Lockton vs
USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance
USI layers a named, figure-driven program called PrivaSafe on top of placement, while Lockton advises named technology sectors without a comparable branded product.
What Is Lockton?
Lockton is a privately held insurance brokerage that arranges commercial risk, employee benefits and retirement programs. US pages describe a technology practice and intermediary placement with insurers, not Lockton as the policy’s insurer. 1,2,3
What Is USI Insurance Services?
USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 5,6,7
What Is Cyber Insurance?
Cyber insurance can help a business respond to cyber incidents and address covered liability claims arising from them. 10
Key Differences in Cyber Insurance
A Branded Program Versus a Named Practice
USI layers a proprietary, manuscripted coverage form called PrivaSafe on top of the cyber policies it places, negotiating that custom wording with the market rather than reselling a carrier's stock form. 8 Lockton instead organizes its cyber offering around a named industry practice — serving electronic hardware, information technology, internet, medical equipment, semiconductors, software and telecommunications clients — without describing a comparable branded coverage form. 2
Published Limit Figures
USI publishes specific PrivaSafe figures: coverage structured to prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit.
USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). 8Company-reported. Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations.
Lockton's reviewed pages do not publish comparable limit figures; they describe the process of quantifying a client's financial exposure before negotiating terms, without a stated number. 4
Who Each Practice Targets
USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, saying they are particularly vulnerable to cyber events because they typically lack in-house security expertise. 8 Lockton's stated client base skews toward specific hardware, software and telecom sectors rather than a company-size segment. 2
What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes
- Ask USI whether the PrivaSafe figures — the $10 million uninsured-loss structure, the $2 million notification sublimit, the $250,000 outside-limit defense allowance — apply to your specific quote. 8
- Ask Lockton for the limits its placed carrier would offer, since its pages do not publish them. 4
- Get the issuing insurer from both; USI's PrivaSafe form is manuscripted and negotiated with the market, and Lockton's pages name no carrier either. 8 4
- Confirm whether your business fits USI's middle-market target or Lockton's named technology sectors, if you fall between the two. 8 2
Offering Details
Lockton vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Lockton Cyber & Technology Insurance Brokerage | USI PrivaSafe Cyber and Privacy Liability Program |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Lockton brokers cyber insurance and pairs placement with its own risk-management advice under a three-step Inform, Improve, Insure approach: quantifying cyber financial exposure, recommending security improvements, then negotiating coverage terms with insurers. 4Company-reported. Cyber & Technology product page as read 2026-09-23. | USI is a broker, not an insurer, for cyber coverage. It places cyber and privacy liability policies for clients and layers on its own manuscripted program, PrivaSafe, rather than underwriting the risk itself. 8,6Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page and USI's property & casualty and technology practice pages. |
| Issuing Insurer | Lockton says it has built alliances with cybersecurity firms and insurer partners, but the reviewed pages do not name specific cyber insurers or which carrier would issue a given client's policy. 4Not publicly disclosed. Cyber & Technology page checked 2026-09-23. | USI does not name the insurer that issues PrivaSafe or other cyber policies on the pages reviewed. PrivaSafe is described as a manuscripted (custom-drafted) coverage form that USI negotiates with the market, so the carrier varies by placement. 8Not publicly disclosed. PrivaSafe program page as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated cyber carrier list was found. |
| Who It’s For | Lockton's technology practice says it works with clients in electronic hardware, information technology, internet, medical equipment, semiconductors, software and telecommunications, and highlights cyber liability as a core exposure for those industries. 2Company-reported. Technology industry page as read 2026-09-23. No minimum company size or revenue threshold was published. | USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, saying they are particularly vulnerable to cyber events because they have limited in-house access to security expertise. The page also says any business that gathers personal or health information, manages a network, or accepts electronic payments is a potential target. 8Company-reported. Program page marketing description, not an underwriting appetite statement. |
| Coverage Features | Not described in the reviewed sources. | USI describes PrivaSafe as covering three areas: liability costs (including inability to protect information and related tort liability), compliance and corrective costs (data breach and forensic costs, privacy regulatory costs, payment-card standards), and direct costs (network interruption, data reconstruction, cyber extortion, bricking, voluntary shutdown, reputational harm business interruption, and cyber crime). 8Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy form. |
| Limits and Retentions | Not described in the reviewed sources. | USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). 8Company-reported. Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations. |
| Risk Services | Lockton describes services beyond placement: reviewing a client's cybersecurity posture, running incident-response exercises, and helping design security governance frameworks and cyber-hygiene policies, delivered by a team it says has over 100 Associates specializing in cyber risk. 4Company-reported. Cyber & Technology product page as read 2026-09-23. | USI says PrivaSafe includes pre-breach services to help avoid cyber threats and post-breach services designed to streamline incident response and recovery, on top of USI's general property & casualty cyber specialists. 8,9Company-reported. Program page and property-casualty practice team description. |
| How to Apply | The Cyber & Technology page lists a named contact (its EVP, U.S. Cyber & Technology Leader) and the email cyber@lockton.com as the way to reach the team, rather than a self-serve online quote tool. 4Company-reported. Cyber & Technology page as read 2026-09-23. | To review cyber exposure with USI, the program page says a buyer should be ready to provide current cyber policies (if any), an assessment of its largest financial and operational cyber vulnerabilities, and its most recent audited financials. 8Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page intake description. |
Full Comparison
More Lockton vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons
Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Lockton
- Lockton United States. Lockton; Opening description of independent insurance brokerage for risk, benefits and retirement; Ask an Expert link to contact-us. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. Lockton; Unique expertise in Cyber Liability; industries served (electronic hardware, information technology, internet, medical equipment, semiconductors, software, telecommunications). Accessed 2026-09-23.
- US Terms of Business. Lockton; Opening entity definition; Surplus Lines; Use of a Particular Insurer; Compensation Disclosure; servicing, claims handling and renewal language in Confidentiality section; Intermediaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber & Technology. Lockton; A Custom Approach; The Lockton Difference; Inform, Improve, and Insure three-step approach; team of over 100 Associates; contact cyber@lockton.com. Accessed 2026-09-23.
USI Insurance Services
- The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Network Security/USI PrivaSafe... Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- USI Exclusive PrivaSafe. USI Insurance Services; How can USI help our firm...; Comprehensive Cyber Coverage Through Three Distinct Offerings (Liability Costs, Compliance/Corrective Costs, Direct Costs); Up to $2 million in notification costs...; $250,000 in defense cost coverage outside the limit; Our current local/regional broker already secured a Cyber liability policy... Accessed 2026-09-23.
- P&C Insurance and Risk Consulting. USI Insurance Services; risk management and insurance advice on broad risk exposures such as...Cyber Risk...; cyber specialists, claim advocates, risk control specialists. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Cyber Insurance Guide
- Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.






