Mylo vs Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Mylo shops workers’ compensation and commercial auto across insurers; Pie focuses on workers’ compensation and is not accepting new or renewal commercial-auto business.

An Overview of Mylo and Pie Insurance

A contractor adding employees and a work truck may need both workers’ compensation and auto coverage. Pie can address workers’ comp but says it has closed commercial auto to new and renewal accounts; Mylo lists both lines among its shopping options. 34 6 1 Choose Pie for workers’ comp; choose Mylo if you also need an auto search.

What Stands Out About Mylo and Pie Insurance?

Mylo at a Glance

  • Shop online or with a licensed advisor; Mylo says it compares available quotes and an agent finalizes most policies. 1,3Company-reportedCurrent direct small-business workflow described on Mylo’s site. The sources do not promise a quote, bindable offer or completion time for every applicant.
  • Employers with 2–99 employees can review group benefits with an advisor and use a year-round HR portal. 14Company-reportedMylo’s small-group benefits service. Plan availability, employer contribution rules, networks and state requirements remain plan-specific.

Pie Insurance at a Glance

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 22,21,23Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 37,38Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Mylo vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageMyloPie Insurance
Business owner’s policyListed 1,5Mylo lists a business owner’s policy among its business insurance products.Listed 27Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
Commercial autoListed 6As of September 16, 2026, Mylo invites commercial-auto quote requests and describes comparing policies from multiple insurers.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 8Mylo invites cyber insurance quote requests and compares policies from multiple insurers.Listed 28Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
Employee health and benefitsListed 14Mylo helps employers with 2–99 employees compare and enroll in small-group health, dental and vision plans.Not listed
General liabilityListed 7Mylo compares general liability quotes from insurance carriers and also offers package options.Listed 30Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Medical malpracticeListed 9Mylo compares medical malpractice insurance options from insurers.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 10Mylo compares professional liability quotes for claims from clients unhappy with professional services.Listed 29Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Surety bondsListed 11Mylo compares commercial surety-bond quotes for license or permit obligations.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 12Mylo compares commercial umbrella quotes from insurers.Not listed
Workers’ compensationListed 13Mylo compares workers’ compensation options from insurers.Listed 23Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Mylo and Pie Insurance Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Mylo and Pie Insurance each publish for one coverage line.

Mylo and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

Mylo Review Score

7.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Mylo has strong feedback on its Kansas City Birdeye listing, while its tiny Trustpilot sample is negative. Most available feedback mixes personal and business insurance.

Read Mylo reviews

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between Mylo and Pie Insurance

Whole-Program Shopping and Separate Policies

Mylo markets workers’ compensation and commercial auto as parts of its commercial catalogue. Pie’s current offering includes workers’ compensation plus partner-carrier business owner’s, general liability, cyber and professional liability policies. Pie’s workers’ compensation program should not be mistaken for a single carrier writing every listed product. Mylo likewise does not issue the policies it arranges. 1 25 28

The vehicle creates a specific difference. Mylo offers a current auto-shopping route, while Pie says its commercial-auto program is closed to new and renewal business. If the employer is adding a van, it needs a current auto placement elsewhere even if it uses Pie for workers’ compensation. Don’t rely on Pie’s old auto navigation and claims links. They don’t mean auto is available for new business. 6 34

If you need new or renewed commercial auto, look elsewhere: Pie stopped accepting new submissions December 1, 2025 and says it will issue no new or renewal policies after January 1, 2026; existing terms remain in force through expiry. 34,40Company-reportedPie’s former commercial-auto offering and legacy policies; commercial auto is intentionally excluded from the current coverage catalogue.

Using both channels does not require replacing every policy. Pie supports purchases through appointed agencies as well as directly, while Mylo offers broker-led shopping. Ask the chosen advisor whether it can access the desired workers’ compensation market and coordinate the vehicle policy; no reviewed source establishes a Mylo–Pie appointment. Compare a split arrangement with a coordinated brokerage proposal on its actual service responsibilities. 22 1

Payroll Billing, Audits and Payment Charges

Pie’s pay-as-you-go option uses reported payroll to calculate monthly premium and advertises no initial deposit. That is a concrete feature to evaluate if the employer’s staffing fluctuates: ask which payroll provider connection or reporting process is required and what happens when a payroll correction arrives late. Mylo’s workers’ compensation placement may have its own insurer payment choices, but ask the proposed carrier rather than assuming the same arrangement applies. Request the proposed carrier’s billing terms instead of treating the difference in public detail as a missing service. 38 13 3

The annual audit remains a separate job. Pie asks for payroll, employee and potentially subcontractor records to reconcile estimated and actual exposure. A cash-flow method should not be treated as permission to stop maintaining those records. For both proposals, have the advisor explain job classifications, treatment of subcontractors and who will review the final adjustment with you. 39 38 13

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 37Company-reportedCredit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

The payment method therefore deserves a separate line in the comparison. Pie also publishes state-dependent waiver charges; Mylo usually earns commissions and sometimes charges customers when it handles billing. Obtain a full-year payment schedule for each workers’ compensation offer and keep the auto premium separate. A lower initial payment doesn’t mean a lower annual cost. 37 36 2

Work States, Certificates and Waivers

Mylo describes agents licensed nationally, which concerns permission to sell, not a promise that every insurer accepts every operation. Pie’s published workers’ compensation footprint counts conflict. If a seasonal job takes employees across a state line, provide the actual locations and duties to each proposed insurer and request written acceptance rather than relying on either headline. 1 31 33

The service documents should travel with that confirmation. Pie describes online workers’ compensation certificates and state materials, with agents handling some custom requests. Mylo’s directory routes many service needs to the selected carrier. Before promising a customer proof, identify the certificate issuer and whether a requested waiver needs a separate endorsement and charge. The certificate records existing coverage; it does not itself amend the policy. 35 36 4

Injury Reporting and Binding Dates

Pie publishes a workplace-injury reporting process and identifies different claims handlers by state, although its handler count does not reconcile with its broader footprint. Mylo provides carrier-specific claims contacts. For this employer, a short reporting sheet naming the insurer, administrator and after-hours contact for each workplace—not a conclusion that one service delivers better claim outcomes. 40 41 4

An online quote can help start the purchase, but seasonal workers should not begin on the assumption that a quote has activated coverage. Pie qualifies its advertised quote speed, and Mylo says agents finalize most purchases. Obtain the actual effective date and remaining conditions for each policy. 23 24 1 3

What Should You Confirm in Mylo and Pie Insurance Quotes?

  • Payroll and location schedule: give both insurance agents or brokers the same seasonal payroll estimates, duties, subcontractor information and work states; request accepted classifications and audit responsibilities. 39 13
  • Two payment alternatives: compare available conventional and payroll-based billing, including deposits, card charges, commissions and any broker billing fee. 37 38 2
  • A separate current auto proposal: identify the insurer, covered vehicles, permitted uses and service team; do not use Pie’s legacy auto page as a renewal offer. 6 34
  • Job-start documents: request binding confirmation, any required waiver endorsement, certificate workflow and state-specific injury instructions. 36 40 3 4

Mylo vs Pie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaMyloPie Insurance
Business role

Mylo describes itself as an independent insurance broker for small and growing businesses. It recommends coverage and compares available quotes from multiple insurers rather than issuing its own policies. 1,2Company-reportedMylo’s direct US small-business offering. The reviewed sources establish Mylo’s described brokerage role, not the suitability or availability of a particular policy.

Mylo says it launched within Lockton Companies in 2015 and now has Group 1001 as its backer. A May 2023 Kansas City Business Journal report said Group 1001 became the majority investor and Mylo was no longer part of Lockton; the reviewed sources did not provide a newer ownership percentage. 2,16,17VerifiedCorporate history and ownership evidence reviewed through 15 September 2026. Group 1001’s backing does not establish that a Group 1001 insurer underwrites any particular Mylo placement.

Mylo, LLC operates the website and is the named insurance agency. Its footer identifies Mylo Insurance Solutions, LLC as a trade name in California, Illinois, Michigan and North Dakota, and Mylo Solutions, LLC as a trade name in New York. 1,3,18,19VerifiedEntity and trade-name disclosures on ChooseMylo.com as of 15 September 2026. Massachusetts licensing and Florida corporate records corroborate Mylo, LLC’s identity but do not verify every listed trade name.

Mylo also supplies an embedded insurance-shopping service to other companies and insurance agencies. A buyer entering through a partner should identify whether Mylo, the partner or another licensed entity is the producer for the transaction. 15,16Company-reportedPartner-distribution model described by Mylo and Group 1001. The sources do not establish the legal role for every partner implementation.

Small businesses can buy Pie’s workers’ compensation directly or through agents; affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ comp, while outside insurers provide some other Pie products. 22,25,23,27,28,29,30Company-reportedCurrent public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant.

If parent-company ownership matters, Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the website and is regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty; AM Best identifies the insurer group as Pie Insurance Group. 24,44,42VerifiedWebsite ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary.

Pie Insurance Services, Inc. is the producer that sells and administers policies; verify its current license in your state because Pie’s own license page is not regulator confirmation. 25,45Company-reportedProducer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action.

Application process

A business buyer can answer questions about the company and industry online or work by phone with a licensed advisor. Mylo says its system recommends coverage and compares available quotes; some carrier and coverage combinations can be purchased online, but an agent finalizes the policy in most cases. 1,3Company-reportedCurrent direct small-business workflow described on Mylo’s site. The sources do not promise a quote, bindable offer or completion time for every applicant.

Mylo’s Terms of Use, last updated May 27, 2026, say purchases may have additional transaction terms, require accurate and complete application answers, and may not result in an issued policy. AI-generated estimates are not quotes, binders or coverage; the carrier determines the actual offer after a complete application. 3Company-reportedWebsite Terms §§1.2, 6 and 9.1.1, last updated May 27, 2026; not the complete terms of an individual insurance transaction or insurer policy.

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 22,21,23Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 26,23Company-reportedUnauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 23,21Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

Availability

Mylo says it has agents licensed in all 50 states. Current Massachusetts regulator lists independently show Mylo, LLC under NPN 18590034 for property-and-casualty and surplus-lines authority in that state, but the reviewed sources do not establish every product’s availability in every state. 1,19,20Company-reportedNational licensing is a company statement with one-state independent corroboration. Product, insurer and class eligibility must be checked for the applicant’s state.

Confirm all work locations and class codes before relying on Pie workers’ comp: sources conflict between availability in 40 states plus DC and 39 states plus DC. 31,32,21,33,42Conflicting sourcesPublic workers’ compensation footprint as of 15 September 2026; the state-page selector, document library and other marketing surfaces were not internally consistent.

Ask if Pie’s partner-issued BOP, cyber, GL or professional policy is available in your state; the reviewed pages give no product-state map and Pie’s terms limit availability. 27,28,30,29,24Not publicly disclosedPublic availability for Pie’s partner-carrier products; no quote or contact form was submitted.

Fees and compensation

Mylo says its guided shopping service is free and that 95% of customers do not pay Mylo a fee when purchasing. It generally earns a carrier commission; in fewer than 5% of transactions, it says it charges a fee when it handles billing and incurs higher administrative costs. The reviewed disclosure does not give the fee amount. 2Company-reportedCompany-wide consumer disclosure on Mylo’s About page. It does not identify the commission or fee for a specific commercial placement.

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 37,38Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 37Company-reportedCredit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 36Not publicly disclosedWorkers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 41,25Not publicly disclosedAgency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Servicing and renewals

The reviewed public pages identify Mylo advisors, a service-professional fallback and a benefits HR portal, but do not establish one universal workflow for commercial policy changes, certificates, renewals or cancellations across carriers. 1,4,14Not found in reviewed sourcesPublic direct-business, carrier-contact and group-benefits pages reviewed on 15 September 2026. Carrier- or policy-specific service may still be available.

Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 35,36Company-reportedPublished workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested.

Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 39Company-reportedPie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund.

Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 36,41Company-reportedDifferent company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Mylo vs Pie Insurance

  • Compare AIG’s broker-accessible insurer products with Mylo’s guided small-business shopping and agency support.

  • Compare AIG’s broader commercial insurer group with Pie’s direct and agency workers’ compensation route.

  • Mylo serves small employers with 2–99 employees and offers group benefits alongside business insurance; Alliance Risk focuses on complex technology risks.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot