AIG vs
Risklytics: How Do They Compare for Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance?
What Is AIG?
AIG is the marketing name for American International Group, Inc.; AIG says its insurance products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates. Its U.S. business pages list commercial casualty, property, cyber, management and professional liability, and specialty programs, but a brand-level page does not identify the insurer for a particular policy. 1,2
What Is Risklytics Insurance?
Risklytics suits robotics, autonomy and AI businesses that want help preparing an application and checking Tech E&O wording for AI exclusions; standard small businesses should compare generalist agencies. California eligibility is not established in its public materials. 4,5,6
Read the Risklytics Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance page
What Is Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance?
Umbrella or excess insurance adds liability limits above the policies named in the quote after a covered claim exhausts their limits. It may fit if a contract sets higher limits; check which primary policies are listed and any gaps between them. 9,10,11,12,13
Key Differences in Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance
Contract requirement and layer structure
AIG markets admitted and non-admitted capacity for lead umbrella, mid-excess, and high-excess positions. Risklytics describes extra limits over general liability, auto, or employers’ liability when a contract exceeds the primary policy, often asking for $5 million or more. Bring the contract language to both and compare the layer each proposes. 3 7
Limit range and issuing insurer
Risklytics lists typical requests of $1 million to $10 million and places the program with outside carriers; its site does not name the issuing insurer. AIG markets admitted and non-admitted capacity, while the insurer and tower structure depend on the account. Ask Risklytics to identify the carrier and AIG to name the entity issuing each layer. 3 4
What to Confirm in Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
AIG
Review Score
2 rated sources
Customer ratings for AIG are low: Trustpilot shows 1.9 out of 5 from 252 reviews, and NerdWallet gives 2.5 stars and notes more claims complaints than expected. These pages cover many AIG products and countries, so they only loosely describe business insurance.[1][2]
Read AIG reviewsRisklytics
Review Score
No reviews found
Risklytics has no public customer reviews or ratings that we found, so there is no Review Score. That isn't a bad sign, just not enough to judge.[10][1][6]
Read Risklytics reviewsOffering Details
AIG vs Risklytics: Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | AIG Excess Casualty and Lead Umbrella | Risklytics Extra Limits (Umbrella) Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | AIG markets admitted and non-admitted excess casualty capacity, including lead umbrella, mid-excess and high-excess positions. The legal insurer and structure for a specific tower are account-specific. 3Company-reported. Role in this product is limited to the description on the linked AIG source. | Risklytics Insurance Services is a licensed insurance producer (NPN 22311838) that places Risklytics Extra Limits (Umbrella) Insurance with outside carriers; it says it does not underwrite policies itself. 4Company-reported. About page; describes Risklytics' brokerage model generally, restated for this line. |
| Issuing Insurer | Confirm in your quote. | Risklytics does not name the carrier that underwrites Risklytics Extra Limits (Umbrella) Insurance on its site. It says it places business with specialist insurers willing to write robotics, autonomy and AI risk; the issuing carrier appears on the bound policy. 7,4Company-reported. Lines page and about page; no specific insurer is published for this line. |
| Who It’s For | AIG describes lead umbrella, mid-excess and high-excess placements for a wide range of accounts, including small-business and corporate risks. It does not state an account-specific appetite or attachment eligibility. 3Company-reported. Audience is the segment AIG names on the linked source; this is not an underwriting decision, quote or guarantee of availability. | Risklytics says the usual trigger is the first contract demanding more liability coverage than the primary policy carries, often an enterprise master service agreement or a site owner asking for $5 million or more. 7Company-reported. Lines page. |
| Coverage Features | AIG describes excess liability protection against severe liabilities and lead umbrella placements that may integrate with other casualty lines. The exact underlying policies, attachment points and follow-form terms depend on the placement. 3Company-reported. AIG’s public product description is not the policy. Actual entitlement depends on the applicable issued form, endorsements and declarations. | Risklytics describes this line as stacking extra liability limits, commonly over general liability, commercial auto and employer's liability, on top of a primary policy when a contract demands higher limits than the primary carries, and says it rarely sits over Tech E&O. 7Company-reported. Lines page; the issued policy and declarations control actual coverage. |
| Limits and Retentions | AIG advertises up to $75 million total capacity on an individual-account basis, subject to underwriting. This is not a standard or guaranteed limit for a buyer. 3Not publicly disclosed. This statement reports only what the linked public source discloses and does not substitute for a quote or issued policy. | Risklytics lists a typical ask of $1 million to $10 million stacked on top of a client's other policies for this line. 7Company-reported. Lines page; actual limits are set on the bound policy. |
| Risk Services | AIG describes in-house risk experts, claims specialists, litigation-management strategies and integration with domestic and foreign casualty platforms. Those services do not change policy wording. 3Company-reported. The linked page describes company-reported support; specific account services and third-party arrangements must be confirmed. | Risklytics says this line “needs the right insurers” because umbrella capacity follows the strength of the underlying policies it sits above. 7Company-reported. Lines page. |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | You start Risklytics Extra Limits (Umbrella) Insurance through Risklytics' online application. Risklytics says there is no broker fee on top of the premium and a licensed producer stays on the file until the program binds; its commission is paid by the carrier out of the premium either way. 8,4Company-reported. Pricing page describes the general application and fee process, not a line-specific form. |
Full Comparison
More AIG vs Risklytics Comparisons
Other Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance Comparisons
Sources
AIG
- Investor Relations. American International Group, Inc. (AIG); About AIG and legal footer; lines 244–246 and 327–331. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Business. AIG US; Surplus Lines heading and paragraph, lines 357–359. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Excess Casualty Insurance. AIG; Official AIG Excess Casualty page: admitted/non-admitted options, lead umbrella/mid/high excess placements, advertised per-account capacity subject to underwriting, domestic/foreign integration, risk and claims services. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Risklytics
- About Risklytics: who we are. Risklytics; “What we do”; Licensing: Risklytics Insurance Services, National Producer Number 22311838, resident license Massachusetts. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Insurance for Frontier Tech. Risklytics; You describe your company; One application. Written for you; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms of Service. Risklytics; Effective August 7, 2026; sections 1–5, 7, 9 and 12. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Extra Limits (Umbrella) Insurance. Risklytics; Coverage line: Extra Limits (Umbrella); Built for moments like these; When to buy; Who requires it; How hard to get; Common questions. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- How pricing and broker fees work. Risklytics; Buying direct / Generic broker / Risklytics comparison table: no broker fee, commission paid by the carrier out of premium. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance Guide
- Liability Insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Heading Umbrella Liability Insurance; sentence Umbrella Liability—also known as Excess Liability Insurance; underlying policies listed with limits; typically GL, auto and employers’ liability; starts when a covered loss exhausts the primary per occurrence limit; Most umbrella policies exclude EPL, professional liability, product recall, workers compensation, asbestos, pollution, war and terrorism. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Commercial Umbrella; excess over a basic liability policy; auto/CGL/WC or any liability policy can be covered; may respond if basic policy not in force or for gaps; SIR when no underlying. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Lines of Insurance. California Department of Insurance; Umbrella or Excess Liability Policy: excess limits over existing liability; may provide additional coverages not provided by underlying policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Excess & Specialty: Umbrella; Excess Liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Products. Kinro; 09 Umbrella/Excess: additional limits above scheduled underlying policies; when to review; reviewed with. Accessed 2026-09-16.



