Cowbell vs
Harper Cyber Insurance
Cowbell binds Prime policies through appointed agents in minutes, while Harper describes calling carriers and presenting the options.
What Is Cowbell Insurance?
Cowbell is a specialty-insurance platform and agency focused on cyber risk for small and midsize businesses. Its U.S. catalogue also includes combined Technology E&O and cyber products and a Zurich management-liability offering distributed through appointed wholesalers. 1,2,3
What Is Harper Insurance?
Harper is a commercial insurance brokerage for businesses with complex risks. Its specialists use AI tools to gather information, seek quotes from insurers and help customers manage coverage. 9,10
What Is Cyber Insurance?
Cyber insurance can help a business respond to cyber incidents and address covered liability claims arising from them. 13
Key Differences in Cyber Insurance
How the Policy Gets Bound
Cowbell says agents can quote, bind and issue a Prime 100 policy in under five minutes, and Prime 100 Pro requires only six underwriting questions for accounts under $50 million in revenue. 4 12
Who Each Offering Targets
Cowbell sorts eligibility by revenue band across its Prime tiers, from SMEs up to $100 million to organizations up to $1 billion. 4 6 11
What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes
- Ask Harper which specific carriers it's calling on your behalf and what options come back. 12
- Ask which Cowbell Prime tier fits your revenue, since the underwriter and endorsements change by tier. 4
- Ask Harper for limit, retention and claims-trigger figures, none of which appear on its reviewed pages. 11
- Confirm whether Harper's carrier options include any risk-management services comparable to Cowbell's bundled tools. 11 4
Offering Details
Cowbell vs Harper Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Cowbell Prime Cyber Insurance (Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One, Prime Plus) | Harper Cyber Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Cowbell operates as an insurance agency that markets its own named 'Prime' cyber product line, rather than distributing another carrier's off-the-shelf policy under its own brand. 4,6,7Company-reported. Product overview PDFs for Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One and Prime Plus. | For cyber insurance, Harper describes calling the insurance companies that write the coverage for a business and presenting the resulting options to choose from, rather than issuing a cyber policy itself. 12Company-reported. Homepage 'What we cover' introduction and coverage list, where cyber is one of the enumerated lines. |
| Issuing Insurer | Cowbell says Prime 100 and Prime 100 Pro paper is provided by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company (AM Best A rating), Prime 250 by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company and Chaucer Insurance Company, and Prime One by Chaucer Specialty Insurance Company; the insurer therefore varies by which Prime product is placed. 4,6,7Company-reported. Footer/underwriting statements in each product PDF. | Harper's public pages do not name the insurer or insurers that would underwrite a cyber policy; the homepage shows an unlabeled panel of insurer logos it says it works with, without listing carriers for cyber specifically. 12Not publicly disclosed. Checked the homepage insurer-logo panel and eCommerce industry page on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Cowbell markets Prime 100 (admitted) to SMEs with up to $100M in revenue, Prime 100 Pro (admitted, available in 47 states) to a similar SME band with broader endorsements, Prime 250 (non-admitted) to businesses up to $1B in revenue, and Prime One (non-admitted) to organizations with more advanced digital exposure, typically $250M+ in annual revenue. 4,5,6,7Company-reported. Risk Appetite sections of each PDF. | Harper positions cyber coverage as relevant to online retailers, dropshipping businesses, marketplace sellers and private-label or direct-to-consumer brands on its eCommerce industry page, while also listing cyber as a general coverage option for any business on the homepage intake. 11,12Company-reported. eCommerce industry page 'Who this is for' section combined with the homepage's general cyber checkbox; no cyber-specific eligibility criteria (such as revenue thresholds) were found. |
| Coverage Features | Base Prime 100 coverages include security breach liability, social engineering, hardware replacement, business income and extra expense, extortion threats, computer and funds transfer fraud, and restoration of electronic data; Prime One adds affirmative AI-incident and quantum-computing-incident coverage for more advanced digital exposures. 4,7Company-reported. Prime 100 Coverages and Prime One 'Emerging risk coverage' sections; illustrative, subject to the issued policy's terms. | Harper's homepage summarizes cyber insurance as coverage for the cleanup if a business's systems or card payments get hacked. 12Company-reported. Homepage 'What we cover' blurb; the issued policy and declarations would control actual insuring agreements and exclusions. On its eCommerce industry page, Harper describes cyber protection as covering data breaches, payment fraud, hacking incidents and exposure of customer information, and its FAQ adds that cyber liability coverage may apply to customer notification costs, credit monitoring and certain regulatory expenses. 11Company-reported. eCommerce industry page; this description is given in the context of online retailers, dropshippers, marketplace sellers and DTC brands, and may not describe cyber coverage the same way for other industries. |
| Limits and Retentions | Cowbell states Prime 100 Pro adds endorsements with limits up to $3M, Prime One offers limits up to $10M for select risks, and Prime Plus is an excess layer offering up to $5M above a primary cyber policy; base Prime 100 and Prime 250 limit figures are not published in the reviewed PDFs. 5,7,8Company-reported. Product overview PDFs; actual issued limits depend on underwriting. | The reviewed pages do not publish cyber policy limits, retentions or a claims-made versus occurrence trigger; the eCommerce page's cost FAQ discusses eCommerce insurance overall rather than cyber coverage alone, so it is not used as a cyber-specific figure here. 12,11Not publicly disclosed. Checked the homepage and eCommerce industry page on 2026-09-23. |
| Risk Services | Cowbell says every Prime policy includes Cowbell Factors risk ratings, Cowbell Resiliency Services, Cowbell Insights guidance, Cowbell Connectors integrations with cloud/security providers, and complimentary Wizer cybersecurity-awareness training with unlimited seats in the first policy year. 4,6Company-reported. 'The Cowbell Advantage' section, repeated across the reviewed product PDFs. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| How to Apply | Cowbell says agents can quote, bind and issue Prime 100 policies in less than five minutes, and that Prime 100 Pro requires only six underwriting questions for accounts under $50M in revenue; Prime products are distributed through appointed agents rather than direct to consumers. 4,5Company-reported. Prime 100 and Prime 100 Pro overview PDFs; speed figures are company-reported, not independently timed. | You can start a cyber quote through Harper's online intake by selecting the 'Hacking, data breaches, card fraud (cyber)' checkbox alongside the business's state, estimated annual revenue and a description of what it does. 12Company-reported. Homepage quote-intake form. |
| Claims Support | Cowbell says its in-house cyber claims team has over 80 years of combined claims-handling experience and provides 24/7 in-house claims support from initial triage through resolution. 7,4Company-reported. Prime One 'When an incident occurs' section and 'Expert Claims Support' feature repeated across the product PDFs. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Cowbell
- Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Small And Midsize Business Management Liability. Zurich North America; Zurich Select Plus collaboration; admitted paper and Zurich Claims; modular suite: D&O, Employment Practices and Third-Party Discrimination Liability, Fiduciary Liability and Crime modules; access for appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers; target under 250 employees and $50 million assets; access and target-account FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Prime 100 Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Risk Appetite; The Cowbell Advantage; Prime 100 Coverages; 'Paper provided by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Prime 100 Pro Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Expanded coverage options; Streamlined process for agents; Confidence that resonates; Available In 47 U.S. States list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Prime 250 Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Confidence at scale; Available in 50 states and D.C. on surplus papers; Prime 250 Coverages. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Prime One Product Overview. Cowbell; Risk appetite: organizations with more advanced digital exposures, typically $250M+ in annual revenue; core and additional coverage elements; 'written on a non-admitted basis by Chaucer Specialty Insurance Company' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Prime Plus Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Why Prime Plus; 'offered on a non-admitted basis with paper provided by AM Best A (Excellent) rated carriers' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Harper
- Text Messaging Terms and Conditions. Harper Global Enterprises Inc.; Effective August 24, 2026; sections 1–3 (entity, consent and service messages), 5 (message costs), 9 (delivery) and 11 (coverage confirmation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- We're Announcing $47M to Build the Insurance Company Every Business Deserves. Harper / Dakotah Rice; February 26, 2026 article: brokerage identity; AI-assisted submissions and follow-ups; 24–48-hour coverage statement; more than 165 underwriters; plans for additional direct appointments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- eCommerce Insurance. Harper; Know your coverage: What is eCommerce insurance?; Cyber Protection callout; Who this is for; Why Harper; FAQ 'Does insurance cover data breaches or hacking?'. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Harper Homepage. Harper; What we cover: 'Cyber insurance — If your systems or card payments get hacked, this covers the cleanup.'; quote-intake checkbox 'Hacking, data breaches, card fraud (cyber)'. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Cyber Insurance Guide
- Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.






