Lockton vs
TechInsurance D&O Insurance
Lockton names a dedicated D&O claims team for brokered placements; TechInsurance instead reports a specific median monthly premium.
What Is Lockton?
Lockton is a privately held insurance brokerage that arranges commercial risk, employee benefits and retirement programs. US pages describe a technology practice and intermediary placement with insurers, not Lockton as the policy’s insurer. 1,2,3
What Is TechInsurance?
TechInsurance is a small-business insurance agency and brokerage with a technology focus, offering online quote comparison and agent assistance through the Insureon organization. 5,6
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 8
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Program Design Versus a Published Price
Lockton frames its value around program structure and claims advocacy rather than a listed price. 4 TechInsurance instead publishes a specific cost figure:
TechInsurance says D&O policyholders pay a median of $133 per month, with the exact premium depending on policy limits, deductible, legal jurisdiction, industry risk, headcount, revenue, claims history and IPO potential. 7Company-reported. D&O product page cost section; a company-reported median from TechInsurance's own book of business, not a published rate table.
Standalone Only, or Standalone Plus an Endorsement
TechInsurance offers a structural choice Lockton's page doesn't describe: its D&O can be bought standalone or as an endorsement to a general liability or business owner's policy. 7 Lockton's page describes designing and placing D&O programs as a standalone service, without a comparable attach-to-a-general-policy option. 4
Who Can Be Covered
Lockton's page lists an unusually broad set of insureds a program it places can extend to, including trustees, committee members and volunteers. 4 TechInsurance instead targets D&O at companies with an active board generally — employers with employees or stockholders, VC-backed startups, nonprofits — without listing extended categories of insured individuals. 7
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask Lockton which insurers it typically places D&O with; the reviewed page doesn't name one. 4
- Ask TechInsurance whether the reported median premium reflects your company's size, industry and claims history. 7
- Confirm published limits with both directly; neither states a specific figure for your company. 4 7
- If you already carry a general liability or business owner's policy, ask TechInsurance whether an endorsement changes the claims-made trigger compared with Lockton's standalone placement. 7
Offering Details
Lockton vs TechInsurance D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Lockton Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance Brokerage | TechInsurance Directors and Officers Insurance (D&O) |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Lockton designs and places D&O programs rather than underwriting them, saying effective coverage requires market intelligence, coverage-design precision and staying ahead of emerging risks like AI-related litigation and event-driven claims. 4Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. | TechInsurance arranges directors and officers (D&O) insurance, a type of management liability insurance, and says it can be purchased as a standalone policy or as an endorsement to a general liability policy or business owner's policy. 7Company-reported. D&O product page. |
| Issuing Insurer | The D&O page does not name the insurers Lockton places D&O coverage with. 4Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page checked 2026-09-23. | The reviewed page does not name the issuing insurer for a D&O policy. 7Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Lockton says D&O coverage it places can extend beyond directors and officers to trustees, employees, independent contractors, staff, committee members, volunteers, the corporate entity, majority-owned subsidiaries, spouses/domestic partners, and estates/heirs. 4Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. Describes who can typically be covered under a program Lockton structures, not a guarantee for any specific client. | TechInsurance targets D&O at companies with an active board, naming employers with employees or stockholders, venture-backed startups (where investor term sheets often require the coverage), and nonprofits (where most states require a board of directors) as examples. 7Company-reported. D&O product page, Who needs D&O insurance coverage? section. |
| Coverage Features | Lockton explains a traditional D&O program in three parts it says it can structure: Side A (direct coverage to individual directors/officers when the company can't indemnify them), Side B (reimbursing the company for indemnifying its D&Os), and Side C (entity coverage, generally limited to securities claims for public companies but broader for private and nonprofit organizations). 4Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. General educational description of program structure, not a specimen policy form. | TechInsurance says D&O covers legal costs when directors, board members or officers are sued over employment practices, fund mismanagement, failure to follow corporate bylaws, regulatory non-compliance, or IP infringement or libel tied to their decisions, and structures coverage into Side A (personal protection), Side B (company reimbursement) and Side C (entity coverage, mainly for public-company securities claims). 7Company-reported. D&O product page; general policy description, not a specific policy form. TechInsurance says D&O is a claims-made policy, meaning coverage applies only if the policy is active when a claim is made, and that criminal acts by directors or officers, such as fraud or embezzlement, are excluded. 7Company-reported. D&O product page, How does directors and officers insurance work? and exclusions sections. |
| Limits and Retentions | Not described in the reviewed sources. | TechInsurance says D&O policyholders pay a median of $133 per month, with the exact premium depending on policy limits, deductible, legal jurisdiction, industry risk, headcount, revenue, claims history and IPO potential. 7Company-reported. D&O product page cost section; a company-reported median from TechInsurance's own book of business, not a published rate table. |
| Claims Support | Lockton says its Professional & Executive Risk Claims team integrates experienced insurance and claims counsel within the broking team from the start of the relationship, rather than treating claims advocacy as a separate profit center. 4Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More Lockton vs TechInsurance Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Lockton
- Lockton United States. Lockton; Opening description of independent insurance brokerage for risk, benefits and retirement; Ask an Expert link to contact-us. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. Lockton; Industry introduction; cyber liability heading; dedicated technology team; listed services including claims advocacy, contract review, directors and officers liability, and international program design; 24/7 service model. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- US Terms of Business. Lockton; Opening entity definition; Surplus Lines; Use of a Particular Insurer; Compensation Disclosure; servicing, claims handling and renewal language in Confidentiality section; Intermediaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- D&O Insurance. Lockton; What is D&O insurance?; Side A/B/C coverage components; Who can be covered under a D&O program?; Claims management. Accessed 2026-09-23.
TechInsurance
- About TechInsurance. TechInsurance; Opening description; one-application process; History of TechInsurance, 2011 and 2022 entries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. TechInsurance; FAQs: How does TechInsurance work? (agent assistance obtaining surety bonds); agent or broker role; application; finding quotes; updating address; certificates. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Directors and Officers Insurance (D&O) Quotes Online. TechInsurance; What does directors and officers insurance cover? (employment practices, mismanaged funds, corporate bylaws, regulatory compliance, IP infringement); What does side A, B, and C mean in D&O insurance?; How much does directors and officers insurance cost?; How do you get a certificate of insurance? (standalone or endorsement). Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





