Coalition vs Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Pie is the workers' compensation specialist, with an online quote in about three minutes and pay-as-you-go billing against actual payroll; Coalition is the cyber and technology E&O specialist, sold through brokers with security monitoring included.

An Overview of Coalition and Pie Insurance

These two rarely compete head-on. A company hiring its first employees needs workers' compensation, and a software company signing enterprise contracts needs cyber and Tech E&O; Pie's core product is the first, Coalition's is the second. Pie does sell cyber, but through unnamed partner insurers, so it's a convenience add-on rather than its specialty. 21 26 1 Choose Pie if you need workers' comp for a small team and want premiums to track payroll; choose Coalition if you sell technology and need cyber plus Tech E&O under one policy.

What Stands Out About Coalition and Pie Insurance?

Coalition at a Glance

  • Technology companies can combine cyber and Tech E&O in one program. 1Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.
  • Policyholders get cyber monitoring, alerts and remediation guidance through Control. 8Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Pie Insurance at a Glance

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 20,19,21Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 35,36Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Coalition vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCoalitionPie Insurance
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 25Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
CrimeListed 5Coalition offers crime insurance through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 7Coalition offers cyber insurance.Listed 26Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
Directors and officersListed 5Coalition offers directors and officers liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 5Coalition offers employment practices liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 5Coalition offers fiduciary liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.Not listed
General liabilityNot listedListed 28Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Media liabilityListed 18Coalition identifies media liability within its Active Cyber policy.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 6Coalition offers miscellaneous professional liability as an addition to eligible Active Cyber policies.Listed 27Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 1Coalition offers technology errors and omissions together with Active Cyber coverage for businesses that provide a technology product or service.Not listed
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 21Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Coalition and Pie Insurance Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Coalition and Pie Insurance each publish for one coverage line.

Coalition and Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Each score uses the criteria for that provider’s role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

No Reliability Score

Carrier & MGA

No Reliability Score

Reliability Score details

Coalition and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

Coalition Review Score

10.0/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

Coalition has a BBB A+ grade. The reviewed independent sources did not establish a customer-star rating; the displayed RaveCapture collection is broker-focused. Its Trustpilot page has no reviews, and its best-looking rating comes from a review page the company arranges for brokers.

Read Coalition reviews

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between Coalition and Pie Insurance

Workers’ Comp Specialist vs Cyber Specialist

Pie's own affiliated insurers write its workers' compensation. Its BOP, general liability, professional liability and cyber come from outside insurers it doesn't name publicly. 23

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 23,25,26,27,28Not publicly disclosedCurrent public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

Coalition builds its product around cyber and can combine it with Tech E&O. Pie's general E&O page doesn't show equivalent technology coverage, so a software company should get the actual forms from both before comparing prices. 27 1

Payroll-Based Billing vs Broker-Quoted Premium

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 35,36Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Pie also runs an annual premium audit that replaces estimated payroll with actual payroll, so your final cost can move after the policy year. 37 Coalition doesn't publish premiums or payment plans; you get a price through your broker, and its compensation page says producers are paid commission on premium. 4

Injury Claims vs Breach Response

Pie asks you to report a workplace injury within 24 hours by online form, 24/7 phone line or email. Its partner FAQ says CorVel, not Pie, handles claims in five states. 38 39 Coalition runs in-house cyber claims triage and tries to recover stolen funds. 9 If you hold both, keep the two reporting contacts separate.

What Should You Confirm in Coalition and Pie Insurance Quotes?

  • From Pie: that every state where you have payroll is covered, since its own pages disagree on 39 or 40 states plus D.C., and your class codes. 29
  • From Pie: which records the premium audit will need, and who handles claims in your state.
  • From Pie, if you buy its cyber: the name of the partner insurer and the policy form. 26
  • From Coalition: which insurer issues your cyber and Tech E&O policy in your state. 11
  • Commercial auto: Pie stopped issuing new and renewal commercial auto policies in 2026, so don't rely on older material that lists it. 32

Coalition vs Pie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaCoalitionPie Insurance
Access to insurers

Ask who will issue your policy because admitted cyber uses Coalition Insurance Company while surplus placements use unaffiliated insurers; reviewed sources do not identify one insurer for every California Tech E&O quote. 3,2Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 23,40,41,42VerifiedPie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state.

Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 40VerifiedPie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report.

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 23,25,26,27,28Not publicly disclosedCurrent public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

Application process

You need an appointed broker to buy Coalition coverage; Coalition can help you find access if your broker does not offer it, and says underwriting reviews industry, finances, operations and security. 13Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

To add Tech E&O to a cyber quote, prepare your product or service description and contract answers; some applications need review before a price is released. 12Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 20,19,21Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 24,21Company-reportedUnauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 21,19Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

Fees and compensation

Your broker may receive a premium-based commission plus contingent commissions, placement incentives or cybersecurity-sales compensation, according to Coalition; ask how your placement is compensated. 4Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Coalition says it keeps part of earned premium for operations and broker commissions, and may receive additional insurer payments tied to annual portfolio loss ratios. 16Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Get the full price and broker compensation in writing; reviewed disclosures do not state a startup quote’s commission rate, fee or premium. 4,16Not publicly disclosedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 35,36Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 35Company-reportedCredit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 34Not publicly disclosedWorkers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 39,23Not publicly disclosedAgency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Claims assistance

Coalition describes in-house cyber triage and attempts to recover stolen funds, with the same team handling Tech E&O; these service descriptions do not establish response quality or payment for a loss. 9,1Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 38Company-reportedPublished first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply.

Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 39,29,40Conflicting sourcesPublic allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Coalition vs Pie Insurance

  • Coalition publishes a cyber and technology liability route with broker access; AIG publishes a broader insurer-group portfolio and producer tools.

  • Compare AIG’s broader commercial insurer group with Pie’s direct and agency workers’ compensation route.

  • SaaS buyers can compare Coalition's broker-accessed cyber, technology E&O and security services with Alliance Risk's broader program review.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot