Coalition vs HUB International: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Coalition focuses on cyber and Tech E&O; HUB brokers broader business insurance and benefits, with Insureon serving some small accounts.

An Overview of Coalition and HUB International

A small business can check whether it qualifies for HUB’s Insureon route; a technology company can compare Coalition’s cyber and Tech E&O. Choose Coalition if technology liability and cyber are your main gaps; choose HUB if you need broader coverage and benefits coordinated. 1 26 28 52

What Stands Out About Coalition and HUB International?

Coalition at a Glance

  • Technology companies can combine cyber and Tech E&O in one program. 1Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.
  • Policyholders get cyber monitoring, alerts and remediation guidance through Control. 8Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

HUB International at a Glance

  • HUB’s technology practice serves startups and software, hardware and digital-media companies; HUB says it insures more than 5,000 technology businesses. 28Company-reportedIndustry marketing page only. Does not establish California eligibility, insurer panels or policy wording for any named coverage.
  • Qualifying small businesses can use Insureon’s online quote path; other accounts work with a HUB advisor or local office, with no public self-serve bind path for mid-market programs. 26,29,30,31,28,24Company-reportedPublic website paths as of 16 September 2026. No application was submitted. Insureon’s own site is a separate digital agency flow.

Coalition vs HUB International Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCoalitionHUB International
Builders riskNot listedListed 28HUB International arranges builders risk insurance.
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 36HUB International arranges business owner’s policies for small and midsized businesses.
Cargo and transitNot listedListed 46,28HUB International arranges cargo insurance.
Commercial autoNot listedListed 38HUB International arranges commercial auto insurance.
Commercial propertyNot listedListed 37HUB International arranges commercial property insurance.
CrimeListed 5Coalition offers crime insurance through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.Listed 39,34HUB International arranges commercial crime insurance.
Cyber liabilityListed 7Coalition offers cyber insurance.Listed 31,28HUB International arranges cyber insurance.
Directors and officersListed 5Coalition offers directors and officers liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.Listed 30,28HUB International arranges directors and officers liability insurance.
Employee health and benefitsNot listedListed 48,19HUB International arranges employee health and benefits programs.
Employment practices liabilityListed 5Coalition offers employment practices liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.Listed 34,28HUB International arranges employment practices liability insurance.
Equipment breakdownNot listedListed 47HUB International arranges equipment breakdown insurance.
Fidelity bondsNot listedListed 34HUB International arranges crime and fidelity coverage through its professional and executive risk practice.
Fiduciary liabilityListed 5Coalition offers fiduciary liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.Listed 40,34HUB International arranges fiduciary liability insurance.
General liabilityNot listedListed 29HUB International arranges general liability insurance.
Hired and non-owned autoNot listedListed 38HUB International arranges hired and non-owned auto coverage through its commercial auto brokerage.
Key personNot listedListed 28HUB International arranges key person life and disability insurance.
Kidnap and ransomNot listedListed 41,34HUB International arranges kidnap and ransom insurance.
Management liabilityNot listedListed 28,34HUB International arranges management liability insurance through its professional and executive risk practice.
Media liabilityListed 18Coalition identifies media liability within its Active Cyber policy.Not listed
Medical malpracticeNot listedListed 43HUB International arranges medical professional liability insurance for health care professionals.
Product liabilityNot listedListed 45HUB International arranges product liability insurance.
Product recallNot listedListed 45HUB International arranges product recall insurance.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 6Coalition offers miscellaneous professional liability as an addition to eligible Active Cyber policies.Listed 32,33HUB International arranges professional errors and omissions insurance.
Representations and warrantiesNot listedListed 44HUB International arranges representations and warranties insurance.
Surety bondsNot listedListed 42HUB International arranges surety bonds.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 1Coalition offers technology errors and omissions together with Active Cyber coverage for businesses that provide a technology product or service.Listed 28HUB International arranges technology errors and omissions insurance.
Tools, equipment and inland marineNot listedListed 46HUB International arranges inland marine insurance through its marine practice.
TruckingNot listedListed 38HUB International arranges trucking insurance.
Umbrella and excess liabilityNot listedListed 45HUB International arranges umbrella and excess liability insurance.
Virtual care and telehealthNot listedListed 49HUB International arranges virtual care insurance for health care organizations.
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 35HUB International arranges workers’ compensation insurance.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Coalition and HUB International Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Coalition and HUB International each publish for one coverage line.

Coalition and HUB International Reliability Scores

Each score uses the criteria for that provider’s role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Coalition and HUB International Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

Coalition Review Score

10.0/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

Coalition has a BBB A+ grade. The reviewed independent sources did not establish a customer-star rating; the displayed RaveCapture collection is broker-focused. Its Trustpilot page has no reviews, and its best-looking rating comes from a review page the company arranges for brokers.

Read Coalition reviews

HUB International Review Score

5.6/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customers who reviewed HUB on BBB rate it 1 out of 5, but that is only 7 reviews for a very large broker. BBB's own business grade is A-.

Read HUB International reviews

Key Differences Between Coalition and HUB International

The Entry Route Determines the Next Conversation

Businesses with 50 or fewer employees or under $5 million revenue are directed by HUB to Insureon’s online quote; larger or different commercial accounts go to HUB advisors. These are routing guidelines, not a legal small-business definition. 26Company-reportedHUB contact-us Business Solutions copy as of 16 September 2026. Actual Insureon underwriting appetite can differ by product and insurer.

HUB identifies Insureon within its corporate group, and Insureon operates as a division of Specialty Program Group. This is not evidence that every HUB office uses the same process or insurer panel. Ask which legal producer receives the inquiry and whether a specialist team will review the technology business. Coalition’s broker route is a separate access question; this comparison does not establish a HUB appointment with Coalition. 22 53 13

A Market Search Has Its Own Compensation Structure

HUB says it works with hundreds of insurers while focusing on Strategic Carriers that may pay enhanced compensation. Its disclosure also covers client fees and commissions earned by owned wholesale brokers. Coalition separately discloses producer commissions and incentives. A founder comparing total placement cost should ask which intermediaries are involved and what each receives; neither brand’s general disclosure supplies an account-specific total. 25 4

Program Administration and Cyber Response Can Be Complementary

HUB describes local policy review, certificate support and a tiered risk-management information system for claims and carrier data. Coalition describes Control security services and incident triage. If both an advisor and a cyber policy are involved, assign separate owners for certificates, renewal negotiation, security alerts and urgent incident notification. HUB’s advertised specialist capabilities require an engagement-level commitment; they are not automatically included because the firm markets to technology companies. 34 51 8 9

What Should You Confirm in Coalition and HUB International Quotes?

Request the assigned HUB or Insureon entity, account team and service scope before supplying a full renewal submission. Ask for the markets approached, any affiliate involved, the commission and fee explanation, and who will compare the technology-policy wording. Confirm the California producer and issuing insurer from the actual proposal; HUB’s office directory and Coalition’s brand name do not settle those details. 23 25 3

Coalition vs HUB International Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaCoalitionHUB International
Business role

Coalition buyers get cyber insurance and risk-management services, with the insurer responsible for policy obligations. In the US, Coalition Insurance Solutions, Inc. is the disclosed producer and surplus-lines broker. 2,7Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Before relying on a California quote, check the current producer authority: Coalition lists CIS license 0L76155, a company disclosure not independently confirmed with the state regulator. 2Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Coalition Security or independent providers may deliver security services; Coalition’s legal page identifies Coalition Incident Response, Inc. as its operator and says this entity is not an insurer. 2Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

HUB helps businesses arrange insurance through brokers and agents; reviewed product pages describe brokerage, not HUB as the insurer. Its subsidiaries hold licenses in various US states and Canadian provinces. 22,23,27Company-reportedBrand and parent identity as of 16 September 2026. Does not identify which subsidiary would appear on a California producer license or policy declarations.

Small businesses may reach HUB through its digital Insureon route, acquired in 2022; Insureon and TechInsurance are associated with Specialty Program Group, so the retail account path may differ from HUB’s offices. 22,52,53,54,55Company-reportedCorporate-affiliation statements. Does not establish that every HUB office places business through Insureon, or that TechInsurance is a distinct California producer.

Application process

You need an appointed broker to buy Coalition coverage; Coalition can help you find access if your broker does not offer it, and says underwriting reviews industry, finances, operations and security. 13Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

To add Tech E&O to a cyber quote, prepare your product or service description and contract answers; some applications need review before a price is released. 12Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Small accounts meeting HUB’s size guidelines can start an online Insureon quote; other buyers contact a HUB broker or local office. The reviewed site does not offer a public self-serve bind route for mid-market programs. 26,29,30,31,28,24Company-reportedPublic website paths as of 16 September 2026. No application was submitted. Insureon’s own site is a separate digital agency flow.

Access to insurers

Ask who will issue your policy because admitted cyber uses Coalition Insurance Company while surplus placements use unaffiliated insurers; reviewed sources do not identify one insurer for every California Tech E&O quote. 3,2Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Ask which insurers will quote your business: HUB says it accesses hundreds but focuses on strategic carriers that may pay enhanced compensation; public pages do not provide a complete panel or identify your issuing insurer. 25,37,45,46,34Company-reportedNo verified HUB-wide carrier panel. Strategic-carrier focus is a compensation and placement practice, not a finding that only those markets are used.

Insureon names Hartford, Chubb, Hiscox, Liberty Mutual and Travelers among 100+ providers, but that list applies to its digital agency and does not establish the insurer for a HUB retail policy. 52Company-reportedInsureon About Us examples only. Availability varies by product, state and underwriting.

Fees and compensation

Your broker may receive a premium-based commission plus contingent commissions, placement incentives or cybersecurity-sales compensation, according to Coalition; ask how your placement is compensated. 4Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Coalition says it keeps part of earned premium for operations and broker commissions, and may receive additional insurer payments tied to annual portfolio loss ratios. 16Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Get the full price and broker compensation in writing; reviewed disclosures do not state a startup quote’s commission rate, fee or premium. 4,16Not publicly disclosedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Ask for compensation on your proposal: HUB says it receives insurer commissions, contingent and supplemental payments and sometimes client fees, may use affiliated wholesalers, and may earn administration or data fees; it publishes no standard rates. 25Company-reportedFirmwide compensation disclosure. Amounts for a given account are not disclosed on the public page.

Servicing and renewals

Coalition policyholders can use Control at no additional cost for attack-surface and vendor-risk monitoring, vulnerability alerts and guidance; Login Security requires connecting Microsoft or Google, and Coalition sells other security products separately. 8Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Plan renewal work early: Coalition says cyber renewals start 90 days before expiry and may be Automatic, Express or Standard. Express renewals need your responses, Standard renewals need a bind order and an updated signed application, and automatic renewal does not guarantee the same premium. 15Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

HUB describes local account teams, claims and certificate tools, and renewal support for benefits; ask which service tier, tools and fees apply to your account. 34,51,48Company-reportedCompany-described servicing capabilities. Client eligibility for RMIS or ProEx specialist teams is not defined on the public pages.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Coalition vs HUB International

  • Coalition publishes a cyber and technology liability route with broker access; AIG publishes a broader insurer-group portfolio and producer tools.

  • Compare AIG’s insurer-led commercial offerings with HUB’s brokerage and small-account routing, including where each path may suit a technology business.

  • SaaS buyers can compare Coalition's broker-accessed cyber, technology E&O and security services with Alliance Risk's broader program review.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot