Coterie Insurance vs Foxquilt
Coterie is built for licensed agents and brokers to quote and bind eligible small-business products, and directs business owners to an agent. Foxquilt markets small-business CGL and E&O with online purchase options as well as agent and broker channels. If you want to start an online purchase yourself rather than through a separately appointed agent, the published routes differ; confirm which line and issuer are available for your business. 6,24,26,36
Introduction
Coterie’s small-business platform is designed for licensed agents and brokers; it directs business owners to an agent rather than offering a direct-to-consumer marketplace. Foxquilt also works through agents and brokers, but its public materials additionally describe online CGL and E&O quote and purchase options. That channel difference matters if you want to start on your own, while an agent-centered process may suit buyers who prefer an intermediary. Neither route guarantees a quote or bindable offer for your business. 6 6 24 26
Their catalogues also differ in scope. Coterie lists BOP, standalone general liability and miscellaneous professional liability for small businesses, with some optional protections available by endorsement; it says it does not write workers’ compensation or commercial auto. Foxquilt’s HNOA is a feature within commercial auto, technology is named within broader E&O, umbrella is documented without a separate excess product, and cleaner-program mobile equipment is program-specific. A membership label is not an equivalent policy. 2 12 11 27 29 39 41
Coverage Comparison
| Coverage | Coterie Insurance | Foxquilt |
|---|---|---|
| Builders risk | Not listed | Listed 34Builder’s risk product page; policy-specific construction terms not established. |
| Business owner’s policy | Listed 2,13Coterie offers a business owner’s policy through its agent channel. | Listed 25Foxquilt’s About page lists Business Owner’s Policy among “Our Primary Coverages”; no current BOP-specific terms or bundled contents are established here. |
| Commercial auto | Not listed | Listed 31Commercial auto product page; HNOA is not split out. |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed 33Commercial property product page. |
| Crime | Not listed | Listed 40,41Foxquilt has a Crime Insurance product page, which says crime can be a BOP add-on or an isolated policy; the ConvertLabs cleaner program also lists Crime/Bonds but describes crime only. No bond product is inferred. |
| Cyber liability | Not listed | Listed 32Cyber product page; policy terms and limits not established. |
| General liability | Listed 2,3Coterie offers general liability policies for small businesses through its partner distribution. | Listed 28,26Company CGL product page; line-specific CGL membership only. |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Not listed | Listed 27Advertised as a Hired & non-owned feature beneath Foxquilt’s Commercial Auto card; no distinct HNOA policy or terms established. |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 2,14Coterie lists miscellaneous professional liability for eligible small businesses in participating states. | Listed 29Professional E&O product page. |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Not listed | Listed 29Technology/creative class within broader E&O; no separate technology form established. |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed 25,41Foxquilt lists Inland Marine among primary coverages; the ConvertLabs cleaner program describes limited mobile-equipment coverage (also called Inland Marine) commonly used by janitorial providers. This does not establish broad standalone inland-marine terms. |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Not listed | Listed 25,39Foxquilt lists Umbrella/Excess in its primary-coverages list and has a current Umbrella Insurance page that distinguishes umbrella from excess. Membership is for marketed umbrella only; a separate excess product is not established. |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed 30Workers’ compensation page; state requirements vary. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Spot Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Coterie Insurance
Managing general agentCarrier & MGA
5.1/ 10Assessed provider: Coterie Insurance. Scope: Coterie brand/platform and Coterie Insurance Agency, LLC as an agency/MGA operation, with exact carrier evidence limited to Spinnaker Insurance Company for eligible Texas coastal BOP risks. No provider-wide rating or universal state-authority conclusion is verified.
Foxquilt
No Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Coterie Insurance
Review Score
2 rated sources
Coterie’s BBB complaint record is a concern; its single Trustpilot review is too small a sample to offset that. Ask how complaints and service problems are resolved.[1][5][6]
Read Coterie Insurance reviewsFoxquilt
Review Score
Foxquilt’s 3.5/5 Trustpilot score comes from eight reviews. Its Toronto BBB profile has no customer reviews; the A+ business grade measures something different. Neither establishes how U.S. commercial-policy customers fare.[5][6][7]
Read Foxquilt reviewsWhat Small Businesses Are Named?
New, home-based and other small or micro businesses can request Coterie quotes if their industry, location and risk meet underwriting appetite. 1,5,6Company-reported. Company-described customer focus; no claim that every small business is eligible.
Foxquilt says it serves small and midsize businesses and business-to-business networks. Its current CGL and E&O pages name contractors, e-commerce, personal services, consultants, technology and creative professionals, licensed professionals, and beauty and health services as target examples; listed classes are not guarantees of eligibility. 25,28,29Company-reported. Company-described North American small-business audience and example product classes; actual appetite depends on product, class, state and underwriting.
Coterie describes new, home-based and other small or micro businesses, subject to underwriting appetite. Foxquilt describes small-business coverage and lists technology and creative professionals within broader E&O. If you need a particular professional form or a BOP plus endorsements, compare the actual product and eligibility questions instead of assuming either company’s broad audience language covers your operation. 1 5 25 29
Who Operates the Quote and Bind Process?
A licensed agent starts a quote in Coterie's dashboard with the client's business name and address, selects the principal industry, confirms or edits prefilled details, customizes coverage and pays to bind an eligible policy. Business owners who do not already have an agent can use Coterie's agent finder. 5,6,2Company-reported. Company-described standard agent workflow; does not cover referrals, manual underwriting exceptions or every partner integration.
Eligible standard risks may get a quote in under two minutes, according to Coterie, but a quote is not coverage until eligibility is confirmed, underwriting approves it and the policy is issued. 6,8Company-reported. Marketing speed statement and controlling website terms; no independent timing test was performed.
Foxquilt says customers can request and buy CGL and E&O online, with team assistance available, and receive documents after purchase. Its screens show example businesses, sample limits and prices; these are company illustrations, not quotes tested for a buyer or evidence that every risk can bind online. 28,29,24Company-reported. Company-reported CGL and E&O purchase workflow; no form was submitted and no quote or purchase was completed in this research.
Coterie says an agent starts the quote in its dashboard and can bind an eligible policy after underwriting approval and issuance. Foxquilt advertises online quote and purchase paths as well as agent and broker support. A published speed claim does not mean every risk qualifies; compare who enters the application, whether you can purchase directly, and what document confirms the start of coverage. 5 6 8 24 26
Questions to Ask Before Requesting Quotes
- Can a business owner buy the exact Coterie line directly, or must an agent submit it? Which agent or broker can access the product? 6
- Can Foxquilt bind the requested CGL or E&O online for your class and jurisdiction, or will an agent or broker handle it? Which legal entity and insurer will appear in the policy? 26 28 29
- What limits, endorsements, fees, and commission apply? Coterie publishes some policy fees, but they vary by line and state; Foxquilt’s compensation disclosure does not map a rate to your policy. 8 9 36
Compare Services
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Coterie Insurance | Foxquilt |
|---|---|---|
| Customer focus | New, home-based and other small or micro businesses can request Coterie quotes if their industry, location and risk meet underwriting appetite. 1,5,6Company-reported. Company-described customer focus; no claim that every small business is eligible. | Foxquilt says it serves small and midsize businesses and business-to-business networks. Its current CGL and E&O pages name contractors, e-commerce, personal services, consultants, technology and creative professionals, licensed professionals, and beauty and health services as target examples; listed classes are not guarantees of eligibility. 25,28,29Company-reported. Company-described North American small-business audience and example product classes; actual appetite depends on product, class, state and underwriting. |
| Application process | A licensed agent starts a quote in Coterie's dashboard with the client's business name and address, selects the principal industry, confirms or edits prefilled details, customizes coverage and pays to bind an eligible policy. Business owners who do not already have an agent can use Coterie's agent finder. 5,6,2Company-reported. Company-described standard agent workflow; does not cover referrals, manual underwriting exceptions or every partner integration. Eligible standard risks may get a quote in under two minutes, according to Coterie, but a quote is not coverage until eligibility is confirmed, underwriting approves it and the policy is issued. 6,8Company-reported. Marketing speed statement and controlling website terms; no independent timing test was performed. | Foxquilt says customers can request and buy CGL and E&O online, with team assistance available, and receive documents after purchase. Its screens show example businesses, sample limits and prices; these are company illustrations, not quotes tested for a buyer or evidence that every risk can bind online. 28,29,24Company-reported. Company-reported CGL and E&O purchase workflow; no form was submitted and no quote or purchase was completed in this research. |
Sources
Coterie Insurance Official Website
- About Coterie Insurance. Coterie Insurance; Agent and broker focus; company history; investors; agency name, NPN and Wisconsin license in footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance for Small Businesses. Coterie Insurance; General Liability, Business Owners Policies and Professional Liability sections: About business owners policies (BOP), About general liability (GL) policies (offered through partners), About professional liability (MPL) policies; Find an Agent; agent distribution; footer agency disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Insurance for Small Business. Coterie Insurance; General liability product page: How General Liability Insurance Works; Common Questions, including standalone or BOP; Find an Agent. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Owner's Policy for Small Businesses. Coterie Insurance; Package components and exclusions from the typical BOP description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Agents and Business Insurance Brokers. Coterie Insurance; How It Works steps; nationwide product statement; dashboard service statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Instant Bindable Small Business Insurance Quotes for Agents. Coterie Insurance; Built for Agents and Brokers; online workflow; core lines; endorsements; availability sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Quick Start: Quote and Bind Small Business Insurance With Coterie. Coterie Insurance; Five-Step Quote-to-Bind Workflow and Does Coterie Work in All 50 States sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms and Conditions. Coterie Insurance; Effective December 16, 2025; Sections 1, 5, 6 and 10. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Privacy Policy. Coterie Insurance; Introduction; Section 6, Payment and Commissions Processing; carrier privacy links. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Policyholder Resources. Coterie Insurance; Account, policy-change, certificate, claims, multiple-location and sample-policy sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Claims. Coterie Insurance; Reporting routes; response timing; settlement timing; excluded workers' compensation and auto claims; cyber and workplace-violence FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coterie Insurance Endorsements. Coterie Insurance; Cyber, Workplace Violence, Employment Practices, Restaurant, Liquor Liability and Contractors Equipment list; product caveat. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- BOP Product Overview. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1–5: Business Owners Policy Product Highlights for Agents and Brokers; eligibility criteria, base property and liability coverages, additional extensions and mandatory forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Miscellaneous Professional Liability Policy Overview and Product Highlights. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1–7: purpose, eligible professions and operations, unavailable jurisdictions and state availability, limits, claims-made terms and exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance Overview. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1-2: coverage, criteria, limits and Cyberscout services. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workplace Violence Insurance Overview. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1-2: endorsement status, criteria, services and limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coterie's Coastal Business Insurance Appetite. Coterie Insurance; September 11, 2026 state-by-state coastal BOP eligibility, limits, exclusions and Texas carrier statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Current Moratoriums. Coterie Insurance; Active BOP catastrophe moratoriums, updated September 2-4, 2026; effect on new business and changes. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Allianz X Announces Strategic Investment in Coterie Insurance. Coterie Insurance and Allianz X; September 11, 2025 announcement; MGA role; Series C investment and reinsurance relationship. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Allianz X Portfolio and News. Allianz X; Current Direct Investments and September 11, 2025 Coterie strategic-investment entry. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coterie BOP and GL Products Available Through Progressive. Coterie Insurance; November 20, 2025 agency relationship and Progressive BusinessQuote Explorer distribution scope. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coterie Insurance Agency, LLC Entity Record. Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations; Active foreign LLC record; January 6, 2026 annual report; Coterie Applications, Inc. listed as member. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Licensed Property and Casualty Agencies. Massachusetts Division of Insurance; Coterie Insurance Agency, LLC; license 19000811; approval period December 28, 2025 through December 28, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-15.
Foxquilt Official Website
- Commercial Insurance, Business Liability Coverage | Foxquilt. Foxquilt; Homepage: available-now CGL and E&O; other recommended products; digital purchase workflow; illustrative quote screens and carrier/support marks. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- About Us - North American Business Insurance Company. Foxquilt; Our Primary Coverages; North American Distribution; Foxden; broad company-level distribution statement. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Become a Foxquilt Agent/Broker Partner. Foxquilt; Agent/broker product and servicing marketing: quote/bind/service in Foxden and instant documents (lines 22–24); service requests manage endorsements/cancellations (lines 130–138); digital servicing support says digitally manage endorsements/cancellations (lines 206–208); agents can file change requests in Foxden (lines 262–266). Separate CGL live selector states 42 U.S. states, 7 Canadian provinces and ‘Admitted paper Yes’ (lines 210–227). Page calls Foxquilt a ‘North American Carrier’ and says two products are built/underwritten in-house (lines 145–152). Directly reopened 2026-09-29. Provider-published marketing, not independent regulator verification; exact license-holding entity/type/identifier, specific policy authority and request-processing terms are not disclosed here. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Other Coverages. Foxquilt; Other Coverages page: Workers’ Compensation, Commercial Auto, Cyber Liability and Commercial Property cards; Commercial Auto card lists Owned vehicles, Hired & non-owned, and Tools in transit as features; CGL/E&O are marked available now. Directly inspected 2026-09-29, lines 22–70. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial General Liability. Foxquilt; “What does CGL cover?”; “Foxquilt’s CGL is built for…”; digital quote/buy and certificates; “Built for North American small business”; limits FAQ; CGL exclusions FAQ. Directly reopened 2026-09-29, lines 53–64, 67–104, 135–215, 244–319. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Liability (E&O). Foxquilt; E&O summary and claims-made label; coverage examples; “Tech & Creative” classes; digital quote/buy; North American availability; lines 22–29, 52–65, 99–120, 138–253. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance. Foxquilt; State-requirements FAQ; payroll/employee/location price factors; benefits list; self-employed and subcontractor FAQs. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 148–162. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Auto Insurance. Foxquilt; Product description, audience/use cases, claims scenarios and price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 42, 99–132. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cyber Business Insurance. Foxquilt; Cyber event description, target business types/data exposure, examples, price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–127. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Property Insurance. Foxquilt; Property description and causes; target property; claim examples; pricing factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–128. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Builder’s Risk Insurance. Foxquilt; Construction-stage description and example causes; intended buyers; project-specific price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–127. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Foxquilt Insurance Services | Terms & Conditions. Foxquilt; Sections 1.1–1.2 identify Foxquilt Insurance Services Inc. as service operator; no reviewed Inc.–LLC relationship statement. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Foxquilt Insurance Services | Consumer & Privacy Info. Foxquilt; Privacy officer identity/address; “How We Get Paid For Our Services”; commission table and contingent-commission footnote; Canada-oriented company disclosure; no U.S. line/issuer mapping. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Agency Detail: Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC. Westfield Insurance; Agency directory listing for Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC and Business coverage; does not disclose state appointment terms, delegated authority, or policy issuer. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Foxquilt official website. Foxquilt; Official website is the provenance root for the visible brand mark; no reusable downloadable official logo file was verified during this pass. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Smarter Umbrella Insurance For Your Business. Foxquilt; Current product page calls the product Umbrella Insurance; lines 98–104 describe umbrella vs excess and eligibility; lines 106–121 give illustrative scenarios; lines 127–132 discuss multi-insurer tower as hypothetical purchasing example. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. It supports an umbrella marketing membership, not a separate excess product, actual tower, underlying requirements, policy form or limits. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Smarter Crime Insurance. Foxquilt; Current product page calls the product Crime Insurance; lines 90–104 describe money/securities, inside/outside theft and examples; lines 113–121 say crime may be included as a BOP add-on or bought as an isolated policy. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. Marketing does not establish form/limits or fidelity/surety bond coverage. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cleaner Insurance Program by Foxquilt. Foxquilt; Current Foxquilt-powered ConvertLabs cleaner program page; lines 108–135 lists CGL, Commercial Auto, Mobile Equipment, Crime/Bonds and Workers’ Compensation. Lines 127–128 identify Mobile Equipment as “also known as Inland Marine” and limit it to a small portion of equipment coverage commonly used by janitorial providers; lines 130–131 describe Crime, not bond terms. Page says program applications are available in Canada or the U.S. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.





