CFC vs Simply Business

Consider CFC if your business fits technology or cyber businesses and middle-market or larger organizations, and Simply Business if it fits small businesses. Their catalogues overlap on commercial property, cyber, general liability; compare each quote route, identified insurer and policy form before choosing. 5,30

Introduction

This comparison pairs technology or cyber businesses and middle-market or larger organizations through CFC with small businesses through Simply Business. Their coverage catalogues share commercial property, cyber, general liability. If one of those lines fits your business, compare the proposed forms and quote routes side by side; listed lines do not establish equal policy terms or eligibility. 5 30

Coverage Comparison

CoverageCFCSimply Business
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 39
Commercial propertyListed 13CFC offers property coverage within its property and casualty product.Listed 40,39Offered as part of a BOP, rather than as a standalone policy.
CrimeListed 11,23CFC offers crime in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 9CFC offers cyber insurance, including primary and excess products.Listed 42Add-on for select buyers purchasing another business policy; phone quote route.
Directors and officersListed 11CFC offers directors and officers liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 11CFC offers employment practices liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. CFC does not write standalone employment practices liability.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 11CFC offers fiduciary liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
General liabilityListed 13CFC offers general liability within its property and casualty product.Listed 36
Intellectual propertyListed 14CFC offers intellectual-property insurance for eligible businesses with revenue up to $500 million, depending on industry.Not listed
Kidnap and ransomListed 15CFC offers kidnap and ransom insurance, including a specialist marine product.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 10,11CFC offers a US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Media liabilityListed 21CFC offers media liability insurance for content creators and media businesses.Not listed
Product liabilityListed 22CFC offers product liability within its life-science and nutraceutical policies.Not listed
Product recallListed 16CFC offers product-recall and contaminated-product-recall insurance.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 12CFC offers professional liability insurance for professional-service businesses.Listed 38
Representations and warrantiesListed 17CFC offers buyer-side and seller-side representations and warranties insurance.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2CFC offers technology errors and omissions for technology businesses.Not listed
Tools, equipment and inland marineNot listedListed 41
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 18CFC offers excess professional liability, general liability and cyber limits for small and micro businesses.Not listed
Virtual care and telehealthListed 19CFC offers an eHealth package for businesses delivering health care through technology, including telemedicine.Not listed
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 37

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Current Spot Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

CFC

Managing general agent

Carrier & MGA

No Spot Score

Assessment subject unavailable

Provider assessment

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

CFC

-/ 10

Review Score

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.[4][11]

Read CFC reviews

Simply Business

5.7/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Customers disagree about Simply Business. Trustpilot shows 4.3 out of 5 from 1,901 reviews, but BBB customers give it 1.95 from 20 reviews and ConsumerAffairs shows 1.0.[6][10][7]

Read Simply Business reviews

Key Differences Between CFC and Simply Business

Business Fit and Coverage

The catalogues share commercial property, cyber, general liability; other listed lines appear in the comparison table. For the overlap, match the policy forms, limits, exclusions and endorsements before treating the products as alternatives. A shared line name does not establish equal protection or eligibility.

Startups through multinationals can ask CFC about technology coverage, including before generating revenue; the stated audience does not guarantee a particular business will qualify. 1Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 30,35,31Company-reported. Company-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.

Businesses with specialist exposures can explore CFC’s carbon-credit, CORSIA, sexual-abuse, terrorism and marine offerings; a US catalogue listing does not establish California access. 25,26,27,28Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Roles and Quote Access

CFC can quote specialist cover as an MGA, meaning it performs some underwriting functions for insurers that carry the risk. Its disclosures identify CFC Underwriting Limited and U.S. producer CFC USA, Inc.; the CFC brand is not the insurer name on every policy. 5,4Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 30,31,43,32Company-reported. U.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved.

A senior staff member should expect to complete the technology application and send it to a broker; it asks for revenue, funding, subsidiaries, products, contracts, security, IP procedures and claims history. CFC Connect separately supports broker trading and appointments. 3,6Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 32,31Company-reported. Published U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.

Use these routes to plan who will assemble the submission and whether you can complete the purchase online or need an agent or broker. Ask CFC and Simply Business to confirm the route for your state, coverage and business details; an online quote path alone does not show that a risk can be bound. 3 32

Policy Service and Claims

Cyber buyers can get threat monitoring, alerts, a response app and round-the-clock technical incident support according to CFC; check the proposed policy for access, scope and conditions. 7Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 32,33,31Company-reported. Company-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer.

You can report a claim through CFC’s form, email or phone; cyber incidents also have a separate phone route and app. These are notification channels, not a promise about payment speed or outcome. 8Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 31,33Company-reported. General site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship.

Compare the practical handoffs for documents, policy changes, renewal questions and claim notices. A listed support route describes access to help, not a claim outcome or a guarantee of service speed.

What to Confirm in Quotes

Request quotes for the same business details, coverage lines, limits, deductibles or retentions and policy period. Ask CFC and Simply Business to name the producer and issuing insurer for each proposed policy, confirm who can bind it, and itemize any customer fees or intermediary compensation. For the overlapping commercial property, cyber, general liability, compare the actual insuring agreement, exclusions, sublimits and endorsements. Also confirm who handles account changes and receives claim notices. 4 30 2 31

Compare Services

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaCFCSimply Business
Business role

CFC can quote specialist cover as an MGA, meaning it performs some underwriting functions for insurers that carry the risk. Its disclosures identify CFC Underwriting Limited and U.S. producer CFC USA, Inc.; the CFC brand is not the insurer name on every policy. 5,4Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 30,31,43,32Company-reported. U.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved.

Application process

A senior staff member should expect to complete the technology application and send it to a broker; it asks for revenue, funding, subsidiaries, products, contracts, security, IP procedures and claims history. CFC Connect separately supports broker trading and appointments. 3,6Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 32,31Company-reported. Published U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.

Servicing and renewals

Cyber buyers can get threat monitoring, alerts, a response app and round-the-clock technical incident support according to CFC; check the proposed policy for access, scope and conditions. 7Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Agree on renewal timing, certificate turnaround and account support before choosing CFC; reviewed materials do not specify those commitments for California technology buyers. 6,3Not publicly disclosed. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Simply Business lists licensed-agent phone support Monday through Friday: sales 8 a.m.–8 p.m. Eastern Time and service 9 a.m.–6 p.m. These listed hours do not establish a response-time guarantee. 32Company-reported. Hours displayed on the current U.S. contact page; no actual wait-time observation is implied.

The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 32,33,31Company-reported. Company-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer.

The Help Center FAQ says most customers opt into automatic renewal and gives 60-day notice and 30-day processing timing only for those who opt in. The same Help Center summary and June 30, 2026 Terms use broader automatic-renewal wording without the FAQ’s opt-in qualification. The public descriptions conflict; they do not establish which wording applies to every policy. 33,31Conflicting sources. Company-published descriptions reviewed 2026-09-29. FAQ detail, Help Center summary and Terms are inconsistent; no buyer-specific policy notice was reviewed.

Claims assistance

You can report a claim through CFC’s form, email or phone; cyber incidents also have a separate phone route and app. These are notification channels, not a promise about payment speed or outcome. 8Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 31,33Company-reported. General site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship.

Customer focus

Startups through multinationals can ask CFC about technology coverage, including before generating revenue; the stated audience does not guarantee a particular business will qualify. 1Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 30,35,31Company-reported. Company-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.

Fees and compensation

Request premium, taxes, fees and intermediary pay in a written breakdown; CFC’s reviewed US technology materials do not disclose a buyer-specific price, commission rate or full charge schedule. 2,3,6Not publicly disclosed. Only the listed US technology and broker-process sources; no inference of free service or zero commission. Australian and unrelated Irish CFC disclosures are not US pricing evidence.

The Terms say Simply Business receives commission or other compensation from or through panel members and that customers may also incur separate processing, administrative, service, installment or cancellation fees. They give no amount or placement-specific applicability; the Terms say charges are disclosed before purchase. 31Company-reported. General disclosure dated 2026-06-30; no specific commission, fee schedule, premium or customer charge was reviewed.

Sources

CFC Official Website

  1. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology companies — US application v2.4. CFC; Pages 1–8: completion instructions and Sections 1–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC USA Inc.; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Connect broker trading portal. CFC; Get started; Products traded on Connect; FAQs: broker appointment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. CFC Response. CFC; Proactive protection; Immediate response; Real-time support. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Notify a claim or cyber incident. CFC; Experiencing a cyber incident now?; General enquiries or claims. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. Cyber insurance — US. CFC; Cyber product cards: Cyber Proactive Response, Cyber (admitted), Corporate cyber, Cyber excess. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Management liability. CFC; Management liability; Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  11. Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: opening coverage list; What else is in the policy?; What we decline. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  12. Professional liability. CFC; Our professional liability products; Professional liability (admitted). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  13. Property & casualty. CFC; Property & casualty product description: property and general liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  14. Intellectual property insurance. CFC; Intellectual property product introduction; Key features; Defense; Pursuit of infringers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  15. Kidnap and ransom. CFC; Kidnap & ransom product cards and Key features. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  16. Product recall. CFC; Contaminated product recall and Product recall product cards. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  17. Transaction liability. CFC; Transaction liability; Buyer protect; Seller protect; Secondary liquidity solutions; Limit & appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  18. Umbrella cover. CFC; Umbrella cover product description: policy lines, small and micro businesses, primary placement with CFC or others. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  19. Digital health insurance. CFC; eHealth product: Telemedicine, mHealth, Artificial intelligence, Remote patient monitoring. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  20. Medical malpractice. CFC; Our medical malpractice products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  21. Media & entertainment. CFC; Media product description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  22. Life science. CFC; What does CFC’s life science policy cover?; Life sciences and Nutraceuticals product cards. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  23. Fintech insurance. CFC; What does CFC’s fintech policy cover?; Fintech product. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  24. Financial institutions. CFC; Financial institutions professional indemnity; Investment managers; SME banks. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  25. Carbon insurance. CFC; Carbon delivery; Carbon cancellation; Carbon lender non-payment; CORSIA guarantee. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  26. Safeprotect misconduct liability. CFC; Safeprotect product; Praesidium services. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  27. Terrorism. CFC; Introduction: standalone terrorism policy. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  28. Marine. CFC; Introduction: hull war and marine kidnap & ransom. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  29. CFC launches admitted offerings for professional liability and technology E&O. CFC; 21 March 2023 announcement: admitted technology E&O; broker quote, bind and adjustment process. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Simply Business Official Website

  1. Our Small Business Insurance Story. Simply Business; Opening description and audience; digital marketplace, business types and U.S. service. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Terms of Service. Simply Business; Dated June 30, 2026; §1 lines 22–28; §8 lines 87–113; §10 lines 143–149; §19 line 211. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Contact Us. Simply Business; Opening contact details lines 20–31; licensed-agent phone hours lines 46–59; U.S. licensing and state-specific name disclosures in footer lines 108–111, including California License #0M20593. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Help Center. Simply Business; Claims, account servicing, agent-routed changes, renewal FAQ and Common Topics. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. How Simply Business Works. Simply Business; Common types lines 92–160; quote/purchase flow; estimate-method footnotes lines 198–200. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. Business Insurance for Small Businesses. Simply Business; Small Business Insurance Coverage Options and policy links. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  7. General Liability Insurance for a Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage lines 51–75; audience lines 61–65, 153–155; application and examples elsewhere on page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  8. Workers’ Compensation Insurance for Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage and benefits lines 45–69; state/buyer qualifications lines 178–189. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  9. Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. Simply Business; Coverage lines 45–100; buyer examples lines 101–158; online quote steps lines 237–260. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  10. Business Owner’s Policy Insurance. Simply Business; Bundle lines 34–38, 218–243; add-on/exclusion discussion lines 226–243; buyer and quote sections. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  11. Commercial Property Insurance. Simply Business; Lines 15–18 present physical-location cover as part of a BOP; lines 34–49 describe the package; lines 59–63 say it is offered as part of the BOP rather than as a standalone policy and link to a BOP quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  12. Inland Marine Insurance. Simply Business; Equipment/inventory lines 15–18, 59–63; examples and quote workflow lines 97–140, 168–191. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  13. Cyber Insurance. Simply Business; Claim types lines 88–105; select-buyer add-on/phone quote lines 171–175; route and last-updated lines 389–395. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  14. Producer Compensation Disclosure (United States). Travelers; Ownership interest in a producer, lines 57–60: Travelers says it owns Simply Business, Inc.; relation to Simply Business, LLC not stated. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Suggested Comparisons

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot