HUB International vs
Lockton D&O Insurance
HUB’s ProEx D&O page names private, nonprofit and public buyers; Lockton structures Side A, B and C and names an integrated claims team.
What Is HUB International?
HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 1,2,3
What Is Lockton?
Lockton is a privately held insurance brokerage that arranges commercial risk, employee benefits and retirement programs. US pages describe a technology practice and intermediary placement with insurers, not Lockton as the policy’s insurer. 6,7,8
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 10
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
How Each Broker Describes the Form
HUB describes the D&O it arranges in three practical buckets: personal-asset protection for judgments after an alleged breach of duty, loyalty or care; defense in civil, criminal, administrative, regulatory or arbitration proceedings; and workplace and employment protection. 4 Lockton describes a traditional program as Side A (individuals when the company cannot indemnify), Side B (company reimbursement) and Side C (entity cover, generally securities-only for public companies and broader for private and nonprofit organizations). 9
Who Can Be an Insured
HUB’s eligibility copy is by company type: private, nonprofit and public. 4 Lockton lists people and entities a program it places can extend to, including trustees, employees, independent contractors, volunteers, majority-owned subsidiaries, spouses and estates. 9
Claims Staffing
Both name specialized claims help rather than issuing the policy themselves. HUB’s ProEx Claims & Legal Risks Group is staffed by attorneys and describes support from pre-claim wording review through recovery. 5 Lockton says its Professional & Executive Risk Claims team puts insurance and claims counsel inside the broking team from the start of the relationship, rather than treating advocacy as a separate profit center. 9 Neither reviewed D&O page names the issuing insurer. 4 9
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask both brokers to map Side A, B and C (or equivalent) on the actual form, since HUB’s public copy uses different labels than Lockton’s. 4 9
- Confirm who is an insured person or entity, especially subsidiaries, volunteers and estates that Lockton lists. 9
- Ask how claims counsel is assigned on day one versus after a notice of claim. 5 9
- Get the carrier name, limits and retentions on both quotes; those figures are not published on the reviewed pages. 5 9
Offering Details
HUB International vs Lockton D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | HUB International Directors and Officers Insurance Brokerage | Lockton Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance Brokerage |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | HUB brokers D&O liability coverage for private, nonprofit and public-company clients as part of its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice, rather than underwriting the policy itself. 4,5Company-reported. D&O product page and ProEx coverage list, read 2026-09-23. Neither page names an issuing insurer. | Lockton designs and places D&O programs rather than underwriting them, saying effective coverage requires market intelligence, coverage-design precision and staying ahead of emerging risks like AI-related litigation and event-driven claims. 9Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Issuing Insurer | The D&O product page and the ProEx coverage list do not name an issuing insurer for D&O policies; HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with insurers it calls top-rated carriers, without naming them. 4,5Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific D&O placement depends on the quote. | The D&O page does not name the insurers Lockton places D&O coverage with. 9Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page checked 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | HUB markets D&O brokerage to three segments: private companies with customer and supplier relationships, nonprofits with advisory boards or committees, and public companies with shareholders. 4Company-reported. D&O product page target-market description; not an underwriting appetite statement. | Lockton says D&O coverage it places can extend beyond directors and officers to trustees, employees, independent contractors, staff, committee members, volunteers, the corporate entity, majority-owned subsidiaries, spouses/domestic partners, and estates/heirs. 9Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. Describes who can typically be covered under a program Lockton structures, not a guarantee for any specific client. |
| Coverage Features | HUB describes D&O coverage it arranges as addressing three areas: personal asset protection for monetary judgments and settlements from an alleged breach of duty, loyalty or care; defense in civil, criminal, judicial, administrative, regulatory or arbitration proceedings; and workplace and employment protection for breach-of-fiduciary-duty and employment-related suits. 4Company-reported. Product-page marketing description; the issued policy's insuring agreements, conditions and exclusions control an actual claim. HUB says D&O claims it sees can come from regulators, donors, clients or customers, suppliers, competitors, employees, shareholders and creditors. 4Company-reported. Product-page list of potential claim sources; not a guarantee of coverage for any specific claimant. | Lockton explains a traditional D&O program in three parts it says it can structure: Side A (direct coverage to individual directors/officers when the company can't indemnify them), Side B (reimbursing the company for indemnifying its D&Os), and Side C (entity coverage, generally limited to securities claims for public companies but broader for private and nonprofit organizations). 9Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. General educational description of program structure, not a specimen policy form. |
| Limits and Retentions | Published D&O policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed pages. 4,5Not publicly disclosed. Checked the D&O product page and ProEx page on 2026-09-23; limits are set on the quote and declarations. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Risk Services | HUB says its ProEx practice, which lists D&O among its Executive Liability coverages, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services to clients of all sizes, led by a named ProEx practice leader. 5Company-reported. ProEx page team and services description; not specific to a single D&O engagement. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| How to Apply | HUB directs D&O prospects to "Connect With a Broker" rather than an online quote or bind flow. 4Company-reported. D&O product page call to action. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Claims Support | HUB describes a Claims & Legal Risks Group, staffed by attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages including D&O, that provides management-liability claims support from pre-claim policy-wording review through claim recovery. 5Company-reported. ProEx page claims and legal support section. | Lockton says its Professional & Executive Risk Claims team integrates experienced insurance and claims counsel within the broking team from the start of the relationship, rather than treating claims advocacy as a separate profit center. 9Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. |
Full Comparison
More HUB International vs Lockton Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
HUB International
- About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance Broker. HUB International; Target segments: private companies, nonprofit organizations, public companies; Personal Asset Protection, Claims Protection, Workplace & Employment Protection; list of potential claimants; 2016 private-company D&O claim statistic; Connect With a Broker call to action. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- HUB ProEx. HUB International; ProEx Coverages list including Directors & Officers Liability (D&O) and Side-A Only Excess D&O under Executive Liability; Claims & Legal Support section; ProEx premium volume statement. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Lockton
- Lockton United States. Lockton; Opening description of independent insurance brokerage for risk, benefits and retirement; Ask an Expert link to contact-us. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. Lockton; Industry introduction; cyber liability heading; dedicated technology team; listed services including claims advocacy, contract review, directors and officers liability, and international program design; 24/7 service model. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- US Terms of Business. Lockton; Opening entity definition; Surplus Lines; Use of a Particular Insurer; Compensation Disclosure; servicing, claims handling and renewal language in Confidentiality section; Intermediaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- D&O Insurance. Lockton; What is D&O insurance?; Side A/B/C coverage components; Who can be covered under a D&O program?; Claims management. Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





