What Is Aon?
Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 1,2
What Is Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance?
BHSI provides commercial and specialty insurance in the U.S., with product-specific industry lists that include healthcare, energy and technology. Online quote and application submissions are nonbinding. 4,5,6,7
Read the Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance profile
Read the Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance D&O Insurance page
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 10,11,12
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Private-Company Coverage and Claim Scenarios
Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance describes D&O protection for investigations and derivative claims under its private-company product. Aon explains Side A, B and C structures but does not publish buyer-specific terms. Compare the BHSI claim scenarios with the carrier form Aon proposes, including who is insured and which defense costs are covered. 8 3
Program Structure and Eligibility
BHSI states eligibility characteristics for private companies, while Aon describes D&O services for public and private firms without a complete underwriting schedule. Ask BHSI how its revenue and entity criteria apply; ask Aon which markets will consider the company’s structure and governance profile. 8 3
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask BHSI for investigation and derivative-claim wording and eligibility; ask Aon for carrier, Side A/B/C limits and exclusions. 8
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Aon
Review Score
3 rated sources
Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]
Read Aon reviewsBerkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance
Review Score
No reviews found
The public ratings for Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance are low but thin: Trustpilot shows 2.1 out of 5 from 9 reviews and BBB shows 1 out of 5 from 6. Both mix travel and commercial customers, so we don't count them in a score.[5][7]
Read Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance reviewsOffering Details
Aon vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance: D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Aon Directors and Officers Liability brokerage and risk-advisory offering | Executive First D&O Liability Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Aon markets D&O broking and advisory services, including insurer selection and program design. It does not issue the described coverage or name the carrier for a buyer’s placement. 3Company-reported. Aon’s official global product/capability page. The statement is limited to Aon’s marketing of brokerage or advisory services, not policy issuance. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed page does not identify the insurer or the legal producing entity for a specific placement. Ask Aon to identify both for the quoted risk. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote, binder or policy was reviewed. This does not establish that no insurer or producing entity is available. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Who It’s For | Aon describes D&O services for public and private companies and discusses executives, directors, managers and board members. This is a target-audience description, not an underwriting eligibility schedule. 3Company-reported. Audience stated by Aon on its global capability page; this does not establish a specific applicant’s eligibility or placement availability by U.S. state. | The D&O page names large commercial and financial firms as target accounts. 8Company-reported. U.S. target-account description, not a complete eligibility rule or acceptance commitment. |
| Coverage Features | Aon explains D&O policies generally through Side A individual protection when company indemnity is unavailable, Side B reimbursement when the company indemnifies a director or officer, and Side C entity coverage, with different descriptions for public and private companies. It notes exclusions can apply; an issued policy determines the actual scope. 3Company-reported. Aon’s broker-authored explanation of the insurance line. It does not establish an individual insured’s policy entitlement; the insurer’s form, endorsements and declarations control. | The U.S. Executive First D&O page describes coverage for government investigations, including informal investigations of insured individuals without sublimits. 8Company-reported. U.S. D&O product-page summary; the actual policy, definitions, exclusions, conditions, insureds, and state forms control. BHSI says its D&O product covers plaintiffs’ attorney fees and costs for shareholder derivative actions and company costs to investigate derivative demands or actions where no demand is made. 8Company-reported. U.S. D&O product-page summary; do not read as all derivative-action costs covered under every issued policy. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed page does not state a standard buyer-specific limit, retention or deductible for this placement. Confirm amounts, sublimits and conditions in the quote and issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote or policy form was reviewed. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Risk Services | Aon says its brokerage and claims teams collaborate on coverage negotiations and describes insurer-selection analytics and a D&O Risk Analyzer. Those are broker services, not an insurer claim decision or guarantee. 3Company-reported. Company-reported brokerage and advisory services. Account-specific service terms are not stated. | BHSI describes full choice of defense counsel for the D&O product. 8Company-reported. Company-reported product feature; applicable policy terms and any state-specific requirements remain controlling. |
Full Comparison
More Aon vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Aon
- Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance. Aon; D&O audience and coverage explanation, lines 123–160; insurer-selection, brokerage and claims collaboration, analytics and industry specialization, lines 171–189; contact link at top. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance
- At A Glance. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; United States section, zero-based PDF pages 49–53 (viewer pages 50–54): product/industry lists on pages 49–50; U.S. disclosure/version footer on page 53 is 2026-8-03 A. The 2026-09-14 A footer is on preceding European page 48, not the U.S. section. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- About Us. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; About BHSI; company profile page re-opened through official site on 2026-09-28; company says it is part of National Indemnity group. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Terms of Service. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Important Information Concerning Use of this Web Site, paragraphs 2–4; nonbinding submissions, contracted-agent authority, state variation, product availability and policy-specific terms. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Public Disclosure — Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Singapore Branch. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Singapore branch public disclosure, Company Profile ¶¶ 1–2; direct page opened 2026-09-28. ¶ 1 identifies BHSIC as a Nebraska-domiciled direct P&C insurer; ¶ 2 states BHSIC is wholly owned by National Indemnity Company, itself wholly owned by Berkshire Hathaway Incorporated. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Executive First Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights: government investigations, shareholder derivative actions, late-notice qualification, defense counsel selection; Top Targets: large commercial and financial firms, lines 6–19. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Executive First Private Company Portfolio. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights: D&O, EPL, Fiduciary, Commercial Crime and Employed Lawyers in one comprehensive form; shared or separate limits to $50m; EPL First services. Top Targets: private companies at $10m+ revenues and listed industries, lines 11–25. Portfolio limit is not a separate line limit. Accessed 2026-09-28.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.





