Coterie Insurance vs
Foxquilt: How Do They Compare for General Liability Insurance?
What Is Coterie Insurance?
Coterie suits small businesses buying through an agent who wants to quote and bind eligible policies from prefilled information; buyers seeking a direct-to-consumer carrier should look elsewhere. Policyholders can manage documents and changes online. 1,2,3
What Is Foxquilt?
Foxquilt offers several online-marketed small-business lines, but its public pages do not resolve which U.S. entity places each risk or which insurer issues each policy. Compare the specific product, state, terms and named entities before deciding whether the digital route fits your business. 5,6
What Is General Liability Insurance?
General liability can protect your business when a customer or visitor claims you caused injury or damaged their property. It suits businesses serving customers or working on their premises; your own building, tools and stock need property coverage. 7,8,9
Key Differences in General Liability Insurance
Defense and How the Coverage Is Bought
Coterie describes four GL categories—bodily injury, damage to others’ property, personal injury, and false advertising—and says its policy pays injured parties’ costs and the insured’s defense. Foxquilt lists bodily injury, property damage, personal and advertising injury, and products-completed-operations examples. A buyer comparing what each page actually explains can ask Coterie about defense and the boundary with professional liability, then request Foxquilt’s form for equivalent detail. 4 5
Package Structure and Access to a Quote
Coterie can be standalone or part of a BOP, but its page directs buyers to an appointed agent rather than a direct consumer purchase. Foxquilt presents a CGL quote route; compare the structure shown on the resulting proposal with Coterie’s standalone or BOP option. That affects who guides the application and whether property coverage is considered alongside liability; compare the proposal structure, not just monthly versus annual billing. 4 5
What to Confirm in General Liability Insurance Quotes
Coterie Insurance and Foxquilt Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Coterie Insurance Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
Coterie’s BBB complaint record is a concern; its single Trustpilot review is too small a sample to offset that. Ask how complaints and service problems are resolved.[1][5][6]
Read Coterie Insurance reviewsFoxquilt Review Score
Review Score
3 rated sources
Customers rate Foxquilt well on Google (4.9 out of 5 from 526 reviews at its Charlotte office) and 3.5 out of 5 on Trustpilot from only 8 reviews. Put together, the Review Score is 8.9 out of 10.[12][5][6]
Read Foxquilt reviewsCoterie Insurance vs Foxquilt General Liability Insurance Compared
Coterie Insurance vs Foxquilt: General Liability Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Coterie General Liability Insurance | Foxquilt Commercial General Liability |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Coterie sells general liability as a standalone policy that can also be purchased on a monthly or annual basis, or included in its Business Owner's Policy, and distributes it through agents and brokers using its digital quoting platform. 4Company-reported. GL page 'GL is available as a standalone policy or included in a Business Owners Policy' and 'monthly, or annual basis' statements. | Foxquilt identifies Commercial General Liability as one of its core business products. 5Company-reported. Foxquilt’s cited product or program page documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed GL page does not name the issuing insurer for the standalone general liability policy. 4Not publicly disclosed. Page as read on 2026-09-23. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Who It’s For | Coterie says GL is especially relevant for small businesses that interact face-to-face with customers, work on or at a third party's property, lease or own a premises, advertise, or are required by industry regulators to carry coverage, without stating an industry exclusion list on this page. 4Company-reported. GL page 'especially important for small businesses that' list. | The page names contractors, eCommerce and personal services among target classes and says it writes CGL for additional trades; a buyer’s eligibility still depends on its quote. 5Company-reported. Foxquilt’s cited product or program page documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Coverage Features | Coterie's GL policy covers four categories: bodily injury, damage to others' property, personal injury (including slander and libel), and false or misleading advertising, paying for the injured party's costs and the insured's legal defense. 4Company-reported. GL page intro and 'How does general liability insurance work?' section. Coterie says GL does not cover damage to the policyholder's own business or employees (that requires a BOP), or errors, omissions, and professional negligence (that requires Professional Liability Insurance). 4Company-reported. GL page 'What does General Liability insurance NOT cover?' FAQ. | The page describes third-party bodily injury, property damage, personal and advertising injury, and products-completed-operations claim examples. 5Company-reported. Foxquilt’s cited product or program page documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Limits and Retentions | Coterie's GL page says customers and clients commonly expect or require limits of $500,000, $1,000,000, or $2,000,000, framed as typical market expectations rather than a published Coterie limit schedule for the standalone GL product. 4Company-reported. GL page 'How much General Liability insurance do I need?' FAQ. | The cited public overview does not establish the limits, deductibles, exclusions or form terms that would apply to a specific buyer. 5Not publicly disclosed. Ask for the quote and specimen or issued policy forms before treating a listed feature as covered. |
| Risk Services | The reviewed GL page does not describe risk-control or loss-prevention services specific to general liability; it directs businesses with coverage questions to Coterie's support team. 4Not found in reviewed sources. GL page 'Do all businesses need General Liability insurance?' FAQ, as read on 2026-09-23. | Confirm in your quote. |
| How to Apply | You engage Coterie for GL coverage by finding an appointed agent through the page's 'Find an Agent' link; the page does not describe a direct-to-consumer purchase path. 4Company-reported. GL page calls to action. | The cited Foxquilt product or program page provides a quote path for the described product or program; that route does not establish that a quote will be offered or bound. 5Company-reported. Foxquilt’s cited product or program page documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
Related Pages for Coterie Insurance vs Foxquilt General Liability
General Liability Insurance Pages for Coterie Insurance and Foxquilt
Other Coverage Lines Compared for Coterie Insurance vs Foxquilt
Other General Liability Insurance Provider Comparisons
Sources for Coterie Insurance vs Foxquilt General Liability Insurance
Sources About Coterie Insurance
- Instant Bindable Small Business Insurance Quotes for Agents. Coterie Insurance; Built for Agents and Brokers; online workflow; core lines; endorsements; availability sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Allianz X Announces Strategic Investment in Coterie Insurance. Coterie Insurance and Allianz X; September 11, 2025 announcement; MGA role; Series C investment and reinsurance relationship. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coterie Insurance small business products overview. Coterie Insurance; Product line overview page linking to General Liability and other coverages. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- What is general liability insurance for small business? Coterie Insurance; GL definition and four covered categories; 'How much General Liability insurance do I need?' FAQ; 'Does General Liability insurance cover medical payments?' FAQ; GL vs BOP and vs Professional Liability distinctions. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Sources About Foxquilt
- Commercial General Liability. Foxquilt; “What does CGL cover?”; “Foxquilt’s CGL is built for…”; digital quote/buy and certificates; “Built for North American small business”; limits FAQ; CGL exclusions FAQ. Directly reopened 2026-09-29, lines 53–64, 67–104, 135–215, 244–319. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Foxquilt Insurance Services | Terms & Conditions. Foxquilt; Sections 1.1–1.2 identify Foxquilt Insurance Services Inc. as service operator; no reviewed Inc.–LLC relationship statement. Accessed 2026-09-29.
Sources for the General Liability Insurance Guide
- Commercial general liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Coverage A; Coverage B; Coverage C; Purchasing commercial general liability insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Commercial General Liability; Commercial Automobile; What Should I Expect from a Broker-Agent?; How Are Commercial Policies Rated? Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial General Liability Coverage Form. ISO; specimen hosted by Hiscox; I.A pp.1–5; I.B pp.6–7; I.C pp.7–8; Supplementary Payments p.8; II pp.9–10; III p.10; IV pp.10–12. Accessed 2026-09-16.





