Lockton vs
RiskCube D&O Insurance
Lockton highlights a dedicated D&O claims team; RiskCube instead checks every AI-company D&O policy for AI-specific exclusions before binding.
What Is Lockton?
Lockton is a privately held insurance brokerage that arranges commercial risk, employee benefits and retirement programs. US pages describe a technology practice and intermediary placement with insurers, not Lockton as the policy’s insurer. 1,2,3
What Is RiskCube Insurance?
RiskCube offers startup insurance brokerage through RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC, with a platform for comparing quotes and managing policies. Its published services emphasize vendor requirements, certificates and renewals; California product eligibility and applicable fees require confirmation. 5,6,7
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 9
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Two Different Value Propositions
Lockton frames its role around program design and staying ahead of emerging risks like AI-related litigation. 4 RiskCube instead names a concrete step it takes for one sector:
RiskCube says it checks every AI-company D&O policy for AI-related exclusions or sublimits before binding, to address "AI washing" allegations and oversight claims. 8Company-reported. D&O product page "AI & governance risk" FAQ.
Lockton describes watching a risk category broadly; RiskCube describes checking for it inside the actual policy wording.
Entity Role
RiskCube's disclosures state directly that it is not a carrier and does not underwrite, with its products issued by unnamed third-party insurers. 8 Lockton describes its role similarly as designing and placing programs rather than underwriting, though its page doesn't carry a comparable standalone disclosures statement. 4
Claims Handling
Lockton names a specific integrated claims team as part of its broking practice. 4 RiskCube's reviewed D&O page doesn't describe claims handling or a dedicated claims team for this line, leaving that part of the process undocumented on its site. 8
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask Lockton which insurers it typically places D&O with; the reviewed page doesn't name one. 4
- Ask RiskCube which carrier it selected for your policy and whether that carrier applies an AI exclusion or sublimit. 8
- Confirm published limits with both directly; neither page states a specific figure for your company. 4 8
- Ask RiskCube for the typical quote turnaround it describes and whether that applies to a company your size. 8
Offering Details
Lockton vs RiskCube D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Lockton Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance Brokerage | RiskCube Directors and Officers (D&O) Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Lockton designs and places D&O programs rather than underwriting them, saying effective coverage requires market intelligence, coverage-design precision and staying ahead of emerging risks like AI-related litigation and event-driven claims. 4Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. | RiskCube compares D&O policies across carriers and describes itself as an independent brokerage rather than the underwriter of the policy. 8Company-reported. D&O product page footer and general framing of the coverage as "tailored D&O coverage" it provides access to, not a self-underwritten product. |
| Issuing Insurer | The D&O page does not name the insurers Lockton places D&O coverage with. 4Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page checked 2026-09-23. | RiskCube's disclosures say it is not an insurance carrier and that its insurance products, including D&O, are underwritten and issued by third-party carriers it does not name; the D&O page itself does not identify an issuing insurer. 7,8Company-reported. Company-wide entity and licensing disclosure and the D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Lockton says D&O coverage it places can extend beyond directors and officers to trustees, employees, independent contractors, staff, committee members, volunteers, the corporate entity, majority-owned subsidiaries, spouses/domestic partners, and estates/heirs. 4Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. Describes who can typically be covered under a program Lockton structures, not a guarantee for any specific client. | RiskCube targets D&O at startups raising institutional funding rounds or adding board members, and at regulated sectors such as AI, fintech, govtech, defense and space, saying investors and boards increasingly require D&O as a closing condition. 8Company-reported. D&O product page "Who needs D&O insurance" section. |
| Coverage Features | Lockton explains a traditional D&O program in three parts it says it can structure: Side A (direct coverage to individual directors/officers when the company can't indemnify them), Side B (reimbursing the company for indemnifying its D&Os), and Side C (entity coverage, generally limited to securities claims for public companies but broader for private and nonprofit organizations). 4Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. General educational description of program structure, not a specimen policy form. | RiskCube describes a typical private-company D&O program as combining Side A coverage (individual directors and officers when the company can't indemnify them), Side B coverage (reimbursing the company after it indemnifies leadership) and Side C coverage (protecting the company itself). 8Company-reported. D&O product page coverage explanation. RiskCube lists common D&O exclusions including intentional fraud, prior known litigation, insured-versus-insured disputes and illegal profit, and notes that exclusions vary by carrier and policy wording. 8Company-reported. D&O product page "Common Exclusions" section. |
| Limits and Retentions | Not described in the reviewed sources. | RiskCube says needed D&O limits vary by fundraising stage, board composition and investor expectations, but does not publish specific limit or retention amounts on the product page. 8Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page "How much D&O insurance do startups need" FAQ. |
| Risk Services | Not described in the reviewed sources. | RiskCube says it checks every AI-company D&O policy for AI-related exclusions or sublimits before binding, to address "AI washing" allegations and oversight claims. 8Company-reported. D&O product page "AI & governance risk" FAQ. |
| How to Apply | Not described in the reviewed sources. | RiskCube describes a roughly 10-minute digital intake covering fundraising history, capitalization, board structure, revenue and prior litigation, then says its AI agents and licensed brokers compare carrier quotes, typically returning D&O quotes within one to two business days and proof of coverage in about 24 hours after a policy is selected. 8Company-reported. D&O product page process steps and "How fast can we get D and O insurance quotes" FAQ. |
| Claims Support | Lockton says its Professional & Executive Risk Claims team integrates experienced insurance and claims counsel within the broking team from the start of the relationship, rather than treating claims advocacy as a separate profit center. 4Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. | The reviewed D&O page does not describe claims handling or a dedicated claims team for this line. 8Not found in reviewed sources. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23. |
Full Comparison
More Lockton vs RiskCube Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Lockton
- Lockton United States. Lockton; Opening description of independent insurance brokerage for risk, benefits and retirement; Ask an Expert link to contact-us. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. Lockton; Industry introduction; cyber liability heading; dedicated technology team; listed services including claims advocacy, contract review, directors and officers liability, and international program design; 24/7 service model. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- US Terms of Business. Lockton; Opening entity definition; Surplus Lines; Use of a Particular Insurer; Compensation Disclosure; servicing, claims handling and renewal language in Confidentiality section; Intermediaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- D&O Insurance. Lockton; What is D&O insurance?; Side A/B/C coverage components; Who can be covered under a D&O program?; Claims management. Accessed 2026-09-23.
RiskCube
- Startup Business Insurance. RiskCube; Solution; Compare/Buy/Manage; Who we insure; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Licenses & Disclosures. RiskCube; Property & Casualty Producer/Broker Licenses; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Disclosures & Compensation. RiskCube; Section 1, Entity and Licensing Disclosure: "RiskCube is not an insurance carrier and does not underwrite insurance. Insurance coverage is offered, underwritten, and issued by third-party insurance carriers". Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance. RiskCube; Who needs D&O; Side A/B/C coverage explanation; What's covered; Common Exclusions; FAQs; application steps; "Independent brokerage · NPN 21694336" footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





