Aon vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance

Aon describes brokerage for certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs; BHSI publishes a broad U.S. product list, while its website terms limit binding authority to contracted National Indemnity group agents. 1,15,19

Introduction

Coverage Comparison

CoverageAonBerkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance
Builders riskListed 14Aon names Construction Property/Builders Risk on its global construction page; confirm whether this line is offered for the buyer, state, and placement.Listed 36BHSI’s current U.S. Builder’s Risk page lists construction-project coverage, including hot testing/commissioning, delay and soft-cost features, and selectively considered Master Builder’s Risk programs. Project scope, eligibility, terms and issuer remain policy-specific.
Cargo and transitListed 9Aon lists cargo placements in its global marine practice; U.S. eligibility, insurer, limits and policy terms are not stated on the reviewed page.Listed 23,24BHSI's current Marine catalog lists Ocean Cargo, Stock Throughputs, and Project Cargo. The older US-12/22-A guide lists Project Cargo as out of appetite, so confirm its current status; BHSI lists Inland Marine separately.
Commercial autoListed 6Aon lists automobile liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Not listed
Commercial propertyListed 8Aon describes commercial-property brokerage and risk management, with a U.S.-available analytics tool; tool availability does not establish state-specific insurance availability.Listed 25,26BHSI lists all-risk commercial property and selected single-peril options, including earthquake, flood, and windstorm.
CrimeListed 6Aon lists crime within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Listed 28BHSI lists Commercial Crime within its Executive First Private Company Portfolio’s comprehensive form, alongside D&O, employment-practices, fiduciary and employed-lawyer coverages. The page targets private companies with at least $10 million in revenue; portfolio limits up to $50 million may be shared or separate and are not a crime-specific limit. Crime coverage is distinct from fidelity bonds.
Cyber liabilityListed 7,6Aon describes cyber insurance and related brokerage, analytics and claims support; confirm the producing entity, insurer, jurisdiction and policy terms for a U.S. placement.Listed 37,32BHSI markets a U.S. Network Security & Privacy product with third-party breach, response-expense and network-interruption features; its Professional First overview also describes stand-alone Cyber and blended E&O/Cyber forms. Product form, eligibility, terms and issuer depend on the risk and policy.
Directors and officersListed 5Aon describes D&O brokerage and program services in a global practice; this does not identify the producer, insurer or state availability for a particular U.S. placement.Listed 27,28Executive First D&O liability materials describe separate public-company and private-company products.
Employment practices liabilityListed 6Aon lists EPL for professional-services firms in a global practice; this does not establish eligibility for every U.S. employer or state.Listed 28BHSI lists employment-practices liability within its Executive First Private Company Portfolio’s comprehensive form, alongside D&O, fiduciary, crime and employed-lawyer coverages. The page targets private companies with at least $10 million in revenue; portfolio limits up to $50 million may be shared or separate and are not an EPL-specific limit.
Fiduciary liabilityListed 6Aon lists fiduciary liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Listed 28BHSI lists fiduciary liability within its Executive First Private Company Portfolio’s comprehensive form, alongside D&O, employment-practices, crime and employed-lawyer coverages. The page targets private companies with at least $10 million in revenue; portfolio limits up to $50 million may be shared or separate and are not a fiduciary-specific limit.
General liabilityListed 14Aon lists general liability within construction liability coverage areas in its global construction practice; this does not establish a standalone or U.S.-available line.Listed 29,30BHSI lists primary general liability, with contractor and pollution features described in its casualty materials.
Kidnap and ransomListed 6Aon lists kidnap and ransom within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 6Aon describes management liability in its global Professional Services Practice as a partnership program for law, accounting and consulting firms, rather than a standalone line; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Not listed
Media liabilityNot listedListed 32,33BHSI’s Professional First overview names Media Liability, and its architects/engineers product describes media liability only within a specialized combined design-industry form. The overview’s catalogue listing does not establish standalone terms or current account availability.
Product liabilityNot listedListed 29,30BHSI lists primary products and completed-operations liability as a casualty product.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 6Aon describes professional-liability/E&O services for law, accounting and consulting firms; a U.S. placement and any separate technology E&O terms remain to be confirmed.Listed 31,32,33Professional First materials describe a professional-liability portfolio with several professions and service types.
Representations and warrantiesNot listedListed 34,35BHSI lists Representations & Warranties Insurance within its Transactional Liability products.
Surety bondsListed 10Aon markets Commercial Surety globally and says availability depends on jurisdiction; the page does not establish U.S. placement availability.Listed 38BHSI’s U.S. Surety page lists performance, payment, advance-payment, maintenance, supply and warranty bonds for contractor and construction-supplier accounts. Bond obligations depend on the bond form, principal, obligee and jurisdiction; this catalogue listing does not establish bond approval or terms.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Not listedListed 32,33Professional First materials identify Technology E&O as a professional-liability product.
Tools, equipment and inland marineNot listedListed 23BHSI lists inland transit, motor-truck cargo, warehouse legal liability, contractor equipment, and floaters under Inland Marine.
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 14Aon lists umbrella and excess within construction liability coverage areas; ask whether either applies to your project and jurisdiction.Listed 29,30BHSI lists lead umbrella and excess casualty within its U.S. casualty products.
Workers’ compensationListed 14Aon lists workers compensation among global construction coverage areas; this does not establish state availability or a placement.Not listed

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Current Spot Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Aon

Broker

Broker

6.7/ 10

Assessed provider: Aon. Scope: Aon group commercial insurance brokerage, assessed at brand level from Aon's published terms, its 2025 SEC filing, and U.S., U.K. and Irish regulator records. It does not assess a single producing entity, insurer or placement, and it is not a ruling on Aon's consulting or benefits businesses.

Provider assessment

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance

Carrier

Carrier & MGA

7.0/ 10

Assessed entity: Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company. Scope: Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company (BHSIC, NAIC 22276) as a U.S. admitted insurer, using Nebraska and New York regulator records and AM Best. It does not cover policies issued by affiliates under the BHSI brand (for example Berkshire Hathaway International Insurance Ltd in the U.K.), and it is not a claims-outcome measure.

Provider assessment

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Aon

6.1/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]

Read Aon reviews

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance

-/ 10

Review Score

The public ratings for Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance are low but thin: Trustpilot shows 2.1 out of 5 from 9 reviews and BBB shows 1 out of 5 from 6. Both mix travel and commercial customers, so we don't count them in a score.[5][7]

Read Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between Aon and Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance

Brokerage Versus Specialty Insurer

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe Aon as broker of record for certain programs. BHSI’s U.S. materials list specialty insurance lines, but a BHSI brand listing does not identify the insurer issuing a particular policy. These are different roles: Aon arranges selected placements, while the policy documents determine which BHSI group insurer bears a given risk.

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. as broker of record for certain insurance programs. Separate electronic-delivery terms name Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries to deliver arranged policies; the terms define an insurer as the policy issuer and risk bearer. These group-level descriptions do not identify the producer or authority for a particular placement. 1,2Company-reported. Company-reported U.S. Commercial Risk brokerage and electronic-delivery terms; certain programs only. No specific insured, licensed producer, appointment, policy issuer, state authority or placement was matched.

BHSI’s U.S. At A Glance section (version 2026-8-03 A) lists commercial property, casualty, healthcare professional liability, executive and professional lines, surety, travel, programs, employer stop loss, and homeowners insurance. The guide is informational, not policy coverage, and its brand-level list does not identify the insurer on a particular policy. 15,16,19Company-reported. A description of BHSI's U.S. line list in its U.S. At A Glance section (version 2026-8-03 A) only. The guide says its descriptions are informational and are not coverage; its brand-level list does not assign an issuing insurer to a particular product or policy. This is not a claim that one legal insurer issues every BHSI product.

Ask each party for the proposed producer and insurer. BHSI’s Singapore disclosure identifies Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company in that jurisdiction; it does not establish that company as issuer of every U.S. product. 1 17 19

Buyer Segment and Application Authority

Aon describes a Middle Market practice for mid-sized organizations across North America, without a numerical cutoff. BHSI lists U.S. industries and product segments; its executive-lines commercial and financial segment names public companies and large privately owned firms, but that size description does not apply to every BHSI product or institution.

Aon markets a dedicated Middle Market practice for mid-sized organizations and says it serves growing businesses across North America. The reviewed page gives no numerical size cutoff and does not establish U.S.-only eligibility; Aon’s broader global client statement describes the parent’s client base, not this practice’s eligibility rules. 4,3Company-reported. Company-reported marketing page, North America; no numerical revenue, employee-count, state or U.S.-only eligibility definition is stated.

BHSI's U.S. industry focus spans real estate, public entities, financial institutions, healthcare, education, manufacturing, retail, logistics, transportation, energy, and technology. The at-a-glance guide associates these industries with particular product segments; it does not say every segment serves every listed industry. 15Company-reported. Company-stated industry focus in the United States section of the At A Glance (U.S. section version 2026-8-03 A); industry lists are segment-specific, not a universal eligibility statement.

Within its U.S. executive-lines commercial and financial segment, BHSI lists publicly traded and large privately owned commercial firms; investment, money-center, national, and regional banks; asset managers; and insurance companies and brokerages. The size description applies to the commercial-firm entry, not every listed institution or all BHSI products. 15Company-reported. Only the U.S. Executive Lines, Commercial & Financial segment, At A Glance p. 50. The “publicly traded and large privately owned” qualifier attaches to the Commercial Firms bullet only.

For certain Aon programs, Aon helps prepare underwriting information and obtains client instructions to bind a selected program. BHSI says website quote submissions are informational and nonbinding; only contracted National Indemnity group agents may bind, issue policies or certificates, or change coverage. That describes website authority, not every possible BHSI intake route.

For certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs, Aon says it consults with the client about market conditions, insurers to approach and program strategy, helps prepare underwriting information and applications, and obtains the client’s instructions to bind specific programs based on Aon’s proposal. The client signs applications that require a signature. 1Company-reported. Company-reported contractual terms for certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs; not a universal workflow, online checkout claim, insurer role or guarantee that a quote can bind.

BHSI's website terms say online application or quote submissions are informational and nonbinding; only contracted agents of the National Indemnity group may bind coverage, issue policies or certificates, or change coverage. Group companies' authority also varies by state, so the terms do not show that every application must begin through an agent. 19Company-reported. The website's own online submissions and binding authority described by BHSI's terms; not a statement about every product's intake process or a claim that purchase can be completed online.

Ask Aon which producer and insurer would handle your placement and what client authorization is needed. Ask BHSI which company would issue the policy, whether your product and state are eligible, and which contracted agent can bind it. Then compare actual forms, limits, retentions and exclusions; these sources do not establish comparable terms or prices.

Compare Services

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaAonBerkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance
Business role

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. as broker of record for certain insurance programs. Separate electronic-delivery terms name Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries to deliver arranged policies; the terms define an insurer as the policy issuer and risk bearer. These group-level descriptions do not identify the producer or authority for a particular placement. 1,2Company-reported. Company-reported U.S. Commercial Risk brokerage and electronic-delivery terms; certain programs only. No specific insured, licensed producer, appointment, policy issuer, state authority or placement was matched.

BHSI’s U.S. At A Glance section (version 2026-8-03 A) lists commercial property, casualty, healthcare professional liability, executive and professional lines, surety, travel, programs, employer stop loss, and homeowners insurance. The guide is informational, not policy coverage, and its brand-level list does not identify the insurer on a particular policy. 15,16,19Company-reported. A description of BHSI's U.S. line list in its U.S. At A Glance section (version 2026-8-03 A) only. The guide says its descriptions are informational and are not coverage; its brand-level list does not assign an issuing insurer to a particular product or policy. This is not a claim that one legal insurer issues every BHSI product.

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company (BHSIC) identifies itself in its Singapore-branch public disclosure as a Nebraska-domiciled direct property and casualty insurer, wholly owned by National Indemnity Company, which is wholly owned by Berkshire Hathaway Incorporated. The Singapore-branch disclosure states this ownership chain. A Missouri Department of Insurance record separately lists BHSIC as active, NAIC 22276, and Property and Casualty in Missouri. Neither source identifies BHSIC as the issuer of every BHSI-branded U.S. policy. 17,18,19Company-reported. Company-reported corporate identity and ownership in BHSI's Singapore-branch public disclosure, corroborated for company identity and Missouri P&C authority by the Missouri Department of Insurance record accessed 2026-09-28. Neither source maps BHSIC as issuer for every BHSI-branded U.S. product; use policy-specific documents for that.

Customer focus

Aon markets a dedicated Middle Market practice for mid-sized organizations and says it serves growing businesses across North America. The reviewed page gives no numerical size cutoff and does not establish U.S.-only eligibility; Aon’s broader global client statement describes the parent’s client base, not this practice’s eligibility rules. 4,3Company-reported. Company-reported marketing page, North America; no numerical revenue, employee-count, state or U.S.-only eligibility definition is stated.

BHSI's U.S. industry focus spans real estate, public entities, financial institutions, healthcare, education, manufacturing, retail, logistics, transportation, energy, and technology. The at-a-glance guide associates these industries with particular product segments; it does not say every segment serves every listed industry. 15Company-reported. Company-stated industry focus in the United States section of the At A Glance (U.S. section version 2026-8-03 A); industry lists are segment-specific, not a universal eligibility statement.

Within its U.S. executive-lines commercial and financial segment, BHSI lists publicly traded and large privately owned commercial firms; investment, money-center, national, and regional banks; asset managers; and insurance companies and brokerages. The size description applies to the commercial-firm entry, not every listed institution or all BHSI products. 15Company-reported. Only the U.S. Executive Lines, Commercial & Financial segment, At A Glance p. 50. The “publicly traded and large privately owned” qualifier attaches to the Commercial Firms bullet only.

Application process

For certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs, Aon says it consults with the client about market conditions, insurers to approach and program strategy, helps prepare underwriting information and applications, and obtains the client’s instructions to bind specific programs based on Aon’s proposal. The client signs applications that require a signature. 1Company-reported. Company-reported contractual terms for certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs; not a universal workflow, online checkout claim, insurer role or guarantee that a quote can bind.

BHSI's website terms say online application or quote submissions are informational and nonbinding; only contracted agents of the National Indemnity group may bind coverage, issue policies or certificates, or change coverage. Group companies' authority also varies by state, so the terms do not show that every application must begin through an agent. 19Company-reported. The website's own online submissions and binding authority described by BHSI's terms; not a statement about every product's intake process or a claim that purchase can be completed online.

Sources

Aon Official Website

  1. Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Aon Commercial Risk U.S. Electronic Disclosure and Consent Terms. Aon; Lines 120–125: Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries in electronic delivery; insurer is defined as issuer and risk bearer. The passage does not identify a producing entity or insurer for a particular placement. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Aon plc Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025. Aon plc / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; Cover lines 23–34: Aon plc is incorporated in Ireland and gives Dublin as principal executive office; lines 261–263: global client breadth; lines 271–273 and segment discussion: company-reported Commercial Risk brokerage and risk-consulting operations. Filing is parent-level evidence, not placement producer, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance. Aon; Lines 135–160: general covered allegations and Side A, B and C scenarios, including public/private differences; lines 171–185: insurer-selection analytics, brokerage/claims-team collaboration and management-liability specialization. Product explanation and company-reported services; not an Aon-issued policy or quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management. Aon; Lines 125–128: global professional-services team and named law, accounting and consulting firm audience; lines 131–147: professional-liability/E&O offering and terminology; lines 151–176: cyber and EPL offerings, including management liability described at lines 158–163 as a partnership program/category; lines 180–189: professional-services P&C listing, including crime, fiduciary, kidnap and ransom, and automobile liability. “Loss Prevention” section (directly inspected passage at lines 209–212) conditions law-firm loss prevention on Aon broking of lawyers’ professional liability. Global practice page; no state-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  7. Cyber Risk. Aon; Lines 194–205: cyber risk financing and cyber insurance; lines 206–230: claims advocacy/preparation and third-party incident-response providers, separate client contracts, no performance guarantee, and possible referral remuneration. Company-reported global service description. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  8. Property Risk Management. Aon; Lines 132–140: property/buildings/contents and possible business-interruption cover, broker team services; lines 148–159: rates, retentions, limits, deductibles, benchmarking and U.S.-available Property Risk Analyzer; lines 161–168: global market access and alternate risk transfer. Tool availability does not establish placement availability or authority by state. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  9. Marine Insurance and Risk Management. Aon; Lines 123–126: global marine practice, customer examples and marine claims/risk services; lines 155–175: cargo offerings including project cargo, general cargo, stock throughput, excess storage and freight/logistics. No U.S. placement terms, insurer, limits or state authority specified. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  10. Commercial Surety. Aon; Lines 125–127: commercial surety bond description and three parties; lines 190–210: Aon says it approaches the surety market globally and describes its brokerage support, with offerings depending on jurisdiction; lines 211–222: examples of bond types. Global company marketing; no U.S. producing entity, state authority, issuer or placement terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  11. About | Aon. Aon; Aon’s company overview and Our Capabilities list distinguish Risk Capital from Human Capital and describe group-wide capabilities. General company identity context; not placement, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  12. Broking and Risk Transfer | Aon. Aon; Explore Our Risk Transfer Offerings; Property & Casualty, Specialty, Management Liability and industry listings. Broad catalogue only; not sufficient for a dedicated line record by itself. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  13. Financial and Executive Risks | Insurance Broking & Risk Management. Aon; Financial Services Group Overview; D&O, fiduciary, EPL and crime references plus policy design and insurer market knowledge. Broad category/source context; not sufficient by itself to establish a separate U.S. product. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  14. Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management. Aon; Lines 125–126: global construction practice designing and placing risk solutions; lines 137–156: industry-specific property, casualty, construction professional liability, subcontractor default and construction surety offerings; lines 167–195: global coverage areas explicitly list Builders Risk, general/umbrella/excess liability within construction liability, workers compensation and surety among other categories. These are construction-practice marketing statements; page does not provide U.S. state or placement availability for each line. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Official Website

  1. At A Glance. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; United States section, zero-based PDF pages 49–53 (viewer pages 50–54): product/industry lists on pages 49–50; U.S. disclosure/version footer on page 53 is 2026-8-03 A. The 2026-09-14 A footer is on preceding European page 48, not the U.S. section. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. About Us. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; About BHSI; company profile page re-opened through official site on 2026-09-28; company says it is part of National Indemnity group. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Public Disclosure — Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Singapore Branch. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Singapore branch public disclosure, Company Profile ¶¶ 1–2; direct page opened 2026-09-28. ¶ 1 identifies BHSIC as a Nebraska-domiciled direct P&C insurer; ¶ 2 states BHSIC is wholly owned by National Indemnity Company, itself wholly owned by Berkshire Hathaway Incorporated. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  4. Company Details — Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company. Missouri Department of Insurance; Company Details fields: legal name, active license status, NAIC number 22276, and Property and Casualty description; Missouri regulator record also lists 2025 property-casualty lines. Accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  5. Terms of Service. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Important Information Concerning Use of this Web Site, paragraphs 2–4; nonbinding submissions, contracted-agent authority, state variation, product availability and policy-specific terms. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  6. United States. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; United States products directory, opened 2026-09-28. Rendered page lists U.S. category links and Casualty/Property headings (lines 6–44); this directory view is navigation, not the linked product pages or a full review of product materials. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  7. Claims — United States. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Claims Reporting, lines 34–91; separate product-specific directions, then “All other claims” email, 24-hour toll-free phone, postal/overnight mail. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  8. Claims Excellence — United States. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Claims Service Standards, version US 2024-10-07A in footer/document end; page 2 lines 30–34 describe coverage discussion and third-party settlement communications. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  9. Marine. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Inland and ocean marine product list, covered property classes and target businesses; lines 18-69. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  10. Ocean Marine Cargo Overview. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Two-page U.S. marketing PDF marked US-12/22-A; product types lines 14-20; ocean marine cargo appetite, capacity and placement lines 43-57; out-of-appetite and target risk characteristics lines 58-72; terms disclaimer lines 103-114. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  11. Property. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; All-risk, single-peril, catastrophe, inland/ocean marine and builder's risk offerings; target account descriptions. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  12. General Property Appetite Guide. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Page 1: minimum premium, product/forms, territory, attachment and working capacity; page 2 footer identifies 2026-02-10 A; lines 0-9, 89-99. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  13. Executive First Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights: government investigations, shareholder derivative actions, late-notice qualification, defense counsel selection; Top Targets: large commercial and financial firms, lines 6–19. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  14. Executive First Private Company Portfolio. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights: D&O, EPL, Fiduciary, Commercial Crime and Employed Lawyers in one comprehensive form; shared or separate limits to $50m; EPL First services. Top Targets: private companies at $10m+ revenues and listed industries, lines 11–25. Portfolio limit is not a separate line limit. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  15. Casualty Appetite Guide - U.S. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Casualty appetite PDF page 1: $50K minimum premium, GL/products/lead umbrella/excess lines, selected $10M excess capacity, placement forms and target/avoided classes; guide dated 2026-07-15. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  16. Casualty. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; US casualty product lines and features: Primary General Liability lines 10-34; Primary Products/Completed Operations Liability 35-44; Lead Umbrella and Excess Casualty 46-63. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  17. Professional First Professional Liability. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; U.S. Professional Liability landing page links Professional Liability / Network Security & Privacy, stand-alone Network Security & Privacy, and Architects, Engineers and Consultants PL, lines 6–15; footer copyright © 2026. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  18. Professional First Professional Liability Overview. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; PDF pp.1–2: claims group and reporting; primary blended E&O/Cyber and stand-alone Cyber forms; line capacity statement; named Lawyers PL, Technology E&O, Miscellaneous PL, Media Liability, Network Security & Privacy; named technology-services target types and selection categories; dated 2026-06-03-A. Group capacity not a line policy limit. Source version: 2026-06-03-A. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  19. Professional First Architects, Engineers and Consultants Professional Liability. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights: professional/pollution liability; media, technology and cyber/network security/privacy liability; direct breach/extortion expenses; risk services; primary/excess and project-specific product availability; target professions, lines 6–29. Its combined-form technology feature is not itself a standalone Tech E&O statement. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  20. Transactional Liability. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights list R&W, tax, contingent-liability and class-action-settlement insurance; Top Targets list manufacturing, financial institutions, technology, real estate, energy, healthcare and retail, lines 6–27. The target list is for the transactional-liability portfolio, not exclusive R&W eligibility. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  21. Transactional Liability Overview. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; PDF pp.1–2: R&W, tax, contingent-liability, and class-action-settlement products; portfolio-wide primary/excess and up-to-$25m capacity; premiums/retentions vary by transaction/risk; portfolio appetite and in-house claims group; R&W buyer-use descriptions; dated 2025-05-16-A. Product-specific limits and final terms not stated. Source version: 2025-05-16-A. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  22. Builder’s Risk. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Current U.S. page: all-risk, hot testing/commissioning, delay/startup/soft costs, single-peril/DIC primary/excess; separate EAR and CAR target categories; Master Builder’s Risk selectively considered, lines 6–35. Reopened 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  23. Professional First Network Security & Privacy Policy. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights: third-party breach exposures, regulatory investigations/fines/penalties, direct breach/extortion expenses, electronic-content media liability, business interruption from network-security failure, eRiskHub; Top Targets: professional-services firms, lines 6–19. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  24. Surety. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights name performance, payment, advance-payment, maintenance, supply and warranty bonds; Top Targets name regional/national/global contractors and construction suppliers/services; PPP/project-delivery capability; lines 6–32. Accessed 2026-09-28.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Suggested Comparisons

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot