Armilla vs Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Small employers seeking workers’ compensation with payroll-based payments can consider Pie; AI developers needing model liability or protection for a performance promise can assess Armilla.

An Overview of Armilla and Pie Insurance

An AI company with employees may need both workplace-injury insurance and protection for model output: Pie’s affiliated carriers write small-business workers’ compensation, while Armilla markets AI liability and performance warranties. 2 11 13 Choose Pie if employee-injury coverage and payroll-based workers’ compensation are the need; choose Armilla if model output or an AI performance promise creates liability.

What Stands Out About Armilla and Pie Insurance?

Armilla at a Glance

  • AI developers can insure liability tied to model or agent failures. 3Company-reportedDirect product brief; no policy wording reviewed. Sample areas are not separately marketed general liability, cyber, media or property policies.
  • Begin with an AI risk assessment; confirm deliverables and any monitoring or retesting in the proposal. 2Company-reportedInitial assessment described on the AI insurance page; reviewed evidence does not establish specific assessment deliverables, monitoring or retesting terms.

Pie Insurance at a Glance

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 10,9,11Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not describe the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 25,26Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Armilla vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageArmillaPie Insurance
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 15Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
Cyber liabilityNot listedListed 16Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
General liabilityNot listedListed 18Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Generative AI liabilityListed 3Armilla markets standalone AI liability insurance as a managing general agent.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Not listedListed 17Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 11Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Armilla and Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Each score uses the criteria for that provider’s role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

No Reliability Score

Carrier & MGA

No Reliability Score

Reliability Score details

Armilla and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

Armilla Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

Armilla has no customer ratings on the review sites we checked, so there's no Review Score yet. Armilla sells AI insurance, a small niche, so you'll want to ask for references.

Read Armilla reviews

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between Armilla and Pie Insurance

Different Information Drives Each Quote

Pie’s public process starts with location and describes payroll and class-code inputs. Armilla begins with an AI risk assessment. A growing team should therefore maintain an employee/payroll submission and a separate model/use-case submission, rather than expecting either application to describe the whole company’s risks. 14 11 2

Pie also markets selected BOP, cyber and professional-liability products through outside carriers. Those are not automatically written by its workers’ compensation insurers, and their presence does not establish a substitute for Armilla’s AI scope. Ask for a separate proposed form if considering Pie’s partner products for the technology exposure. 13 16 17 3

Payroll Reconciliation and Model Retesting Are Different Costs

Pie offers pay-as-you-go workers’ compensation based on reported payroll without an initial deposit, but still requires an annual premium audit. The audit can change the final premium. Armilla begins with an AI risk assessment before customizing an insurance or warranty proposal; ask whether ongoing monitoring or retesting is offered and what it costs. Budget the ongoing obligations separately instead of comparing an initial payment with an annual AI proposal. 26 27 2 7

Use the Right Reporting Channel for the Loss

Pie publishes workplace-injury reporting instructions, but its public state and claims-handler descriptions are not fully reconciled. Armilla’s complete notice procedure and administrator remain unresolved in the reviewed pages. A personnel incident and an AI customer allegation should not be routed through a single assumed contact merely because finance bought both products. 28 29 19 2

What Should You Confirm in Armilla and Pie Insurance Quotes?

  • Confirm all employee states and classifications in the Pie proposal, including the current carrier and claims administrator for each location. 19 29
  • Record payroll reporting, audit and payment charges separately from Armilla assessment, retesting, premium and warranty costs. 25 27 7
  • For any partner cyber/E&O quote, obtain the issuer and AI wording; for Armilla, resolve California access and whether the instrument is insurance or a warranty. 13 1 2

Armilla vs Pie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaArmillaPie Insurance
Business role

Armilla offers AI insurance, performance warranties and model assessments, but the insurer—not the brand—takes on policy risk. Armilla describes its insurance operation as an MGA and Armilla Insurance Services as a Lloyd’s coverholder. 3,1,6Company-reportedCompany descriptions of the Armilla brand and insurance operation; delegated authority and producer licensing have not been independently verified.

The reviewed corporate record identifies Armilla Insurance Services Inc. but does not establish California insurance authority; verify the licensed producer on your quote. Florida’s registry lists the company as a Delaware corporation. 8VerifiedExact entity spelling in corporate filing F24000002598, inspected on September 16, 2026. No California producer lookup was completed.

Small businesses can buy Pie’s workers’ compensation directly or through agents; affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ comp, while outside insurers provide some other Pie products. 10,13,11,15,16,17,18Company-reportedCurrent public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant.

If parent-company ownership matters, Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the website and is regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty; AM Best identifies the insurer group as Pie Insurance Group. 12,32,30VerifiedWebsite ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary.

Pie Insurance Services, Inc. is the producer that sells and administers policies; verify its current license in your state because Pie’s own license page is not regulator confirmation. 13,33Company-reportedProducer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action.

Access to insurers

Ask for the insurer and syndicate named on your quote: Armilla names certain Lloyd’s underwriters and lists Chaucer, Axis Capital and Convex as backing partners, but does not identify the contracting insurer for each quote. 1,3Company-reportedAI liability only. Partner names do not establish that each participates in every placement; no ratings independently verified.

Before relying on a performance warranty, identify who owes the remedy and whether you have rights against a backing insurer; the brief lists Chaucer Group, Greenlight Re and Swiss Re but does not name the legal warranty issuer or California contract. 4Company-reportedWarranty partner disclosure only; no inference that backing partners directly insure the enterprise buyer.

Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 13,30,31,32VerifiedPie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state.

Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 30VerifiedPie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report.

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 13,15,16,17,18Not publicly disclosedCurrent public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

Fees and compensation

Request an itemized premium, assessment price and broker or policy charges: Armilla advertises broker commissions without rates and its general terms permit service fees without an insurance-specific schedule. 6,7Company-reportedPublic broker compensation and generic website fees, not a policy-specific compensation disclosure. Company-reported commission model; amounts unresolved.

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 25,26Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 25Company-reportedCredit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 24Not publicly disclosedWorkers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 29,13Not publicly disclosedAgency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Servicing and renewals

Armilla says buyers begin with an AI risk assessment before it customizes an insurance or warranty proposal. Confirm the assessment deliverables, monitoring and retesting terms in the proposal. 2Company-reportedInitial assessment described on the AI insurance page; reviewed evidence does not establish specific assessment deliverables, monitoring or retesting terms.

Price monitoring and retesting separately unless the proposal includes them: reviewed pages do not explain insurance renewal or whether ongoing model monitoring is included in premium. 5,2Not publicly disclosedLimited to public product and assessment pages reviewed September 16, 2026.

Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 23,24Company-reportedPublished workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested.

Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 27Company-reportedPie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund.

Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 24,29Company-reportedDifferent company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process.

Claims assistance

Before a claim, ask who receives notice and manages it: Armilla describes claims reported during the policy period and offers incident coordination, but reviewed pages do not name a claims administrator or provide a complete reporting process. 2,1Company-reportedPublic claims framework and incident assistance only; no policy notice provisions or performance evidence reviewed.

Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 28Company-reportedPublished first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply.

Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 29,19,30Conflicting sourcesPublic allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Armilla vs Pie Insurance

  • Armilla focuses on AI risk assessment, insurance and performance warranties; AIG’s public materials describe a broader insurer group and broker-facing tools.

  • Compare AIG’s broader commercial insurer group with Pie’s direct and agency workers’ compensation route.

  • Alliance Risk brokers a broad range of commercial coverage; Armilla treats its performance warranty as a contract separate from its insurance; Armilla says an AI risk assessment precedes a tailored insurance or warranty proposal; its specific deliverables and any monitoring or retesting terms need confirmation.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot