CFC vs Coterie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

CFC packages technology E&O and cyber; Coterie agents quote BOP, general liability and professional liability, with cyber available as an optional endorsement.

An Overview of CFC and Coterie Insurance

A software consultancy leasing its first office may need property and routine liability alongside protection for its services. Coterie lists BOP, general liability and miscellaneous professional liability, with cyber as an optional endorsement. Choose CFC for technology E&O and cyber; choose Coterie for an agent-quoted BOP and office liability. 2 31 41

What Stands Out About CFC and Coterie Insurance?

CFC at a Glance

  • Eligible technology businesses can combine E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability. 2Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.
  • Cyber policyholders may get threat monitoring, alerts and 24/7 incident support. 7Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Coterie Insurance at a Glance

  • Agents can prepare and bind eligible small-business quotes from prefilled information in one dashboard. 34,35,31Company-reportedCompany-described standard agent workflow; does not cover referrals, manual underwriting exceptions or every partner integration.
  • Manage documents, certificates, policy changes and claim reports online, with agent help for coverage questions. 39,37Company-reportedPublic policyholder resources; tool availability and authority to change coverage can depend on the policy and agent relationship.

CFC vs Coterie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCFCCoterie Insurance
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 31,42Coterie offers a business owner’s policy through its agent channel.
Commercial propertyListed 13CFC offers property coverage within its property and casualty product.Not listed
CrimeListed 11,23CFC offers crime in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 9CFC offers cyber insurance, including primary and excess products.Not listed
Directors and officersListed 11CFC offers directors and officers liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 11CFC offers employment practices liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. CFC does not write standalone employment practices liability.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 11CFC offers fiduciary liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
General liabilityListed 13CFC offers general liability within its property and casualty product.Listed 31,32Coterie offers general liability policies for small businesses through its partner distribution.
Intellectual propertyListed 14CFC offers intellectual-property insurance for eligible businesses with revenue up to $500 million, depending on industry.Not listed
Kidnap and ransomListed 15CFC offers kidnap and ransom insurance, including a specialist marine product.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 10,11CFC offers a US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Media liabilityListed 21CFC offers media liability insurance for content creators and media businesses.Not listed
Product liabilityListed 22CFC offers product liability within its life-science and nutraceutical policies.Not listed
Product recallListed 16CFC offers product-recall and contaminated-product-recall insurance.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 12CFC offers professional liability insurance for professional-service businesses.Listed 31,43Coterie lists miscellaneous professional liability for eligible small businesses in participating states.
Representations and warrantiesListed 17CFC offers buyer-side and seller-side representations and warranties insurance.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2CFC offers technology errors and omissions for technology businesses.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 18CFC offers excess professional liability, general liability and cyber limits for small and micro businesses.Not listed
Virtual care and telehealthListed 19CFC offers an eHealth package for businesses delivering health care through technology, including telemedicine.Not listed

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

CFC and Coterie Insurance Coverage, Line by Line

Open what CFC and Coterie Insurance each publish for one coverage line.

CFC and Coterie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

CFC Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.

Read CFC reviews

Coterie Insurance Review Score

7.0/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Coterie’s BBB complaint record is a concern; its single Trustpilot review is too small a sample to offset that. Ask how complaints and service problems are resolved.

Read Coterie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between CFC and Coterie

Two Agent Channels with Different Product Starting Points

Coterie is an MGA and platform for licensed agents and distribution partners, not a storefront where the business independently selects a market panel. Its agent workflow uses business name, address and industry to prefill a quote. CFC also supplies a broker channel through Connect, but its technology application asks for detailed activities, contracts, security and IP information. A faster initial data entry step would not establish equivalent underwriting or coverage. 35 34 6 3

Ask the agent to describe what is being submitted as the insured profession. “Consulting” should not obscure software implementation, hosting or managed services when those activities matter to the risk. Coterie’s MPL guide is for listed service professions; CFC’s form specifically explores technology activities. Neither record proves acceptance of this particular consultancy. 43 3

A Cyber Endorsement Is Not Automatically a Technology Package

Coterie markets cyber as an optional endorsement alongside its core policies. CFC describes cyber, E&O and media/IP sections in its US technology brochure. Compare the cyber extension’s limits and insured events with the combined proposal, while separately checking professional-liability coverage for client financial losses. The shared catalogue cannot turn an optional endorsement into an equivalent standalone policy. 41 44 2

Coterie’s BOP addresses property and liability, so an office-focused proposal needs its own property schedule. Its policyholder FAQ says each business location requires a separate policy. If the consultancy adds a second office, clarify how locations and shared professional work are insured rather than assuming one dashboard means one policy. 33 39

Eligibility and Recurring Costs Need Product-Level Checks

Coterie’s broad national marketing and its MPL guide disagree on geographic scope; the record preserves the exclusions in the product guide. CFC’s current California technology route also remains unestablished in the reviewed materials. For a Bay Area buyer, ask for an actual eligible proposal rather than extrapolating from either producer’s reach. 1 4

Do not rely on a general all-state claim for Coterie MPL: its December 2025 guide lists six states/DC where it is unavailable, while a newer quick-start page says MPL is available in most states. Check the current product guide and quote. 34,36,43Conflicting sourcesConflict among current company marketing pages and the linked MPL product guide; account-specific availability was not tested.

Coterie discloses policy and payment fees and a possible Manage My Risk Program fee. CFC’s reviewed technology documents do not provide an equivalent complete fee schedule. Compare the agent’s total invoices and renewal arrangements; different disclosure detail does not establish which proposal costs less. 37 2 6

What Should You Confirm in CFC and Coterie Quotes?

  • Have the agent identify whether the work belongs in miscellaneous professional liability or technology E&O, with hosting and implementation activities expressly addressed. 43 3
  • Compare the selected cyber endorsement with the proposed CFC cyber sections, including response services, sublimits and claims reporting. 44 2
  • Verify the office locations, state eligibility, renewal charges and optional risk-program fees before binding. 39 37 4

CFC vs Coterie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaCFCCoterie Insurance
Business role

CFC can quote specialist cover as an MGA, meaning it performs some underwriting functions for insurers that carry the risk. Its disclosures identify CFC Underwriting Limited and U.S. producer CFC USA, Inc.; the CFC brand is not the insurer name on every policy. 5,4Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Coterie is an agent-facing digital route for small-business insurance, so buyers need a licensed agent rather than a direct-to-consumer marketplace. It operates as a managing general agency and platform for agents, brokers and partners. 30,35,48Company-reportedCurrent public positioning of the Coterie brand and platform; does not establish the risk-bearing insurer for a policy.

Coterie Applications, Inc. provides the platform under the website terms. The website also identifies Coterie Insurance Agency, LLC as an agency through which it offers insurance. 37,30Company-reportedProvider-disclosed platform and agency identities only; this fact does not assert a Florida member relationship or a Massachusetts license interval.

Coterie's website lists multiple investors, and Allianz X records Coterie as a current direct investment after leading a 2025 Series C round. The reviewed sources do not establish an acquisition, a controlling parent or Coterie's complete current ownership table. 30,48,49,51Not found in reviewed sourcesPublic investor and corporate sources reviewed through September 15, 2026; beneficial ownership was not independently established.

Application process

A senior staff member should expect to complete the technology application and send it to a broker; it asks for revenue, funding, subsidiaries, products, contracts, security, IP procedures and claims history. CFC Connect separately supports broker trading and appointments. 3,6Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

A licensed agent starts a quote in Coterie's dashboard with the client's business name and address, selects the principal industry, confirms or edits prefilled details, customizes coverage and pays to bind an eligible policy. Business owners who do not already have an agent can use Coterie's agent finder. 34,35,31Company-reportedCompany-described standard agent workflow; does not cover referrals, manual underwriting exceptions or every partner integration.

Eligible standard risks may get a quote in under two minutes, according to Coterie, but a quote is not coverage until eligibility is confirmed, underwriting approves it and the policy is issued. 35,37Company-reportedMarketing speed statement and controlling website terms; no independent timing test was performed.

Availability

California buyers should confirm product eligibility and current license authority before applying: CFC reports all-state producer licenses and surplus-lines authorization in four states, including California. It identifies CFC General Insurance Agency, Inc. as its California licensing name; this disclosure was not independently checked. 4Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

California-domiciled businesses should look elsewhere for the described management-liability product, and standalone EPL is also listed as declined. This restriction applies to the January 2026 brochure’s offering, not every CFC product. 11Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Ask CFC for a current California eligibility answer before spending time on a technology application; reviewed pages do not establish the route for a particular startup. A 2023 admitted Tech E&O announcement does not supply a current product schedule. 1,2,3,29Not found in reviewed sourcesCalifornia technology-product access only. General producer authorization is separate from product eligibility. No live quote or state filing was obtained.

Coterie says BOP and general liability are admitted products in all 50 states, but your risk may still be ineligible by state, business class or underwriting, and catastrophe moratoriums can pause new BOP sales. 36,37,47Company-reportedCompany nationwide distribution claim, website terms and moratorium page checked September 15, 2026; no 50-state form or rate filing audit was performed.

Do not rely on a general all-state claim for Coterie MPL: its December 2025 guide lists six states/DC where it is unavailable, while a newer quick-start page says MPL is available in most states. Check the current product guide and quote. 34,36,43Conflicting sourcesConflict among current company marketing pages and the linked MPL product guide; account-specific availability was not tested.

Coastal businesses 3–26 miles from shore in seven southeastern states may be considered for a Coterie BOP with up to $250,000 in business property and no building cover in the coastal zone; risks closer than 3 miles remain ineligible and Florida building cover is unavailable statewide (company description as of Sept. 11, 2026). 46,47Company-reportedCompany's September 2026 coastal BOP appetite only; state-specific limits, deductibles, moratoriums and underwriting still apply.

Servicing and renewals

Cyber buyers can get threat monitoring, alerts, a response app and round-the-clock technical incident support according to CFC; check the proposed policy for access, scope and conditions. 7Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Agree on renewal timing, certificate turnaround and account support before choosing CFC; reviewed materials do not specify those commitments for California technology buyers. 6,3Not publicly disclosedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Policyholders can manage documents, certificates, policy changes and claim reports online; use your agent or broker for coverage questions. Coterie also provides sample forms to help you review proposed terms. 39,37Company-reportedPublic policyholder resources; tool availability and authority to change coverage can depend on the policy and agent relationship.

Businesses with multiple locations should ask about separate policies because Coterie’s FAQ says each location needs its own policy. 39Company-reportedGeneral policyholder FAQ as of September 15, 2026; confirm how mailing, temporary, project and additional locations are treated in the proposed form.

Set renewal preferences before the next term: most Coterie policies are 12 months and may renew automatically, with charges using the saved payment method unless the policy says otherwise. 37Company-reportedWebsite terms effective December 16, 2025; the proposed policy, renewal notice and applicable state law control.

Fees and compensation

Request premium, taxes, fees and intermediary pay in a written breakdown; CFC’s reviewed US technology materials do not disclose a buyer-specific price, commission rate or full charge schedule. 2,3,6Not publicly disclosedOnly the listed US technology and broker-process sources; no inference of free service or zero commission. Australian and unrelated Irish CFC disclosures are not US pricing evidence.

Include Coterie’s fees in your total-cost comparison: terms list a variable one-time new/renewal policy fee, $7 installment fee, up to $10 late fee and up to $35 insufficient-funds fee; amounts vary by state and line and some are nonrefundable. 37Company-reportedWebsite fee terms effective December 16, 2025; not every fee applies to every policy or state.

Ask whether a Coterie policy includes a Manage My Risk Program fee; it is earned when paid and nonrefundable after midterm cancellation, but its amount is not published. 37Company-reportedManage My Risk Program terms effective December 16, 2025; applicability and the quoted fee require account-specific disclosure.

Ask whether your agent receives commission or other compensation because Coterie says it may pay commissions through a third-party processor; public sources do not state the rate for your policy. 38,37Company-reportedPublic privacy and platform terms; no producer agreement or account-specific compensation disclosure was reviewed.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to CFC vs Coterie Insurance

  • CFC describes specialist technology underwriting and cyber-response services through an MGA route; AIG lists broader commercial options submitted through brokers and agents.

  • Coterie is an agent-facing small-business MGA and platform with specific standard and surplus routes; AIG is a broader insurer group served through producers.

  • Alliance Risk brokers a broad range of commercial coverage; CFC sells technology products and cyber response through brokers; its reviewed management-liability offer excludes California-domiciled businesses.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot