Alliance Risk vs
Lockton D&O Insurance
Alliance Risk publishes Side A bands and a no-charge policy review; Lockton names an integrated D&O claims team.
What Is Alliance Risk?
Alliance Risk describes itself as an independent commercial insurance brokerage serving complex businesses, including technology startups. Its offering includes technology E&O placement and review of existing policies. 1,2
What Is Lockton?
Lockton is a privately held insurance brokerage that arranges commercial risk, employee benefits and retirement programs. US pages describe a technology practice and intermediary placement with insurers, not Lockton as the policy’s insurer. 5,6,7
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 9
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Broker Design Versus a Named Claims Team
Alliance Risk and Lockton both place D&O rather than underwrite it. Alliance Risk’s D&O work is a review of Side A/B/C structure and missing endorsements, then a market of the risk to management-liability carriers. 3 Lockton describes designing programs with market intelligence and coverage-design precision, including emerging risks such as AI-related litigation. 8 Lockton also names a Professional & Executive Risk Claims team of insurance and claims counsel inside the broking team from the start of the relationship. 8 Alliance Risk’s reviewed D&O page does not describe a claims-advocacy process of its own. 3
Who Can Be Insured
Lockton says a program it structures can extend beyond directors and officers to trustees, employees, independent contractors, committee members, volunteers, the entity, majority-owned subsidiaries, spouses and estates. 8 Alliance Risk describes the three sides of the policies it places—Side A for individuals when the company cannot indemnify them, Side B for company reimbursement, and Side C for certain company liabilities—without listing that wider insured class. 3
Numbers on the Page
Alliance Risk publishes indicative Side A limits and premium bands by company size. 3 Lockton’s D&O page does not publish limits, retentions or premiums, and it does not name the insurers it places with. 8 Alliance Risk’s D&O page also does not name an issuing insurer. 3
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask Lockton how the Professional & Executive Risk Claims team would sit on your file, since Alliance Risk’s reviewed page does not describe a parallel claims function. 8
- Ask Alliance Risk for a Side A/B/C review of your current form before you compare Lockton’s program design. 3
- Confirm which people and entities would be insureds on each placement, given Lockton’s broader listed class. 8
- Get the issuing insurer from both quotes; neither reviewed page names one. 3 8
Offering Details
Alliance Risk vs Lockton D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Alliance Risk Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance | Lockton Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance Brokerage |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Alliance Risk places D&O insurance as a broker: it reviews a company's existing D&O program and markets the risk to carriers that specialize in management liability. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; Alliance Risk does not underwrite the policy itself. | Lockton designs and places D&O programs rather than underwriting them, saying effective coverage requires market intelligence, coverage-design precision and staying ahead of emerging risks like AI-related litigation and event-driven claims. 8Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed D&O page does not name the insurer that would issue a policy; it says Alliance Risk markets a company's risk to carriers that specialize in management liability, so the issuing insurer depends on the placement. 3Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23. | The D&O page does not name the insurers Lockton places D&O coverage with. 8Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page checked 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Alliance Risk says D&O is relevant to venture-backed and public companies, high-risk industries such as fintech, healthcare, real estate and financial services, companies going through M&A, IPO or leadership changes, nonprofits, and small private companies without outside investors. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; eligibility for a particular company depends on underwriting. Alliance Risk says a company should turn on D&O coverage at its first priced funding round, because institutional investment brings personal exposure for directors and officers from day one. 4Company-reported. Management liability page's program-staging guidance, describing D&O specifically among the three bundled lines. | Lockton says D&O coverage it places can extend beyond directors and officers to trustees, employees, independent contractors, staff, committee members, volunteers, the corporate entity, majority-owned subsidiaries, spouses/domestic partners, and estates/heirs. 8Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. Describes who can typically be covered under a program Lockton structures, not a guarantee for any specific client. |
| Coverage Features | Alliance Risk describes D&O policies it places as having three parts: Side A for individual directors and officers when the company cannot indemnify them, Side B reimbursing the company for indemnification costs, and Side C covering the company directly for certain liabilities. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; actual policy structure and whether sides are combined or separately limited depend on the carrier and the policy as issued. Alliance Risk lists standard D&O exclusions it sees, including fraud and intentional misconduct, criminal acts, bodily injury and property damage, and often prior acts before the policy started; it says employment practices and ERISA benefit-plan claims are typically excluded and need separate EPLI or fiduciary liability coverage. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; exclusion wording varies by carrier and the policy as issued. | Lockton explains a traditional D&O program in three parts it says it can structure: Side A (direct coverage to individual directors/officers when the company can't indemnify them), Side B (reimbursing the company for indemnifying its D&Os), and Side C (entity coverage, generally limited to securities claims for public companies but broader for private and nonprofit organizations). 8Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. General educational description of program structure, not a specimen policy form. |
| Limits and Retentions | Alliance Risk publishes indicative Side A limit and premium ranges: mid-size companies ($5M-$50M revenue) typically carry $2M-$5M in Side A limits, and larger private companies $5M-$25M or more. It shows overall D&O premium bands from $2,500-$10,000 for small private companies up to $50,000-$500,000 for large private companies, noting fintech, crypto and venture-backed companies often pay 2-3x more. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; illustrative bands, not a quote for any particular company. Alliance Risk says entry-level management-liability packages that bundle D&O with EPLI and fiduciary often share a single aggregate limit, so a large EPLI or fiduciary settlement earlier in the policy year can reduce what is left for a later D&O claim; it says a specialist broker structures shared versus separate limits to manage that risk. 4Company-reported. Management liability page's discussion of bundled D&O, EPLI and fiduciary programs. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Risk Services | Alliance Risk offers a no-charge review of an existing D&O policy, identifying gaps in the Side A/B/C structure and missing endorsements and comparing the program to market options. 3Company-reported. D&O product page, Get Your D&O Risk Review section. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| How to Apply | For a D&O quote, Alliance Risk asks for company revenue, industry and stage, board composition, investor structure, current D&O coverage and carrier, five-year claims history and upcoming events such as M&A or an IPO, and says it typically delivers proposals within a few business days. 3Company-reported. D&O product page, What We Need for Your Quote section; timing is a company estimate, not a guarantee. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Claims Support | The reviewed D&O page does not describe an Alliance Risk claims-handling or claims-advocacy process; it discusses what a D&O policy covers rather than how Alliance Risk itself supports a claim. 3Not found in reviewed sources. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23. | Lockton says its Professional & Executive Risk Claims team integrates experienced insurance and claims counsel within the broking team from the start of the relationship, rather than treating claims advocacy as a separate profit center. 8Company-reported. D&O product page as read 2026-09-23. |
Full Comparison
More Alliance Risk vs Lockton Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Alliance Risk
- About Us. Alliance Risk; Our Story. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Tech E&O Insurance. Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O). Alliance Risk; D&O Insurance: Protecting Directors and Officers From Personal Liability; The Three Sides of D&O Coverage; What D&O Insurance Does NOT Cover; Who Needs D&O Insurance?; D&O Insurance Cost: What to Expect; How to Buy D&O Insurance; Get Your D&O Risk Review. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management Liability Insurance: How D&O, EPLI, and Fiduciary Fit Together. Alliance Risk; The shared limit problem; How to structure the program as you scale. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Lockton
- Lockton United States. Lockton; Opening description of independent insurance brokerage for risk, benefits and retirement; Ask an Expert link to contact-us. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. Lockton; Industry introduction; cyber liability heading; dedicated technology team; listed services including claims advocacy, contract review, directors and officers liability, and international program design; 24/7 service model. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- US Terms of Business. Lockton; Opening entity definition; Surplus Lines; Use of a Particular Insurer; Compensation Disclosure; servicing, claims handling and renewal language in Confidentiality section; Intermediaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- D&O Insurance. Lockton; What is D&O insurance?; Side A/B/C coverage components; Who can be covered under a D&O program?; Claims management. Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.




