Beazley vs HUB International Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

HUB structures E&O with prior-acts and tail coverage across placements; Beazley's MediaTech form defines one specific tail mechanism instead.

What Is Beazley?

Beazley is a specialty insurance group whose MediaTech product combines technology and professional E&O, media and cyber coverage. Separate offerings address executive liability, digital health and other specialty risks. 1,2,3,4

Read the Beazley profile

What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 7,8,9

Read the HUB International profile

What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 12,13,14,15

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

A General Description of Tail Coverage Versus One Named Mechanism

HUB describes E&O policies generally as typically claims-made with per-claim and aggregate limits, prior-acts coverage back to a retroactive date, and optional tail coverage for an extended reporting period, varying by which carrier HUB places the business with. 11 Beazley's sample MediaTech form instead names one specific mechanism:

Coverage is claims-made and reported: it responds only to claims first made and reported during the policy period (or a purchased Optional Extension Period), and defense costs reduce the available limit. A buyer can purchase an Optional Extension Period (a tail) for additional premium after non-renewal or cancellation. 6,5Company-reported. Sample policy form F00731; application form repeats the same notice; specific tail pricing and duration are set in the declarations, not disclosed publicly.

HUB's description covers a range of carriers it might place a client with; Beazley's describes the one mechanism built into its own form. 11

Who Underwrites Versus Who Brokers

Beazley's Digital MediaTech Application names Beazley Insurance Company, Inc. on its cover page as the underwriter. 5 HUB instead brokers professional liability and E&O for its own clients, and its reviewed pages do not name a specific issuing insurer since the carrier varies by placement. 10

What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes

  • Ask HUB for the specific retroactive date and tail-coverage price the carrier it selects can offer for your policy. 11
  • Ask Beazley for the specific tail pricing and duration of its Optional Extension Period, since the sample form does not disclose it. 6
  • Confirm the specific insurer on your Beazley declarations, since the blank application names Beazley Insurance Company, Inc. generally. 5
  • Ask HUB which carrier it would place your business with and what claims-reporting process that carrier uses. 11
  • Ask Beazley whether your profession falls inside the MediaTech form's Professional Services definition or is carved out. 6

Offering Details

Beazley vs HUB International Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaBeazley MediaTech for Small BusinessesHUB International Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Brokerage
Role in This Line

Beazley sells professional errors and omissions coverage bundled inside MediaTech, a single small-business form that also includes technology E&O, media liability and cyber coverage. It is not sold as a standalone professional-liability policy for this segment. 1Company-reported. US small-business MediaTech product page; does not address any larger-account professional liability program Beazley may write separately.

HUB brokers professional liability, which it also calls errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, rather than underwriting the coverage itself. 10,11Company-reported. Professional liability and E&O product pages as read 2026-09-23; neither names an issuing insurer.

Issuing Insurer

Beazley's posted Digital MediaTech Application names Beazley Insurance Company, Inc. as the insurer on its cover page. The actual issuing entity for a given policy is confirmed on the quote and declarations, not the blank application. 5Company-reported. Application form F00859, 042022 edition; not a regulator record and not evidence of the entity for every state or route.

Neither the professional liability nor the E&O product page names an issuing insurer; HUB places this coverage with insurers that vary by client and placement. 10,11Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; no carrier is disclosed on either.

Who It’s For

Not described in the reviewed sources.

HUB names accounting, law, medical, financial-advisory, real estate, architecture and engineering, consulting, and contracting businesses as typical E&O buyers, and separately lists technology among nine industries its E&O practice serves. 10,11Company-reported. Combined professional-liability and E&O industry lists; not a published underwriting appetite by state.

Coverage Features

The sample MediaTech form covers a Tech & Professional Services Wrongful Act: a negligent act, error, omission, misstatement or unintentional breach of contract in rendering Professional Services, defined as services performed for others for a fee. 6Company-reported. Sample policy form F00731, 022019 edition, insuring agreements and definitions; the issued policy's wording and any endorsements control.

The sample form's definition of Professional Services excludes services performed as an accountant, architect, surveyor, health care provider, lawyer, insurance or real estate agent or broker, or civil or structural engineer, so those licensed professions are not covered by this professional E&O trigger. 6Company-reported. Sample policy form F00731, 022019 edition, Professional Services definition; a business in one of these excluded professions would need different coverage even if it buys MediaTech.

HUB says professional liability/E&O policies it arranges can cover defense costs, judgments, settlements and fines from allegations of misrepresentation, breach of professional services, wrongful business practices, misleading advice and conflict of interest, plus libel, slander or lost-profit claims; intentional acts and employment claims are typically excluded. 10Company-reported. Product-page coverage description; the issued policy and its exclusions control an actual claim.

HUB says E&O policies are typically claims-made with per-claim and aggregate limits, can be structured with prior-acts coverage back to a retroactive date, and can offer tail coverage for an extended reporting period; coverage can extend to independent contractors and temporary staff performing work for the business. 11Company-reported. E&O product-page structure description; specific limits and retroactive dates are set on the quote and declarations.

Limits and Retentions

Coverage is claims-made and reported: it responds only to claims first made and reported during the policy period (or a purchased Optional Extension Period), and defense costs reduce the available limit. A buyer can purchase an Optional Extension Period (a tail) for additional premium after non-renewal or cancellation. 6,5Company-reported. Sample policy form F00731; application form repeats the same notice; specific tail pricing and duration are set in the declarations, not disclosed publicly.

Unless the declarations list a separate amount, each insuring agreement in the sample form (including the professional-liability trigger) shares the same Policy Aggregate Limit of Liability with the policy's media and cyber coverages rather than carrying its own dedicated limit. 6Company-reported. Sample policy form F00731, 022019 edition, Limit of Liability and Coverage section; actual sublimits depend on what is purchased and shown on the declarations.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

How to Apply

Beazley's MediaTech application asks applicants to describe the professional and technology services they perform, disclose employee count and multi-year US and non-US revenue, and state whether written client contracts include scope-of-work, damages-cap and consequential-damages-disclaimer provisions. 5Company-reported. Application form F00859, 042022 edition, General Information, Revenue Information and Contractual Controls sections; a completed application does not establish acceptance.

HUB directs prospects to connect with a broker; the pages describe professional liability/E&O policies as customized to business size, industry, location, risk base and desired limits, without an online quote flow. 10,11Company-reported. Product-page call to action and customization description as read 2026-09-23.

Claims Support

Beazley says its cyber and tech claims team, including experienced litigators, has handled thousands of E&O claims, which it describes as including implementation errors alongside software failures and IP disputes. 1Company-reported. MediaTech product page claims paragraph; outcome and volume figures are Beazley's own description and not independently verified.

HUB's E&O page tells policyholders to notify their broker and carrier as soon as possible after an incident and submit documentation including a narrative of the events leading up to the claim. 11Company-reported. E&O product-page claims-notification guidance; a general process description, not an outcome measurement.

Full Comparison

More Beazley vs HUB International Comparisons

Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Beazley

  1. MediaTech for Small Businesses. Beazley; Opening product description; What we offer: E&O (Tech and Professional), Media, Cyber coverage includes; SME placement paragraph; claims team paragraph. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  2. Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary). Beazley; ExecuGuard product introduction: combined EPL, D&O and fiduciary coverage for private organizations; What we offer: separate or shared limits, admitted or non-admitted; How can we help. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Virtual Care. Beazley; Available Coverages; Who we can help; Where is this offered. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Beazley Digital Media Tech Application. Beazley; F00859, 042022 edition, Beazley Insurance Company, Inc.; page 1 claims-made-and-reported notice and General Information; page 1-2 Revenue Information. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Beazley MediaTech Sample Policy. Beazley; F00731, 022019 edition; Media, Tech, Data & Network Liability insuring agreement; Definitions: Tech & Professional Services Wrongful Act, Professional Services; Limit of Liability and Coverage; Optional Extension Period. Accessed 2026-09-23.

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability Insurance Brokers. HUB International; What is professional liability?; Who Needs Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; How Can You Limit Your Exposure to Professional Liability?; exclusions; Connect With a Broker. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance Coverage. HUB International; Industries served list including accounting, architecture, creative, dental, engineering, financial, medical, media and technology; prior-acts coverage; claims-made structure with per-claim and aggregate limits and tail coverage; claims-notification steps. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

  1. FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot