-reportedApplication CET 10–0054 03 25, page 1 of 10. Not a specimen insurance contract or evidence of terms on all Vouch placements. Claims-made notice and reporting conditions require full wording. Corix’s other programs include management liability with directors and officers, employment practices and fiduciary options, and a commercial package with general liability, property, hired and non-owned auto, and employee benefits liability options. 44,45Company-reportedCorix product summaries; distribution relationship does not guarantee Vouch access to every module for every risk. The reviewed Vouch pages and Corix materials did not establish a complete current policy form, endorsement set or insurer-by-product schedule for a new Vouch buyer. Ask for those documents with the proposal, especially when a quoted policy comes from a different insurer or program. 31,36,42,44,45,43,55Not found in reviewed sourcesReviewed current Vouch legal/technology/carrier pages; Corix product pages, linked June 2025 product guides and cyber and management applications. Guides/applications are not complete policy forms. Not a finding that documents cannot be obtained. Corix’s cyber/E&O page describes system-failure business interruption and a form combining professional and technology E&O. It also warns that social engineering, AI activities and intellectual-property disputes can have conditions, sublimits or exclusions. 42Company-reportedCorix product-page highlights and qualification paragraphs; not complete policy wording or evidence of a benefit in every Vouch proposal. Corix’s management liability page describes an option to use defense counsel outside its panel, subject to conditions such as sharing costs. Crisis-management expenses have sublimits, and pre-claim assistance is an optional extension with its own terms. 44Company-reportedCorix product-page highlights and qualification paragraphs; no numeric sublimit or eligibility assumed. |
|---|
| Application process | The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. 2,1,8,7,17,19Company-reportedPublic quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force. | Vouch’s public application starts with your legal business name, website, business address and location type, followed by your role and contact details. There is a separate sign-in path for an existing application or policy. 34Company-reportedChrome observation of public first screen only. No personal or business data entered, account created, consent accepted or application submitted. Later steps not tested. Vouch says its platform presents carrier options together, with differences in coverage, exclusions, endorsements and pricing explained by advisors. The reviewed pages do not promise a fixed number of quotes or a search of every insurer. 36Company-reportedCompany-described authenticated comparison experience; not tested. This is curated brokerage access, not proof of whole-market coverage. Vouch says many technology companies can arrange coverage within days, with smaller programs sometimes completed in minutes. Those are company timing claims. Its buying guide says coverage requires binding confirmation and the effective date, with underwriting and payment conditions satisfied. 35,37Company-reportedTechnology FAQ and June 2026 educational binding guide; no actual application or bind completed. No guaranteed turnaround adopted. |
|---|
| Servicing and renewals | The Hartford says small-business policyholders can retrieve certificates of insurance online at any time, manage billing and policy details through My Account or its mobile app, and, for workers’ compensation, use pay-as-you-go premium based on actual payroll and a My Workers’ Comp Connection portal. Cyber policyholders are described as having access to a Cyber Center with training and related resources. The reviewed sources did not disclose a published schedule of certificate, endorsement or installment-service fees charged to the insured. 2,12,13,15,26Company-reportedCompany service descriptions as of 16 September 2026. Availability of a portal is not a measure of service quality. | Vouch offers a complimentary coverage review that it describes as identifying gaps and comparing a program with industry peers. It also offers reviews of insurance requirements in leases, customer agreements and funding arrangements. 46,47Company-reportedService descriptions; no independent proof of completeness, savings or satisfaction of a specific contract. Vouch says customers can request certificates of insurance through their account and include a third party in the request. A certificate summarizes insurance; the policy and any required endorsements determine that third party’s actual coverage. 48,49Company-reportedPublished COI workflow and distinction between holder and additional insured. Account access and turnaround not tested. Vouch says it coordinates documentation, communication and renewal cycles across carriers. Its renewal guide asks buyers to prepare updated financials, claims history and business changes, starting 30–60 days before renewal. That is preparation guidance, not a guaranteed service timetable or automatic renewal commitment. 36,50Company-reportedCarrier-options service description and 30 July 2025 educational guide. Exact renewal contact cadence and renewal terms not disclosed in these sources. |
|---|
| Fees and compensation | The Hartford discloses that it pays independent producers base commissions (a percentage of premium or a fixed amount per policy), and may also pay contingent or supplemental commissions, fees for services, delegated-underwriting compensation and other benefits. Employees who sell insurance may receive extra compensation beyond salary. Producers may charge their own customer fees that are not Hartford premium. The reviewed pages do not publish the commission rate or any Hartford-charged service fee that would apply to a particular buyer’s policy. Published “average premiums” are company-reported estimates, not quotes. 25,7,2,1Company-reportedProducer compensation disclosure and product-page premium footnotes as of 16 September 2026. Missing a fee schedule is not a finding of zero buyer cost beyond premium. | Vouch Specialty earns commissions on insurance sales and may also receive compensation based on the performance of the products sold. Its disclosure invites questions about compensation on a specific proposal or placement; it does not publish a commission percentage. 30Company-reported6 August 2025 disclosure. No zero-fee, fiduciary independence or whole-market claim inferred from independent broker terminology. Vouch may pass through credit-card, debit-card or ACH transaction fees where permitted. Its disclosure lists wire and check as alternatives and says premium financing may be offered through Slash Eureka, Inc., doing business as Ascend, or an affiliate. 30Company-reportedPublished payment and finance disclosure, not a verified legal entitlement to charge in any state. No fee schedule, finance APR, total finance cost or individual quote reviewed. |
|---|