AIG vs
Beazley
AIG’s Surplus Lines section describes commercial solutions for small, middle-market and large enterprises; Beazley markets MediaTech to small technology and business-services firms and accepts placement through third-party platforms or email. The size statement does not establish an AIG product or insurer for a particular buyer. 3,16,17
Introduction
AIG’s Surplus Lines section says its commercial solutions serve small, middle-market and large enterprises; Beazley’s MediaTech targets small technology and business-services companies. Those statements describe different levels of scope: a broad business-size range versus a named product audience. For a smaller software or services company, Beazley publishes a specific MediaTech placement route; ask an AIG broker which product, insurer and submission path fit the same risk. 3 16 17 4
The coverage table also lists an AIG Product Recall offer, but the cited flyer describes multinational cover for named segments; it does not establish an unrestricted U.S. standalone offer, issuer or account terms. Confirm that your product and territory fit the actual proposal. 12
Coverage Comparison
| Coverage | AIG | Beazley |
|---|---|---|
| Builders risk | Listed AIG Builders Risk | Not listed |
| Cargo and transit | Listed AIG Ocean Cargo | Not listed |
| Commercial auto | Listed AIG Truck Insurance Group commercial auto (scoped to for-hire trucking) | Not listed |
| Commercial property | Listed AIG Commercial Property / Retail Property | Listed 30Beazley offers commercial property insurance for mid-sized and large US and Canadian accounts on an excess-and-surplus-lines basis. |
| Crime | Listed AIG Crime Insurance / CrimeGuard Choice | Listed 26Beazley offers commercial crime insurance. |
| Cyber liability | Listed AIG CyberEdge family (CyberEdge, CyberEdge Plus and CyberEdge PC kept distinct) | Listed 16,24Beazley offers cyber insurance for small and midsized businesses. |
| Directors and officers | Listed AIG Directors & Officers Liability | Listed 25Beazley offers directors and officers liability insurance for private organizations through ExecuGuard. |
| Employee health and benefits | Listed AIG Medical Indemnity supplemental group health benefit | Not listed |
| Employment practices liability | Listed AIG Employment Practices Liability Insurance | Listed 25Beazley offers employment practices liability insurance for private organizations through ExecuGuard. |
| Equipment breakdown | Listed AIG Programs lists equipment breakdown in named program schedules including the manufactured-housing program; schedule-specific membership only. | Not listed |
| Fidelity bonds | Listed AIG Crime and Fidelity product page; line membership is based on the named fidelity/bond product family, not a specific bond form. | Listed 26Beazley offers fidelity bonds for financial institutions. |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed AIG Fiduciary Liability Insurance / Fiduciary Edge | Listed 25Beazley offers fiduciary liability insurance for private organizations through ExecuGuard. |
| General liability | Listed AIG Programs general liability (three separate program scopes) | Listed 32,28Beazley offers general liability insurance in packages such as its environmental-services policy. |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Listed AIG Manufactured Housing Program lists hired and non-owned auto for that program; this does not establish a standalone broad HNOA product. | Listed 32Beazley offers hired and non-owned auto coverage within its environmental-services package. |
| Kidnap and ransom | Listed AIG CrisiSolution K&R and extortion | Not listed |
| Liquor liability | Listed AIG Programs lists liquor liability among coverages it may develop in client-specific programs; no general standalone product or universal program availability implied. | Not listed |
| Management liability | Listed AIG Programs Management Liability for private and non-profit companies with revenue up to $50 million; listed components are D&O, EPL and fiduciary liability. | Listed 25Beazley offers management liability insurance for private organizations through ExecuGuard. |
| Media liability | Listed AIG Media Content and Publishers & Broadcasters liability (distinct descriptions) | Listed 16Beazley offers media liability insurance through MediaTech for small technology and business-services companies. |
| Medical malpractice | Not listed | Listed 28,29Beazley offers medical professional liability insurance for digital-health businesses and middle-to-large life-sciences organizations. |
| Product liability | Listed AIG Aviation Product Liability | Listed 29Beazley offers product liability insurance for middle-to-large life-sciences organizations. |
| Product recall | Listed 12AIG Multinational and Talbot market multinational Product Recall Insurance for named component-part, consumer-goods/topical/consumer-health and finished-goods segments; not an unrestricted U.S. standalone product, and the flyer does not resolve a specific policy issuer, account terms or jurisdiction-specific availability. | Listed 31Beazley offers product recall insurance through its manufacturing risk product. |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed AIG entity-based Professional Liability / Specialty Professional E&O | Listed 16,32Beazley offers professional errors and omissions insurance through MediaTech for small technology and business-services companies. |
| Representations and warranties | Listed AIG Representations & Warranties Insurance | Listed 27Beazley offers representations and warranties insurance. |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed AIG Technology Services E&O; the page separately identifies coverage for technology-service performance errors or omissions. Membership only, not a detailed accepted Tech E&O offering. | Listed 16Beazley offers technology errors and omissions insurance through MediaTech for small technology and business-services companies. |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Listed AIG Inland Marine (Transportation & Logistics; Construction & Equipment) | Not listed |
| Trucking | Listed AIG Truck Insurance Group | Not listed |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed AIG Excess Casualty (lead umbrella and mid/high excess) | Not listed |
| Virtual care and telehealth | Not listed | Listed 28Beazley offers virtual care insurance for digital-health businesses. |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed AIG Workers’ Compensation options by distinct channel | Not listed |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Spot Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
AIG
CarrierNo Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Beazley
Hybrid providerBroker
6.9/ 10Assessed provider: Beazley. Scope: Beazley's US activity at the named-entity level: Beazley USA Services, Inc. as the US insurance-services and producer entity, and Beazley Insurance Company, Inc., Beazley America Insurance Company, Inc. and Beazley Excess and Surplus Insurance, Inc. as the US insurers named in the US terms and ratings table. Authority and authorisation are verified in Georgia, Texas, Pennsylvania and Colorado only. No Beazley US programme has an evidenced carrier or reinsurance panel: the reviewed material maps no product to an issuing entity, so capacity is assessed at entity authorisation level and no programme-level capacity claim is made. Beazley plc group evidence is contextual, and Lloyd's syndicate ratings are excluded from the US entity assessment.
Carrier & MGA
5.5/ 10Assessed provider: Beazley. Scope: Beazley's US activity at the named-entity level: Beazley USA Services, Inc. as the US insurance-services and producer entity, and Beazley Insurance Company, Inc., Beazley America Insurance Company, Inc. and Beazley Excess and Surplus Insurance, Inc. as the US insurers named in the US terms and ratings table. Authority and authorisation are verified in Georgia, Texas, Pennsylvania and Colorado only. No Beazley US programme has an evidenced carrier or reinsurance panel: the reviewed material maps no product to an issuing entity, so capacity is assessed at entity authorisation level and no programme-level capacity claim is made. Beazley plc group evidence is contextual, and Lloyd's syndicate ratings are excluded from the US entity assessment.
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
AIG
Review Score
Not enough ratings
Public review figures about AIG do not describe one comparable U.S. commercial-insurance population: Trustpilot and ConsumerAffairs mix products and countries, BBB includes corporate locations, and the NAIC issuer-specific search remains incomplete. NerdWallet directly reports more liability and property claims complaints than it expects for AIG’s size; its 2.5-star value is an editorial rating, not a consumer average.[1][2][3][6][5]
Read AIG reviewsBeazley
Review Score
5.6/ 101 rated source
Beazley’s available customer feedback is mixed, with a 2.8/5 WalletHub rating from 15 reviews. That small, mixed-product sample gives business buyers limited guidance.[3][9]
Read Beazley reviewsKey Differences Between AIG and Beazley
Who the Published Route Serves
AIG’s Surplus Lines section says its commercial insurance solutions serve small, middle-market, and large enterprises. The same section separately describes Lexington Casualty as an experienced excess-and-surplus-lines casualty provider; it does not explicitly assign all three customer-size segments to Lexington Casualty. 3Company-reported. AIG’s published Surplus Lines section; customer-size statement and Lexington Casualty description are adjacent but not explicitly attributed to the same business. This does not establish a provider-wide customer focus or product-specific issuer.
Small technology and business-services companies can consider MediaTech; digital-health buyers can look at Virtual Care, while Beazley’s Life Sciences offering targets middle and large organizations. 16,28,29Company-reported. Product-specific audiences; funding stage is not an eligibility criterion established by these sources.
Beazley’s audience is tied to particular products: MediaTech for smaller technology and business-services firms, with separate audiences for digital health and life sciences. AIG’s cited size statement does not assign all three segments to Lexington Casualty or show which product would serve a specific company. Ask each producer to identify the product and eligibility criteria for your business rather than comparing the broad AIG statement with Beazley’s full company catalogue. 16 3
Submission and Claim Access
AIG lists a North America myAIG portal for brokers and agents to access loss runs, policy documents, applications, and tools, and a separate U.S. portal for producer appointment requests. The public pages do not establish that a business can complete an online purchase or bind coverage directly. 4Company-reported. Publicly listed North America broker/agent portal functions and U.S. producer appointment requests. Authenticated workflow and product-specific submission or binding steps were not reviewed.
Prepare company services, products, employee count, US and foreign revenue, financial statements and expected changes for a MediaTech application; Beazley accepts placement through third-party platforms or email, but submission is not acceptance or binding. 16,17Company-reported. Published small-business placement description and F00859 042022; no application submitted or binding time tested.
Beazley accepts MediaTech placement through third-party platforms or email and requests company, product, employee and revenue information; submitting is not acceptance or binding. AIG’s public portal page describes tools for brokers and agents, but does not show the authenticated submission or binding steps for a product. Ask what documents each producer needs and who can bind after underwriting. 17 4
AIG says insureds and brokers can report primary property or casualty claims online for Auto Liability, General Liability, Property, and Aerospace, attach documents, and track adjuster assignment and claim closure. AIG says options vary by line and country. 5Company-reported. AIG's stated IntelliRisk claim portal functions for named primary property/casualty lines. This does not describe every commercial line, claim outcome, or policy obligation.
Keep the policy’s own notice instructions handy: Beazley provides a notice-of-loss form and US claims email, but those channels do not promise handling quality or establish that a loss is covered. 23Company-reported. Public US notice channels; no claim submitted or outcomes independently assessed.
AIG describes online reporting and tracking for named primary property and casualty lines. Beazley publishes a notice-of-loss form and U.S. claims email; those channels do not promise handling quality or establish coverage. The buyer consequence is practical: save the correct contact for the policy and confirm reporting deadlines before a claim occurs. 5 23
Producer Compensation
AIG says its companies compensate brokers and independent agents with commissions set at policy purchase, renewal, placement, or servicing, and may also pay contingent compensation. Specific compensation varies; the disclosure directs buyers to their broker or agent for policy-specific information. 6Company-reported. AIG's disclosure for business placed by brokers and independent agents with U.S. AIG offices issuing policies in the United States and territories for specified lines; its ranges describe business written in 2024 and exclude stated categories. Not a statement of any buyer's commission or total insurance cost.
Request an itemized premium and broker compensation disclosure because reviewed MediaTech materials do not publish a buyer-specific price, commission rate or fee schedule. 16,17,21Not publicly disclosed. Scoped review of public MediaTech purchase materials, not all Beazley group compensation arrangements.
AIG’s disclosed commissions and possible contingent compensation are scoped to specified U.S. business written in 2024; Beazley’s reviewed MediaTech materials do not publish a buyer-specific price, commission rate or fee schedule. Neither disclosure determines your total cost. Ask the placing producer for any commission, service fee and buyer-paid charge attached to the quote. 6 16 17
What to Confirm in Quotes
- What product and named insurer would AIG propose for your company, and does the product match the risk and state? The AIG size statement alone does not establish an issuer or eligibility. 2 3
- For Beazley MediaTech, which current policy form, limits, retention and reporting deadline would apply? The public application is not a quote or proof of acceptance. 17
- For each placement, who may bind it, what does the producer receive, and what commissions or fees apply to your account? 6 21
Compare Services
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | AIG | Beazley |
|---|---|---|
| Customer focus | AIG’s Surplus Lines section says its commercial insurance solutions serve small, middle-market, and large enterprises. The same section separately describes Lexington Casualty as an experienced excess-and-surplus-lines casualty provider; it does not explicitly assign all three customer-size segments to Lexington Casualty. 3Company-reported. AIG’s published Surplus Lines section; customer-size statement and Lexington Casualty description are adjacent but not explicitly attributed to the same business. This does not establish a provider-wide customer focus or product-specific issuer. | Small technology and business-services companies can consider MediaTech; digital-health buyers can look at Virtual Care, while Beazley’s Life Sciences offering targets middle and large organizations. 16,28,29Company-reported. Product-specific audiences; funding stage is not an eligibility criterion established by these sources. |
| Application process | AIG lists a North America myAIG portal for brokers and agents to access loss runs, policy documents, applications, and tools, and a separate U.S. portal for producer appointment requests. The public pages do not establish that a business can complete an online purchase or bind coverage directly. 4Company-reported. Publicly listed North America broker/agent portal functions and U.S. producer appointment requests. Authenticated workflow and product-specific submission or binding steps were not reviewed. | Prepare company services, products, employee count, US and foreign revenue, financial statements and expected changes for a MediaTech application; Beazley accepts placement through third-party platforms or email, but submission is not acceptance or binding. 16,17Company-reported. Published small-business placement description and F00859 042022; no application submitted or binding time tested. |
| Claims assistance | AIG says insureds and brokers can report primary property or casualty claims online for Auto Liability, General Liability, Property, and Aerospace, attach documents, and track adjuster assignment and claim closure. AIG says options vary by line and country. 5Company-reported. AIG's stated IntelliRisk claim portal functions for named primary property/casualty lines. This does not describe every commercial line, claim outcome, or policy obligation. | Keep the policy’s own notice instructions handy: Beazley provides a notice-of-loss form and US claims email, but those channels do not promise handling quality or establish that a loss is covered. 23Company-reported. Public US notice channels; no claim submitted or outcomes independently assessed. |
| Fees and compensation | AIG says its companies compensate brokers and independent agents with commissions set at policy purchase, renewal, placement, or servicing, and may also pay contingent compensation. Specific compensation varies; the disclosure directs buyers to their broker or agent for policy-specific information. 6Company-reported. AIG's disclosure for business placed by brokers and independent agents with U.S. AIG offices issuing policies in the United States and territories for specified lines; its ranges describe business written in 2024 and exclude stated categories. Not a statement of any buyer's commission or total insurance cost. | Request an itemized premium and broker compensation disclosure because reviewed MediaTech materials do not publish a buyer-specific price, commission rate or fee schedule. 16,17,21Not publicly disclosed. Scoped review of public MediaTech purchase materials, not all Beazley group compensation arrangements. |
Sources
AIG Official Website
- Investor Relations. American International Group, Inc. (AIG); About AIG and legal footer; lines 244–246 and 327–331. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Additional Legal Notices. AIG US; Notice to California and Massachusetts Applicants and Insureds; insurer table lines 246–327 and listing disclaimer line 329. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Business. AIG US; Surplus Lines heading and paragraph, lines 357–359. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- AIG Login. AIG US; Brokers & Agents: myAIG Portal for North America, lines 71–76; U.S. Producer Appointment and Licensing, lines 100–104. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- IntelliRisk. AIG US; Help With Every Step of the Claim Process; primary property/casualty line list, portal functions, and line/country qualification, lines 267–279. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Producer Compensation. AIG US; Broker and Independent Agent Compensation and 2024 U.S. scope, lines 242–246; commissions, contingent compensation, and reporting limitations, lines 251–269 and 299–310. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- AIG Programs Insurance. AIG US; AIG Programs overview/product breadth and package-or-monoline description, lines 242–279; specific Management Liability program for private/non-profit companies, line $50m revenue scope and D&O/EPL/Fiduciary lines, lines 499–509; Manufactured Housing program and hired/non-owned auto, lines 512–525; multi-line examples and nationwide location markers, HTML inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cyber Insurance - CyberEdge Cyber Liability Insurance. AIG US; AIG CyberEdge overview, product structures and line-specific services, lines 242–269; product identity/version descriptions reopened in the page’s CyberEdge/Plus/PC sections, HTML inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Truck Insurance Group. AIG US; Product page states admitted auto liability, physical damage and general liability for small-to-mid-size for-hire trucking firms with heavy vehicle fleets 26,000+ lbs; predominant Class A/B CDL drivers, 11–250 power units, four years operating experience, select-broker route; lines 242–247. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Liability Insurance. AIG US; AIG E&O overview names public/private service providers and distinct Specialty Professional E&O, Technology Services, Media Content, Publishers and Broadcasters, and Manufacturers E&O scopes; lines 327–357; current HTML inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Employment Practices Liability Insurance. AIG US; AIG EPL policy describes primary limits up to $25m, additional excess limits may be available, third-party discrimination/harassment in the described form, and availability on a combined basis with its private-company D&O form; lines 253–266, HTML inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- AIG Multinational Product Recall Summary Sheet. AIG US; Pages 1–2; page 1 describes the AIG Multinational and Talbot Underwriting collaboration and Product Recall Insurance for component-part manufacturers, consumer goods/topical and consumer health, and finished goods; page 2 footer version GB0748AR 0426 v3. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- AIG Medical Indemnity Insurance. AIG US; Official AIG Medical Indemnity product page; supplemental group/employer health benefit, plan options, administration and claims sections; issuer and state caveat as shown; HTML inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- AIG Aerospace & Aviation. AIG US; Official AIG Aerospace & Aviation page; Aviation Product Liability and Aircraft Products Application sections; page inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Crime and Fidelity Insurance. AIG US; Official AIG crime page; crime products for commercial and governmental entities, distinguishes crime cover from financial institution bonds and names financial institutions as the latter audience; lines 242–278; HTML inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
Beazley Official Website
- MediaTech for Small Businesses. Beazley; Opening product description; What we offer: E&O (Tech and Professional), Media, Cyber coverage includes; How can we help; SME placement paragraph; Tools & Resources. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Beazley Digital Media Tech Application. Beazley; F00859, 042022 edition, pages 1–2: notice, general information and revenue information. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Beazley MediaTech Sample Policy. Beazley; F00731, 022019 edition; printed pages 14, 16–18: definitions and exclusions (PDF pages 15, 17–19). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Beazley MediaTech Renewal Application. Beazley; F00729, 022019 edition; page 1, title and claims-made notice. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Legal Information. Beazley; Website conditions: US jurisdiction availability, surplus lines and policy wording disclaimers; Beazley plc identity. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- US Web Services Terms of Use. Beazley; Page 1: operating entities and California insurance license table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- US Contingency Toolkit. Beazley; PDF page 13: Event Tech Protect disclaimer; page 26: Disclaimer US (BZPAC211). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Notify a Claim. Beazley; Policy-first guidance; Submit a Notice of Loss; US email directory. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Full Spectrum Cyber for Small Businesses. Beazley; What we offer; Responsive Cyber; Vendor Services; Small and medium sized businesses. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary). Beazley; ExecuGuard product introduction: combined EPL, D&O and fiduciary coverage for private organizations; What we offer: separate or shared limits, admitted or non-admitted; How can we help. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Crime and Fidelity. Beazley; What we offer: Commercial Crime (commercial companies) and Financial Fidelity Bonds (financial institutions); fraudulent instruction condition. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Mergers & Acquisitions. Beazley; What we offer: representations/warranties, target customers and 50-state statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Virtual Care. Beazley; Available Coverages; Who we can help; Where is this offered. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Life Sciences. Beazley; What we offer; Our Coverages: Products/Completed Operations, Healthcare Professional Liability; Who we can help: middle-to-large life-sciences organizations. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- North American Commercial Property. Beazley; North American Commercial Property: Coverage highlights; Who we can help (middle-to-large commercial accounts); Where is this offered (US and Canadian domicile, E&S basis). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Product Recall – Manufacturing Risk and Response. Beazley; What we offer; Who we can help; Where is this offered. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Environmental Package Policy (BeazleyOne Environmental). Beazley; BeazleyOne environmental package: Key Coverages (General Liability, Professional Liability); Additional Coverages (Hired and Non-Owned Auto); Who we can help (environmental-service businesses). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Beazley US Marine. Beazley; Beazley US Marine: What we offer: Marine Hull and Marine Liability, primary and excess. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- US Specialty Programs. Beazley; What we offer; Who we can help; Where is this offered. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Explore All Products. Beazley; US product directory, all product categories including Small Business Solutions and Reinsurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.






