Harper vs
TechInsurance Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
TechInsurance publishes a median E&O premium and a claims-contact process; Harper's pages publish neither, describing pricing drivers and an exclusions review instead.
What Is Harper Insurance?
Harper is a commercial insurance brokerage for businesses with complex risks. Its specialists use AI tools to gather information, seek quotes from insurers and help customers manage coverage. 1,2
What Is TechInsurance?
TechInsurance is a small-business insurance agency and brokerage with a technology focus, offering online quote comparison and agent assistance through the Insureon organization. 6,7
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 9,10,11,12
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Published Cost
TechInsurance discloses a specific figure drawn from its own book of business:
TechInsurance says its E&O policyholders pay a median of $88 per month, or $1,051 a year, with the exact premium depending on location, profession risk level, coverage limits, deductible, employee count, claims history and annual income. 8Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page cost section; a company-reported median from TechInsurance's own book of business, not a published rate table.
Harper's pages do not publish a comparable cost figure; they instead name pricing drivers, services performed, revenue and contract size, without a stated dollar amount. 3
Claims Process
TechInsurance says that if a client threatens to sue, you contact your carrier directly, provide policy information and explain the circumstances, and the insurer's representative helps determine next steps. 8 Harper's pages do not describe a comparable claims-contact process; they instead describe a specialist reading exclusions line by line before a client buys, saying two E&O policies with the same limit can respond very differently to the same claim. 3
Policy Trigger
TechInsurance says its E&O policies are claims-made, meaning coverage applies only if the policy was active both when the incident occurred and when the claim was filed, and recommends a retroactive date to cover past work. 8 Harper's pages instead say claims often surface a year or more after the work was delivered, without stating whether the policies it places are claims-made or occurrence. 3
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
- Confirm whether TechInsurance's $88-a-month median reflects a business at your revenue and risk level, since the figure comes from its own book of business. 8
- Ask Harper for a specific premium range for your profession, since its pages name pricing drivers without a dollar figure. 3
- Neither TechInsurance's nor Harper's reviewed pages name an issuing insurer; ask both directly. 8 3
- Ask TechInsurance whether a retroactive date is already set for your policy, and ask Harper whether a claim tied to older work would still be covered under the limit it recommends. 8 3
Offering Details
Harper vs TechInsurance Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Harper Professional Liability Insurance | TechInsurance Errors and Omissions Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Harper places professional liability coverage as a broker, writing the policy around the applicant's actual services rather than underwriting it, and describes a specialist handling the placement. 3Company-reported. Professional liability page introduction and 'Why Harper' section. Harper markets the identical policy under two catalogue entries, "Professional Liability" and "Errors and Omissions"; the E&O page states it is the same policy, just named what a given industry calls it. 4,5Company-reported. Coverage directory listing plus the E&O page's own description; a naming convention Harper states about itself, not a distinction between two products. | TechInsurance arranges errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, as a standalone policy for businesses that provide professional services or advice. 8Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed pages name pricing drivers (services performed, revenue, contract size) but do not name the issuing insurer or publish specific limit, retention or premium figures for this line. 3,4Not publicly disclosed. Checked both the professional-liability and errors-and-omissions pages on 2026-09-23; neither names a carrier or a limit figure. | The reviewed page does not name the issuing insurer for an E&O policy. 8Not publicly disclosed. Errors and omissions product page as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Harper targets consultants, agencies, tech firms and licensed professionals whose work product is advice, design or a decision, since general liability doesn't cover a client claiming that work caused a financial loss. 3Company-reported. Professional liability page introduction and FAQ distinguishing it from general liability. | TechInsurance targets E&O at businesses that provide professional services or advice, naming IT and software professionals, cybersecurity and SaaS companies, insurance agents, real estate agents, tax preparers and consultants as example segments, and notes it is sometimes required by state law or licensing boards. 8Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page, Who should get errors and omissions insurance coverage? section. |
| Coverage Features | Harper describes coverage for errors and omissions in the work itself, negligence allegations about professional judgment, and legal defense costs, with limits it says are matched to the client contracts that require the policy. 3,4Company-reported. Professional liability page's four coverage tiles; the E&O page adds that claims often surface a year or more after the work was delivered. The issued policy and its exclusions control actual scope. | TechInsurance says E&O insurance covers professional negligence claims, errors or incomplete work, breach of contract, missed deadlines, misrepresentation of skill level, and communication-related disputes, and pays legal defense costs and any resulting judgment or settlement. 8Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page; general policy description, not a specific policy form. TechInsurance says its E&O policies are claims-made, meaning coverage applies only if the policy was active both when the incident occurred and when the claim was filed, and recommends keeping the policy active or setting a retroactive date to cover past work. 8Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page, Why is it important to keep your E&O insurance policy active? section. |
| Limits and Retentions | Not described in the reviewed sources. | TechInsurance says its E&O policyholders pay a median of $88 per month, or $1,051 a year, with the exact premium depending on location, profession risk level, coverage limits, deductible, employee count, claims history and annual income. 8Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page cost section; a company-reported median from TechInsurance's own book of business, not a published rate table. |
| Risk Services | Harper says it reads a policy's exclusions line by line before a client buys, because two E&O policies with the same limit can respond very differently to the same claim. 3Company-reported. Professional liability page 'We know this' section; a described review practice, not an independently verified outcome. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| How to Apply | You request a quote online or by phone; if a client contract requires E&O, Harper says it places coverage matching that requirement and issues the certificate the same day. 3Company-reported. Professional liability page quote form and FAQ 'My client contract requires E&O. What now?'. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Claims Support | Not described in the reviewed sources. | TechInsurance says that if a client threatens to sue, you contact your carrier directly, provide policy information and explain the circumstances, and the insurer's representative helps determine next steps. 8Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page, How does E&O insurance coverage work? section. |
Full Comparison
More Harper vs TechInsurance Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Harper
- Text Messaging Terms and Conditions. Harper Global Enterprises Inc.; Effective August 24, 2026; sections 1–3 (entity, consent and service messages), 5 (message costs), 9 (delivery) and 11 (coverage confirmation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- We're Announcing $47M to Build the Insurance Company Every Business Deserves. Harper / Dakotah Rice; February 26, 2026 article: brokerage identity; AI-assisted submissions and follow-ups; 24–48-hour coverage statement; more than 165 underwriters; plans for additional direct appointments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Professional Liability Insurance. Harper; Know your coverage: What is Professional Liability insurance?; Errors & omissions, Negligence allegations, Legal defense, Contract-driven limits; Why Harper; FAQs on general liability vs. E&O, client E&O requirements, and pricing drivers. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Errors and Omissions Insurance. Harper; Page states the product is 'Same policy as professional liability, just what your industry calls it'; describes financial-loss claims from professional services and late-arriving claims. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- What We Cover. Harper; Coverage directory list including Errors and Omissions and Professional Liability as separate catalogue entries. Accessed 2026-09-23.
TechInsurance
- About TechInsurance. TechInsurance; Opening description; one-application process; History of TechInsurance, 2011 and 2022 entries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. TechInsurance; FAQs: How does TechInsurance work? (agent assistance obtaining surety bonds); agent or broker role; application; finding quotes; updating address; certificates. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Errors & Omissions (E&O) Insurance. TechInsurance; What does errors and omissions insurance cover? (professional negligence, errors or incomplete work, breach of contract, missed deadlines, misrepresentation, communication challenges); How much does E&O insurance cost?; Who should get errors and omissions insurance coverage?; How does E&O insurance coverage work? (claims-made). Accessed 2026-09-23.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.





