Kinro vs Lockton: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Kinro offers small-business policy reviews and text-based document support; Lockton describes a dedicated 24/7 team for technology accounts.

An Overview of Kinro and Lockton

A 15-person professional-services firm handling frequent certificates and adding a software product may need both fast document help and technology expertise. Kinro links policy and certificate support through text updates; Lockton describes a dedicated technology team and 24/7 service. 5 23 Choose Kinro if the main burden is policy and certificate follow-up; choose Lockton if your software exposure needs a dedicated technology team.

A 15-person professional-services firm with a messy renewal packet, frequent certificate requests, and a new software product that might need directors and officers (D&O) liability is choosing review-and-text servicing versus specialist technology teams. They can be substitute retail brokers; the operating cadence is different. 5 25

What Stands Out About Kinro and Lockton?

Kinro at a Glance

  • Get a free review of an existing policy or renewal packet before deciding whether to replace it. 4Company-reportedPublic upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification.
  • Kinro says it shops the market at renewal and sends text links to documents, certificates and coverage support. 1,5Company-reportedRetail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected.

Lockton at a Glance

  • Lockton brokers help businesses arrange insurance, employee benefits and retirement programs. 22,34,41Company-reportedCompany-reported US brand and Terms of Business. The contracting Lockton company can differ by client. Private-ownership and independence claims are marketing statements, not a regulatory finding.
  • Technology clients can compare options for cyber, D&O, liability, property and benefits with Lockton. 23,24,25,26,27,28,29,30,31Company-reportedDirect US product and industry pages accessed 16 September 2026. Technology errors and omissions is discussed in educational Lockton articles but was not added from those articles alone. Catalogue entries from the private-equity page are marketed in that industry context.

Kinro vs Lockton Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageKinroLockton
Business owner’s policyListed 3Kinro lists a business owner’s policy in its product catalog.Not listed
Cargo and transitNot listedListed 26Lockton arranges cargo insurance.
Commercial autoListed 3As of September 16, 2026, Kinro lists commercial auto and describes matching business details to carrier appetite.Listed 26Lockton arranges commercial auto insurance.
Commercial propertyListed 3As of September 16, 2026, Kinro lists commercial property and describes matching business details to carrier appetite.Listed 27Lockton arranges commercial property insurance.
CrimeNot listedListed 31Lockton arranges commercial crime insurance.
Cyber liabilityListed 3Kinro lists cyber liability and compares business details with carrier appetite.Listed 24,23Lockton arranges cyber insurance.
Directors and officersListed 3Kinro lists directors and officers insurance and compares business details with carrier appetite.Listed 25,23Lockton arranges directors and officers liability insurance.
Employee health and benefitsNot listedListed 29Lockton arranges employee health and benefits programs.
Employment practices liabilityNot listedListed 31Lockton arranges employment practices liability insurance.
Fiduciary liabilityNot listedListed 30Lockton arranges fiduciary liability insurance.
General liabilityListed 3Kinro lists general liability and compares available carrier options.Listed 26Lockton arranges general liability insurance.
Hired and non-owned autoListed 3Kinro lists hired and non-owned auto for liability questions involving personal or rented vehicles used for business.Not listed
Key personNot listedListed 31Lockton arranges key person insurance.
Product liabilityNot listedListed 26Lockton arranges product liability insurance.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 3,14Kinro lists professional liability (errors and omissions) for claims tied to professional advice, errors, omissions or service mistakes.Listed 31Lockton arranges professional errors and omissions insurance.
Representations and warrantiesNot listedListed 31Lockton arranges representations and warranties insurance.
Surety bondsNot listedListed 31Lockton arranges surety bonds.
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 3Kinro arranges tools and equipment coverage through its inland marine offering.Not listed
TruckingListed 3Kinro lists trucking insurance addressing auto liability, cargo, physical damage and trucking-specific filings or contract requirements.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 3Kinro lists umbrella and excess liability insurance.Listed 26Lockton arranges umbrella and excess liability insurance.
Workers’ compensationListed 3Kinro arranges workers’ compensation insurance and reviews state, payroll and class-code questions.Listed 28,26Lockton arranges workers’ compensation insurance.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Kinro and Lockton Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Kinro and Lockton each publish for one coverage line.

Kinro and Lockton Reliability Scores

Each score uses the criteria for that provider’s role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Kinro and Lockton Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

Kinro Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

We found no independent customer reviews of Kinro. It shows a 5.0 Google rating on its own website, but there is no review count or listing behind it.

Read Kinro reviews

Lockton Review Score

8.4/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Lockton’s reviews vary by office and entity. Local Google-derived ratings provide some service feedback, but no reliable firmwide verdict.

Read Lockton reviews

Key Differences Between Kinro and Lockton

Starting Point

Kinro’s free review is not a promise of replacement terms. Lockton’s inquiry is not a review of your current policies unless the team agrees to that scope. 1 33

How You Hear Back

Kinro describes text updates linking to documents, certificates and coverage support, with privacy terms that matter if staff use personal phones. 5 Lockton describes a dedicated service team and 24/7 technology servicing language, without text messaging as the published channel. 23

Price Signals

Kinro discloses compensation and publishes consultant-style price benchmarks that are not your quote. Lockton discloses commission, fee and contingent types without those benchmarks. 34

What Should You Confirm in Kinro and Lockton Quotes?

  • Whether Kinro will market directors and officers liability and cyber for software activity. 23
  • Certificate turnaround via Kinro text versus Lockton’s process. 5
  • Written compensation versus Kinro’s public benchmarks. 34
  • California producer on each engagement. 43

Kinro vs Lockton Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaKinroLockton
Customer focus

Kinro helps U.S. small businesses identify insurance needs and compare available options through an agency. You can start with business questions online or ask for help by phone, text, email, or chat. 1,19Company-reportedCurrent retail offering at kinro.com; the function as Kinro describes it, not independently tested placement or service outcomes.

Technology, hardware, software, internet, medical-device, semiconductor and telecom organizations can ask Lockton about brokerage; public pages give no company-size, funding or revenue minimum. 22,23,31Company-reportedUS technology, homepage and private-equity service pages. Presence of a technology practice is not an eligibility guarantee for a bootstrapped or early-stage startup.

Application process

You can begin Kinro’s public four-step quote intake without a login by selecting your business activity; later steps, pricing and binding were not inspected. 2Company-reportedObserved initial unauthenticated interface in Chrome; no answers, personal information, uploads, account creation or submissions. Later access requirements unknown.

Kinro says AI gathers business details and presents available quote options with licensed-agent help; its roughly two-minute follow-up is a company response-time claim, not a quote or binding deadline. 1Company-reportedHomepage FAQ and response claim; no interactions submitted or timing study performed.

You can ask Kinro for a free review by uploading up to three policy or renewal files; its promise to find better pricing with equal or more coverage is company-reported, and no replacement quote was tested. 4Company-reportedPublic upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification.

You can start with a Lockton team inquiry or email its cyber and technology group; reviewed pages do not offer a self-service bind flow or guaranteed quote turnaround. 33,22,36,24,35Company-reportedUS contact, privacy, technology and cyber-technology pages. Form submission was not completed. Website terms state site content is general information, not broking advice.

Servicing and renewals

Kinro says it shops at renewal and sends text links to documents and certificates with reminders and coverage support; these are service descriptions, not turnaround guarantees. 1,5Company-reportedRetail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected.

Before sharing business details, note that Kinro separates service texts from marketing consent, while its privacy policy says website activity may be linked to profiles for marketing. 5,7Company-reportedPublished consent and privacy terms, not an audit of data practices or consent enforcement; privacy policy effective August 10, 2026.

Lockton describes dedicated account teams, risk control and renewal service, including a round-the-clock technology service model; confirm actual service commitments and portal features because public pages provide no standard service agreement. 26,23,34,27,22Company-reportedCompany service descriptions and default Terms of Business; a signed services agreement can differ. Portal capabilities remain undocumented in this review.

Fees and compensation

Kinro’s terms say it is usually paid a commission by the issuing insurer, included in the insurer-set premium. Its services are free to use unless a fee is disclosed before you agree to pay it. Ask for the commission and any proposed fee for your policy; the terms do not publish an account-specific amount. 6,18,8Company-reportedSeptember 27, 2026 company terms describe buyer fees and insurer-paid commissions; no account-specific fee or commission rate is stated. Separate agency-partner economics are not retail rates.

Consultants can use Kinro’s monthly benchmarks—$25–$35 GL, $50–$65 E&O and $90–$105 cyber—as rough market references, not quotes matched to an insurer, limit or deductible. 17Company-reportedOne industry-page illustration, not Kinro-wide pricing or a comparable quote; underlying calculation methodology not established.

Request all commissions and fees for your account: Lockton’s terms allow insurer commissions, client fees, contingent/supplemental compensation, insurer service fees, affiliate reinsurance income and finance interest, but publish no standard rates. 34Company-reportedCompensation Disclosure section of US Terms of Business. Amounts for a given account are not disclosed on the public site.

Claims assistance

Get the policy’s claim instructions and responsible insurer or administrator before binding because Kinro’s public materials do not establish a dedicated claims route or adjuster. 19,5,9Not publicly disclosedScoped absence of detailed first-notice-of-loss instructions and administrator identification in these reviewed sources; not a finding that Kinro offers no claims assistance.

Lockton says its integrated claims team helps investigate, map facts to coverage and negotiate with insurers, but Lockton does not pay claims; service descriptions do not establish claim outcomes or quality. 23,25,30,32,28,34Company-reportedCompany-reported advocacy and consulting. Lockton is not identified as the claims-paying insurer.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Kinro vs Lockton

  • Compare AIG’s broker-facing insurer route with Kinro’s small-business agency intake and quote comparison workflow.

  • Compare AIG’s carrier group with Lockton’s technology and commercial brokerage for businesses building a broader risk program.

  • Kinro starts policy review with uploaded documents, while Alliance Risk asks for customer contracts and prior-work dates in technology E&O submissions.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot