Gallagher vs
The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
The Hartford publishes average minimum premiums for five named professional liability products; Gallagher's page names none.
What Is Gallagher?
Gallagher is a business-insurance broker and risk-management consultancy. Its technology practice serves startups through global enterprises, alongside a separate small-business offering for IT professionals and an executive-risk practice covering D&O and transaction-related coverages. Woodruff Sawyer is now part of Gallagher. 1,2,3,4,5
What Is The Hartford?
The Hartford is the brand of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc., whose subsidiaries underwrite property-and-casualty insurance and employee benefits. Small-business buyers can start online or by phone or work through independent agents, while the issuing company and state eligibility still have to be confirmed on a quote. 7,8,9
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 11,12,13,14
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Published Pricing
The Hartford publishes average minimum monthly premiums broken out by product:
The Hartford publishes average minimum monthly premiums by product: Misc. Professional Liability Standalone $62, Misc. Professional Liability Endorsement $41, Architects and Engineers Professional Liability $239, Healthcare Professionals Professional Liability $38, and Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies $146. The page does not publish standard coverage limits or retentions; cost and limits are set at quote. 10Company-reported. Company-reported pricing as of 2026-09-23 (page last updated by The Hartford May 4, 2026); premiums are not coverage limits.
Gallagher's page does not publish comparable pricing; it instead says the E&O market has seen rate increases that have started to moderate, driven by higher claim frequency and litigation costs. 6
Policy Trigger and Reporting Period
The Hartford says many of its professional liability policies are written on a claims-made basis with a retroactive date and an extended reporting period, typically 30 to 60 days and extendable to a year or more, though some are written on an occurrence basis. 10 Gallagher's page does not state whether the policies it arranges are claims-made or occurrence; it names covered scenarios such as negligence, personal injury and copyright infringement instead. 6
Who Each Page Names as a Fit
The Hartford targets professional liability at businesses that sign contracts requiring coverage, offer professional services directly to customers, or regularly give advice to clients, naming accountants, consultants, interior designers, advertising agencies, graphic designers, technology professionals and healthcare professionals. 10 Gallagher instead names technology, insurance, accounting, tax, wealth management and legal services, plus doctors, lawyers, accountants, nurses, caregivers, counselors, social workers and engineers. 6
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
- The Hartford's published averages span $38 to $239 across five products; confirm which one and which figure applies to your profession. 10
- Ask Gallagher for a specific premium quote, since its page describes market conditions rather than a price. 6
- Ask The Hartford whether your policy would be written claims-made or occurrence, and what an extended reporting period would cost. 10
- Neither reviewed page publishes standard coverage limits or retentions; request both directly. 10 6
Offering Details
Gallagher vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Gallagher Small Business Errors and Omissions Insurance | The Hartford Professional Liability Insurance (Errors & Omissions) |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Gallagher Small Business arranges errors and omissions (E&O) coverage with partner carriers rather than underwriting the policy itself. 6Company-reported. Gallagher Small Business's direct-to-small-business E&O product page. | The Hartford's professional liability insurance, also called errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, protects businesses when they make mistakes in the professional services provided to clients, including claims that turn out to be baseless. 10Company-reported. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Issuing Insurer | The E&O product page does not name the insurer that would issue a given business's policy. 6Not publicly disclosed. Checked the E&O product page on 2026-09-23. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Who It’s For | Gallagher recommends E&O for small businesses that provide a specific professional service, naming technology, insurance, accounting, tax, wealth management and legal services, and lists doctors, lawyers, accountants, nurses, caregivers, counselors, social workers and engineers as example professionals; it also notes that many client contracts require carrying E&O. 6Company-reported. Product page eligibility and recommended-professions lists; actual acceptance depends on underwriting. | The Hartford targets professional liability at businesses that sign contracts requiring coverage, offer professional services directly to customers, or regularly give advice to clients, and lists industries it covers: accountants, consultants, interior designers, advertising agencies, graphic designers, technology professionals and healthcare professionals. 10Company-reported. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Coverage Features | Gallagher describes E&O as protecting against client charges of negligence or injury tied to professional services, covering losses, attorney fees and court costs regardless of fault, and specifically responding to alleged or actual negligence, personal injury, copyright infringement, punitive damages, and claims against past work, temporary staff or independent contractors. 6Company-reported. Product page coverage description; the issued policy and its exclusions control. Note this record excludes medical malpractice, which the page treats as a separate specialized coverage covered under its own line. Gallagher's small-business team says the E&O market has seen consistent rate increases that have started to moderate, driven by higher claim frequency, litigation costs and a more litigious environment, and that insurers are more selective and require more detailed underwriting information. 6Company-reported. Product page market-commentary section; a general market view, not a quote for any specific business. | The Hartford says the policy can cover claims of negligence, misrepresentation, inaccurate advice, personal injury (libel/slander) and copyright infringement, plus defense costs. Many of its professional liability policies are written on a claims-made basis with a retroactive date and an extended reporting period (typically 30-60 days, extendable to a year or more for an added cost), though some are written on an occurrence basis. 10Company-reported. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23. General coverage and policy-form description; the issued policy controls. |
| Limits and Retentions | The E&O product page does not publish limits, deductibles or premiums; it directs prospective buyers to request a quote instead. 6Not publicly disclosed. Checked the E&O product page on 2026-09-23. | The Hartford publishes average minimum monthly premiums by product: Misc. Professional Liability Standalone $62, Misc. Professional Liability Endorsement $41, Architects and Engineers Professional Liability $239, Healthcare Professionals Professional Liability $38, and Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies $146. The page does not publish standard coverage limits or retentions; cost and limits are set at quote. 10Company-reported. Company-reported pricing as of 2026-09-23 (page last updated by The Hartford May 4, 2026); premiums are not coverage limits. |
| How to Apply | Gallagher offers an online quote form, a small business advisor phone line (1-833-292-9441, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., continental U.S.), and a scheduled callback request to start an E&O quote. 6Company-reported. Product page "Get Covered Now" section. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More Gallagher vs The Hartford Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Gallagher
- Technology Insurance. Gallagher; Introduction; Solutions and coverages for the technology industry: Technology errors and omissions including cyber, Intellectual property insurance, Product liability, Employee benefits; Data-driven insights; global network. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for Technology & IT Businesses. Gallagher Small Business; Protection for IT Professionals & Their Technology-Based Businesses; recommended coverage menu, including Surety Bond Programs; Connect With An Advisor. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Executive and Financial Risk Insurance. Gallagher; Opening (insurance broking and placement); three key services; Directors and Officers; IPO and direct listings; Employment Practices; Fiduciary; Employee Dishonesty (Crime) and Fidelity Bond; Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion; M&A Transactional Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Legal Information. Gallagher Small Business; Producer identification immediately above Quick Links. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Woodruff Sawyer Is Now Gallagher. Gallagher; Opening; Executive and Financial Risk consulting; Continued access to client portals; contact form. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Errors and Omissions Insurance. Gallagher Small Business; What is Errors and Omissions Insurance?; Do you need Errors and Omissions insurance?; Recommended for professionals including; E&O trends; An E&O policy protects you from; Consider this claim scenario; Get Covered Now. Accessed 2026-09-23.
The Hartford
- Legal Notice. The Hartford; The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. holding-company description; no representation that all products are available in all locations; P&C writing-company table as of December 31, 2025 including Hartford Fire (NAIC 19682) and Hartford Underwriters (NAIC 30104); life writing companies including Hartford Life and Accident (NAIC 70815). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- SaaS Insurance for Your Business. The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Find a Local Insurance Agent. The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; What Is Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; What Does Professional Liability Insurance Cover?; Who Needs Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; How Much Does Professional Liability Insurance Cost?; How Does Professional Liability Insurance Work? (claims-made vs. occurrence). Accessed 2026-09-23.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.





