CFC vs
Lockton D&O Insurance
CFC’s D&O sits in a US package with California and public declines; Lockton structures Side A/B/C programs and embeds Professional & Executive Risk claims counsel in the broking team.
What Is CFC Insurance?
CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. 1,2,3,4
What Is Lockton?
Lockton is a privately held insurance brokerage that arranges commercial risk, employee benefits and retirement programs. US pages describe a technology practice and intermediary placement with insurers, not Lockton as the policy’s insurer. 8,9,10
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 12
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Package Product Versus Program Design
CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package. Lockton designs and places D&O programs, saying effective coverage requires market intelligence, coverage-design precision and attention to emerging risks such as AI-related litigation; it does not underwrite and does not name D&O insurers on the reviewed page. 5 11
Who Can Be Insured
Lockton says coverage it places can extend beyond directors and officers to trustees, employees, independent contractors, staff, committee members, volunteers, the corporate entity, majority-owned subsidiaries, spouses and estates. CFC says its directors and officers cover includes protection for the entity itself and lists an additional limit for insured persons on top of the package base, without listing Lockton’s expanded classes. CFC’s brochure also lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among declined package risks. 11 6
Side A DIC Versus Integrated Claims Counsel
CFC separately sells Side A DIC as excess above an existing D&O program. Lockton explains Side A, B and C as parts it can structure and says its Professional & Executive Risk Claims team puts insurance and claims counsel inside the broking team from the start of the relationship. CFC provides a US dedicated-adjuster notification route. 5 7 11
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask Lockton which insurers it would use and how far the insured definition would extend. 11
- Ask CFC whether California domicile or US-public status blocks the package, and whether Side A DIC would apply. 6 5
- Ask CFC for the additional insured-persons dollar amount. 6
- Ask how Lockton’s integrated claims counsel would work with CFC’s dedicated adjuster if both were on a tower. 11 7
Offering Details
CFC vs Lockton D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | CFC Directors & Officers Liability | Lockton Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance Brokerage |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product. It separately sells Side A DIC, an excess policy that sits above a company's existing D&O program. 5,6Company-reported. CFC's management-liability product page and brochure; package composition as CFC describes it. | Lockton designs and places D&O programs rather than underwriting them, saying effective coverage requires market intelligence, coverage-design precision and staying ahead of emerging risks like AI-related litigation and event-driven claims. 11Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Issuing Insurer | CFC's regulatory page discloses CFC Underwriting Limited's FCA authorization and CFC's Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta Managing Agency Ltd, but neither the regulatory page nor the management-liability brochure names the carrier or syndicate that would issue a given US D&O policy. 4,6Not publicly disclosed. Regulatory information page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23. | The D&O page does not name the insurers Lockton places D&O coverage with. 11Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page checked 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | CFC's brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'What we decline' list; underwriting still applies to any individual business. | Lockton says D&O coverage it places can extend beyond directors and officers to trustees, employees, independent contractors, staff, committee members, volunteers, the corporate entity, majority-owned subsidiaries, spouses/domestic partners, and estates/heirs. 11Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. Describes who can typically be covered under a program Lockton structures, not a guarantee for any specific client. |
| Coverage Features | CFC says its directors and officers cover includes protection for the entity itself and aims to prevent directors and officers from having to sell personal assets to pay defense costs. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'Directors and officers cover' description; the issued policy wording determines actual entity and Side B/C coverage terms. CFC's brochure lists an additional limit for insured persons as part of the directors and officers liability section, on top of the package's base limit. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'What else is in the policy?' list; the dollar amount of that additional limit is not stated on the reviewed pages. CFC separately offers Side A DIC (difference in conditions), which it describes as excess coverage for directors and officers of private and publicly traded organizations, sitting above the primary management-liability D&O cover. 5Company-reported. Management-liability product page; Side A DIC has its own brochure that was not opened for this record, so its terms are not otherwise described here. | Lockton explains a traditional D&O program in three parts it says it can structure: Side A (direct coverage to individual directors/officers when the company can't indemnify them), Side B (reimbursing the company for indemnifying its D&Os), and Side C (entity coverage, generally limited to securities claims for public companies but broader for private and nonprofit organizations). 11Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. General educational description of program structure, not a specimen policy form. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed brochure does not publish a specific dollar limit, retention, or the size of the additional insured-persons limit for D&O. Those figures appear only on the quote and declarations. 6Not publicly disclosed. Brochure as read on 2026-09-23. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Claims Support | CFC provides a US claim-notification route by phone, email and online form, and says a dedicated claims adjuster manages a claim from notification through resolution. 7Company-reported. Claims page as read on 2026-09-23; not specific to D&O claim outcomes or timing. | Lockton says its Professional & Executive Risk Claims team integrates experienced insurance and claims counsel within the broking team from the start of the relationship, rather than treating claims advocacy as a separate profit center. 11Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. |
Full Comparison
More CFC vs Lockton Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
CFC
- About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability. CFC; Our management liability products: Management liability, Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Directors and officers cover; At a glance: What we like; What we decline; What else is in the policy? Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Claims. CFC; Notify a claim or cyber incident; We're in it with you. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Lockton
- Lockton United States. Lockton; Opening description of independent insurance brokerage for risk, benefits and retirement; Ask an Expert link to contact-us. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. Lockton; Industry introduction; cyber liability heading; dedicated technology team; listed services including claims advocacy, contract review, directors and officers liability, and international program design; 24/7 service model. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- US Terms of Business. Lockton; Opening entity definition; Surplus Lines; Use of a Particular Insurer; Compensation Disclosure; servicing, claims handling and renewal language in Confidentiality section; Intermediaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- D&O Insurance. Lockton; What is D&O insurance?; Side A/B/C coverage components; Who can be covered under a D&O program?; Claims management. Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





