Pie Insurance vs
The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
The Hartford publishes five priced professional liability products by profession; Pie's page shows no premium figures at all.
What Is Pie Insurance?
Pie Insurance sells and administers small-business commercial insurance, with affiliated carriers writing its workers’ compensation program and outside carrier partners supporting selected other products. Businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or use an agent, then manage documents, certificates, billing, audits and claim reporting through Pie’s service channels. 1,2,3
What Is The Hartford?
The Hartford is the brand of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc., whose subsidiaries underwrite property-and-casualty insurance and employee benefits. Small-business buyers can start online or by phone or work through independent agents, while the issuing company and state eligibility still have to be confirmed on a quote. 5,6,7
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 9,10,11,12
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
No Public Pricing vs. Five Priced Products
Pie's page does not publish limits, deductibles or premium ranges for errors and omissions coverage. 4 The Hartford instead breaks the line into five named products, each with its own published average minimum monthly premium:
The Hartford publishes average minimum monthly premiums by product: Misc. Professional Liability Standalone $62, Misc. Professional Liability Endorsement $41, Architects and Engineers Professional Liability $239, Healthcare Professionals Professional Liability $38, and Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies $146. The page does not publish standard coverage limits or retentions; cost and limits are set at quote. 8Company-reported. Company-reported pricing as of 2026-09-23 (page last updated by The Hartford May 4, 2026); premiums are not coverage limits.
Who Underwrites the Policy
Pie identifies itself as an intermediary placing coverage with unnamed carrier partners, rather than the underwriter for this line. 4 The Hartford's professional liability page describes the policy as its own, protecting businesses against claims of negligence, misrepresentation, inaccurate advice and related copyright infringement, without a separate broker-placement description. 8
Who Each Company Targets
Pie names architects, contractors, attorneys, engineers, consultants, marketers, counselors and real estate agents as professionals who often carry E&O. 4 The Hartford names accountants, consultants, interior designers, advertising agencies, graphic designers, technology professionals and healthcare professionals, and ties eligibility to businesses that sign contracts requiring coverage or regularly give advice to clients. 8
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
- Ask The Hartford which of its five priced products applies to your profession, since the average minimums vary widely. 8
- Ask Pie for its actual quoted premium and limit options, and which specific carrier partner would issue the policy. 4
- Ask whether an extended reporting period is available from The Hartford if you switch professions or policies later. 8
- Confirm whether criminal-prosecution defense is excluded on your Pie policy, since its page notes that exclusion. 4
Offering Details
Pie Insurance vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Pie Errors and Omissions Insurance | The Hartford Professional Liability Insurance (Errors & Omissions) |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Pie says it helps small businesses get the best errors and omissions coverage 'from our insurance carrier partners,' identifying itself as an intermediary rather than the underwriter for this line. 4Company-reported. Errors and Omissions product page as read on 2026-09-23. | The Hartford's professional liability insurance, also called errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, protects businesses when they make mistakes in the professional services provided to clients, including claims that turn out to be baseless. 8Company-reported. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed page refers only to 'our insurance carrier partners' and does not name a specific insurer for Pie's errors and omissions product. 4Not publicly disclosed. Errors and Omissions product page as read on 2026-09-23. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Who It’s For | Pie names architects, contractors, attorneys, engineers, consultants, marketers, counselors, and real estate agents as professionals who often carry E&O insurance, and notes some states or clients require proof of coverage. 4Company-reported. Errors and Omissions product page as read on 2026-09-23; not an exhaustive eligibility list. | The Hartford targets professional liability at businesses that sign contracts requiring coverage, offer professional services directly to customers, or regularly give advice to clients, and lists industries it covers: accountants, consultants, interior designers, advertising agencies, graphic designers, technology professionals and healthcare professionals. 8Company-reported. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Coverage Features | Pie describes errors and omissions insurance, also called professional liability insurance, as covering legal fees, costs, and damages for claims that a business's advice or services caused harm, including claims of inaccurate advice, misrepresentation, negligence, or violation of good faith, but says it does not protect against criminal prosecution. 4Company-reported. Errors and Omissions product page as read on 2026-09-23; the issued policy controls actual insuring agreements and exclusions. | The Hartford says the policy can cover claims of negligence, misrepresentation, inaccurate advice, personal injury (libel/slander) and copyright infringement, plus defense costs. Many of its professional liability policies are written on a claims-made basis with a retroactive date and an extended reporting period (typically 30-60 days, extendable to a year or more for an added cost), though some are written on an occurrence basis. 8Company-reported. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23. General coverage and policy-form description; the issued policy controls. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed page does not publish limits, deductibles, or premium ranges for errors and omissions coverage. 4Not publicly disclosed. Errors and Omissions product page as read on 2026-09-23. | The Hartford publishes average minimum monthly premiums by product: Misc. Professional Liability Standalone $62, Misc. Professional Liability Endorsement $41, Architects and Engineers Professional Liability $239, Healthcare Professionals Professional Liability $38, and Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies $146. The page does not publish standard coverage limits or retentions; cost and limits are set at quote. 8Company-reported. Company-reported pricing as of 2026-09-23 (page last updated by The Hartford May 4, 2026); premiums are not coverage limits. |
| How to Apply | Pie directs errors and omissions buyers to contact the company to start a quote through its website. 4Company-reported. Errors and Omissions product page as read on 2026-09-23. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More Pie Insurance vs The Hartford Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Pie Insurance
- Legal. Pie Insurance; State Licenses; footer disclosure naming producer and workers’ compensation versus third-party underwriting roles. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; Get a workers’ compensation quote online; insurance made for your small business; quote inputs; coverage description; quote-time and savings qualifications; AM Best link. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Online Account Tutorial. Pie Insurance; Payment-method updates; instant and custom certificates; policy information; document access; agent-handled custom certificate qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Errors and Omissions Insurance. Pie Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance hero: also known as professional liability insurance...; professions that often carry E&O; What's typically covered by errors and omissions insurance? Inaccurate advice, Misrepresentation, Negligence, Violation of good faith; Make sure you're covered: Start now. Accessed 2026-09-23.
The Hartford
- Legal Notice. The Hartford; The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. holding-company description; no representation that all products are available in all locations; P&C writing-company table as of December 31, 2025 including Hartford Fire (NAIC 19682) and Hartford Underwriters (NAIC 30104); life writing companies including Hartford Life and Accident (NAIC 70815). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- SaaS Insurance for Your Business. The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Find a Local Insurance Agent. The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; What Is Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; What Does Professional Liability Insurance Cover?; Who Needs Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; How Much Does Professional Liability Insurance Cost?; How Does Professional Liability Insurance Work? (claims-made vs. occurrence). Accessed 2026-09-23.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.





