Aon vs
Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance: How Do They Compare for General Liability Insurance?
Aon’s global construction practice describes broking and placement across construction insurance lines for contractors, owners, engineers, and other project participants, while Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance directly markets primary general liability, with contractor broad-form coverage, gradual-pollution features, and flexible limits. 3,9
What Is Aon?
Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 1,2
What Is Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance?
BHSI provides commercial and specialty insurance in the U.S., with product-specific industry lists that include healthcare, energy and technology. Online quote and application submissions are nonbinding. 4,5,6,7
What Is General Liability Insurance?
General liability can protect your business when a customer or visitor claims you caused injury or damaged their property. It suits businesses serving customers or working on their premises; your own building, tools and stock need property coverage. 10,11,12
Key Differences in General Liability Insurance
Brokered construction program and primary insurer appetite
Aon’s global construction practice describes broking and placement across construction insurance lines for contractors, owners, engineers, and other project participants. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance directly markets primary general liability, with contractor broad-form coverage, gradual-pollution features, and flexible limits. A buyer comparing these routes should distinguish Aon’s access to a placement from BHSI’s stated insurer product features, then identify the actual carrier in any Aon proposal. 3 9
Target classes and available limits
BHSI’s casualty guide names commercial real estate, retail and grocery, financial institutions, construction, and energy as target classes and sets a $50,000 minimum premium per policy. Aon describes a broader range of construction participants and does not publish a GL premium floor or buyer limit. BHSI’s stated minimum can matter for smaller submissions; ask Aon for the actual market and premium needed for your risk. 3 8
What to Confirm in General Liability Insurance Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Aon
Review Score
3 rated sources
Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]
Read Aon reviewsBerkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance
Review Score
No reviews found
The public ratings for Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance are low but thin: Trustpilot shows 2.1 out of 5 from 9 reviews and BBB shows 1 out of 5 from 6. Both mix travel and commercial customers, so we don't count them in a score.[5][7]
Read Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance reviewsOffering Details
Aon vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance: General Liability Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Aon General Liability brokerage and risk-advisory offering | Primary general liability |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Aon says its global construction practice designs and places risk solutions and uses broking experience and a global network across construction insurance lines. For general liability, this is evidence of Aon’s brokered market offering; the page does not identify the insurer for a buyer’s placement. 3Company-reported. Aon’s global construction and infrastructure practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Who It’s For | Aon describes its global construction and infrastructure practice as serving contractors, owners, developers, engineers, architects, designers, financiers and investors, and says it works with organizations of varied sizes and complexity. 3Company-reported. Audience described for Aon’s global construction and infrastructure practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement. | The casualty guide lists primary GL forms and identifies commercial real estate, retail/grocery, financial institutions, construction and energy as target classes. 8Company-reported. US casualty appetite guide dated 2026-07-15. Material limitation: Guide includes classes to avoid and $50,000 minimum policy premium; acceptance is underwritten. |
| Coverage Features | Aon lists General Liability within construction liability and describes casualty protection for third-party bodily injury or property damage associated with negligent acts during construction or operations. A policy’s actual insureds, triggers, exclusions and conditions are not stated on this practice page. 3Company-reported. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage. | BHSI markets primary general liability, with contractor broad-form coverage, gradual-pollution features and flexible limits in its product overview. 9Company-reported. BHSI US specialty commercial primary GL. Material limitation: These are overview features, not universal policy grants; forms and endorsements vary. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed. | BHSI’s casualty appetite guide sets a $50,000 minimum premium per policy and lists primary GL as an eligible line. 8Company-reported. Selected US casualty accounts under guide dated 2026-07-15. Material limitation: Minimum premium is appetite guidance, not a quoted price or guaranteed minimum for all products. |
| Risk Services | Aon describes project risk-advisory services to understand project-specific risks and develop risk-transfer, management or mitigation strategies. It also describes a global construction team and market access. These are company-reported brokerage and advisory services, not coverage benefits. 3Company-reported. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated. | Confirm in your quote. |
Full Comparison
More Aon vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Comparisons
Other General Liability Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Aon
- Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management. Aon; Construction client audience and global placement role, lines 123–126; offering descriptions lines 135–156; coverage-area taxonomy lines 167–195; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance
- At A Glance. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; United States section, zero-based PDF pages 49–53 (viewer pages 50–54): product/industry lists on pages 49–50; U.S. disclosure/version footer on page 53 is 2026-8-03 A. The 2026-09-14 A footer is on preceding European page 48, not the U.S. section. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- About Us. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; About BHSI; company profile page re-opened through official site on 2026-09-28; company says it is part of National Indemnity group. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Terms of Service. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Important Information Concerning Use of this Web Site, paragraphs 2–4; nonbinding submissions, contracted-agent authority, state variation, product availability and policy-specific terms. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Public Disclosure — Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Singapore Branch. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Singapore branch public disclosure, Company Profile ¶¶ 1–2; direct page opened 2026-09-28. ¶ 1 identifies BHSIC as a Nebraska-domiciled direct P&C insurer; ¶ 2 states BHSIC is wholly owned by National Indemnity Company, itself wholly owned by Berkshire Hathaway Incorporated. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Casualty Appetite Guide - U.S. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Casualty appetite PDF page 1: $50K minimum premium, GL/products/lead umbrella/excess lines, selected $10M excess capacity, placement forms and target/avoided classes; guide dated 2026-07-15. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Casualty. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; US casualty product lines and features: Primary General Liability lines 10-34; Primary Products/Completed Operations Liability 35-44; Lead Umbrella and Excess Casualty 46-63. Accessed 2026-09-28.
General Liability Insurance Guide
- Commercial general liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Coverage A; Coverage B; Coverage C; Purchasing commercial general liability insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Commercial General Liability; Commercial Automobile; What Should I Expect from a Broker-Agent?; How Are Commercial Policies Rated? Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial General Liability Coverage Form. ISO; specimen hosted by Hiscox; I.A pp.1–5; I.B pp.6–7; I.C pp.7–8; Supplementary Payments p.8; II pp.9–10; III p.10; IV pp.10–12. Accessed 2026-09-16.





