| Business role | Marsh’s US compensation guide states that, as an insurance broker, Marsh’s role is to facilitate placement of insurance coverage on behalf of clients. The transparency page describes determining appropriate insurers and negotiating with those insurers. Marsh is not identified in these sources as the insurer that issues or pays the policy. 18,17,2Company-reportedUS client-compensation and transparency disclosures. Affinity/Amazon administrator language is a separate program role and is not treated as the default retail relationship. Current Marsh materials use more than one US legal name. The compensation guide (copyright 2024, Marsh LLC) refers to Marsh LLC and Marsh USA LLC entering client agreements. The transparency page instead names Marsh LLC and Marsh USA Inc. Marsh McLennan Agency is described as a wholly owned Marsh subsidiary. A 2006 California decision caption used MARSH USA, INC., dba MARSH RISK AND INSURANCE SERVICES, license 0437153. Confirm the exact contracting producer on the proposal and license documents; current California license status remains unverified. 18,17,19,20,1,31Conflicting sourcesUnresolved Inc. versus LLC naming. Affinity’s Marsh USA LLC license table is company-reported as of 8 March 2024 and is not a CDI live lookup. Brand unification in January 2026 is described as a brand change, not a change in business structure. | Small businesses can buy Pie’s workers’ compensation directly or through agents; affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ comp, while outside insurers provide some other Pie products. 34,37,35,39,40,41,42Company-reportedCurrent public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant. If parent-company ownership matters, Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the website and is regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty; AM Best identifies the insurer group as Pie Insurance Group. 36,56,54VerifiedWebsite ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary. Pie Insurance Services, Inc. is the producer that sells and administers policies; verify its current license in your state because Pie’s own license page is not regulator confirmation. 37,57Company-reportedProducer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action. |
|---|
| Coverage lines | Marsh’s Cyber Insurance practice markets brokerage of cyber policies and related analytics products. Marsh McLennan Agency’s cyber page lists solution areas such as cybercrime, extortion and ransomware, media liability, network interruption and privacy regulatory defense costs. The Technology Practice’s data-center service describes programs that can include property damage, equipment breakdown, business interruption, cyber, general liability and surety for power and interconnection obligations. Stratus is marketed as an operational property exchange for digital infrastructure with potential access to up to $10 billion of property capacity on a single placement; at launch it is focused on property, with inland marine, cyber and casualty described as possible later lines. These are marketed capabilities, not a standard startup package or guaranteed limits. 8,24,4,5,3Company-reportedDirect practice and product pages. Technology-page FAQs about software BOP, fidelity or commercial auto were not used as offering proof. Stratus capacity is company-stated potential access, not a bound limit for a named insured. Marsh’s Directors and Officers page offers D&O program design for public, private and non-profit companies. Its Employment Practices page offers EPLI, including endorsements described for firms with more than 4,000 employees and for midsize firms with 250 to 4,000 employees. Its Professional Liability page offers E&O risk-transfer design, including for technology businesses. MMA’s executive and professional liability practice lists D&O, E&O, EPL, commercial crime/fidelity, cyber, fiduciary, media, intellectual property and kidnap-and-ransom among policies it places. Endorsement headcount bands and product labels do not establish that a particular Bay Area company qualifies or that wording is equivalent across insurers. 11,12,13,25,14Company-reportedDirect Marsh F&PL expertise pages and MMA executive catalogue. Fiduciary, crime, media, IP and K&R are listed on MMA’s practice page; they were not each confirmed on a separate Marsh.com expertise URL. MMA’s business-insurance hub links casualty, property, surety, cyber, executive and professional liability, international placements, captives and small-business programs. Its property page covers commercial property and builders’ risk. Its casualty page includes workers’ compensation. MMA and Marsh sites also market employee health and benefits consulting and placement. MMA’s compensation-guide landing page exists for 2026 but the PDF body was not fully extracted here. 23,26,27,28,29,18Company-reportedMMA solution pages. Texas-office lists and business-insurance FAQ examples were not used as nationwide catalogue proof. Small-business marketing does not establish an online instant-issue product. | Pie currently markets workers’ comp, BOP, cyber, general liability and professional liability/E&O; product pages describe typical coverage, while the policy and endorsements determine your actual protection. 35,39,40,42,41,36Company-reportedPublic US Pie pages with an explicit quote or contact invitation; educational-only topics and components of a BOP were not counted as standalone offerings. If you need new or renewed commercial auto, look elsewhere: Pie stopped accepting new submissions December 1, 2025 and says it will issue no new or renewal policies after January 1, 2026; existing terms remain in force through expiry. 46,52Company-reportedPie’s former commercial-auto offering and legacy policies; commercial auto is intentionally excluded from the current coverage catalogue. Use your policy and endorsements to decide what is covered; Pie says website descriptions do not change policy terms and eligibility varies by applicant and location. 36Company-reportedWebsite descriptions and US products generally; the buyer’s issued policy and endorsements control. |
|---|
| Application process | The public Marsh path to speak with a broker is an inquiry, not an online bind. Contact pages ask you to choose an inquiry type, including a sales or RFP route. The business-inquiry page says to complete a form and that a representative will respond within 48 hours; it points existing-policy certificate, billing and policy questions elsewhere. The inquiry page does not display premiums or bind coverage. The 48-hour response time is a company statement, not a binding or service guarantee. 15,16,21Company-reportedInspected public contact-select and business-form pages on 16 September 2026 without submitting information. MMA has a separate contact page. Inquiry is not a completed insurance application. Marsh describes a broker-led placement: identifying insurers for the risk, negotiating coverage and price, and, in core US broking segments, disclosing quotes and premium indications received. It may share incumbent or competing insurer names, pricing objectives, expiring terms, or give an insurer a last look when it believes that is in the client’s interest or the client instructs it. Those market practices are disclosure statements, not a guaranteed outcome or turnaround. 18,17Company-reportedCompensation guide transparency pledges and market-activity list. Not observed live placements. | Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 34,33,35Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process. Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 38,35Company-reportedUnauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced. Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 35,33Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed. |
|---|
| Access to insurers | Marsh and MMA describe access to multiple insurers rather than a single issuing carrier for all business. MMA says it works with a wide variety of carriers. Stratus is a prior-submit exchange in which participating insurers evaluate each risk individually; the page does not name those insurers. Marsh’s compensation and transparency pages say Marsh or affiliates may receive insurer consulting compensation and may own equity interests in certain insurers or reinsurers, with a list on the transparency site. Victor, an affiliated MGU and wholesale broker, is described as accessing markets retail Marsh US cannot offer directly; that path is described for some programs and is not assumed for every placement. Ask for the issuing insurer, surplus-lines status and proposed forms on the quote. 23,5,17,18,19Not publicly disclosedNo verified carrier panel, ratings or admitted-status schedule. Amazon/Affinity producer language is program-specific. | Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 37,54,55,56VerifiedPie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state. Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 54VerifiedPie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report. For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 37,39,40,41,42Not publicly disclosedCurrent public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested. |
|---|
| Claims assistance | Marsh’s Claims Management service describes acting as an advisor among the business, insurer and third-party administrator: preparing, presenting and negotiating claims. Its cyber claims-advocacy page says specialists review claims, support litigation management, develop proof of loss with forensic accountants and advocate with insurers. MMA similarly describes claims advocacy as a carrier liaison on cyber matters and as part of property and casualty service. These are descriptions of assistance. They do not establish that Marsh pays claims, that a claim will be covered, or that recovery amounts cited in marketing were independently checked. 10,9,24,27Company-reportedCompany-reported advocacy. The cyber page’s “recovering billions” language is not adopted as a verified performance statistic. | Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 52Company-reportedPublished first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply. Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 53,43,54Conflicting sourcesPublic allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions. |
|---|