Mylo vs
The Hartford Business Owner’s Policy
Mylo brokers a multi-carrier BOP; The Hartford writes its own property, liability and business-income bundle and publishes an average premium.
What Is Mylo Insurance?
Mylo is an independent insurance broker for small and growing businesses. It recommends coverage and compares available quotes from multiple carriers online or with a licensed advisor; the insurer named on the resulting policy provides the coverage. 1,2
What Is The Hartford?
The Hartford is the brand of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc., whose subsidiaries underwrite property-and-casualty insurance and employee benefits. Small-business buyers can start online or by phone or work through independent agents, while the issuing company and state eligibility still have to be confirmed on a quote. 4,5,6
What Is a Business Owner’s Policy?
A business owner’s policy packages property, general liability and business interruption coverage for eligible businesses. 8
Key Differences in Business Owner’s Policy
Broker Panel Versus Hartford Paper
Mylo is a broker: it compares BOP quotes from more than 40 A-rated carriers and names The Hartford as one example, so a Mylo quote might or might not land on Hartford paper. The Hartford sells the BOP as its own product, though the BOP page does not name which Hartford property-and-casualty subsidiary would issue a given policy. 1 7 4
Add-Ons Around the Same Three Parts
Both Mylo and The Hartford describe a BOP as property, general liability and business interruption in one policy. The Hartford then lists workers’ compensation, professional liability, commercial auto, data-breach coverage and off-premises utility business-income as items you can add on top. Mylo’s BOP page does not list those add-ons; it discusses the three-part bundle and packaging savings. 3 7
Average Cost and Quote Path
The Hartford reports an average of $1,687 a year (about $141 a month) among its BOP customers. Mylo’s reviewed pages do not publish a premium range. You can start a Hartford BOP quote online or by phone; Mylo offers Mind of Mylo online or a licensed advisor at 844-863-5950. 7 1
What to Confirm in Business Owner’s Policy Quotes
- If you use Mylo, ask whether The Hartford is actually quoting your BOP or another panel carrier is. 1
- Ask The Hartford which subsidiary issues the policy and which add-ons (auto, professional liability, data breach) sit on the quote. 4 7
- Do not treat Hartford’s $1,687 average as your price; get both quotes with matching limits. 7
- Confirm whether interruption is actual loss sustained (Mylo’s wording) or Hartford’s business-income terms. 3 7
Offering Details
Mylo vs The Hartford Business Owner’s Policy: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Mylo Business Owner's Policy | The Hartford Business Owner's Policy (BOP) |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Mylo brokers a business owner's policy by comparing quotes from multiple carriers rather than underwriting the policy itself. 3,1Company-reported. BOP product page and the business-insurance overview page. | The Hartford's BOP bundles commercial property insurance, general liability insurance and business income (interruption) coverage into one policy, rather than requiring three separate policies. 7Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Issuing Insurer | Mylo says it partners with more than 40 A-rated commercial insurance carriers and names Travelers, Liberty Mutual, The Hartford and Hiscox as examples, but neither page identifies which carrier would issue a specific business's BOP. 1Company-reported. Business-insurance overview page FAQ; the carrier panel is described company-wide, not BOP-specific. | The BOP page does not name which Hartford property-and-casualty subsidiary would issue a given buyer's policy; the Legal Notice says coverages may be offered by one or more of several listed subsidiaries depending on product and jurisdiction. 7,4Not publicly disclosed. BOP page and Legal Notice as read 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Mylo's business-insurance overview page lists a BOP among the coverages most owners start with, alongside commercial auto, workers' compensation and commercial umbrella, and says it gives each business a personalized coverage recommendation. 1Company-reported. Business-insurance overview page. | The Hartford says a BOP fits a business that has a physical location, faces a possibility of being sued, or has assets that could be stolen or damaged, and can be customized for specific industries. 7Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Coverage Features | Mylo describes its BOP as bundling three coverages: general liability for third-party bodily injury, property damage and advertising-injury claims; commercial property for damage to a business's building and business personal property from causes such as fire, storm, theft or vandalism; and business interruption for lost income (actual loss sustained) during a covered shutdown. 3Company-reported. BOP product page coverage sections; the issued policy and its exclusions control. Mylo says packaging these three coverages in a BOP instead of buying them separately typically costs less and can provide better coverage than buying each individually. 3Company-reported. BOP product page FAQ; a general company statement, not a quoted savings figure for any specific business. | The Hartford says a BOP does not itself include workers' compensation, professional liability, commercial auto or data breach coverage, but these can be added on top of the base policy, along with off-premises utility business-income coverage. 7Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Limits and Retentions | Neither the BOP product page nor the business-insurance overview page publishes specific coverage limits, deductibles or premium ranges. 3,1Not publicly disclosed. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23. | The Hartford reports its customers paid an average of $1,687 a year (about $141 a month) for a BOP; the page does not publish standard coverage limits or deductibles, since actual limits are set at quote or issue. 7Company-reported. Company-reported average as of 2026-09-23; described on the page as an estimate, not a quote for any specific business. |
| How to Apply | Mylo says a buyer can shop for a BOP online through its Mind of Mylo recommendation tool or by phone with a licensed advisor (844-863-5950), and that Mylo has agents licensed in all 50 states. 1Company-reported. Business-insurance overview page FAQ. | The Hartford offers an online quote flow for a BOP, described as customizable by adding coverages; buyers can also call a listed phone number to start a quote. 7Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23. Quote availability observed without completing a purchase. |
Full Comparison
More Mylo vs The Hartford Comparisons
Other Business Owner’s Policy Comparisons
Sources
Mylo
- Business Insurance. Mylo; What insurance does a small business need?; Why Mylo? (40+ top-rated commercial insurance partners, 4.8 Google rating, BBB Accredited); What insurance carriers do you work with?; How do I shop for insurance with Mylo? Accessed 2026-09-23.
- About Mylo. Mylo; Your Digital One-Stop Shop; The Broker Advantage; Proven Heritage, Powerful Future; About Mylo FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Owner's Policy. Mylo; Like you, a BOP can do three things at once!; Coverage #1: general liability; Coverage #2: commercial property; Coverage #3: Business Interruption; Business Owner Policy FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-23.
The Hartford
- Legal Notice. The Hartford; P&C writing-company table; statement that coverages may be offered by one or more subsidiaries of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- SaaS Insurance for Your Business. The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Find a Local Insurance Agent. The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance. The Hartford; What Is Business Owner's Policy Insurance?; What Is Included in a Business Owner's Policy?; Additional Coverages You Can Add; Who Needs a Business Owner's Policy?; How Much Does a BOP Cost?; BOP vs. General Liability comparison. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Business Owner’s Policy Guide
- Business Interruption and Business Owner Policy. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Background; General liability, Commercial property and Business interruption bullets. Accessed 2026-09-16.





