Coalition vs
Simply Business
Introduction
This comparison pairs technology or cyber businesses and middle-market or larger organizations through Coalition with small businesses through Simply Business. Their coverage catalogues share cyber, professional E&O. If one of those lines fits your business, compare the proposed forms and quote routes side by side; listed lines do not establish equal policy terms or eligibility. 7 19
Coverage Comparison
| Coverage | Coalition | Simply Business |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 28 |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed 29,28Offered as part of a BOP, rather than as a standalone policy. |
| Crime | Listed 5Coalition offers crime insurance through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations. | Not listed |
| Cyber liability | Listed 7Coalition offers cyber insurance. | Listed 31Add-on for select buyers purchasing another business policy; phone quote route. |
| Directors and officers | Listed 5Coalition offers directors and officers liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations. | Not listed |
| Employment practices liability | Listed 5Coalition offers employment practices liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations. | Not listed |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed 5Coalition offers fiduciary liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations. | Not listed |
| General liability | Not listed | Listed 25 |
| Media liability | Listed 18Coalition identifies media liability within its Active Cyber policy. | Not listed |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 6Coalition offers miscellaneous professional liability as an addition to eligible Active Cyber policies. | Listed 27 |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 1Coalition offers technology errors and omissions together with Active Cyber coverage for businesses that provide a technology product or service. | Not listed |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed 30 |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed 26 |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Spot Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Coalition
Hybrid providerBroker
6.1/ 10Assessed provider: Coalition. Scope: Coalition's US cyber and technology-errors-and-omissions activity at the named-entity level. Producer, surplus-lines, Texas managing-general-agency and Texas adjuster authority is verified for Coalition Insurance Solutions, Inc. in Georgia, Texas, Pennsylvania and Colorado only. Capacity is assessed for two named programmes and no others. For the admitted cyber programme, the issuer is Coalition Insurance Company, NAIC 29530, whose Georgia, Texas and Pennsylvania authorisations are verified, whose appointment of Coalition Insurance Solutions is recorded in Texas and Pennsylvania, and whose AM Best A- rating was affirmed in July 2026; the reinsurance panel behind it is undisclosed. For the Coalition Re programme of cyber reinsurance treaties and white-labelled cover, the capacity panel is led by Aspen on Coalition's own statement; that evidence reaches Coalition Re only and not the carrier's paper. The non-admitted cyber and executive-risk programmes, which Coalition places with unaffiliated insurers, have no evidenced panel and are not assessed. Coalition Incident Response, Inc. is a separate security-services entity and is out of scope.
Carrier & MGA
6.3/ 10Assessed provider: Coalition. Scope: Coalition's US cyber and technology-errors-and-omissions activity at the named-entity level. Producer, surplus-lines, Texas managing-general-agency and Texas adjuster authority is verified for Coalition Insurance Solutions, Inc. in Georgia, Texas, Pennsylvania and Colorado only. Capacity is assessed for two named programmes and no others. For the admitted cyber programme, the issuer is Coalition Insurance Company, NAIC 29530, whose Georgia, Texas and Pennsylvania authorisations are verified, whose appointment of Coalition Insurance Solutions is recorded in Texas and Pennsylvania, and whose AM Best A- rating was affirmed in July 2026; the reinsurance panel behind it is undisclosed. For the Coalition Re programme of cyber reinsurance treaties and white-labelled cover, the capacity panel is led by Aspen on Coalition's own statement; that evidence reaches Coalition Re only and not the carrier's paper. The non-admitted cyber and executive-risk programmes, which Coalition places with unaffiliated insurers, have no evidenced panel and are not assessed. Coalition Incident Response, Inc. is a separate security-services entity and is out of scope.
Simply Business
BrokerBroker
No Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Coalition
Review Score
1 rated source
Coalition has a BBB A+ grade. The reviewed independent sources did not establish a customer-star rating; the displayed RaveCapture collection is broker-focused. Its Trustpilot page has no reviews, and its best-looking rating comes from a review page the company arranges for brokers.[10][14][13]
Read Coalition reviewsSimply Business
Review Score
4 rated sources
Customers disagree about Simply Business. Trustpilot shows 4.3 out of 5 from 1,901 reviews, but BBB customers give it 1.95 from 20 reviews and ConsumerAffairs shows 1.0.[6][10][7]
Read Simply Business reviewsKey Differences Between Coalition and Simply Business
Business Fit and Coverage
The catalogues share cyber, professional E&O; other listed lines appear in the comparison table. For the overlap, match the policy forms, limits, exclusions and endorsements before treating the products as alternatives. A shared line name does not establish equal protection or eligibility.
Technology businesses can ask Coalition about Tech E&O for exposures such as software downtime or failed delivery. 1Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.
Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 19,24,20Company-reported. Company-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.
Coalition cyber may help with breach response, extortion and business interruption, subject to the issued policy. 7Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.
Roles and Quote Access
Coalition buyers get cyber insurance and risk-management services, with the insurer responsible for policy obligations. In the US, Coalition Insurance Solutions, Inc. is the disclosed producer and surplus-lines broker. 2,7Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.
Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 19,20,32,21Company-reported. U.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved.
You need an appointed broker to buy Coalition coverage; Coalition can help you find access if your broker does not offer it, and says underwriting reviews industry, finances, operations and security. 13Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.
The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 21,20Company-reported. Published U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.
Use these routes to plan who will assemble the submission and whether you can complete the purchase online or need an agent or broker. Ask Coalition and Simply Business to confirm the route for your state, coverage and business details; an online quote path alone does not show that a risk can be bound. 13 21
Policy Service and Claims
Coalition policyholders can use Control at no additional cost for attack-surface and vendor-risk monitoring, vulnerability alerts and guidance; Login Security requires connecting Microsoft or Google, and Coalition sells other security products separately. 8Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.
The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 21,22,20Company-reported. Company-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer.
Coalition describes in-house cyber triage and attempts to recover stolen funds, with the same team handling Tech E&O; these service descriptions do not establish response quality or payment for a loss. 9,1Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.
The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 20,22Company-reported. General site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship.
Compare the practical handoffs for documents, policy changes, renewal questions and claim notices. A listed support route describes access to help, not a claim outcome or a guarantee of service speed.
What to Confirm in Quotes
Request quotes for the same business details, coverage lines, limits, deductibles or retentions and policy period. Ask Coalition and Simply Business to name the producer and issuing insurer for each proposed policy, confirm who can bind it, and itemize any customer fees or intermediary compensation. For the overlapping cyber, professional E&O, compare the actual insuring agreement, exclusions, sublimits and endorsements. Also confirm who handles account changes and receives claim notices. 3 19 4 20
Compare Services
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Coalition | Simply Business |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | Coalition buyers get cyber insurance and risk-management services, with the insurer responsible for policy obligations. In the US, Coalition Insurance Solutions, Inc. is the disclosed producer and surplus-lines broker. 2,7Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. Before relying on a California quote, check the current producer authority: Coalition lists CIS license 0L76155, a company disclosure not independently confirmed with the state regulator. 2Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. Coalition Security or independent providers may deliver security services; Coalition’s legal page identifies Coalition Incident Response, Inc. as its operator and says this entity is not an insurer. 2Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. | Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 19,20,32,21Company-reported. U.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved. |
| Application process | You need an appointed broker to buy Coalition coverage; Coalition can help you find access if your broker does not offer it, and says underwriting reviews industry, finances, operations and security. 13Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. To add Tech E&O to a cyber quote, prepare your product or service description and contract answers; some applications need review before a price is released. 12Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. | The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 21,20Company-reported. Published U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer. |
| Servicing and renewals | Coalition policyholders can use Control at no additional cost for attack-surface and vendor-risk monitoring, vulnerability alerts and guidance; Login Security requires connecting Microsoft or Google, and Coalition sells other security products separately. 8Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. Plan renewal work early: Coalition says cyber renewals start 90 days before expiry and may be Automatic, Express or Standard. Express renewals need your responses, Standard renewals need a bind order and an updated signed application, and automatic renewal does not guarantee the same premium. 15Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. | Simply Business lists licensed-agent phone support Monday through Friday: sales 8 a.m.–8 p.m. Eastern Time and service 9 a.m.–6 p.m. These listed hours do not establish a response-time guarantee. 21Company-reported. Hours displayed on the current U.S. contact page; no actual wait-time observation is implied. The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 21,22,20Company-reported. Company-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer. The Help Center FAQ says most customers opt into automatic renewal and gives 60-day notice and 30-day processing timing only for those who opt in. The same Help Center summary and June 30, 2026 Terms use broader automatic-renewal wording without the FAQ’s opt-in qualification. The public descriptions conflict; they do not establish which wording applies to every policy. 22,20Conflicting sources. Company-published descriptions reviewed 2026-09-29. FAQ detail, Help Center summary and Terms are inconsistent; no buyer-specific policy notice was reviewed. |
| Claims assistance | Coalition describes in-house cyber triage and attempts to recover stolen funds, with the same team handling Tech E&O; these service descriptions do not establish response quality or payment for a loss. 9,1Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. | The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 20,22Company-reported. General site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship. |
| Customer focus | Technology businesses can ask Coalition about Tech E&O for exposures such as software downtime or failed delivery. 1Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. Large businesses can compare Coalition’s Active Cyber for Enterprises with Allianz; the minimum revenue and underwriting criteria mean startups should not assume they qualify. 17Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. | Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 19,24,20Company-reported. Company-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details. |
| Fees and compensation | Your broker may receive a premium-based commission plus contingent commissions, placement incentives or cybersecurity-sales compensation, according to Coalition; ask how your placement is compensated. 4Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. Coalition says it keeps part of earned premium for operations and broker commissions, and may receive additional insurer payments tied to annual portfolio loss ratios. 16Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. Get the full price and broker compensation in writing; reviewed disclosures do not state a startup quote’s commission rate, fee or premium. 4,16Not publicly disclosed. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. | The Terms say Simply Business receives commission or other compensation from or through panel members and that customers may also incur separate processing, administrative, service, installment or cancellation fees. They give no amount or placement-specific applicability; the Terms say charges are disclosed before purchase. 20Company-reported. General disclosure dated 2026-06-30; no specific commission, fee schedule, premium or customer charge was reviewed. |
Sources
Coalition Official Website
- Tech E&O Insurance Coverage. Coalition; Who needs Technology Errors & Omissions coverage? (organizations that provide a technology product or service for a fee); Combine Technology Errors & Omissions coverage with Active Cyber Insurance; Coalition Advantage. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Licenses and Carriers. Coalition; Insurance Licenses: California row; Insurance Carriers; concluding disclosures. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- U.S. Disclaimers. Coalition; Non-Admitted Cyber; Admitted Cyber; Admitted and Non-admitted Cyber. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- U.S. Producer Compensation. Coalition; Insurance Producers; Base Commission; Contingent Commission; Business Production Incentive Programs; Non-Insurance Products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Executive Risks. Coalition; FAQ: What type of businesses do you protect?, What limits do you offer? and What resources do you have for policyholders?; Product Offering: D&O, EPL, fiduciary, crime. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Miscellaneous Professional Liability. Coalition; Why Miscellaneous Professional Liability? (can be added to certain Active Cyber Insurance policies); MPL Advantage; Broker Benefits. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Active Cyber Insurance. Coalition; Active Cyber Insurance; Coverage Advantage: separate limit for breach response, pay-on-behalf for cyber extortion, funds transfer fraud, business interruption. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Coalition Control. Coalition; How We Help; Policyholder Features; Wirespeed ADR. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance Claims Experience. Coalition; Pre-Claims Assistance; Claims Advantage. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Where does Coalition offer cyber insurance coverage? Coalition; United States. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Are there any differences between Coalition’s admitted and surplus lines products? Coalition; Cyber insurance coverage offered by Coalition: Coverage availability; Coverage offering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- How to add Tech E&O coverage to a Coalition quote. Coalition; Opening; Step 1; Step 2; Last Step. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- How do I qualify for and buy cyber insurance from Coalition? Coalition; Eligibility; broker contact; underwriting paragraphs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Does Coalition offer Excess coverage? Coalition; Where do I send my excess submissions?; What excess products does Coalition offer, and in what regions? (excess Cyber Surplus in the US and Canada; excess Tech E&O and MPL combined with cyber, US only). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- How do Cyber renewals work at Coalition? Coalition; Opening renewal-path table; Automatic; Express; Standard. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- How does Coalition make money? Coalition; Premium retention and carrier payments paragraphs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Active Cyber Insurance for Enterprises. Coalition; Introduction; closing eligibility disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Coalition AI Coverage. Coalition; Coverage in Action table, including the Defamation row (Media Liability insuring agreement); Deepfake Response; policy disclaimers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Simply Business Official Website
- Our Small Business Insurance Story. Simply Business; Opening description and audience; digital marketplace, business types and U.S. service. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Terms of Service. Simply Business; Dated June 30, 2026; §1 lines 22–28; §8 lines 87–113; §10 lines 143–149; §19 line 211. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Contact Us. Simply Business; Opening contact details lines 20–31; licensed-agent phone hours lines 46–59; U.S. licensing and state-specific name disclosures in footer lines 108–111, including California License #0M20593. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Help Center. Simply Business; Claims, account servicing, agent-routed changes, renewal FAQ and Common Topics. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- How Simply Business Works. Simply Business; Common types lines 92–160; quote/purchase flow; estimate-method footnotes lines 198–200. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Business Insurance for Small Businesses. Simply Business; Small Business Insurance Coverage Options and policy links. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- General Liability Insurance for a Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage lines 51–75; audience lines 61–65, 153–155; application and examples elsewhere on page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance for Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage and benefits lines 45–69; state/buyer qualifications lines 178–189. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. Simply Business; Coverage lines 45–100; buyer examples lines 101–158; online quote steps lines 237–260. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Business Owner’s Policy Insurance. Simply Business; Bundle lines 34–38, 218–243; add-on/exclusion discussion lines 226–243; buyer and quote sections. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Property Insurance. Simply Business; Lines 15–18 present physical-location cover as part of a BOP; lines 34–49 describe the package; lines 59–63 say it is offered as part of the BOP rather than as a standalone policy and link to a BOP quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Inland Marine Insurance. Simply Business; Equipment/inventory lines 15–18, 59–63; examples and quote workflow lines 97–140, 168–191. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cyber Insurance. Simply Business; Claim types lines 88–105; select-buyer add-on/phone quote lines 171–175; route and last-updated lines 389–395. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Producer Compensation Disclosure (United States). Travelers; Ownership interest in a producer, lines 57–60: Travelers says it owns Simply Business, Inc.; relation to Simply Business, LLC not stated. Accessed 2026-09-29.




