Aon vs Pie Insurance

Aon describes broker-led strategy for selected commercial placements, while Pie centers its small-business offer on workers’ compensation sold directly or through agents and also lists other products. Choose Pie when its workers’ compensation path and payroll-based payment options fit; consider Aon when you need broker advice across a selected commercial program. Confirm which insurer underwrites each policy. 1,16,31

Introduction

Aon describes broker-led advice on insurer selection and program strategy for certain commercial accounts. Pie focuses on small-business workers’ compensation, available directly or through agents, with other products placed through outside insurers. If workers’ compensation payment structure is your main decision, review Pie’s quote and payroll options; if you need a broker to organize a wider program, ask Aon how it would approach the placement. 1 16

Coverage Comparison

CoverageAonPie Insurance
Builders riskListed 14Aon names Construction Property/Builders Risk on its global construction page; confirm whether this line is offered for the buyer, state, and placement.Not listed
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 21Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
Cargo and transitListed 9Aon lists cargo placements in its global marine practice; U.S. eligibility, insurer, limits and policy terms are not stated on the reviewed page.Not listed
Commercial autoListed 6Aon lists automobile liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Not listed
Commercial propertyListed 8Aon describes commercial-property brokerage and risk management, with a U.S.-available analytics tool; tool availability does not establish state-specific insurance availability.Not listed
CrimeListed 6Aon lists crime within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 7,6Aon describes cyber insurance and related brokerage, analytics and claims support; confirm the producing entity, insurer, jurisdiction and policy terms for a U.S. placement.Listed 22Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
Directors and officersListed 5Aon describes D&O brokerage and program services in a global practice; this does not identify the producer, insurer or state availability for a particular U.S. placement.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 6Aon lists EPL for professional-services firms in a global practice; this does not establish eligibility for every U.S. employer or state.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 6Aon lists fiduciary liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Not listed
General liabilityListed 14Aon lists general liability within construction liability coverage areas in its global construction practice; this does not establish a standalone or U.S.-available line.Listed 24Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Kidnap and ransomListed 6Aon lists kidnap and ransom within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 6Aon describes management liability in its global Professional Services Practice as a partnership program for law, accounting and consulting firms, rather than a standalone line; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 6Aon describes professional-liability/E&O services for law, accounting and consulting firms; a U.S. placement and any separate technology E&O terms remain to be confirmed.Listed 23Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Surety bondsListed 10Aon markets Commercial Surety globally and says availability depends on jurisdiction; the page does not establish U.S. placement availability.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 14Aon lists umbrella and excess within construction liability coverage areas; ask whether either applies to your project and jurisdiction.Not listed
Workers’ compensationListed 14Aon lists workers compensation among global construction coverage areas; this does not establish state availability or a placement.Listed 17Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Current Spot Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Aon

Broker

Broker

6.7/ 10

Assessed provider: Aon. Scope: Aon group commercial insurance brokerage, assessed at brand level from Aon's published terms, its 2025 SEC filing, and U.S., U.K. and Irish regulator records. It does not assess a single producing entity, insurer or placement, and it is not a ruling on Aon's consulting or benefits businesses.

Provider assessment

Pie Insurance

Hybrid provider

Broker

5.3/ 10

Assessed provider: Pie Insurance. Scope: Pie Insurance Services, Inc. as producer/administrator; The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as separately named P&C entities. This review does not assign Pie Casualty to a product without product-specific evidence and does not treat Pie Group Holdings, Inc. as an insurer.

Carrier & MGA

6.3/ 10

Assessed provider: Pie Insurance. Scope: Pie Insurance Services, Inc. as producer/administrator; The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as separately named P&C entities. This review does not assign Pie Casualty to a product without product-specific evidence and does not treat Pie Group Holdings, Inc. as an insurer.

Provider assessment

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Aon

6.1/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]

Read Aon reviews

Pie Insurance

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.[1][4][6]

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between Aon and Pie Insurance

A focused workers’ compensation route or broker program

Pie says affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ compensation, while other insurers provide some additional products. Buyers can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an agent. Aon’s terms describe insurer and program-strategy discussions for certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs, but do not identify a carrier for your placement. Compare the actual proposed issuer and policy form rather than assuming that a brand-wide carrier relationship applies to every line. 16 16 1 1

Payroll payments, claims and compensation

Pie describes pay-as-you-go workers’ compensation based on reported payroll, as well as installment options; that changes payment timing rather than policy coverage. It asks customers to report workplace injuries promptly and says a claims professional follows up. Aon’s terms assign insurer notice to the client unless a separate signed agreement changes that duty. Aon allows variable and contingent compensation; Pie’s buyer cost and issuer depend on the selected product and proposal. 31 34 1 1

What to Confirm in Quotes

Ask Pie which affiliated or outside insurer would issue each proposed line, how payroll reporting affects installments, and who must receive a claim notice. Ask Aon which insurer markets it would approach and what compensation applies. Compare workers’ compensation class codes, payroll basis, limits, exclusions and total charges.

Compare Services

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaAonPie Insurance
Business role

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. as broker of record for certain insurance programs. Separate electronic-delivery terms name Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries to deliver arranged policies; the terms define an insurer as the policy issuer and risk bearer. These group-level descriptions do not identify the producer or authority for a particular placement. 1,2Company-reported. Company-reported U.S. Commercial Risk brokerage and electronic-delivery terms; certain programs only. No specific insured, licensed producer, appointment, policy issuer, state authority or placement was matched.

Small businesses can buy Pie’s workers’ compensation directly or through agents; affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ comp, while outside insurers provide some other Pie products. 16,19,17,21,22,23,24Company-reported. Current public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant.

If parent-company ownership matters, Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the website and is regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty; AM Best identifies the insurer group as Pie Insurance Group. 18,38,36Verified. Website ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary.

Pie Insurance Services, Inc. is the producer that sells and administers policies; verify its current license in your state because Pie’s own license page is not regulator confirmation. 19,39Company-reported. Producer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action.

Application process

For certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs, Aon says it consults with the client about market conditions, insurers to approach and program strategy, helps prepare underwriting information and applications, and obtains the client’s instructions to bind specific programs based on Aon’s proposal. The client signs applications that require a signature. 1Company-reported. Company-reported contractual terms for certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs; not a universal workflow, online checkout claim, insurer role or guarantee that a quote can bind.

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 16,15,17Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 20,17Company-reported. Unauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 17,15Company-reported. Workers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

Servicing and renewals

Aon says it consults with clients before placing or renewing coverage and, where applicable, administers the insurer relationship for selected programs, including billing, data reporting and negotiated requirements. The terms do not promise automatic renewal, a timetable, a specific market or a particular outcome. 1Company-reported. Company-reported terms for selected U.S. Commercial Risk programs; administration varies where applicable and may be changed by written agreement.

Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 29,30Company-reported. Published workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested.

Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 33Company-reported. Pie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund.

Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 30,35Company-reported. Different company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process.

Claims assistance

Under Aon’s U.S. brokerage terms, the client is responsible for directly notifying insurers as its policies require unless a separate signed agreement says otherwise; Aon says it does not assume that notice or monitoring duty without a separate written agreement. This allocation does not determine whether Aon separately offers or agrees to claims advocacy or other claims-related services. 1,5,7Company-reported. Company-reported contractual allocation for covered U.S. Commercial Risk services; policy terms and any separate written agreement control. Aon separately describes claims advocacy on its D&O and cyber pages.

Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 34Company-reported. Published first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply.

Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 35,25,36Conflicting sources. Public allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions.

Fees and compensation

Aon’s U.S. brokerage terms say compensation may come from insurers or third parties and can vary by contract, insurer and arrangement. Aon and affiliates may also receive contingent and other compensation; contingent goals can create an incentive to place coverage with a particular insurer. Clients may request expected compensation information for their coverage and alternative quotes. The terms do not give a client-specific amount. 1Company-reported. General company-reported U.S. brokerage terms; actual compensation, fees and conflicts for a client or placement are not stated here and may depend on law or contract.

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 31,32Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 31Company-reported. Credit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 30Not publicly disclosed. Workers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 35,19Not publicly disclosed. Agency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Sources

Aon Official Website

  1. Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Aon Commercial Risk U.S. Electronic Disclosure and Consent Terms. Aon; Lines 120–125: Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries in electronic delivery; insurer is defined as issuer and risk bearer. The passage does not identify a producing entity or insurer for a particular placement. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Aon plc Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025. Aon plc / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; Cover lines 23–34: Aon plc is incorporated in Ireland and gives Dublin as principal executive office; lines 261–263: global client breadth; lines 271–273 and segment discussion: company-reported Commercial Risk brokerage and risk-consulting operations. Filing is parent-level evidence, not placement producer, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance. Aon; Lines 135–160: general covered allegations and Side A, B and C scenarios, including public/private differences; lines 171–185: insurer-selection analytics, brokerage/claims-team collaboration and management-liability specialization. Product explanation and company-reported services; not an Aon-issued policy or quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management. Aon; Lines 125–128: global professional-services team and named law, accounting and consulting firm audience; lines 131–147: professional-liability/E&O offering and terminology; lines 151–176: cyber and EPL offerings, including management liability described at lines 158–163 as a partnership program/category; lines 180–189: professional-services P&C listing, including crime, fiduciary, kidnap and ransom, and automobile liability. “Loss Prevention” section (directly inspected passage at lines 209–212) conditions law-firm loss prevention on Aon broking of lawyers’ professional liability. Global practice page; no state-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  7. Cyber Risk. Aon; Lines 194–205: cyber risk financing and cyber insurance; lines 206–230: claims advocacy/preparation and third-party incident-response providers, separate client contracts, no performance guarantee, and possible referral remuneration. Company-reported global service description. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  8. Property Risk Management. Aon; Lines 132–140: property/buildings/contents and possible business-interruption cover, broker team services; lines 148–159: rates, retentions, limits, deductibles, benchmarking and U.S.-available Property Risk Analyzer; lines 161–168: global market access and alternate risk transfer. Tool availability does not establish placement availability or authority by state. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  9. Marine Insurance and Risk Management. Aon; Lines 123–126: global marine practice, customer examples and marine claims/risk services; lines 155–175: cargo offerings including project cargo, general cargo, stock throughput, excess storage and freight/logistics. No U.S. placement terms, insurer, limits or state authority specified. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  10. Commercial Surety. Aon; Lines 125–127: commercial surety bond description and three parties; lines 190–210: Aon says it approaches the surety market globally and describes its brokerage support, with offerings depending on jurisdiction; lines 211–222: examples of bond types. Global company marketing; no U.S. producing entity, state authority, issuer or placement terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  11. About | Aon. Aon; Aon’s company overview and Our Capabilities list distinguish Risk Capital from Human Capital and describe group-wide capabilities. General company identity context; not placement, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  12. Broking and Risk Transfer | Aon. Aon; Explore Our Risk Transfer Offerings; Property & Casualty, Specialty, Management Liability and industry listings. Broad catalogue only; not sufficient for a dedicated line record by itself. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  13. Financial and Executive Risks | Insurance Broking & Risk Management. Aon; Financial Services Group Overview; D&O, fiduciary, EPL and crime references plus policy design and insurer market knowledge. Broad category/source context; not sufficient by itself to establish a separate U.S. product. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  14. Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management. Aon; Lines 125–126: global construction practice designing and placing risk solutions; lines 137–156: industry-specific property, casualty, construction professional liability, subcontractor default and construction surety offerings; lines 167–195: global coverage areas explicitly list Builders Risk, general/umbrella/excess liability within construction liability, workers compensation and surety among other categories. These are construction-practice marketing statements; page does not provide U.S. state or placement availability for each line. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Pie Insurance Official Website

  1. Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; Homepage: small-business audience; direct workers’ compensation quote; online account; footer entity, insurer and availability qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. About Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; About Pie; direct and agency distribution; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; Get a workers’ compensation quote online; insurance made for your small business; quote inputs; coverage description; quote-time and savings qualifications; AM Best link. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Terms Of Use. Pie Insurance; Updated 26 April 2022; Ownership and Agreement to Terms; geographic and product eligibility; policy controls coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Pie Insurance — Quote. Pie Insurance; First step: Business ZIP Code. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  6. Business Owner’s Policy. Pie Insurance; BOP definition; typical components; Make sure you’re covered: Start your BOP quote; footer third-party insurer qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; First- and third-party descriptions; carrier-partner quote invitation; policy-variation qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Errors And Omissions Insurance. Pie Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance hero (E&O and professional liability equivalence); typical claims; Make sure you’re covered: insurance carrier partners, Start now; footer third-party professional liability insurers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. General Liability Insurance. Pie Insurance; Typical covered categories; Make sure you are covered: carrier-partner quote invitation; legal footer: third-party insurers not affiliated with Pie. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Workers’ Comp Coverage By State. Pie Insurance; Headline says 40 states and the District of Columbia; rendered state selector listed 39 state names and omitted New York and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  11. Agency Document Library. Pie Insurance; Workers’ Comp State Documents: 40 named states plus Washington, D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  12. Pie Insurance Reports Strong 2025. Pie Insurance; 13 January 2026 release; Key 2025 Milestones says 39 states plus Washington, D.C.; company and distribution description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  13. Commercial Auto Claim FAQs. Pie Insurance; Does Pie offer commercial auto insurance?; submission cutoff 1 December 2025; no new or renewal policies on or after 1 January 2026; legacy claim guidance. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  14. Online Account Tutorial. Pie Insurance; Payment-method updates; instant and custom certificates; policy information; document access; agent-handled custom certificate qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  15. Workers’ Comp FAQs. Pie Insurance; Certificates; specific and blanket waiver requests, two-business-day response and state-dependent charge; Billing & Payments; Policy Renewal / When will I know it’s time to renew my policy? (approximately 30 days before expiry, quote for review and acceptance); Annual Audit; Claims. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  16. Payment Options. Pie Insurance; Annual, semi-annual, quarterly, monthly and pay-as-you-go schedules; payment methods; 3% card fee and state exceptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  17. Pay-As-You-Go With Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; No initial deposit; actual-payroll monthly premium; automatic deductions; payroll-provider coordination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  18. Your Workers’ Comp Premium Audit. Pie Insurance; Required annual audit; estimated versus actual payroll; audit partner; requested payroll, employee, cash-expense and subcontractor certificate records. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  19. File Your Claim Within 24 Hours. Pie Insurance; Workers’ compensation reporting by online form, 24/7 phone or email; information requested; post-report coverage determination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  20. Partner FAQ. Pie Insurance; How does Pie handle claims? (workers’ compensation in 34 states; CorVel in Alaska, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico and Oregon); How does Pie pay commissions? (new and renewing policies, earned premium); How does Pie handle renewals? (30-day preview: under $20,000 to insured with agency copied, over $20,000 to producer; unless otherwise notified, deposit draft and renewal issuance five days before effective date; exact $20,000 case unstated); Renewal Billing. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  21. AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company. AM Best Rating Services, Inc.; Page 1: A- (Excellent), Stable, affirmed 24 April 2026; page 14: rating unit, group insurer acquisitions, 100% workers’ compensation writing through PCIC and TPIC from 1 January 2024, 40 states and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  22. The Pie Insurance Company — Company Details. Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance; Company name; active license status; NAIC 21857; property-and-casualty authority; 2025 workers’ compensation market data. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  23. Pie Casualty Insurance Company — Entity Details. Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name; P&C Domestic Stock; active status; NAIC 10997; Pie Group Holdings, Inc. parent. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  24. Administrative Actions — January 2024. Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance; Allegations and Actions Against Companies: Pie Insurance Services, Inc. agreed to add a disclaimer to its “save up to 30%” advertising claim after misleading-advertising allegations. Accessed 2026-09-15.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Suggested Comparisons

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot