Corgi vs Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Corgi packages startup liability; Pie specializes in workers’ compensation with payroll-based payment and audit processes.

An Overview of Corgi and Pie Insurance

A startup hiring its first employees may need workers’ compensation alongside its liability package. Choose Corgi if startup liability is your main need; choose Pie if you need workers’ compensation with payroll-based premium payments and an annual audit. 40 41 2

What Stands Out About Corgi and Pie Insurance?

Corgi at a Glance

  • Startup packages scale from pre-seed to growth, with a custom option. 2,3,6,15Company-reportedCompany website positioning and package names; named customer stories on the customers page are testimonials, not a verified book of business.
  • Use Corgi’s dashboard to adjust coverage as your company grows. 2,1Company-reportedCompany description of post-bind servicing and cancellation. Actual endorsement terms remain in the policy. This does not establish a specific renewal guarantee or a finding that renewals are unavailable.

Pie Insurance at a Glance

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 24,23,25Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 39,40Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Corgi vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCorgiPie Insurance
Business owner’s policyListed 2Corgi lists a business owner’s policy in its coverage catalog.Listed 29Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
Cargo and transitListed 2Corgi lists a cargo contractual liability product in its transportation offering.Not listed
Commercial autoListed 2Corgi links to trucking auto-liability coverage from its transportation menu.Not listed
CrimeListed 2Corgi lists crime insurance among its main policies.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 2Corgi lists cyber insurance among its business insurance offerings.Listed 30Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
Directors and officersListed 2Corgi lists directors and officers insurance among its business insurance offerings.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 2Corgi lists employment practices liability among its business-insurance offerings.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 2Corgi lists fiduciary liability in its coverage catalog and package options.Not listed
General liabilityListed 2Corgi lists commercial general liability among its business insurance offerings.Listed 32Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Hired and non-owned autoListed 2Corgi lists hired and non-owned auto liability for employees using rented or personal vehicles for company business.Not listed
Kidnap and ransomListed 2Corgi lists kidnap and ransom among its specialized business-insurance offerings.Not listed
Liquor liabilityListed Corgi markets liquor liability for eligible veterans’ and fraternal lodges with licensed on-premises bars.Not listed
Media liabilityListed 2Corgi lists media liability insurance among its coverage offerings.Not listed
Medical malpracticeListed 2Corgi markets medical malpractice insurance for health care professionals and organizations.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2Corgi lists miscellaneous errors and omissions coverage for service-based businesses.Listed 31Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Representations and warrantiesListed 2Corgi lists representations and warranties insurance for M&A buyers and sellers.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2Corgi lists technology errors and omissions insurance for technology products and services.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 2Corgi lists commercial umbrella liability insurance.Not listed
Workers’ compensationListed 2Corgi lists workers’ compensation insurance.Listed 25Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Corgi and Pie Insurance Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Corgi and Pie Insurance each publish for one coverage line.

Corgi and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

Corgi Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews; the inspected Trustpilot profiles showed none. Its Trustpilot page exists but shows no reviews or rating.

Read Corgi reviews

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between Corgi and Pie Insurance

Payroll, Job Duties and Work States

Pie’s workers’ compensation application asks for annual payroll and class-code information. Its audit materials distinguish employee duties and request records for people working in more than one classification. For a startup with developers and field technicians, assemble duties, payroll and locations before seeking terms. Corgi’s growth-stage and hiring inputs can frame the wider insurance purchase, but they do not replace the details needed for a workers’ compensation placement. 25 41 2

Pie’s advertised state counts do not fully agree across its public pages. That makes the actual state schedule and class acceptance especially important when employees work in more than one location. Corgi’s producer-license list likewise cannot establish availability of every proposed product. Ask each team to identify the accepted work states and how newly hired remote or field staff must be reported. 33 35 4 1

Payroll Billing, Audits and Program Cost

Pie’s pay-as-you-go option uses actual reported payroll and no initial deposit. That can make the payment schedule relevant to an employer whose hiring is uncertain. It differs from spreading an estimated annual premium over installments: the buyer needs to establish how its payroll provider supplies information, how corrections are made and when payments are deducted. 40 39

The audit remains a separate obligation. Pie describes a required annual process that finalizes premium using actual payroll, with employee records, cash expenses and subcontractor certificates among the requested documents. Its payment marketing should not be read as a guarantee that no adjustment can occur. For the field-service startup, designate who keeps subcontractor evidence and reconciles payroll changes during the year. 41 40

Corgi’s published startup-stage ranges do not price that same payroll-based policy. Its disclosures allow producer commissions or fees; Pie separately discloses agent commissions and payment charges. Compare the complete program’s annual cost and cash requirements, with technology liability and workers’ compensation shown separately. A lower initial deposit is a timing difference, not proof of a lower final premium. 2 1 43 39

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 39Company-reportedCredit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask which payment choices and fees apply to the actual policy, rather than applying the published new single-state card charge to every multistate or renewal account. 39

Contract Endorsements, Technology Coverage and Vehicles

A customer asking to be an additional insured on general liability is making a different request from a workers’ compensation waiver of subrogation, which concerns the insurer’s recovery rights. Pie’s FAQ says its workers’ compensation policies do not use additional-insured status and handles waivers separately, with state-dependent charges. Corgi’s disclosure also distinguishes a certificate from a policy amendment. Send the actual clause to the person responsible for each policy, then obtain the applicable endorsement and evidence. 38 1

For the startup’s software work, Pie’s partner errors and omissions (E&O) and cyber offerings create potential overlap with Corgi’s technology/cyber package. Ask Pie for the professional-services definition, insurer and proposed wording instead of transferring assumptions from its affiliated workers’ compensation program. Ask Corgi how any separately arranged workers’ compensation policy will be coordinated with its package. The same company logo need not mean a common insurer, bill or claim process. 31 30 27 8 1

If field operations add vehicles, Pie’s commercial-auto FAQ says new and renewal business has ended; remaining claims material serves legacy coverage. Do not build a current vehicle proposal from that navigation label. Ask for a separate available placement and its service owner, including when Corgi coordinates other policies. 36 1

Insurer Ratings and Workplace-Injury Reporting

Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 44VerifiedPie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report.

That rating should not be applied automatically to unnamed outside insurers on Pie’s other products. Likewise, if Corgi offers Technology Risk Retention Group, its disclosure says TRRG has no AM Best rating and risk retention group policies lack state guaranty-fund protection. Corgi also describes eligible admitted/partner alternatives. Identify each actual insurer before assessing a customer’s financial-strength or admitted-status requirement; the technology and workers’ compensation policies may need different evidence. 27 1 20

Pie asks for workplace-injury reports within 24 hours and offers an online form, round-the-clock phone reporting and email. Its public claim-handler allocation varies by state and does not fully reconcile with its footprint count. Save the specific policy’s instructions for the field supervisor and payroll team. Corgi’s claims team and possible affiliated or third-party administration describe a different general service route; neither description establishes comparative settlement quality. 42 43 1

What Should You Confirm in Corgi and Pie Insurance Quotes?

  • A payroll and duties schedule: classifications, states, payroll-provider integration and who updates hiring changes or subcontractor records. 25 41 40
  • A complete policy map: technology/cyber, workers’ compensation and any vehicles, showing affiliated versus outside issuers and separate service contacts. 2 27 36
  • The exact contract endorsements: which policy needs additional-insured wording, which needs a waiver, and the charge and approval process for each. 38 1
  • Payment, audit and injury instructions: deposits or payroll deductions, applicable fees, annual audit records and the state-specific claim recipient. 39 41 42

Corgi vs Pie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaCorgiPie Insurance
Customer focus

Technology startups can compare Corgi packages for pre-seed/seed, Series A and growth stages, or ask about a custom option. 2,3,6,15Company-reportedCompany website positioning and package names; named customer stories on the customers page are testimonials, not a verified book of business.

Small businesses in offices, retail, restaurants, personal services, self-storage, wholesale, community associations or rental properties may have a new Corgi option; its August 2026 filing announcement says state and product availability differ. 9Company-reportedCompany-announced admitted-carrier appetite. Filing a product is not the same as confirmed availability in a given state.

Small businesses looking for workers’ compensation can approach Pie directly or through local, regional and national agencies. 24,25Company-reportedUS small-business workers’ compensation distribution described on Pie’s current About and product pages.

Coverage lines

Startup packages can combine general liability, D&O, Tech E&O, cyber, media, employment practices, fiduciary and hired/non-owned auto; Corgi also offers a Tech & AI Liability module. 2,8,10Company-reportedWebsite product labels and package descriptions. Labels are not equivalent coverage, and website summaries are not policy wording.

If you need D&O, Corgi’s example shows claims-made protection for directors, officers and the company under form CORG-DO-0100, issued by Technology Risk Retention Group. The example puts defense costs inside the limit and has a $25,000 per-claim retention; your policy controls. 5Company-reportedPublic product-page summary last reviewed 24 April 2026 on the page itself; illustrative limits and retentions may differ from a buyer’s policy.

A package that includes property needs another insurer if its liability policy uses a risk retention group, because such groups can write business liability but not property coverage. 19,21VerifiedStatutory limit on what an RRG may write. It does not by itself prove which Corgi product sits on which paper.

Pie currently markets workers’ comp, BOP, cyber, general liability and professional liability/E&O; product pages describe typical coverage, while the policy and endorsements determine your actual protection. 25,29,30,32,31,26Company-reportedPublic US Pie pages with an explicit quote or contact invitation; educational-only topics and components of a BOP were not counted as standalone offerings.

If you need new or renewed commercial auto, look elsewhere: Pie stopped accepting new submissions December 1, 2025 and says it will issue no new or renewal policies after January 1, 2026; existing terms remain in force through expiry. 36,42Company-reportedPie’s former commercial-auto offering and legacy policies; commercial auto is intentionally excluded from the current coverage catalogue.

Use your policy and endorsements to decide what is covered; Pie says website descriptions do not change policy terms and eligibility varies by applicant and location. 26Company-reportedWebsite descriptions and US products generally; the buyer’s issued policy and endorsements control.

Application process

You can apply online or book a specialist call, and Corgi says eligible applicants may quote in minutes and buy the same day; confirm in writing whether coverage starts at policy issuance/payment or under a binder and the effective date. 2,1Company-reportedCompany website process claims and Binding Authority and Policy Issuance disclosure, rechecked on 15 September 2026. The disclosure's first paragraph requires policy issuance and payment, while its next paragraph describes temporary binder coverage; this record does not resolve which conditions apply to a particular placement. Quote speed is not independently verified and is not the same as coverage being in force. A self-serve path is not evidence of zero producer commissions or fees.

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 24,23,25Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 28,25Company-reportedUnauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 25,23Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

Servicing and renewals

You can add or upgrade policies through Corgi’s dashboard as funding, hiring or contract needs change; renewal and cancellation remain subject to your policy and state rules. 2,1Company-reportedCompany description of post-bind servicing and cancellation. Actual endorsement terms remain in the policy. This does not establish a specific renewal guarantee or a finding that renewals are unavailable.

Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 37,38Company-reportedPublished workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested.

Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 41Company-reportedPie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund.

Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 38,43Company-reportedDifferent company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process.

Fees and compensation

Ask for the commission or customer fee on your policy because Corgi Insurance Services may receive either from you or the insurer. 1Company-reportedProducer compensation disclosure. Website, self-serve, or other direct distribution is not a finding of zero commissions or fees. Specific amounts were not published in the reviewed sources.

Corgi gives annual price examples of $2,000–$5,000 for eligible pre-seed/seed startups and $5,000–$15,000 for Series A; your quote depends on risk, state, coverage and limits. 2,6,7Company-reportedCompany-reported ranges and a marketing savings claim, not comparable quotes. They are not premiums for a defined risk, limit, retention, or policy period. “Underwrites directly” is not a finding of zero producer commissions or fees, and no public methodology for the 30 percent figure was found.

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 39,40Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 39Company-reportedCredit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 38Not publicly disclosedWorkers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 43,27Not publicly disclosedAgency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Corgi vs Pie Insurance

  • Corgi packages startup coverage through an agency and carrier options; AIG publishes a broader commercial insurer portfolio with producer-facing tools.

  • Compare AIG’s broader commercial insurer group with Pie’s direct and agency workers’ compensation route.

  • Corgi organizes startup insurance packages by company stage; Alliance Risk reviews technology E&O as part of a broader commercial search.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot