Risklytics vs USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance

Risklytics quotes startup D&O with a typical $1–$3 million ask; USI brokers ExecuSafe and seed-to-IPO technology D&O.

What Is Risklytics Insurance?

Risklytics describes a commercial insurance brokerage for robotics, autonomy, hardware and AI businesses. It prepares applications and seeks coverage from insurers; California placement eligibility remains unconfirmed. 1,2,3

Read the Risklytics profile

What Is USI Insurance Services?

USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 6,7,8

Read the USI Insurance Services profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Online Producer Versus ExecuSafe Broker

Risklytics describes itself as a licensed producer placing D&O through its online application and says a producer stays on the file until bind with no broker fee on top of premium. USI is a broker that identifies D&O exposures, reviews existing management-liability policies, and places coverage, including through ExecuSafe, and it directs ExecuSafe interest by email rather than a self-serve bind path. 5 1 9

Limit Guidance Versus Benchmarking Story

Risklytics lists a typical ask of $1 million to $3 million for venture-backed companies. USI cites a 2016 Chubb survey on private-company D&O take-up and an average claim cost of $450,000, but does not publish its own placed limits; its Technology practice instead cites a case study where benchmarking led to a reported $100,000-plus annual premium reduction for a software company. 4 9 7 Those are different kinds of numbers: a typical ask versus a third-party survey and a single case.

Who Each Practice Names

Risklytics says the norm is buying at or before the first priced round and that D&O is easy to get for venture-backed companies with a clean story. USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe and places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients from seed stage through IPO. 4 9 7 Neither names the issuing insurer. USI lists claim types including creditor lawsuits and unfair competition; Risklytics’ examples are investor and regulator suits over how the company was run.

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Confirm whether you would bind through Risklytics’ online file or appoint USI, including ExecuSafe. 5 9
  • Ask Risklytics whether $1–$3 million is the marketed limit. 4
  • If you are a software company, ask USI whether the Technology practice would handle the file. 7
  • Get the issuing insurer from both. 4 9

Offering Details

Risklytics vs USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaRisklytics Directors & Officers InsuranceUSI ExecuSafe Directors & Officers Liability Program
Role in This Line

Risklytics Insurance Services is a licensed insurance producer (NPN 22311838) that places Risklytics Directors & Officers Insurance with outside carriers; it says it does not underwrite policies itself. 1Company-reported. About page; describes Risklytics' brokerage model generally, restated for this line.

USI is a broker for D&O coverage. It says it helps clients identify D&O exposures, review any existing management liability policies for gaps, and place coverage, including through its own named endorsement package, ExecuSafe. 9Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's "How USI Can Help" section.

Issuing Insurer

Risklytics does not name the carrier that underwrites Risklytics Directors & Officers Insurance on its site. It says it places business with specialist insurers willing to write robotics, autonomy and AI risk; the issuing carrier appears on the bound policy. 4,1Company-reported. Lines page and about page; no specific insurer is published for this line.

USI does not name the insurer that underwrites ExecuSafe or other D&O placements on the pages reviewed; it describes ExecuSafe as an endorsement package it applies to policies placed with the market. 9Not publicly disclosed. ExecuSafe article and Technology/Business Services practice pages as read on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

Risklytics says the norm is buying D&O at or before a startup's first priced round, since term sheets and incoming board members typically require it as a closing condition. 4Company-reported. Lines page.

USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe, saying many either skip D&O coverage or buy insufficient limits because their brokers do not help them identify the exposure. Its Technology practice separately places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients from seed stage through IPO. 9,7Company-reported. ExecuSafe article eligibility framing and Technology practice client description.

Coverage Features

Risklytics describes D&O as protecting a founder's personal assets when an investor or regulator sues over how the company was run, citing an investor suit after a down round and a regulator inquiry into AI capability claims as examples, and distinguishes it from Tech E&O, which answers a customer's product-failure claim instead. 4Company-reported. Lines page; the issued policy and declarations control actual coverage.

USI says D&O insurance is meant to protect a company's leadership from personal loss in a lawsuit, since the corporate veil does not shield directors and officers from personal liability for the business's actions and debts. It lists breach of contract, breach of duty, misrepresentation, unfair competition, misappropriation of trade secrets, securities lawsuits and creditor lawsuits as common claim types the coverage responds to. 9Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's description of D&O purpose and claim types; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy.

Limits and Retentions

Risklytics lists a typical ask of $1 million to $3 million for venture-backed companies for this line. 4Company-reported. Lines page; actual limits are set on the bound policy.

USI cites a 2016 Chubb survey that found 43% of private companies carry no D&O coverage, with an average private-company D&O claim cost of $450,000, but the article does not publish USI's own placed limits, retentions or premium ranges for ExecuSafe. 9Not publicly disclosed. Third-party statistic cited by USI to illustrate exposure, not USI's own placement data.

Risk Services

Risklytics calls D&O easy to get for venture-backed companies with a clean story, describing quick placement for that segment. 4Company-reported. Lines page.

USI's Technology practice cites a case study where its benchmarking analysis showed a software company was buying more D&O limit than peers with similar risk profiles, and says the resulting change saved the client more than $100,000 per year in D&O premium. 7Company-reported. Single case study on the Technology practice page; company-reported outcome, not independently verified.

How to Apply

You start Risklytics Directors & Officers Insurance through Risklytics' online application. Risklytics says there is no broker fee on top of the premium and a licensed producer stays on the file until the program binds; its commission is paid by the carrier out of the premium either way. 5,1Company-reported. Pricing page describes the general application and fee process, not a line-specific form.

USI directs small- and medium-sized businesses interested in ExecuSafe to email Select.Business@usi.com; its Technology and Business Services practices separately route inquiries to pcinquiries@usi.com or a local USI office. 9,7,10Company-reported. Contact instructions on the ExecuSafe article and the Technology and Business Services pages.

Full Comparison

More Risklytics vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Risklytics

  1. About Risklytics: who we are. Risklytics; “What we do”; Licensing: Risklytics Insurance Services, National Producer Number 22311838, resident license Massachusetts. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  2. Insurance for Frontier Tech. Risklytics; You describe your company; One application. Written for you; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Terms of Service. Risklytics; Effective August 7, 2026; sections 1–5, 7, 9 and 12. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Directors & Officers Insurance. Risklytics; Coverage line: Directors & Officers; Built for moments like these; When to buy; Who requires it; How hard to get; Common questions. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. How pricing and broker fees work. Risklytics; Buying direct / Generic broker / Risklytics comparison table: no broker fee, commission paid by the carrier out of premium. Accessed 2026-09-23.

USI Insurance Services

  1. The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Directors & Officers Liability...; CASE STUDY: USI Benchmarking Saves Software Company $100,000 in D&O Premiums. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Protect Your Company and Personal Assets From Management Liability Risks. USI Insurance Services; JULY 5, 2023 article; common D&O claim types (Breach of Contract, Breach of Duty, Misrepresentation, Unfair Competition, Misappropriation of Trade Secrets, Securities Lawsuits, Creditor Lawsuits); Creditor Suit and Competitor Disputes scenarios; How USI Can Help; ExecuSafe endorsement packs. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Business Services. USI Insurance Services; USI advises clients...and provides solutions for...Directors & Officers Liability... Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot